214825 User submitted reviews online!!
D & W Lake Camping and RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 88 user reviews. Phone: (217) 356-3732
CGID8633

D & W Lake Camping and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   6   9   8   9   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Close to interstate but quiet. Lovely, shaded lakeside setting. Friendly, helpful owners. Bathrooms could use some renovation. At least new shower curtains. We'd definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Power was very good. Water was very good. Site was wide and level. Laundry facility was OK (just had the one washer and dryer). Very reasonably priced. Park was very clean and well looked after. Unfortunately at our site the Wi-Fi was very slow and would drop out at times. Guess it's new and a work in progress. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
The campground was easy to find, just off Interstate 57. Our space was a pull through, looking at the fields that surround the campground. The campground had a pond and a few spots around it, but we were two rows over from the pond, which was fine. The campgroundā€™s proximity to the highway is close, but the noise was minimal. I slept great the three days we were there. Our space was unpaved, but level. The hookups were convenient. The nightly rate was inexpensive. Would I recommend this park? Yes. Would we come back? Yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This park does not offer any discounts. The staff are great. The man that lead me to the site assigned said the turn into the site was to tight and put me in an easier one. The sites are level and the hook-ups are in the correct place, except the water hook-up is quite aways from the coach hook-up. The lake is a nice addition to the park and is relaxing to sit and view it. The park is off the freeway about a mile with good roads into it. The roads in the park are gravel, as are the pads. I would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Very friendly staff who took us to our site and made sure everything was okay. Gravel sites, but we were very level. Pretty lake with nice path to walk around it (brochure said 1/2 mile). CG WiFi wasn't very strong for us, but our Verizon hotspot worked great. Got TV in without even raising antenna. Short drive to stores & places to eat. We were there just for an overnight stay while on the road and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Arrived on a rainy and cold day. Did not have a chance to explore the park because of the weather. We were given a site that faced the lake, and it looked so nice, wished we could have walked around it. Lots of room to walk the pups. Easy on and off Interstate, level sites, good electric, not much in vegetables left, but we given a tomato and green pepper from the garden. Sprint and Verizon worked well, site had a clear view of the sky for our roof top satellite. Very nice place, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Very nice park with level gravel pull-thru sites. Nice park to walk around including the small lake. We would stay again when passing through the area. Easy access to the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Right off I-59 north of Champaign. Easy on and off. Had the furthest site from office, so Wi-Fi very weak. Bathrooms/showers very clean, but very small for size of park. Staff very helpful and friendly, great free breakfast on Sunday AM. Purchased propane here, very convenient. Would stay here again. Nice and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Very nice little campground. The gravel sites are all level and have two sewer hookups to accommodate different RV styles. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The bathrooms were spotless. The regional highway is far enough in the distance that noise was not a problem. We were very pleased with our choice to stay at the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Very clean, small RV parks with excellent friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice, quiet campground located near a freeway interchange. There is a walking path around the lake. We needed RV service and repairs. The park's recommendations for companies turned out well. The owner and managers were very nice and friendly. We will stay here again and recommend it to our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a nice park for an overnight stay. The property looks out over a pretty lake. Our site had a lot of poops on it, but they did not seem to be from a dog but probably a wild animal. We had to be careful where we stepped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Lovely, small campground. The owners are eager to please, and we were very impressed. Our site looked out at the lake. Quiet, and peaceful. If you ask, they will do their best to see that you can get satellite TV. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is a lovely campground. Lots of big trees help make each site "your own" and there is a lovely lake/pond to add to the charm. The owners were very friendly and so were the folks camping. The only negatives - the highway is pretty close but we think of it as white noise and it wasn't a problem for us. The black water dump pipe was a bit too high out of the ground so we had to help things along. We will absolutely come here next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We have stayed here before when traveling through which is why we came back. Reservation was easy as all our information was in their system from our previous stay. This was just an overnight stay so we didn't use any of the facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$16
