223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset Travel Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (205) 553-9233
CGID8518

Sunset Travel Park

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   8   7   6   8   5   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
We stopped here on our way to New Orleans. Easy access from I-59/20. Transient area has wide gravel roads and sites. Many pull-through sites. Campground is stretched out along JVC Road and is long and narrow. No shade. I didn't check the Wi-Fi. Our site had a concrete pad on both sides so you didn't have to walk through dirt before entering the unit. Good services well placed. Everything I want in an overnight campground. Nothing fancy but I would definitely stay here again if I was passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
This RV park is nothing special to look at overall, but I thought it was very decent for an overnight stay. It is quite convenient from the interstate, and I had a pull-through site that had a level concrete pad and very clean and nice hookups. I arrived late, so I never met the staff in person, but they were very friendly and helpful over the phone. The restroom/shower facility was nothing fancy but seemed clean and well-maintained. I would recommend this park, especially for a short-term or overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
It's okay for an overnight stop. There are a lot of permanent residence and a clean park. One can somewhat hear the interstate noise. We stayed in the second section which was across the road. We never could get cable. Verizon was very slow. Their directions sheet had a Wi-Fi password but no Wi-Fi. We did like the level lot and the light on the pole since it was getting dark when we pulled into the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$32
We picked this park for the convenience factor. It is an easy off and on from I-20. There is allot of noise from the highway, but it did not bother us too much. The owner was friendly and helpful. Shopping is close by and our Verizon phone and data worked well. It was easy to get around with our 37' RV and we were able to use our satellite dish. Overall not a bad spot for an overnight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This park is fine for an overnight stay and given the selections in this state, it was a good choice for time and distance for our trip. It is divided into two sections, the one on the southwest side of the road where the main office is (sign says "Sunset 2 Travel Park"), and the second across and down the same road a few hundred feet. The second section is where we stayed in a pull-thru that was quite adequate for our 32' 5er. Gravel sight with concrete pad and full hookups. While they do have Wi-Fi, it's not Internet enabled so quite useless and we could not get the cable to work from either of the two connections available. Several long term trailers, but mostly clean and neat - felt quite safe. A portion of the interstate can be seen and heard about 200 yards away, but with A/C fan running full time, it didn't keep us awake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
This is an okay place for a one night stay. It is close to freeway so there was highway noise, but not too bad. They advertise Internet but don't see to care that it's not working. We had no internet connection whatsoever. Cable had good selection of channels. Nice level, pull through cement site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
This campground has good gravel interior roads and level sites. Sites have concrete islands for utility services and seating areas. Wi-Fi was weak and slow at the far end of the park where we were. It is very close to the highway, with easy on and off access, but is very noisy. Good for an overnight, but we would not stay any longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$29
Not worth the price but seems to be the best choice in the area. Cement pads with grass. Gravel roads and many pull through parking areas: ours was drying mud with one big rut. Cable TV connections were male ended. Every other park we have stayed in, in our short camping history, had a female connection. If our neighbor didn't have that little male to male adapter to lend us, we would have been without TV. No restrooms or showers on the East section where we were parked. Water and sewer connections were on a cement pad, which was nice for a change. Seemed to be a large percentage of permanent residents. Sunset RV Park is OK if needing a place to stay, but in the future we will plan on passing through Cottondale without stopping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$29
Nice park, good water pressure, no shade, good pet walk, nice concrete pad, no table, cable TV, internet no working. Good value. Easy interstate access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$29
This is no longer a Passport America park and the price is out of line for the value. It was $29 for 30 amp, $32 for 50 amp. It is right off the interstate so noise is a problem. It's an OK place for an overnight stop, but just not for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
We were put in the Avalon Dr. location which is basically a gravel parking lot with full hookups. No grass, no trees, no facilities, no tables, no dumpster for trash. Mgt gave us no warning that was what we were getting when we asked for a pull through site. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but pulled out after one. The other location opposite the office may be okay but it couldn't handle a 40 ft fifth wheel. Lots of street traffic noise and the railroad tracks are very close. Next time we'll try someplace else. The other 6 or 7 units appeared to be working people here for a long term. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
This is a divided CG, with three different areas/locations. The first location and the only park office is located at 5001 JVC road. You have to check in here. The second and third locations are at a different addresses off University Avenue about a mile away. The first location has cement pads with trees and is set up for smaller rigs (less than 35’). The second location is a large space (parking lot) with gravel, no trees and is set up for pull throughs (big rigs 45+) with surrounding back-ins with 50A, water and sewer. There is a do-it-yourself car wash adjacent to this area. The third area is adjacent to the second but with a different entrance, this area is mostly storage with a few seasonals. We stayed in the second area which required some extra effort in leveling, the entire area is on a grade. The management stated that there was WiFi, however, we found no signal the entire time we were here, but the Verizon and Virgin cards worked OK. This area seemed to be mostly seasonals that are working in the area. The utilities all worked OK with no problems, water was well above 65 psi. Access is easy with plenty of room for maneuvering. This is a good one night stand, especially since they take Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Easy to find, very clean, easy sites to hit, and very friendly office staff. Wi-Fi worked well and cable was good. The only thing is the price. A bit pricey, but not overly high. No discounts. There is a sign in the office saying Passport America members welcome, but I believe that is has to do with another park they own. Would stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling down I-20. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
The park is divided into 2 sections. The office is located on one side of the street with what appeared to be seasonal campers and narrow roads. On the other side of the street is a big rig friendly park with mostly pull through sites that are long enough for any size coach without unhooking tow vehicle. Streets in this section are very wide and make movement easy. They alternate coach direction so utilities are on same side. Sites are gravel, but each site has concrete pad on both sides. Utilities are modern and well placed. Park was very clean, but appears as a big gravel parking lot for RVs. Park is just off I-20 and very convenient for overnight, but there is some road noise. We would utilize this park again if we are in the Tuscaloosa area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com