224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Rio Viento RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (925) 382-4193
CGID8433

Rio Viento RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   4   8   7   8   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
A rare 10 from us!! A very remote park right next to the Sacramento River. Concrete pavers throughout the park for the sites and the roads. Utility hookups were convenient and we had a good line of sight for our satellite dish. Sites were exceptionally wide and long and there was great distance between sites. We had water problems so we had to use the park showers for the first time since full timing began almost 5 years ago and they were OK. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
We have stayed here a few times, they are letting the place run down. Yes you get a big site, but that's all, unless you windsurf, then you kinda get a "launch area". The dog park is dry weeds with lots of stickers, still have to pay for Wi-Fi! My son stopped to visit early Sunday morning for a cup of coffee. He no sooner pulled into our site and they demanded a $5.00 visit fee! Costs way too much for what you get. We won't go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This park would get great reviews if it wasn't for the winds, 40 to 50 mile an hour winds that don't stop. If you're a wind surfer this is your park; if you are not, I would avoid it. Positives. The park is clean. If you stay with a minimum three other travelers they have great wind break area to enjoy complete with BBQ and seating area. The host that checked us in was really pleasant and they monitor the area all the time. Negatives. This is a dog friendly place and they have a great dog run however you can't let the dogs run or they will be loaded with fox tails and stickers. No activities to do unless you want to wind surf. No pool. It's too windy to enjoy the fishing and about 30 minutes to any store or restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
This is a very nice CG. The sites have the widest pads I have seen. This park is off the main road so it is very quiet except the wind that always blows. The Sacramento River is just across the road and is beautiful. The only bad thing as stated before is the last 2 miles of road into the park. It is very bump and narrow. If you go very slow it works. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
This is a very nicely designed park, and is an excellent park if you know what to expect. The windmills across the river are there for a reason; it is very windy nearly all the time. You have to pay for the internet, and it is usually quite slow and unpredictable. The last 2 miles of road are very narrow and bumpy. To go into the city of Antioch, just south, there is a $5 toll on the bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Park is not on the beaten path. Narrow levee road that you need to drive slow on to get to park. People are really nice, owners live on site and are actively involved in care of park. Interior roads and pads are all interlocking paving bricks that are really nice. Spots spacious. Have stayed twice this year and will go back. The few cons are: no laundry, no cable. Rio Vista is 11 miles away. Oakley is closer but requires using the toll bridge to get back to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
I echo the other comments that this is a very nice park. It is right "next" to the water, but you can't see the water from your campsite because there is a 15' tall levee bank between you and the water. We stayed with 9 other rigs and had use of the largest cabana structure, which was wonderful. It had lights and heat and totally kept us out of the wind. This is a great place for a family reunion, or other group of rigs, so long as you can entertain yourselves on-site because there isn't a lot else nearby unless you are interested in fishing or wind-surfing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
There is a lot to like about this park. The layout is big rig friendly, and the owners are a delight. The hookups are in excellent working order, and sensibly arranged. The bathroom/shower is private, and very clean. There is a slot to pay for showers, but they are free, save your quarters. There is no laundry. Now for the downsides: the wind makes sitting outside to eat impossible, and don't even think about opening your awning. They changed internet provider during our stay, it is now $3 a day. Too pricey for an erratic signal. We had a decent Verizon signal for cell and aircard. The road to the park is not good, narrow and rough, just go slow. The location for visiting family nearby was perfect, and we took the BART into San Francisco. The rate is based on a weekly stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
This is a beautiful RV park on the Sacramento River. Probably one of the nicest parks I've ever stayed in. The owners developed it with big rigs in mind. And they welcome large groups and even have "party tents" available for free if you have 3 more more rigs in your group. The bathrooms were spotless. The wi-fi was good and reasonably priced. No cable hookup, but you could get quite a few channels with the RV antenna. Yes, it can get windy - there was a huge storm when I was there, but it was kind of fun. It is family friendly although there isn't a playground for the kids which is unfortunate. There is a basketball hoop and a soccer net with balls, horseshoes, bocci. All in all, a gorgeous RV park on the Delta, and I will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This RV park by far was the cleanest and quietest that I have ever been to, also the windiest. It is very impressive and the staff was nice. Coming into the park, we checked in and went to our site. The site was huge! Extremely impressive. The staff did not say if they had Wi-Fi so we didn't know, so I suggest that you ask prior to going to your site. I saw a satellite dish near the registration cabin (so they might have Wi-Fi). The bathroom were the cleanest of any park that I have been too. The hospitality tents are the way to go (if you have three RV's in your group you might be able to get one) since the wind is extremely bad at night (30-40 mph). This park is not for children though. No play structures or swimming pool. My children were playing (10 and 12 year old) with some other kids in the park in the open area, were not that close to other travel trailers and still in the open area, when the owner came to our site and told us to have the children play nearer to our campsite. It was only 6pm! So you might want to think about what type of activities the kids can do while here. That's the only downfall, other than that the place was AWESOME. I would go back again, but due to lack of children activities, and the wind, I might decided to go elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
On this sunny winter weekend, this place couldn't be beat! It's spacious, level, clean, quiet and not windy. The owners are very friendly, professional and have put their hearts into this special park. The narrow road makes the last couple of miles a little adventurous. Google Maps says the park is three miles down the road, but it's only two! We arrived in the dark, missed the entrance and had to drive another 1.5 miles to the county park to turn around. Signage could be better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
"Rio Viento" means "Wind River", and there is a reason that this park is a favorite for windsurfers and kitesurfers. There is a huge power-generating windmill adjacent to the park. The park is below the levee, which provides some wind shelter, but it blew continuously during our two-day stay. The park looks new, even though it is five years old. Sites are huge, level back-ins, made of brick, with wide interior roads. Excellent quality 20/30/50 amp power. I didn't find a laundry in the park, and the nearest one is almost certainly miles away on the other side of the $4 toll bridge to Antioch. The bathrooms were modern, immaculate, tasteful individual suites, with showers. The road to the park is a mile or two of fairly narrow levee road, but any size rig can negotiate it. We got the "introductory rate" of $30. I assume that's because it was our first stay here (their posted rate is $40/day). We really enjoyed watching the windsurfers right across the road from the park and the kitesurfers about a mile down the road. Although the address is Rio Vista, it's really closer to Antioch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
What a fantastic park! The park is immaculate in its cleanliness. The managers are friendly, informative and very professional. The park is on the Sacramento River and offers great views of Mt Diablo. Sunsets are amazing. The sites are very wide and bricked with grass areas. Utilities are top notch. The only down-side of the park is the wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
This has to be the best RV park we have ever stayed at. The people were great the sites were clean and level. The area was peaceful. Can be tough to find but a gem when you do. Next to the river for fishers. Near enough to the Antioch to visit family, secluded enough to feel like you are far away. Forces you to be quiet and still. We needed to get away from the big city hustle. I can't wait for the next opportunity to get back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
Back side of the levee on Sherman Island. 1.8 mile levee walk to a public boat launch. Lots of Sacramento river fishing just yards from your site. Windsurfing, as it is very windy, typical delta. We had a rally here with 34 rigs; everyone enjoyed it, no one had any access issues. The park is paved with 650,000 paver bricks, all level. The club room is a large metal building, very nice, with propane heaters (you supply the propane). All tent patio rooms come with BBQ's (again you supply the propane) and utensils. Very quiet day and night, no traffic, miles from town. The on site manager was awesome, as was the owners dog, Sugar. The pictures on the website are accurate and barely do it justice. This is such a nice place I really should not tell you about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com