Another beautiful day in D&W Lake campground in Champaign, IL. Sites are level, owners are in residence, and any problems are dealt with promptly. Rate reflects current weekly rate/day. Nice stocked lake with no license catch and release fishing. Some local OTA TV channels and a less than perfect Wifi performance (aren't they all?) leave one to do a lot of reading and outside stuff. Sprint 3g is good, though, so I can get some internet stuff done, just not super performance. Given the other choices in the area for camping, the weekly rate is not that bad. We are HDTers and this campground is easy to navigate. Sites are quite level and gravel. Grass is kept up, and no patio mats are allowed so the grass is thick right up to the gravel and roads. I-57 is less than 1/2 mile away as the crow flies, but one rarely hears it much unless the breezes are blowing from the east. No trains or planes (except maybe crop dusters and a local farmer's helicopter). Every kind of food, grocery, hardware, and department store chain is just a few miles away on Prospect St in Champaign, and there is an easy back way straight to it all. I rate this a 9 only because of the less than perfect Wifi. The rest is totally top drawer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Nice park, sites were level and had grass between them. Quiet and relaxing, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Every time we head east from Idaho we try to work our trip so we can stay at this park. Very friendly staff and a very peaceful place to stay. Fun fishing in the lake and it seems that all of the camping folks here go out of their way to be friendly. We love this place and will stay again many times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Nice, quiet location. We originally were booked for a different pull through. When the owner saw we had a big back window in our fifth wheel, he offered to give us site 11A so we could see the lake out of the back window. Very well kept campground which we enjoyed for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in. We full time therefore we stay in a lot of campgrounds and this is one we really like. The owners are great, the campground is very clean and the owners are always visible. They are constantly riding around the park, collecting trash and making sure everything is going well. All the staff are very friendly and very helpful. They even have soft water. We will stay here again and hopefully longer next time. Easy on and off interstate yet you don't hear the traffic. It is a very peaceful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is a small park situated on the banks of what was a former barrow pit but is now a nice little lake, stocked with blue gill I am told. We are just off I-57 but far enough away for the park to be very quiet. We are about five miles away from shopping and restaurants. There are some back in sites and more pull throughs as well as some tent sites. The spaces are large and easy to access and each has a fire pit and a table. WiFi works well as does our Tailgator. The staff is friendly and helpful. We would most certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This is a nice RV park with a lake. It is not very big, which makes it better for me. There is easy access to I-57, but no interstate noise in the park. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pull through sites are easy to get into. I would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We pulled in for just an overnight stay. Friendly, clean with a quaint rural feel. Great stocked lake for fishing. Staff was extremely helpful. Will come back for a longer stay. Lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Very friendly staff. Park was easy to get to from the expressway. We stayed here overnight and it was fine. Nice lake view and quiet. All services worked and you can't beat the price. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This is our 2nd time we stopped for an overnight. Very friendly and helpful owners. Take you right to your site. Nice level pull through. Easy on/off the highway and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Nice clean park with friendly staff. Good place for an overnight stop. We stopped on a Sunday afternoon and there were several sites available. The guy that showed us to our site said they are busy on weekend when there is something going on in Champaign. Some of the sites appear to be seasonal but were very clean. Will stay here again if going this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Check in was real quick, with only our name given when calling in a couple of hours out from the park the owner had looked up to see if we had visited in the past, we had, this was going to be our third visit, he had all our info and only needed to swipe the card. The park is just off the highway, easy to in and out, but the road noise is not an issue. They have a stocked private fishing lake that requires not license, so bring your pole. Park is treed but the owner knows what sites you satellite will work at. Will stop here any time we are passing through! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Everything in this campground is well maintained. We received mail twice a day. The owners run a tight ship here, but are easy to get along with as long as you aren't causing chaos. They live here and expect you to mind your manners while you are visiting which I really appreciated. I would stay here again for sure! This is a small campground, but there is a place to safely walk your dogs and it is a quiet and well behaved park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We have stayed here several times and always enjoy our stay. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. We will always stay there when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$21
