214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Lake Texoma was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (903) 523-4206
CGID8334

Thousand Trails / Lake Texoma

Camp Information
Sites
247
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   1   9   8   6   2   10   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
I am a very long time Thousand Trails member and know this park extremely well. Unfortunately, this park is aggressively deteriorating fast. Electrical power is terrible (specifically 50 amp). Severally times we had to run our refrigerator on gas to have enough power to run 2 a/c in the Texas heat . Roads are in terrible condition and constantly in need of repair. The most disturbing issue we have with this park is the staff (specifically the rangers). First impressions and helpfulness are always important after a long day on the road but it is "always" a chore to get the rangers to come out and help (usually camped out behind their TV). If anyone is thinking of joining the TT network please do not compare the facilities at this park to other TT parks. If you did you probably would not join. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$0
Continues to be one of the worst Thousand Trails Parks we have stayed at. Interior roads are terrible (pot holes), electrical and water service were marginal at best (numerous time water and electric went off unannounced – incoming power at 30 amp pedestals was 15-20% below 120v), and, finally, staff continues to be extremely unfriendly and non-responsive. This resort continues to be a weekend destination for most TT members with extended memberships initiatives (cash flow) directed towards annual site leases. Anyone considering an investment in outdoor camping with TT (specifically zone memberships) should inspect what they can expect at TT Texoma. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
This park can be described as both full and empty. There are many RVs here but most are unoccupied. The many annuals make it a bit challenging to find a good site, but we counted 5-10 acceptable vacant full hook up sites that weren't in use when we arrived. There are both family and adult only pools/spas and activity center plus adult only activity center. WiFi is available only at the activity center (even with a WiFi Ranger I get nothing). In spite of being near the lake, the only access is by driving out a back gate and a then a distance down to the lake. Sites are large and reasonably spaced. The cabins look real nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
Thousand Trails rate. Yes, there are a lot of long term lease sites, but there was no problem finding a good site. There is lots of real estate between sites so there is privacy and elbow room to spare. Bathhouses and laundry were clean and well maintained. Some 50 AMP sites available. Staff was friendly and courteous. Catfish Haven & Catfish Platter both a short drive away & good grub. The only real issue is the interior roads which are a little rough. Sites take a little leveling but utilities are convenient. There is lots of grass and plenty of hiking trails. Lake Texoma is huge and Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge is nearby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will return when through the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$1
We received a free membership with the purchase of our new RV. We decided to give the Lake Texoma facility a shot and camped here recently. The facility has the appearance of once being very nice, but hasn't been kept up quite as much in recent years. Lots of long term lease sites, so weekenders don't get first pick of the nicer sites. We prefer more wooded sites and the A loop -- which is fairly wooded -- does not have FHU. Bummer, but we only camped on a long weekend, so no big deal. There's a nice playground for the kiddos and lots of bathrooms throughout. Don't forget your Claritin-D! The pollen here is thick and can make those with allergies pretty miserable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$1
We have 30 plus years experience staying at this park. Have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly. Sad to say we only stay here out of necessity and not by choice. Park continues to deteriorate and has lost the majority of its open and best sites to annual storage and/or leases. Roads are consistently in need of repair and general maintenance is visually nonexistent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
Very nice staff and quite helpful. Large gravel sites with 50 amp available. Pull-throughs available and good sight lines for satellite. Restaurant nearby called Catfish Haven has great selection of pies at a fair price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
Could be a great park. We liked it but there is not much to do in the area. Not much going on in the Park due to the time of year. They did have a Thanksgiving dinner going on. Main draw back is the fact that 60 percent of the sites are long term leases and they take most of the good sites. Would be real hard to find a good site in the summer. All seems to be maintained well but some sites we saw need some repair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Sites were too close with no privacy. No cover for picnic tables and the site area was non-paved with unlevel rock base. Don't know if it was the time of year, but a lot of things to do were closed or open very few hours. Cabins seem to be better choice here as we will not use this park for camping. Not impressed for price paid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
