215225 User submitted reviews online!!
By The River RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (830) 367-5566
CGID8343

By The River RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   8   10   10   10   3   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Some nice views of the river, nice large sites, pretty quiet. Internet excellent, shade trees, picnic tables, lots of birds. Pretty level sites. Nice girl in the office, accommodating. Kerrville is a very pretty place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
Kerrville is a nice town and this is the best park in the area. The grounds are well maintained, the staff is friendly and helpful. The park is very pet friendly, the Wi-Fi and cable work great and is free. The park is quiet, restrooms and showers are always clean and work great. Evening campfires are nice when weather permits. We stayed at many RV resorts at every price level and this park is the most enjoyable and relaxing of them all and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Rate reflects PA discount. Third time guest. Paved road down middle with mostly back in spaces on either side; a few pull-throughs at one end. Sites are grass and dirt and mostly level. Wonderful river view spaces, but watch for crossover utilities. Internet and TV good. Good dog walking areas at bridge end of park. Some puddles in the rain, but sites drain very well. Quiet. Friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
We would not recommend this as a one-night stay as it is miles off I-10 and the traffic on US 27 was very heavy. Office staff very pleasant. Beware that sites available for Passport America are Elect/Water crossover (single power pole for two sites) so you may have to run your electric and water under your unit. Rate of $17 plus $3 extra for 50 amp service using Passport America. Nice site, long and level with a view of the river. Quiet, except that with a crossover site we were right next to our neighbor and their hot water heater turned on and off all night, waking me up. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
The rate cited reflects a Passport America discount. This is a nice little park right on the river. Very grassy parking and nice shade. The sites along the river are not available for the Passport America discount. I would recommend this park as a welcome, quiet, peaceful park. Would stay there again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
We got there late, and the office person happened to be in the pool, so she opened up to check us in. She was very friendly. Several people were in the pool, and it looked very refreshing. Our site was level, and everything worked well. We were not on the river side, but we could see the river. The regular rate was $34, but we paid $17 by using Passport America. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We were only here one night but would be happy to stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We stayed in a river front deluxe site. The deluxe sites are 2 sites in one so you have lots of room! It was absolutely beautiful! There are many critters to be seen in the trees and river and at night the lightening bugs come out. The roads are paved, but the sites are dirt and not too level. They have a bridge that crosses the river to an island where they offer tent camping. There are plenty of places to walk the dogs. This campground is clean and beautiful with all the trees and natural landscaping of the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Made reservations by internet but received no response. When I called to confirm reservations, they had to check their e-mail which had not been done in the 2 days since I had made reservations. Check in was OK, and we were escorted to our site which was dirt and wet from rain. Plugged in, set up and turned the A/C on. After 20 minutes we lost all power. Called the office and owner showed up. Breaker at pedestal had not tripped nor had the main breaker. Owner unable to determine cause but when he opened the breaker box on the pole, there was the biggest mess of wires I had ever seen. Owner showed me another site and offered it to me but I would have had to pull in opposite the normal way and my truck would have driven into a muddy area. Afraid of getting stuck I declined and decided to move to another campground. Owner was very apologetic and issued a refund without any issue. Appeared that all the guests were long term and sites were all dirt with little grass and broken picnic tables. I don't ask for a lot from campground owners. Just a decent place to park while visiting areas but this failed to fulfill even my basic needs. I will not visit this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Staff was very helpful. They gave us many ideas of things to do while in the Hill Country. The only complaint we had was the Wi-Fi. It was very slow and unresponsive at times. The park is very pretty with lots of space for hiking, fishing, and dog-walking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$36
Aptly named since half the sites are "by the river." You can practically fish from your door. About 8 miles from I-10 but well worth the trip. Narrow gravel/grass sites off a main concrete road with some wider premium (surcharge)sites. Mostly back-in, but negotiable. Very pleasant quiet river view park with sites next to a small fork, with the main river accessible across a vehicle bridge. Easy access dog walking roads and wild areas. Free, fast internet and good cable TV reception. Only negative is a single power pole for two sites, so watch which side your utilities are on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
This park cost us $18 with Passport America. They have RV sites and really nice tent sites, many sitting on the Guadalupe River. We had a backin site on the river, with full hookups, cable, Wi-Fi, laundry, clubhouse, fishing, bird watching, inner tube floating, swimming in the river at your own risk, picnic areas, nature walks and a pool. Checkin was fast, friendly, easy and very informative. You follow a golf cart to your site. The RV sites are right next to each other. It seems there are a number of snowbirds here, and most will be leaving by April 1. We did enjoy the campground, especially walking along the Guadalupe River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$37