Wonderful people run this place -- available even if the office is closed. Place is very clean and well-kept. Very convenient (about 3 mi) to all kinds of shopping. Very peaceful on the lake; easy in and out with big rig. Can't wait to come back. Price represents weekly rate. If they had a hot tub, I'd give it a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Easy on/off from interstate, no pull through available but owners took us to a secluded back in site. Little bit of an effort to get there but worth the time. Good electric, level site. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Finding this park was like finding a diamond when searching for a stone. The staff were very, very nice and the sites were nicely maintained. We had originally planned to stay only one night, but the park was so delightful and restful we ended up staying 2 nights. This park is on our "definitely will stay again" list and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for an above average overnight experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Very friendly staff. Site was level. No cable. WiFi was iffy and difficult to use. Lake was nice - obviously there are no fish in it as I didn't catch any. Probably not a place for families with little ones as not much for them to do here. Would use as a stop over. Also is one has friends in the area, then it would be a nice place to set up for a short while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Level sites and good utilities. We were escorted to our pull-through site by the very friendly owner who recommended things to do in the area. Nice path around the lake for walking in pleasant surroundings. Great spot for one night or several. We would stay here again if we find ourselves back in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
We had no reservation, but arrived about 5 pm and were warmly greeted and given a very nice level, pull through site. Campground was clean and had lots of room to walk the dog. Didn't use the facilities. Perfect for an overnight stay, and at $25 it was one of the best values we encountered on our month long vacation. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Nice Park: very close to Interstate. Was just a stop over and was perfect for that. Close enough to Champaign to have good local restaurants and services. Owner was very gracious and helpful. Lake view was ok. The large pull through sites made easy entrance and exit: great for big rigs. Would stop over here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
1st time to stay here but will make it a point to stay here again. We called about 2 hours before arriving, desk clerk asked if we need lot good for Satellite or not. We didn't. Easy In and Out exit 240 off of I-57. Can see the RV Park and Lake ( pond) from the Bridge after exiting the Interstate. Despite being near the Interstate we didn't hear any of the noise from it. Friendly owner & camp host. They lead the way & escorted us to lot for the night, pointed out the water and sewer connections. Gave us directions to the small town with lots of nice restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Efficient online reservation system. This park offers a lot for the money. It is easy to access from the highway but sheltered from the noise. The sites are very wide and long enough for today's RVs. Vegetation is trimmed back to allow easy access, yet the sites are shaded. Very friendly and helpful hosts. All utilities are up to date. Did not try the wifi but Verizon aircard worked fine. Shopping and eateries are nearby. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
As full time travelers, we were passing through and enjoyed this spot. A comfortable and quiet little park with easy access to interstate. Large rigs will be pleased with the easy in, easy out layout. Sites are gravel, hard packed with full hook ups and in good operating condition. Staff/management is friendly and professional and facilities feature newer (small) bath/shower facilities. Enjoy fishing, or a quiet walk around the lake: its clean and the landscaping is well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
What a great spot! Super friendly staff, very long pull throughs for big rigs, plenty of room between sites, easy in and easy out for over-nighters, or stay awhile and enjoy the lake with plenty of shade trees. We would stay here again. Verizon air cards/phones worked great. Local channels available with antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
The friendliest and most helpful employees we have encountered. The park would be perfect if it had a pool. They have free Tango internet but weak. A very nice walking trail around their lake. And true 50 amp power and great soft well water. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
