223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Howell Station COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (641) 828-7522
CGID8608

Howell Station COE

Camp Information
Sites
143
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   8   9   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
We were able to use our Golden Age Pass to get the $10 rate. We camped in loop 1 and there were large sites and we were within walking distance to the water. Lots of paths throughout the park. Great place for biking. Many trees throughout the park. We did not have reservations but arrived early on a Friday morning and got a spot. They seem to fill up on the weekends. Many families here and lots of kids enjoying the outdoors. Pella is a great town to visit; good bakeries and meat markets. Don't miss the Dutch Village. One more tip: we paid for 3 nights but only stayed 2 nights. We were told we would get a refund on our credit card for the night we didn't stay. They can't do that if you pay cash. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
This place has great big sites, very clean and the people there are helpful. They enforce 10pm quiet time which is great when you are up at 4am to fish. Nice lawn care and the showers are great; better then most in Pella Iowa. Thank you and camp on! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
We stayed here while attending the nearby Knoxville Nationals sprint car races. This is a fantastic COE campground. The sites are extremely spacious and situated among large mature shade trees. The roads are paved and the pads are well maintained gravel. Our kids loved the bike trails and access to the river. There are also playgrounds situated around the park. The various hosts we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. My only suggestion would to be to add some more bathrooms/shower houses as they did get busy during peak times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$8
A nice campground with limited views of lake. The sites are electric only with water and dump available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
We loved this park and can't wait to go back. There is a lot of space between the sites, large trees and nice green grass. Paved walking/biking trails are a plus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This is one of seven COE parks on Lake Red Rock that has camping and arguably the best of the lot. It sits along the Des Moines River and has three different loops. Every site in all three loops is first come first serve. The road is paved and sites are gravel. Very large trees provide shade, but hamper satellite reception in all sites except along the river. TV reception, cell service, and voltage are good. The hike/bike trail is paved and connects most of the other campgrounds around the lake. There is playground equipment and each site has a picnic table and fire ring. Access and Golden Age cards honored. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$10
This campground is delightful as many of the COE's are. It has a great bike trail running through it. The cost of $10 was with my Golden Age Pass. I am a single woman and felt very safe here. It was quiet and relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Howell Station is located at the base of the dam at Lake Red Rock, an Army COE park. The sites are spacious, well-maintained and level. There are nice playground areas, tall trees, and extra grassy parklike areas. The Volksweg Bike Trail runs through the park. Fishing in the tailwaters and river is available from the campground. The town of Pella is 5 miles away. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
This is very flat land just below Red Rock Dam. Great place to camp! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com