206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Janes Island State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (410) 968-1565
CGID8632

Janes Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   10   8   10   9   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
The Good....This is a nice park for fishing, crabbing, and kayaking/boating. There are some geocaches in the park and surrounding area. The bicycling on local roads is great, with little traffic and considerate drivers that gave us lots of space. Crisfield has a museum worth seeing. The Bad....biting flies and mosquitos are so bad that you have to be covered in bug spray from head to toe, and some still attack. While we had a great view of the docks, I wouldn't chose a site near there again, due to the dead fish smell that wafts over from the fish cleaning station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
At first this park don't look like much but the fishing is great. The staff is very helpful and nice. Love the town that is close by with local catches to eat. If you love to fish and crab this is a great park. We have been there twice in the last month. Restrooms are also very clean and they have a nature center and activities for the kids. One of my favorites We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
OK, if you like blue shell crabs you will love this campground as the town of Crisfield is the blue shell capital of the world! You could even catch your own in the campground. This state park has weekly programs for the kids we were there on Memorial Day Weekend and went to the Soft Shell Crab Festival in Crisfield. The campground was in great shape. The waterfront sites are to die for, they are as good as it gets. We had a site on the outside edge that even allowed us to get satellite, however if you are trying to get satellite stay on the outside and you might have a shot. We had a 36ft fifth wheel and didn’t have any problems but realize it is a state park and the larger RV’s might have a problem so check out the website and pick out you site there. The campground is the finest state park on the Eastern Shore (in my opinion), however there are some issues that are beyond the control of the capable and friendly staff, the bugs! They are bad including ticks and mosquitoes so make sure you pack your repellent. I also don’t like their dump station (I didn’t dump) and I wish they had 50 amp. This is a wonderful state park and a wonderful town with plenty to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
We love this park! We had a waterfront site this time. We were camping with friends in the cabins and we had site 73 - it was perfect. The bugs were bad at times - especially the green heads! But we had a good breeze most of the time and it kept them under control most of the time. We kayaked out to the beach and went swimming - the water was unbelievably warm! Beautiful views, fishing and crabbing for the kids, great staff and awesome campsites. Can't ask for much more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This park is extremely clean. Beautiful sites set in a woodsy environment, with canoe/kayak trails in the marsh heading to the Tangier Sound. Beautiful sunsets, and biking distance to Crisfield, a watermans delight. Good places to crab and fish. A playground for the little ones, and piece and quiet for the older ones. A grocery store nearby and plenty of restaurants in the area. If it had full hookups I'd give this park a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
We chose this park for quiet, rest and relaxation. The kayaking opportunities are excellent with GPS waypoints available on the park web site. We try to stay in one of the waterfront sites in loop B to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. The bugs can be bad: we bring a screen tent and lots of repellent, but all of the water nearby is the reason why they're here. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Overall, this park is a gem. Sites are under tall pines, clean, generally decent size. Park staff quite active and helpful. Memorial Day weekend was sold out: but never got noisy or rowdy. It's a beautiful waterfront marina with kayak rentals to explore marsh trails through Janes Island. Restrooms are barely OK: just not adequate to handle a heavy tenter crowd. Large mix of non-electric sites encourage tenters. Water available from taps throughout the park; fill up before going to your site. Poor signage for Park Entrance, Registration. WiFi readily available downtown. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This is a great park! Large, level sites. Lots of shade. The canoeing/kayaking was amazing. We were camping with extended family and the nine of us paddled out to the beach area. It was beautiful and as untouched as you can get these days. The bathhouses are clean, if a bit worn. There were bugs near the marshes, but it was July, so to be expected. We will definitely come here again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This would be a 9 if it were not for the mosquitoes. Tons of wildlife to see, boating, and have fun crabbing on the Daugherty Creek Canal. The office/store doesn't stock too much foodstuffs (Crisfield is only two miles down the road) but it does have fishing supplies, rent kayaks and canoes, and have a variety of ever important bug sprays! There are only a few sites that allow pets, but they all backup to a meadow area for walking your dog. The shower house was clean, but could use an update - the door lock did not work well, and hooks and soap holders were in dis-repair. A beautiful place though, we'll enjoy again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This is a very well run and kept up state park. The park is heavily treed but right on a canal overlooking a large marsh area. AWESOME water trails with a pristine private beach on the Bay. Nice staff, no crowds and best of all NO GOLF CARTS! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com