50/30/20 shore power is good. Water pressure is 60psi. Sewer is good. Didn't use Wi-Fi. Sprint air card is very good. AT&T cell phone signal is strong. No cable TV. Sites are wide enough to put out the awning. There are sites long enough to park tow vehicle on site with good room. Sites are gravel. Road in campground is gravel. Entry road is asphalt. Didn't use restroom. Few long time tenants and sites are descent. Payment with credit card is OK. Satellite is good access at most locations, but be sure before you stay in the site. It has small playground and a fishing pond. Another campground nearby has a driving range, but none at this one. There are three campgrounds in the area, and this one is the second best, but I would stay here again. Owners are friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Very nice park with extremely accommodating owner. We could not get satellite access in the site we chose on line, so the owner moved us around to see if we could get it. (Our satellite dish is on the rear of the rig and trees were in the way.) Then our truck needed repair and was at the dealer overnight. Owner stopped by on second day and asked if we needed anything from town, groceries etc, as he knew we didn't have a vehicle, and they were going in. Finally, almost unheard of, he eliminated every other site as he felt they were too close together for today's big rigs and slides. Made for nice large sites, fire pits, picnic tables etc. And good 50 amp, water, and sewer, all at $25 per nite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Very nice and comfortable campground right off the interstate. Friendly and accommodating staff. A great place to stay if you are visiting the area or just passing through. Excellent and free Wi-Fi, nice level sites. We stayed here with out 40' MH towing an auto and had no problems. We will stay here again. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Beautiful little park - nice and quiet. Wi-Fi poor far from office, but we had our own hot spot. Clean and neat. 2nd time we stayed here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Adding my praise for this little campground to the other recent reviews. It is quiet and clean, with friendly helpful staff. Easy in and out level sites. Small but efficient and affordable laundry. Good paved access road and gravel site loop road. Rounded stone gravel on sites, no puddles even after four days of rain. All pull through sites face the pond except one (11A). Best on-line reservation system I have ever seen. Matches your needs to available sites and you pick and reserve your site directly on site map. Plan to stay here again next time we visit our son at University of Illinois. Guarantee you will not be disappointed by this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
For an overnight stop, this is a perfect little gem. It is very close to the interstate and to Champaign. There is not much to do unless you like to fish, because the whole campground is built around a small pond. Very pretty. No swimming. Lots of big shade trees, immaculately clean, picnic table and fire rings. This would not be a great spot with kids, but for adults who want a quiet pleasant evening with a lovely view in the middle of the corn fields this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
The owners of this delightful, clean, quiet, very nice RV park could give lessons in what to do to many others who set up RV sites. About the only thing they do not have is a paved access road, but the gravel is good and the sites are nearly all level. It is gorgeous and peaceful, and overlooks their private lake which has chairs to sit and enjoy the water or one can fish. We found this place by checking this RV Park reviews website and were very happy to stay here. It will be a stop for us any future trips through this area. It appears to be a destination for area locals who keep their trailers here, but we were able to get a wonderful site overnight for our big rig. They have a great website and or easily take phone reservations. Highly recommended, but it is small so call ahead. I suspect they fill up often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
We camped here to attend University of Illinois graduation ceremony and found it excellent. Clean, easy access to the University and grocery shopping. The staff is friendly and helpful. The other campers were very friendly, too. Plenty of area to walk around for exercise. Very enjoyable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
I rated this park as a nine for a year round stop and shelter in very tough area in the winter. It was wonderful to come and get full service in Feb in mid-Illinois. Even the water hookup was nicely winterized. This will be a regular stop for this snowbird. I am sure that is also very nice in the summer with the fishing lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Last stop for our old RV & she was giving us some electric [inverter] issues as we pulled into the CG. Front desk made quick work of our registration, guided us out to our level, gravel site & stuck around til we got the electrical issue resolved. Nice winterized water hookup; WARM rest room/shower, cute little lake. Made a bonehead move when I was dumping & made a good sized toxic mess which camp host voluntarily came over to assist me with cleanup. Another one to put on our list to visit when we can wear bathing suits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Very nice park. The only complaint would be the highway noise. Check in was quick and we were quickly in our spot. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
