206874 User submitted reviews online!!
Mistletoe State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (706) 541-0321
CGID851

Mistletoe State Park

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   8   9   10   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
My first visit to this park and I have to say that it is one of the nicest state parks I have had the pleasure of visiting, We had site 29 next to the lake, view was awesome, lots of room between sites and easy back in. The only down side and its not parks fault they are trying to solve it is ants, I had some ant powder and it took care of it. I will be back again, and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
We enjoyed our stay at Mistletoe. Roomy campsites, many on the lake. Ours is a pull through not on the waterfront - maybe 30 yards from the water. Not as much hiking as I had hoped; really just the Rock Dam trail which was a pleasant walk in the woods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Beautiful park. It is a large park, and there is only one dump site which is not convenient or easy to locate. Lake is lovely - TV reception without a dish was acceptable. Quiet, large sites. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Beautiful state park with huge sites, many with either waterfront or view of the large lake. Paved interior roads, but some need to slow way down. We observed many (including camp host) that roared through the park at 35-40 miles an hour. Posted speed limit in the campground is 5 miles an hour. Very busy on the weekend with many leaving on the Sunday we checked in, though quite empty for the rest of our three night stay. Cannot reserve a site here, just a reservation. With 1:00 check in and check out time, it can get really crazy with campers trying to score prime sites. This was our first time here, so we disconnected our toad to drive around first to find a site we liked, then back to pick up the motor home. Worked much easier for us. No sewer hookup, but if you check carefully you will find grey water dump at many sites. Not all have 50 amp, so need to check first on those also. Most big pull through sites and 50 amps sites are in the newer section to the left as you come in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We have stayed at this park multiple times. This is a nice park for boaters and fishermen. Good TV signal. Saw many dishes being used. Bath houses were generally good. This was a holiday weekend and I just need to say some people need to learn to clean up after themselves. Lots of deer. Good walking and hiking park. We did not use laundry. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This was the most beautiful park. We had a great site overlooking the water. There are many sites overlooking the water. Clean park, paved roads, big sites. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We had a wonderful time at this park. We found a pull through site with limited views of the lake but was very private.Extra bonus it had grey water only dump at site. This was a big help. The bike/hike trails were good. The lake was not over run with boats even though it was Memorial Day. Shady sites were great in dealing with the heat. Would definitely visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Nice campground. We were traveling through GA, looking for a nice place to stay overnight. This campground was a few miles off highway 20. Nice lake views. Our site was a level pull through. Some of the turns leaving were tricky for us. Could not get into some of the nicer sites, trailers were left on the sites with nobody staying in them (?). Hope to be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$38
Great, quiet park, well away from main roads with good lake views and lake front access. Some sites are tight, but we found several that were on the lake that fit our 40' Endeavor. When we camped, they were re-building the bathrooms, showers and laundry area, as well as upgrading Loop B power and water. Problems: no sewer connections, but they have a convenient dump station as you exit and lots of tree that block satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We spent the weekend at this park. Again we were pleasantly surprised by a State Park. Our site number 29 was very close to the lake. It had water, electric, fire ring, concrete picnic table, but no sewer hook-up. We hiked in the park, fished in the lake, and swam in the lake. The lake is very clean and enjoyable. Canoes are available for rent. We will visit this campground again, hopefully with a boat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Heavenly place to stay. Water views, forest views from the water. Great place to canoe or kayak. We noticed one bathroom is being revamped. Shower water was warm, definitely not hot!!! Hey, who cares, the place is outstanding in every way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
A wonderful State park. Has great walking paths, fishing, boating and well maintained sites. They do have a few full hook-ups, which we were able to get this year. A great family place with very helpful staff. When in this area, we plan on staying again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We so enjoyed our stay. Clean restrooms. Would camp if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We've stayed here 4 times over the past 8 years to go to the Masters. We love the sites and have no trouble finding ones that will fit our 40' motorhome. Although the gates are locked at night, you are given the code to open the lock if you need to. Park rangers patrol frequently. Each time we have been here the park has been nice and quiet. The only area that really needs improvement is the bathroom/shower facility. The shower floors are improperly sloped so the water doesn't drain. There are holes in some of the walls and some tiles are missing. The bathhouses definitely are in need of a facelift. On this visit it seemed that the bathhouses had not been cleaned very well on any of the 3 days we were there. And this was not necessarily attributable to the fact that we had heavy rain one of the nights. However, the park is quite pretty and the views from the sites are wonderful. We also appreciated the fact that there are many gray water disposal drains located throughout the camping areas. We were able to stretch a garden hose from our site to the nearby drain which was very convenient. We will be back next year when we come to the Masters again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This is a very large S/P on Lake Clarks Hill. All roads are asphalt, sites are packed gravel, some level and some close to level, power, water, and 8 sites have 50 amps, others 30 amps. All sites have a table and fire ring to cook on. Some sites will be very hard for a big rig to get in and out of due to poor site layout. We had to work at it to turn around. Smaller units will be OK. Most all sites have a great view of lake. Lake water level was way down due to no rain. We could see the lake from each window in motorhome. Playground equipment all over the place for kids. DTV worked very well here with number of channels. Verizon cell phone was to the top on bars. Dump station could take two units at the time. Gates locked at night. No noise anytime. Bathhouses were clean but very dated, need to be replaced. Also a long walk from most sites to use them. Park was close to empty first of Sep. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
It was nice but not as great as I had read. A big section was closed for renovation which held some of the best sites. Fairly level sites and the one we were on was pretty secluded but all in all we preferred some other state parks to this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Top-notch campground and state park. Most sites are spaced nicely, and even on a weekend it was very quiet. Clarks Hill Lake is pretty low but you still have great views. The park itself is pretty large with 15 miles of trails for biking - some difficult but fun. Some sites are a little uneven and can take awhile to level, but otherwise a great place to stay and not too far away from Augusta. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
The sites are all very nice, with a mix of waterfront and interior ones. The most level sites seem to be the waterfront ones, and they have wonderful views of the lake. A few of them are open enough that anyone needing satellite signals could probably get them. Unfortunately, if you're a boater, the boat launch ramp will only launch you onto dry ground due to the drought. As low as water levels were last year, the shoreline's receded even more this year (I'd say, 20-30 feet in some areas). The hiking trails are well-marked and covered with pine needles or oak leaves, making them comfortable to walk on. Now for my complaint: A resident park employee apparently lets his two large dogs wander around off-leash. They haven't come into the campground as far as I know, but one of them is very territorial when it sees another dog near its house. Both dogs charged at me and my (leashed) Border Collie today. The Lab held back, but the other K9 got within 6 inches of my dog's face, growling, hackles raised and baring its teeth. I yelled "No! Go back home!", and the dog did back off. But had this been a youngster walking a German shepherd, for example, the outcome could have been a bloody mess. The Lab also takes a nap in the middle of the road. With the speed limit ranging between 15 and 35 m.p.h., and dappled shade making it hard to see as you round the corner, this creature risks getting injured or killed. Park personnel ought to be setting a good example, not being this clueless about their dog ownership responsibilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
This is a beautiful campground with large, well-spaced sites. The sites are gravel and mostly level. While they don't have full sewer hookups, they do have grey water disposal through connections designed to accept a standard garden hose. We rated it a 9 because of the lack of full sewer hookups. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
This is a gorgeous campground in a beautiful setting. The park is laid out nicely, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Since we were there during their slow season, we could drive around and pick out our own site. We had great views of the lake from our site. It was quiet and very restful. The bathrooms were clean. I would imagine that this place is really busy during the warmer months. We actually stayed a day longer due to tornado warnings between there and Atlanta. So, we took the opportunity to tour Augusta, which is a great city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$16
This is our favorite state park and we have camped here many times with both our pop-up and the travel trailer. The lake level was down on this visit due to lack of rain. They have also made improvements to some of their sites making big rig access easier. There are several hiking trails in the park with easy access to Clarks Hill Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
Beautiful park. Huge. Great for biking/hiking. Would be wonderful in hot weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$24
Undoubtedly the best state park campground of the states we've RVed in (a small but growing list, so far). Exceptionally level and easy to back into sites! We stayed three nights in December 2005 enroute to FL and TX from PA. Our only issue was that we had to be back inside the park by 10 pm or we'd be locked out till 7 the next morning. We used to live near there and had to cut short evening visits with old friends to get back in the park on time all three nights, but that was our only problem. We'd definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$18
One of our absolute favorite places. We stop here on the way to our wintering grounds, and generally on the way home, a week each time. At least in the off-season, the place is not over-run with staff, and those you see are helpful and friendly. There's generally a workamper host, even in winter time. The lake is quite beautiful, and except for weekends there is almost no motorboat traffic, so this is one of the most quiet places we've found, about 12 miles off the interstate highway. The laundry facilities are not fancy --one washer and one dryer at each shower house-- but they are clean, working, and not overly expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Great lake park. Level sites, close to water, space between sites, friendly folks. Only needs sewer to be a 10. Camped in 36 foot Chieftain in 2004. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2000
$18
One of the nicer state parks we've seen and would rate higher with sewer hookups. Many sites on or overlooking the water. Pull thrus with concrete tables, level gravel sites. Handled 40' 5th with toter. About 15 miles off the Interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com