This is one of the better Thousand Trails Parks. The manager is very diligent and tries to keep things working at all times. IT gets very busy on weekends in the summer so you must reserve very early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
I've stayed at this TT location before. Used to be our favorite, but now that they are allowing annual leases, it's hard to find a site. There were no 50A available and only a few sites with full hookups. The facility is very run down and maintenance has been deferred for a long time. That said, the pool is still pretty good and the mini-golf is somewhat OK. We will come back, but only because we live close and we have the TT membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
We have traveled all over the country and visited 53 of the 59 Thousand trails properties: this used to be one of our favorites. They still have a beautiful property but all the facilities are in disrepair and just dirty. Our original site had the electrical short out underground (melting down our electrical plug) and they had to close a whole row of sites which were not reopened over the next 12 days that we were here. The whole park has been turned into more of a time share than a campground. 120 of the 250 sites have been sold on an annual basis and sat empty for most of the three weeks we were here. That left few decent sites available for campers. The manager is clearly out of his depth and totally unapologetic for the deficiencies with his park. All he wants to do is sell more sites to " meet his goal." Most of the staff seems to be very unhappy and were usually very grumpy when you could find someone. This was our third stay here, and very much enjoyed the first two stays, but we won't be back and may even get out of Thousand Trails altogether. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
This was our first visit on our new TT membership. The park is very nice. We did not get a FHU site as it was a holiday and we were too late arriving. Did notice quite a few annual rental sites and of course they had FHU. The restrooms are dated but air conditioned and clean. There are two pools and we really enjoyed the adults only pool. The laundry is too small for all the sites. Only four washers and four dryers in the entire park. The boat ramp area was nice as was the fishing dock area. There were lots of activities over the weekend. We had some problems with all the overhanding tree limbs and do feel they need to be trimmed back for the big rigs. This park is not close to any sizable town, so one needs to come fully stocked for the stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
This is a very nice preserve. It is in good repair, the staff is friendly, and the activities are well done. Bathrooms were clean. The adult pool was very nice, except that the spa was not working. The family center spa had no heat. We were in site Q45, a 50 amp site. The area was quiet, even though we were here for the 4th of July weekend. The Friday morning cinnamon rolls were fresh and the weekend breakfast was a good deal for the money. The only reason that I gave it a 9 was that the store could have been improved with a better selection of merchandise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
We very much enjoyed TT Lake Texoma. The park is great and very clean. Spaces are large and great. People are very friendly. Great entertainment. Love staying at a private park. Will certainly stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
One of our favorite Thousand Trails Preserves. Sites are well-spaced and grassy with pads that are gravel and level with easy access. Lots of trees around so you can choose mostly sunny to heavily shaded. The rate reflects our membership, but they have recently opened a few sites for non-members that are reported to be $38 per night. 50-amp sites have a $3/night surcharge. Most sites are 30-amp. This preserve is always well-maintained. The roads are pretty good. There is a family activity center with a huge pool, a small store, and a cafe that is open on some in the week and all weekend. An adult center has a smaller pool and a comfortable interior space for small groups. The attached laundry is clean and has about 4 washers and dryers. There is also a workout room and chapel. Activities are weekend oriented, but there are things to do during the week and areas for tennis, pickle ball, horse shoes, ping pong, etc. We haven't used the bath houses. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Actually attempted to camp here but were told at the gate that it is a members only campground. This was after several phone calls about staying there. We were told 50amp spaces could not be reserved--first come, first served basis. No indication on calls that non-members couldn't stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
This is a very nice TT RV park. There were a lot of trees, great access to the lake and helpful and friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$5
All the pools were still closed for the winter but other facilities were clean and neat. Pads were level and big in the area I stayed and some pads were completely shaded by a tree canopy which would be nice in the summer. Security was excellent and staff was very friendly and helpful We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$8
Very clean with large spacious sites. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com