First of all, the owner here is very accommodating. We were in the midst of something that required us to receive an incredible amount of mail. Our mail was delivered twice a day: USPS mail in the am/UPS in the p.m.! He has internet available if you purchase, but he is limited to the amount of access which mean you will be too! Don't bother purchasing access if you plan on being online A LOT. If you are only checking email a few times a day, go for it, but if you want to pass the hours away playing games or otherwise engaged, don't bother. Very clean place. Everything was well maintained when we arrived: not a chip of paint anywhere! Utilities were new and in a well maintained condition! Pet friendly and there is a walk for your dogs just beyond a line of trees which was exceptionally nice! We would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is another small RV Park (our favorite type) just north of Champaign and very close to the University of Illinois campus. If you are planning a Fall visit, you need to check the Illini Football schedule as on home game week-ends they are full. Sites were very level/even front to back and across the site. The path around the man-made lake makes for a great dog walk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This was an okay campground for a overnight stop. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the campground was very clean and well maintained. Our site, #19, was not very level but we managed. The utilities worked well. They have a pretty little lake (pond?) which has a walking trail around it. There was a big corn field on the far side of the lake which helped block some of the noise from the Interstate but not all. We did try to stay another night on our way home from our trip but they were full so we moved on, and found a much quieter campground about 10 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This is a decent park, close to the highway, level and shaded. The water hookup is a bit different but not unmanageable. The park just has a bit of run down feel as there isn't much grass between the sites. For us, it was OK for a night but just not a pleasant "feel" for a longer time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Excellent park, quiet setting, large sites, staff extremely helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Very good campground out in the country. You are surrounded by the lake on one side and corn fields on the other. The owner and his manager are extremely friendly and helpful. We had a level gravel site with shade trees. There was a breeze blowing most of the time we were there. Park is close to shopping and restaurants. The only complaint I have is the laundry. There is only one washing machine and one dryer. Took four hours to do my week's laundry. Owner needs to add at least one more washer and dryer. Very quiet campground. We would not hesitate to stay at D & W Lake Campground again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
A great place for the price. Good 3G service but a lot of trees make satellite service hard to get. Very friendly owners and staff. Very long pull throughs. Clean and well kept up. Just off the Interstate but no hint of road noise. Sold out the night we had 3 rigs here, so I would suggest reservations, which we had. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
We were traveling back to Ohio from KC, and stumbled across D&W Lake Campground. The hosts were terrific and very friendly. The facilities and grounds were VERY clean! We had a great site (on short notice), and enjoyed a nice overnight stay prior to heading home. Thank you for the hospitality. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We stopped here as we were passing through to Wisconsin. The people working were very friendly and nice, the campsite was very clean. My kids went fishing and were so happy to catch fish after fish. We used the bathroom showers and they were clean and warm. The kids had so much fishing, we stopped here on the way back home too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Campground is open all year long. We used it as a stopover on our way from WI to the Gulf Coast. The campground is good for that purpose. It is easy to find and close to the freeway system. The sites are very narrow, but in Feb. we didn't have someone on both sides of us, and we weren't wanting to spend much time outside. We had a pull through and were able to keep the pickup hooked up for the night. The sites were gravel and everything was wet because the snow was melting. They are working on some of the sites, but they will still be pretty close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
This quiet park is easy to find and check in was very friendly. We were escorted to our gravel site. It was level and long enough not to unhook, but we were at most 3 feet from our neighbor's slide out. There is no store. The restroom was clean but not fancy. We needed a 25 foot hose for our sewer. WiFi, 50 amp, and Verizon worked well, but the antenna TV broke up a lot. It is a good stop for overnight, and we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This was a great park. The folks in the office were very friendly. It would have been nice to stay longer than overnight. Would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
My wife and I along with our 15 year old granddaughter have been traveling for 2 months and staying at RV parks through out the states. This is the best one we have been to. Not only were the owners great people, but also the permanent residents. Everyone made us feel like family. We will be traveling again next year and will put this place on our trip for several days. Need more RV places like this. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This was an overnight stop for us: selected primarily for its location, price, and amazingly good reviews on this website. Well, we were just delighted with the park and its staff. We were met at the office by a very nice lady that made us feel right at home. They had our reservations and there were no hidden charges. A man got in a golf-cart and showed us where our site was. I pulled in and our MH was exactly level. Electricity was in the right spot as was water and sewer. We had a nice view of the lake out our front window. The campground was kept neat, grass/bushes were trimmed, roads in good repair, etc. We left the next morning but I would have absolutely no hesitancy about staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We found this to be a well maintained campground with easy access to the nearby interstate. We plan to visit it again, soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Nice place to stay after a 450 mile drive heading west. Had a pull-through site facing the small lake, which is somewhat obscured by shrubbery. Just enough length for our 40 footer and toad, with plenty of width. Fairly quiet considering is right off the interstate. Sites not facing the lake are very tight side-to-side. 50 amps, water, and sewer location are all good. Owner very pleasant and helpful. Verizon cell and air card worked well. Would stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
For the money, this campground is ok. It has easy access from the interstate highway. Good electric power and water pressure. Verizon air card worked well here for internet access. Owner was nice and escorted us to our site. Site was gravel and level. Roads were dirt and gravel and dust was an issue. Many in the campground seemed to be permanent residents. Access for a big rig was somewhat tight getting in and out of the park due to trees. Be careful and use a spotter and you should have no trouble. I would give this park a higher rating if not for the substandard bath and shower facilities. Also, we had hoped to do laundry, but they had only one washing machine and the permanent residents had them locked up. I'd rate this park acceptable for a one night stay if passing through the area, but I wouldn't want to stay much longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This was a very nice campground with easy access to interstates, shopping, and Champaign. We camped on a pull-through site looking onto a lake. We would have rated this campground higher if the roads and sites had been paved. When cars when through the campground, clouds of dust whirled in the air. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Very nice park; friendly owner. It had been raining and the area was a little soggy. Right on a lake; nice sunset and fireflys! $20 is awesome for 50Amp, and full-hook ups and long pull-through site. Free WiFi. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
VERY nice park which was very handy to I-57 and close to I-74 & 72. NO highway noise, no trains. Good WiFi and clean park. Owners were helpful and friendly. Has lots of grass. Some sites are satellite friendly. Will definitely stay here again when we are close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
VERY nice park. Very well kept. Quiet and the WiFi worked great. Better than some of the more expensive parks we've stayed in. Only reason I didn't give it a 10, I checked the laundry and there was only one washer and one dryer. Even a park this small, should have at least two each. We will definitely stay here again, if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
I spent a week here last summer, and was greeted this year like an old friend. The staff is lovely, the owner is super. The WiFi was great. There's terrific shopping nearby. I only spent one night this year because I was in a hurry to get north, but hope to spend a week again next summer. There's nothing not to like about this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This is a nice quiet campground right off I-57, but we did not notice any noise from the highway. Sites are gravel and level enough that we didn't have to unhook our fifth wheel. Campground owner was very pleasant and gave us an escort to our site. We were facing the lake and watched the geese swimming and the fish jumping from our site and from the chairs they have set up on the lakefront. 50 amp electric worked very well and there is plenty of room between sites. The campground is not a destination in itself and we only stayed one night on our way through, but would stay longer if we were visiting Champaign. The ambiance here is pleasing! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Overall a nice, small non-gated, family run campground. Stayed 3 nights. Easy access to campground, just off I-57. Very little traffic noise could be heard. Entrance road was nicely paved, while interior roads are gravel and free of potholes. Tree branches have been cut back to accommodate large rigs. Check-in was easy enough, able to change sites to allow a view of the lake. Personal escort to site was a nice touch. All sites are either pull-throughs or back-ins. They are spacious and level with a gravel base. Has a large grass area between sites. Most sites have partial shade to full sun. Sites and grounds are well maintained by resident owners. Campground host also available on site. All hook-ups are within reach of the coach, had good 30/50amp, sewer and water. Water is a little smelly. Lots of minerals, iron, and sulphur. Word of caution, use very little bath soap when showering or dish soap when doing dishes otherwise the suds will be exiting the coach(very soft water). Did not use the campground bathrooms or laundry facilities. Some sites face a well-stocked lake. Fishing licenses are not required. There is free WiFi available. All amenities, ie: Wal-Mart, Target, Meijers, and every eatery place you could imagine are within 10 minutes of the campground (turn left, turn left and your there). Generally the campground was very quiet with a nice walking/jogging path around lake. The owners were very helpful with directions into Champaign/Urbana. Great stopover campground for a week or less but definitely not a destination resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Mud: We were earlier than usual for our trip North, and the site was very muddy. New gravel/slush helped, but that tracked in too. There is no way you can connect a normal sewer hose to a motorhome without disconnecting your toad. Seems more set up for 5th wheels. 57 is rough and your exit is even rougher than the highway. There is no road noise and a very nice staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
