223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Walnut Acres Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (319) 465-4665
CGID8544

Walnut Acres Campground

Camp Information
Sites
266
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   3   10   5   7   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
Very nice park and the owners are super people. The only reason I did not give a 10 rating is because they do not have cable and they allow campfires (because of my asthma this keeps me inside the camper when I would much rather be out and about walking around and meeting people). We have stayed here many times over the past 10 years and have always had a good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Stayed here one night, and we wished we could have stayed longer. Great park. Nice people. Quiet place. Super long pull-through site was great. Nice shaded spots. No cable, so satellite reception could be difficult. Sites were wide and gravel parking with grass between sites. Private fishing lake that is stocked. No license needed. Close to the town where everything is available. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
Had a great weekend. Kids had so much to do with hayrides, crafts, fishing, 2 playgrounds. We stayed near the back of the park, and it was so nice to be able to wagon wheel our campers with friends. Can't believe they bounced back so well from last years flood. Love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
I found this park to be greatly unkempt. For the most part there are no pads to park on. The pad sites are for the seasonal campers. The grass looked as if it had not been cut for a couple weeks. The tables and the floors in two covered areas were full of bird droppings, making them unusable. I will only return if I have to. For the dollars paid, it is far over priced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Wow: what a great weekend. They certainly bounced back from the floods last year. They had so much to do for the kids: crafts, games, movie, hayride, 2 playgrounds. We hardly saw the kids all weekend. Owners actually came by and asked us if there was anything we needed! Couldn't believe the proactive attitude. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
the camp occupies a large acreage with many pull through sites but the park borders a large river and was underwater for lengthy period earlier this year or last year. Our 50amp breaker malfunctioned and the new owner changed it immediately citing water as the culprit. It rained our only night there and water and mud was everywhere. The laundry room being renovated due to water damage. It has the potential to be a nice place for an overnight or extended stay if not for the current water issues. The new owners friendly and helpful. It needs rock and cosmetic attention. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
The first thing I noticed this visit was that they need to clean up the area around the office. That being said, the campground itself was clean with the exception of the bathrooms (not horrible, but definitely not clean). They have added swings to the newer playground, which the kids loved. I expected the campground to be busier on a holiday weekend, but there were still sites available. The weekend hay rack rides are loved by all and this time they had several little cars pulled train like that were really cute. The owners and staff are very friendly as always and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The Wi-Fi was not working this weekend. Excellent view of the fireworks from campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
As stated in the May post, this campground has had to deal flooding all summer. In talking to the owner they had 8 floods this summer. With that said, the park was great with much to do. My only neg. comment was the width of the gravel pads. I think they could have made them wider. This however may be fixed by next year. A great park I plan on returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
We just got back from another visit to Walnut Acres. I must say that holiday weekends are quite over crowded, they had us wedged in like sardines! We paid for electric and had to run our extension cord across two other sites to get it. I'm not certain if the sites were supposed to have water, we were told that water was available however the campers all around us had all hooked up to the only available water sources with splitters. We unhooked them and filled our tanks and then hooked them back up. These sites (in the 700's) were the smallest sites we have ever camped in by far! Many people were unable to even put their awnings out because the sites were too small. This seemed to be a problem mainly in the sites that we had been placed. Otherwise the campground is still very nice. Plenty of activites for the kids, two playgrounds, free Friday movies at the pavilion, hay rides, fishing, beach, basketball, volleyball and more. Our kids love Walnut Acres and they never complain of having nothing to do! My son tells me that there are new owners this year, we will see how it goes this summer, but so far so good. Everyone that you run into here has a smile or a wave, they truly make you feel welcome! They are currently having many problems with flooding (as is most of eastern Iowa) and have had to pull seasonal campers out at least a couple of times this year, one of the chances you take to enjoy beautiful sites along the river. PS- Love the Bunny Tracks ice cream! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This is one of my favorite campgrounds! There are so many things to do here, from river tubing, playgrounds, wagon rides, swimming at the beach, pedal boating in the small lake, fishing, and more! Whether you choose to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet or join in on the kickball game this is a great facility. Check out their website for upcoming events and activities. There are many shaded sites and for the sun worshipers they have you covered in the new section of the campground where the trees have yet to mature. There are two or three small bare bones rental cabins and more well kept seasonal sites each time we come. The sites aren't huge, but they are large enough and we haven't ever had a problem leveling our camper here. On holiday weekends they have a DJ and a dance that our kids (boys ages 8-16) love. The campground is always very clean with the exception of the bratty nine year old boy (not one of mine) that defecated on the slide to be funny, and then ran off before he could be made to clean it up himself. However, this must not have been his first adventure in outdoor excretions, because I called the owners to take care of it and his father was dragging him back to make him clean it up before they even got there, (and it only took them five minutes). They must have known who to call. Overall this is a nice family friendly campground that seems to just get better every year! The owners are very welcoming and very helpful. Last time we camped here they lent us a part that we needed for our camper for the weekend. We already have reservations for this year and can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com