We stayed here for only one night, but wanted to stay longer! Absolutely beautiful setting. This is a very peaceful place right on the Guadalupe River. There is a lot of open area to walk - great for the dogs. You can walk along the river under magnificent cypress trees. Front desk service great. The RV spots are all grass which might be a problem if it rains or has rained. We were in a 40 foot RV and had no problems getting into our spot. Each spot has a picnic table plus all hook ups. If you are going to stay for more than just a night, I would suggest a spot on the river. We will be back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Rate reflects PA for two days and Good Sam for one day; also, reflects four adults. Very pleasant experience with office personal from start to finish. We arrived after-hours and envelope with instructions was plainly visible. We were in site 52 which is a corner space that gave us a lot of room. Site was grass with a picnic table. Garbage dumpsters were right next to our site. Good thing/bad thing. It was very handy and didn't smell but I didn't need the wake up call at 6:10 AM when they came to dump them! Everyone had their dogs leashed and saw no waste. Lots of room to take the dogs for a walk along the river. Will definitly stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
We stayed with PA for two nights @ $15/night. Then with Good Sam for 3 nights @ $30 / night for a total of 5 nights. We were guided to our site. The owners were so friendly and helpful with local attractions, maps and opinions. The site was grass and gravel with tables and hookups were on the opposite side of RV. With plenty of room for the toad. Park sites on the Guadalupe River with and island adjacent to the park. The island itself provides tent camping and day use with its park like settings and lots of trees for shade, walking your pet, or for a walk/jog. Park is clean and absolutely enjoyable. We will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
Parked here in the rain, site was muddy, we left a mud trail down the highway when we left. The Wi-Fi was really weak and next to useless as they put us out, far away from the office. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I'd stay here again but would ask for a less muddy site. There were plenty of vacant sites. And I'd ask to be near the Wi-Fi router. We used a PA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$15
Really nice with river view. Very friendly and quiet. We stayed Wednesday and Thursday using PA discount. Would come again. Staff very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$34
This is a great location because there is no road noise. However, we had a terrible time getting checked in. We finally gave them the money and went to our site. Someone brought our paperwork to us later. When we asked to stay a little longer, the same lady could not extend our stay because she was "afraid she would ruin the software." It was awful. However, we did stay. It started raining and the only thing paved or rocked in this park is the roadway. It was close to a quagmire. The fifth wheel that came in next to us got stuck before he could even get into his space. The worst to us was the fact there are no rules about dogs and many dogs run loose at any given time. And absolutely no one cleans up behind their dogs. With some rule enforcement and some rocks in the dirt spaces, this could be a fabulous place to stay. It is close to many good places to eat, a wonderful grocery store and some nice churches. And it really does have a wonderful view of the river. We are not sure we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
I love this place! Great location! Right on the Guadalupe River. Very small, quiet park. No traffic noise. Wi-Fi was great. The owners are great. I highly recommend this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
A beautiful area with a river view and an island. Nice area to walk and enjoy. The staff was very friendly and the park offered activities inside and outside the park. Short drive to town, quiet setting, good Wi-Fi. Loses points for the tight sites and the long hike up a hill to the office, laundry, pool and washrooms. The laundry closes too early (3 PM is last load). We will return but would ask for a premium site so we have more room. Seems the owners really take an interest in improving and I am sure this park will only get better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
This park was OK for a couple days, but the pads were grass and we tracked mud and grass all over the RV. Cable was on 12 channels, but did get the 4 major networks well. Only real complaint was they didn't have any city maps and little info about the area. Wouldn't probably return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We stayed for a month here. We fell in love with the beautiful area, and the quality of this park made it even better. Pros: beautiful scenery, great staff, paved roads, close to town, on the water, very quiet, excellent Wi-Fi. Cons: Laundry, office, and pool were quite a hike up hill to the office. The cable TV only had about 12 channels, sites are not very level. Despite the cons, we really enjoyed the stay and even considered staying another month. We may return during the winter months, instead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Nice clean, easy access. Park has a really nice gathering room for parties etc. Super friendly staff. Kind of strange electrical hookups though, some will be on wrong side of the unit. Lots of rain during our stay puddled our site badly, and in fact, during the night we were evacuated because of the rapidly rising river. Staff was extremely helpful here too. Would return again in a minute if conditions permit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Staff were very friendly. Site was not completely level and our site was an electric/water crossover. View of the River was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Showing the Passport America park rate. This is a small park on the rivers edge. Concrete roads with grass sites. Good water and water pressure. Might not be the best location in rainy times. The river can flood the park and they have provided multiple escape routes for RVs should there be a problem. Some sites are pull-through, but most are back-in. We would return if in the area. If you need to receive mail this is a good location. The pull-through sites are reserved for over-night so you don't need to unhook. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