D&W Lake Campground is a small campground, on a small stocked lake, nestled between acres of corn fields. It is conveniently located next to I-57 and very near I-74. The campground is a delightfully quiet stop over with well equipped and level sites. Both pull throughs and back ins are available. All the stores and restaurants you could possibly want are less than 10 minutes away. The University of Illinois is 15 minutes away. Highly recommended for an overnight stop or for a week or more. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
For the price, we thought this was a very nice park. Our site was long and level. The office staff made an effort to spread folks out rather than pack them in close together. We were able to get satellite TV reception. Our Verizon aircard worked extemely well. The signal from the Nomad fee for service Wi-Fi was strong and the fee was about the norm at $2.99/day. The pond appeared to have a good population of bass and bluegill. It was convenient from I-57 and not too far from I-74. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
I just spent a week here. The work camper "host" was very accommodating helping me find a site where trees didn't block my rooftop satellite. They have a strange reservation system, where people reserve sites on line instead of giving them a site when they arrive dependent on their needs. I arrived on a Monday for a week, and couldn't have an open site because someone had booked it on line for the following Saturday night. Fortunately someone canceled another site and I got it. A better site so I was happy. Everyone was very nice. The lake is beautiful, the fish were jumping and some were huge. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
After reviewing Trailer Life ratings we were blown away upon arrival. Easy freeway access but NO freeway noise. Great place for dog owners or those who walk for exercise. Very friendly, great owner. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to fellow travelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This campground continues to be a great overnight stop. Interstate 57 is a bruiser and this campground is a welcome rest. Many of the sites look out over a 30 acre lake with Geese and Ducks. Shopping is about 4 miles away and you don't have to get back on the interstate to go shopping. The owner is nice and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Very nice park for the price. Staff friendly and guided me to RV spot. The sites are a little closer then we have had before, but again we didn't find that to be a problem. Small playground for the kids. A fishing/swimming pond is adjacent to the RV park. 1 washer/dryer, $1.25 per load. We don't have satellite, but did receive a few HD channels. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Great place, great fishing. A true gem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
Overnight Stop. Entry was easy off of 57. Once at the office: open but no one there. We called and he said he was near and would guide us in. We continued on to our site. The site was sold as a premium site with south view and satellite access. We assumed that would mean we could use our satellite. Well, once in our site we discovered that we were under a huge tree. The pitch of paying $5 more for a southern exposure site is not worth it. Upon leaving we discovered that we were very lucky to make a wide enough turn and barely missed a utility pole. Had we been 10 inches closer, we would have had to disconnect our tow vehicle. This was the main requirement request for our one night stop: easy in, easy out and we have a tow vehicle. Our ability to exit our site was so close to having to disconnect our tow vehicle. Upon leaving we saw that other sites were much easier to navigate and would have given us satellite exposure with no trees. So, don't 'up' your reservation to a southern exposure site. It will give you no benefit. Nice owner, level sites! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Not sure how the previous reviewers would rate a real "10" - maybe they've never been to one. Waterfront sites are $25 and water view sites are $20. There is a corn field on the other side of the little lake, helping to buffer the traffic noise from I-57. This is a pleasant little place, a good place for an overnighter. Roads and sites are gravel. The overall appearance is slightly shabby but comfortable. There were several RVs clearly here long term. The showers have recently been updated although there is no privacy curtain for the dressing area, just for the shower. Would stay here again while on the road, and it's fine for a few days to take a break. There is nothing in the immediate area although there is a gas station, convenience store, and McDonalds on the other side of the interstate, about 1 mile away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Great campground. Owner is a good guy and the restrooms/showers were awesome. Great view of the lake and kids had a ball fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Great park. Great host. Would come back anytime! Near highway but yet quite. Gas diesel nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com