215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Spruce Meadow RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (907) 789-1990
CGID8601

Spruce Meadow RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   7   7   10   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
Good park, but beware of tricky transportation logistics for RVs. Run by a mother-daughter team, this friendly park is more spacious than a typical commercial park, with some green space between sites, along with some picnic tables and fire pits. The staff is helpful, and the facilities are clean and tidy. The laundry is particularly nice, and located in a 24-hour-accessible central facility in the same building as the office, with no need to get change or tokens from staff. TRANSPORTATION LOGISTICS: This park is located about 16 miles from town on Mendenhall Loop, making it pretty close to the Alaska Marine Highway ferry terminal and of course the Mendenhall Glacier, but not at all close to downtown. One thing you RV'ers need to know is that parking in downtown Juneau for an RV is IMPOSSIBLE. Fortunately, there are two bus routes that stop right outside the park, but unfortunately, as of our visit, the bus stop sign right by the park entrance had disappeared, thus it wasn't clear where the stop was! We ended up walking up a mile and a half to the next stop, and had the pleasure of watching a bus drive right by us despite our waving because we weren't at an official stop. Here's what you need to know to make the busses work for you: => There are two routes serving the park: Route 3 runs counterclockwise around Mendenhall Loop and Route 4 runs clockwise around Mendenhall Loop. => Both take about an hour to get you in to town, and come about once an hour during the day, Monday through Saturday. => The bus stops for both Route 3 and Route 4 are right next to the park entrance. Walk from the park to the street, then the bus stops are about 50 feet to the RIGHT. The Route 3 bus stop sign (on the same side of the road as the park) is MISSING. But the Route 4 bus stop sign on the opposite side of the street is present, so just look for it. => Ask staff for the times of each route. Our recollection is that Route 3 came ~7 minutes before the hour, while Route 4 came ~20 minutes after the hour, during the day. Check with staff, though. => A taxi is another option, and costs about $35. one way. Note that Mendenhall Glacier was not quite walking distance from this park (~2 miles away), but parking an RV there was not a problem. Only getting to the activities based downtown was problematic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Mosquitoes are awful. But that is common in Alaska. WiFi, did not work, cable spotty. Our site required a bit of leveling and was oddly laid out, with the sewer closer to the front of the site. If we were to return to the area we would stay at another campground at Mendenhall Glacier, which also has full hookups for less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Very helpful staff. Heavily treed sites. Very quiet. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Located in the forest. Lots of trees and vegetation (bugs) but quiet. Good Wi-Fi. Large spaces. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Actual price was $31.50 for a full hook-up. We arrived in Juneau on the ferry and were greeted by the campground host (owner?) advising that that the cable TV had not been working for weeks and the Wi-Fi was “weak.” We were told that there were free DVD’s in the office to use, but the campground office was not open the entire 4th of July weekend. Wi-Fi worked well except for our first night in camp. Campground provided detailed information and maps of the area. Two out of three dryers didn’t dry properly, however, the campground refunded part of the $16.25 spent to dry the clothes. We think that the washers (varied from $4.00 for hot wash to $2.50 for cold wash) & dryers ($3.25 per load) were extremely expensive. Roads in the campground were a bit bumpy due to the rain, but our back-in site was level. A very quiet campground with some permanent residents. The restrooms and showers were kept very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
I loved this park as soon as we pulled in. The owners are very nice and know the area and activities like the back of their hand. The sites were relaxing, large, and private. This park made our stay in Juneau so much more enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
I stayed here for one night while testing my camper. Staff was friendly and the park was very woodsy. I have and will recommend this park again to others. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
This was a good place to stay while in Juneau. The staff are very helpful. The WiFi worked fine. Nothing fancy but just a good place to stay. Lots of mosquitoes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Very nice RV park in a lovely wooded setting. Spaces are wide and wooded. Looks like they spend their money on the nice stuff for the RV'r. The digital cable TV connection was great. Every channel had a perfect, clear picture. Free wireless internet, and close enough to Juneau. Restroom building looked kind of bad but the inside was very clean. Owner on site and friendly. Special area for tenters was more than anyone would expect. Large covered area with outdoor sink. Very, very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
The park is well maintained and the showers and restrooms are clean. When we were here the electrical problems in Juneau had been fixed so we were not on a meter. The cable was not working, but movies were available from the office to watch. The park is within several miles of Mendenhall Glacier and near the ferry terminal. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Spruce Meadow is a few miles from the ferry terminal in the town of Auke Bay, west of Juneau. It's very wooded, so mosquitoes were ever-present. Because Juneau has had some electricity problems due to an avalanche in April, at the time we stayed campers who used an electrical hookup were charged a kilowatt-per-hour fee. Also, the washers and dryers were very expensive--$3.75 per wash, $3 for 40 minutes of dryer use. The showers were clean and large. There are a lot of nice touches throughout the office and the grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Excellent camp site carved out of a spruce forest. Located near the Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center. Easy access from the ferry terminal. One of the friendliest camp grounds we have ever used, both from the staff and from the folks who are residents there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Very friendly, helpful staff. Located near Mendenhall Glacier Lake and Visitor Center. Excellent Wi-Fi. There are a few sites that have an opening in the trees that enables DirecTV reception. Short drive from Alaska Ferry Terminal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com