224371 User submitted reviews online!!
B.J.'s RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (432) 371-2259
CGID8505

B.J.'s RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   4   8   10   8   10   10   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Rate is based on weekly stay. We stayed for a week and will stay again next time we are in the area. Amenities are "interesting" from the outside but neat, clean, and good to use. Virtually no shade,but we are in a desert. Sites are level, gravel, and due to be fine tuned during the summer. WiFi is strong and consistent. No local TV but satellite reception is fine. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. We came here on word of mouth recommendation and are truly glad we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$27
The only RV park in town. Close to the west entrance of Big Bend National Park. Next to the Terlinqua Chili Cook-off site, gravel & sand with mostly level sites and decent utilities. Strong Wi-Fi, no on-the-air TV. Power spiked seven times over 134 volts and our EMS disconnected each time. Host is friendly enough. There are no CG activities or amenities. Ghost Town Terlinqua has some interesting sites and businesses. The trees have been planted and being tended, showing new growth. You don't have any choices in this part of TEXAS. The CG is acceptable but not a great place. Laundry $5, showers $4 in dated and not very clean bathroom in the old Mobile Home they use as an activity center. The choices within Big Bend NP are a little better but also much higher priced. Most CG's in the park are primitive and this is Chihuahuan Desert. If we do return to the area we won't have much choice but to return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
There isn't much choice in this area. Campground is dirt/gravel level sites, but well maintained with hookups easily accessible. Full sun, no shade. Sites are right next to each other like a parking lot. Hardly anyone there this time of year, so we had plenty of room. Restrooms (2 uni-sex bathrooms) with showers along with a washer & dryer are in an old trailer. Park is right off the main road and close to the entrance of Big Bend. Had the best steaks at the Starlight Theatre. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Enjoyed 4 nights here. Clean, but of course dusty in the desert and no shade. Wi-Fi worked great. Power and water were reliable. Convenient to town and Big Bend. Host was extraordinarily helpful when I ran into a small plumbing issue. Most definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
The park is a little farther from Big Bend National Park than several others, but we liked the look of it better. The owners are very friendly. They have small gatherings and off-site excursions for food and entertainment to which you are invited to participate if desired. We are staying an extra week because we have enjoyed our time here. We will return. There are plans to plants trees in the near future. We would recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Sites were bigger than average; nothing fancy, but clean & very quiet. It is very dark at night which makes it great for star gazing. Manager was nice. Good location for visiting Big Bend NP and Terlingua. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Very gracious managers who personally escorted me to site and took the time to show me information about the area. Flat sites, clean facilities, close enough to Big Bend and old town Terlingua. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Good staff. I met the owners as well. Nothing fancy, but tons of room, level, good WiFi and water. I stayed several days, and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$23
Pedestals have been updated. Wi-Fi is excellent. Rate is weekly. People here are very friendly. Great to visit this side of NP and the state park. Close to food and entertainment at the ghost town. This is not Ft. Wilderness but it's the desert. We would come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
The utility of this park can't be understated. As the previous reviewer says it is excellent for exploring Big Bend NP and also Big Bend State Park (which we did not do). About the only problem is that it is DUSTY. But management and other campers were very friendly and the services offered were fine. The park was full and we did not experience any power problems but it was also cool weather and no one had AC going. Our site was so level didn't even need boards. BTW, the night sky is pretty awesome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
BJ's is not a destination park, meaning it is free of extras like a swimming pool and playground, basically a gravel area with EWS sites, some with small rock/desert plant gardens. It was perfect for us to see Big Bend NP and didn't want to pay $29-30/night on the tight concessionaire parking lot at Del Rio Village. It is well positioned to check out the area from Presidio to the southern tip of Big Bend and roads (some gravel) in between. Based on a previous review we checked the 30 amp electricity (120 w/o load, 116 w/20 amp load) and water (50 psi) and were quite satisfied. There were 8 or 9 other rigs there and we didn't need A/C. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$14
BJ’s. If you like living in the desert, (which by some opinions is Butte-Ugly) this spot is as good as any and has good value. The manager is very friendly and easy going. The park is quiet with easy access and everything you need including laundry. If you like highfalutin big rigs, rich Texans and asphalt pavement go down the road but if you like a fair price in a nice park, BJ’s is just fine. They use fossils, petrified wood and geode debris in their planters here. There was good cell phone coverage and free Wi-Fi somewhere close by. Quoted rate is based on week stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
The management is real nice, they are an older couple who have a real tough life out in the middle of nowhere. We stayed here to fill up and dump before going to Big Bend. The park is just a sand lot with low-voltage power, low water pressure and quite a bit of dust. We would not stay here again, there are better parks in the immediate area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
We agree with everything the previous reviewer wrote. BJ's really grew on us as did the whole area. We were there almost 2 weeks and wish it were longer. Unfortunately it was early in the season and we were the only one's on site most of our visit so did not get to enjoy the gatherings around the fire. The couple that take care of the park and really make this a wonderful place to want to come back to. We most certainly will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
Not very many choices in Terlingua/Big Bend area. And remember this part of the country is a desert. With that said, the park is very convenient to both Big Bend National Park about 7 miles away, and to Terlingua Ghost Town a couple of miles away. It's located on HWY 170, but there is very little road noise. The park is sand/gravel and there is no shade, but this is typical in this part of the country. Water is scarce, so it's not used to water grass and trees. Sites are level and pull-thru. The laundry/showers/bathrooms are in a converted mobile home on sight, but were all very clean and well kept. We were here for a month, and quite a few repeat Winter Texans use this park. They have a gazebo in the middle of the park for anyone's use, and winds up being the central meeting place for 5:00 happy hour. Everyone is laid back, and willing to help you with anything. It takes a little getting used to the environment, but it really starts to grow on you after a week or two. Lots of hikes, rafting the Rio Grande, and surprisingly good food can be found in the area. Join the locals on "The Porch" in the evening and take in a phenomenal sunset. Winters are mild, but it still gets a little chilly at night, but warms up quickly during the day. We fell in love with the area, and never thought we would have. We'll definitely be back, and this park is our first choice in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com