206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails Lake Whitney was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (254) 694-2583
CGID8463

Thousand Trails Lake Whitney

Camp Information
Sites
240
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   3   9   8   4   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$3
We are Thousand Trails Zone Members and price reflects the membership. Great park even though we were not able to take advantage. There was an ice storm in the Dallas area and we hunkered down for 4 days waiting for it to pass. Staff was helpful and provided everything we asked. Not many people there and no activities during this time since it was not crowded. We use laundry facilities and showers were clean. Electric was excellent. We were at a 30 amp site. No sewer where we were located, but I do not know about the rest of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$3
We enjoyed our visit here. Activities for adults and kids. Enjoyed the Adult pool and Adult activity center. This is a large campground and with the heat you couldn't walk from area to area very well. We were in the "A" campground which is closer to the Adult area. Rate reflects Thousand Trails Membership and 50A rate. Personnel very friendly. Saw some roadrunners and a bobcat. They only have 13 pull-through spots. 1 with 50 amp and 6 with 30 full hookup and the other 5 with 30 water/electric. In the entire complex there are only 14 sites with 50 amp hook ups. Some sites had more shade than others. Most sites were gravel. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$2
The roads are really bad. Speed limit is 15 mph but you cant travel much faster than that. We stayed in loop B so we could have WiFi but we had to call office several times to get them to reset their modem. The sites are ok but there are a lot of cedar sharp branches about head high so be very careful. The picnic tables are in really bad shape. The boards have decayed and have big holes in them. The filling station (dinning hall) is fine but to get in you have to pass by equipment stacked with dust. It seems that the workers are so use to it that it doesn't bother them. When we arrived we were greeted by folks that had just eaten sour pickles and it showed. They need a good course of smiles and welcoming people in to park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$4
It's a nice clean park with a lot to offer. Roads are showing some long term wear, and need to be repaired. We were unable to get a 50 amp site, but the 30 amp site had clean electric. In Loop B, we were able to get a solid Wi-Fi signal, which worked flawlessly during our stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Membership park that is now available to public for a fee. We are members so rate shown is for public stay. Adult pool was fantastic and recently redone. Activities are generally only on the weekend but water aerobics were M-W-F at adult pool. Family pool is also open and miniature golf course was fun. Roads need work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$1
We have used this park since 2004. This is our last visit though. The park continues to deteriorate. The roads are rough and when we stayed part of the road was one lane due to a washed out culvert area. We had to call the ranger to have somebody use a weed eater on the area around the power pedestal and sewer. Much of the infrastructure needs attention. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
Friendly staff, cheerful and helpful. Pretty wooded area, but sites are very unlevel and no amount of leveling in the coach helped. Was able to get good satellite reception but no Wi-Fi. Park is fairly small, but quite comfortable. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$1
Lake Whitney is in great condition over all, needs some road work soon, or the roads will go from needing maintenance to needing replaced. We did not photograph the mini golf as it is buried in the snow right now. Loop D has great FREE internet reception in the sites closest to the main road. Rumor has it, internet is good in the B loop as well. All the sites are in great condition, though some of the electrical boxes are suspect. As far as electrical is concerned, we took a 30A site, and it was more than adequate for our needs.The laundry is 1 mile from loop D; today we drove 8 miles just going to the laundry and back. :) Everything in this park is so far apart, one can really get his cardio in if he chooses to walk from point to point. Most of the buildings were closed for the winter, but the members are doing some activities on their own in the family center. This park is excellent for a Thousand Trails preserve; the staff is hard working and very friendly. Scale of 1 to 10, we give this park a high 9. The park would get a 10 if the lake was more accessible and visible. Visit Fort Worth stock yards from here. Don't forget to stop in Austin on the way or on the way out to see the presidential library and the new Texas History Museum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
This is a very nice park, spaces are great, people are very friendly, park very clean. The only complain I have is with the Adult swimming pool. This pool is for ADULTS ONLY, over 18 years old. We stayed at the park for 6 days - I swam every day and every day adults would come to this pool with kids. CAN'T PEOPLE READ. There are big signs posted everyone. We would have to call the ranger and he would come and ask them to leave. There is a very nice family pool for kids. Please people read and obey the signs, they are there so we can have fun and be safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$1
We think this is a great place to stay. Most sites are level and have a lot of shade in the summer. The roads inside of park have chuck holes but are not to bad. The people that work here are great and will help you. Not much to do outside of park about a hour from Waco and hour and half from Ft. Worth. Member of Thousand Trails so it does not cost me anything to stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$1
The Lake Whitney Preserve is one of the larger preserves in the TTN system and for all it’s size is quite well maintained. The roads and sites are asphalt paved and while generally good there are a few areas that are deteriorating. Sites are generally spacious and well separated with cedar trees providing some privacy without feeling that you are in a green tunnel. Most sites have water, sewer and 30-amp electric service with a few providing 50-amp service for an additional $3 per day surcharge. Verizon cell phone and air card service is marginal and while slow, it does work. Free Wi-Fi is available at most D and B-loop campsites and at the Family Center. Many sites will provide access to the southern skies for rooftop satellite dishes but you will have to look for them. The Family Center has a nice pool, “Fillin’ Station” restaurant for weekend and occasional meals, a store and a relaxing lounge. There is a separate Adult Center with a very nice pool and spa as well as a lounge with TV and games. Surprisingly, however, there are no sites in view of the large Corps of Engineers Lake Whitney and access to the lake is only by a hiking trail through COE property. While checking in at the Gate be sure to ask for their 10-page writeup called “My Texas and the Thousand Trails Network” by Ranger Warren Wynne. It provides a brief history of Texas and the area as well as road trips of discovery. One trip stopped at the Coffee Station in Crawford, TX where Pres. Bush has occasionally eaten. A full-sized cardboard cutout of the President is in the corner if you want a picture with him. We enjoyed our stay at this park and this part of Texas and will certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$2
Nice wooded sites. Many family activities. Park also has a separate adult activity center with a pool and hot tub just for adults. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com