217857 User submitted reviews online!!
Groton Forest Road Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (802) 426-4122
CGID8398

Groton Forest Road Campground

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   5   8   6   8   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
Nice RV park with gravel main roads with gravel site roads with wide grass sites. The large open section has large sites with no trees, no table and no fire rings, 30 & 50 amp and good satellite signal. Unlevel sites, had to use 3 inches under tires to get level. The wooded area sites are smaller and all back in with 30 & 50 amp. The park is well maintained with usable password protected wi-fi signal, no Verizon or ATT cell signals very limited tv antenna signals, no cable. Good water pressure. No sewer at any sites only a dump station. Outdoor above ground pool, no rec center or small store. Only open in summer. Activities on holidays. Staff nice. Would stay there again. Cost listed is PA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
Convenient to Montpelier, Stowe, and good foliage drives. No sewer, but serviceable dump station. Wooded sites around the perimeter up the hill, wide open spots (with good satellite reception) down the hill on the flat. Fire rings, but no picnic tables. Wi-Fi was marginal, but usable – just s-l-o-w! No cable, but good antenna reception for local network channels. Adequate gravel roads and fairly level grass sites. Great value for the money. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
Good enough for an overnight stay. Clean and safe. Approximately 2.5 miles off of Hwy 2. Steep hill to climb off of Hwy 2. The pull thru is on the grass which has electric and water. There is a dump station on premise at no charge to campers. Site was hard to level. Plenty of room to walk Fido. Wi-Fi on site, but is weak. Satellite was fine but no OTA or cable channels. Would stay here again, but would like to see other options in the area. Rate is Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
OK campground. Lots and lots of people with small children live here. It was late September and the place was pretty empty except for the circumference sites which were permanent residents. The office was open but never staffed. A guest pointed to a field where we could set up. We set up next to the office and we still could not get decent Wi-Fi. Eventually someone came around to collect. I will pass on this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Passport America rate listed at $17.00. Sites are only 2 way but fairly adequate. Large sites and easy access. Very picturesque area. Great place for a 3-5 day stay. Easy access dump station on the way out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Staff friendly, new electric hookups, open field that was mowed. Downside is the lack of quiet hours (or if there were they were not enforced). Friday night was a combination of noisy kids and barking dogs. We were awakened by the barking at 5am. We will avoid this park in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This park is small but in a beautiful setting. Our pull-through site was grassy, level, and spacious. There is no black-water dumping, but gray water is permitted on the ground. The staff was very helpful. Wi-Fi was good; cell phone service was poor, but is very spotty all throughout this part of Vermont. There are a number of long-term campers here. Access from the northeast or northwest is much easier than from the south, and is worth a few extra miles to get there via US Hwy 2, even if you are coming from the south. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
No Verizon phone or data. Free (slow) WiFi. Ability to dump gray water at site. A couple of air TV stations (including network). Small above ground pool. Level grassy sites. 1/2 price for PA. Best access is from north rather than from Groton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
The above rate reflects the Passport rate. We weren't charged any extra for electricity. This park is adequate for a couple of nights stay. It is pretty remote. There was no Verizon service anywhere near this campground. The site I was in was out in the open and not too level. It did rain some over night but not enough to be muddy. There are quite a few seasonals here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$11
What you should know before arriving at Groton Forest Road Campground: (1) there are only 3 pull-through sites and they are not level; (2) power is extra (20 cents per kilowatt; (3) they accept only cash or check, no credit cards; (4) the laundry consists of one washer and one dryer located at the corner of the park entrance and Route 232; (5) the dump site is located on the left side of the camp road as you exit and when it rains the area you would normally pull into becomes a sunken muddy mess; (6) the shade sites are all back-ins around the perimeter; (7) the pull-through sites are not shaded; (8) interior roads are gravel and sites are grass. We used the Passport America discount. The owner was not in residence; however, the woman who was "in charge" was very accommodating. Since the middle pull-through site had no power or water, she suggested we park across sites. We were then able to level and there was room for another big rig to park the same way, level, and hook up. Because it had been raining and continued to rain the entire time we were there, the grass was ankle high, but I believe they normally keep it well trimmed. It's not a busy park, which makes for a quiet, relaxed atmosphere. We'd stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Roads were adequate and the sites were grass. They were not level. Wanda, manager, was pleasant and trusting. Dump was near the exit from the campground and was clean and had flush water hose. Water pressure was inadequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com