When I called this park to make a reservation, I was astonished by the hospitality of the man who answered the phone. Not only was he happy to take my reservation, but he also immediately invited us to a barbecue at the park. Unfortunately, we were only staying overnight, so we never got to taste the delicious-sounding Texas barbecue. The park has a beautiful location by the river. We only stayed overnight, but this would be a lovely place for a longer stay. The river had a lot of wildlife, and my children had fun playing near it and spotting animals. Our RV slot was a level dirt and grass pad, a little closer to my neighbors than I like. Our spot was a little muddy, and the roads inside the park were either gravel or partially paved and fairly maneuverable. $24 is the Passport America rate (half price). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
Great Passport America Park! Very easy to make reservations and check in. The staff made us feel like family from the moment we walked into the office. They called us by our names like they were expecting us. Facilities very clean. We enjoyed the Saturday breakfast. We will come back again. Great location to visit Fredericksburg and LBJ Ranch! They even loaned us fishing rods to fish in the River! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
A great campground. People were very friendly and appreciative of your business. Enjoyed the views and watching the wildlife. All around clean park. Regular price was 36.00 but 18.00 with Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
Came back after a month on the road. Great staff and small campground, but very friendly. The view of the river is excellent and this is a prime get-away campground. Location is far away from road noise and plenty of wildlife in the area. If you are a bird watcher, you will love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$17
Older park, but very quiet and nice. While there seems to be a lot of long termers living here, it was not problem to be in a pull through site at the PassPort America rate. Staff very nice and helpful. I would come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$11
Stayed for a month--beautiful setting, nice folks. Faced the river and watched the birds. They have monthly pot lucks--nice to meet your neighbors--have a lot of "Winter Texans". Older park and some hook ups are reversed. Would stay there again. (Rate cited reflects nightly rate.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$12
Returned after 9 months away. Great campground and constantly improving from last year's visit. Staff is top notch and addresses problems immediately If you notify them of an issue. These people step up to create a very nice, quiet area with many things to do if you wish to participate. The island is a big draw for fishing and bird watching. A hiking trail is a nice touch. Park security watch has been added since last year and that helps control non-guest visitors. Will keep coming back here yearly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$9
We camped here for 3 months and nightly rate reflects monthly rate. The park is clean, quiet and relaxing. The back in sites on the river give a view of the water and an island in the river that is used for tent camping, where we saw deer meandering many times. We spent some time on the island relaxing and were not aware of any undesirable traffic to the island through the park as previously mentioned. The management is friendly, helpful, and is working to upgrade the park. They are also very accommodating...we saw other campers moved around the park to get just the site they wanted. This is a good park for an overnight stay or to camp for awhile. There is fishing in the river, and lots of places for walking and exploring if you are looking for quality downtime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
We camped here for over 2 months and found the managers/staff to be very accommodating. We had a site that backed right up to the river. We enjoyed looking out and seeing blue heron and deer roaming the island out in the middle of the Guadalupe River. The workcampers were very helpful and the tamales made by the management team were delicious. This is a quiet park with a very relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$12
First let me state the the 2 managers of the park are super accommodating and kind to a fault. There are rules in the park but no one obeys them. The river sites slope to toward the river so bring your blocks if you own a big rig. The park has severe high voltage problems. My surge protector shut off 5 time at 132v.(5 times that I know of). The homes parallel to the park all have dogs and they bark all day long. Dogs are left tied up outside all day in the park. Unregistered undesirable people come through the park and go to the island all day and night. Sites are grass for the most part. Management is aware of all these problems. The permanent (many) residents were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$12
Low nightly rate is based on their monthly rate. We stayed for a month with the Guadalupe River view out the back wheel of our Fifth Wheel. The owners and residents were friendly and courteous. With excellent free WiFi, we could stay in touch with family and friends. Cable was standard (13 channels) and free. Good view of southern sky for our satellite dish. Owners want to please, and go out of their way to do so. We will come back here when we visit the Hill Country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Outstanding!!! The new owners of the campground have done a great job and trying to improve from former management's apparent lack of ambition. We spent 2 months there and would return tomorrow if possible. The river is scenic, plenty of activities for people who wish to be social. If something is not working, they take care of it immediately. The staff there is top rate and very generous with their time. Would love to stay but forced to return to Ohio. Will be back next January to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2008
$34
We stayed one month. During one week one unit was kicked out because of reckless DUI driving, a couple had to be rescued by emergency service because they were locked in their unit injured,reportedly intoxicated, one unit let trash blow all over after a drinking party. Club house was closed for 4 days for use by a small private group of campers. Only half of the dryers worked. Park need to decide if they want senior wintering Texans or full time boozers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com