223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Walnut Creek Lake & Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (402) 679-9889
CGID8636

Walnut Creek Lake & Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   9   8   9   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
This campground does not offer any discounts off the nightly rate and you can’t make a reservation. You can call the camp host and see what is available. The roads and pads are paved with nice grass and room between the sites. The pads can be sloped but leveling is doable. The only hookup at the site is for electricity and not all sites have 50amp service. The dump station is on the way out. There are several water hydrants where you can fill your tank. There are no showers or laundry. The only vault toilet is next to the playground on the upper level. Recycling is available next to the dumpster across from the residence. If you plan a longer stay, there are rules about how long you can be in a particular site and with regards to 30amp vs. 50amp service. There is a paved three mile hike/bike trail around the lake. We always enjoy our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$16
This is a gem of a park. Think it is a city community sponsored. All the sites are concrete with paved patios and a picnic table. There are small trees on each site, but not big enough to shade the sites. There are very few pull-throughs (mostly back-ins), and mostly 30 amp (not sure how many 50 amp, but we stayed here twice and didn't get one.) There are hydrants scattered throughout the campground to fill if you needed to. Some were very close to the sites, which is what we had the first camp. No reservations, but we called the day before and asked to have a site "saved" for us at a certain time, and they accommodated us both times. There is a swim beach, and we saw kids playing with their labs there. We would definitely come back, unless it was late summer and too warm to cool our coach on one A/C unit. For the money, this is an excellent stay for only a few nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
Great campground. It only offers electric service. There are three hydrants from which you can fill your tanks when water is needed. There is a 3 mile paved walk around a public lake only steps away from the campground. The lake offers fishing from shore or boat. Beware, we left the campground with two snakes in our motorhome! I don't know how you guard against them entering your rig, but it's better to know it is possible when staying in this campground. It was the fright of our life to discover them! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
We really enjoyed our time at this park. The camphost is friendly and helpful, and the park is very pretty. As mentioned before, electric (50 amp on only a few sites....others are 30 amp) is the only utlility available. There are 3 water bibs for filling your tank, and a dump station located near the exit. There is a great walking/jogging/biking trail within 1/4 mile of the campground entrance....the trail is 3.1 miles long, and is very pretty. We enjoyed Papillion a great deal, and enjoyed the nearby Minor League baseball games, too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
This campground does not offer any discounts off the nightly rate and you can’t make a reservation. The roads and pads are paved with nice grass and room between the sites. The pads can be sloped but leveling is doable. The only hookup at the site is for electricity and not all sites have 50amp service. The dump station is on the way out; there are several water hydrants where you can fill your tank. There are no showers or laundry. The only vault toilet is next to the playground on the upper level. Recycling is available next to the dumpster across from the residence. If you plan a longer stay, there are rules about how long you can be in a particular site and with regards to 30amp vs. 50amp service. We always enjoy our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$16
This is a great campground near Omaha run by the City of Papillion. Our site #6 backed up to a small pond with lots of birds and wildlife. Pads are concrete and level with a concrete patio, picnic table and grill. Roads in the park are paved. Some sites are 50 amp, some 30 amp. Water and sewer are not available at the sites. There are three water spigots in the park to fill your tanks. There is no Wi-Fi. There is a very nice paved 5K walking/bike riding trail in the park. This park would have gotten a 10 rating if they had full hookups and Wi-Fi. We will definitely camp here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$16
We had another nice stay at this campground. The roads and sites are paved. The sites have grass in between. Some sites are not as level as others. There are no showers; there is one vault toilet on the upper level next to the playground. Recycling is available next to the dumpster. There are several water hydrants in the park for fresh water. The dump station is on the way out. Some sites are 50amp and some are 30amp. All sites are back-in except for one. We will come again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
We spent a great 4 days at this park and loved every minute. We were lucky enough to get one of the level sites: many are not. The electric service worked well and we took on water at one of the hydrants conveniently located throughout the park. Walnut Creek Park has hiking trails that circle around the lake areas and we were surprised to find one that lead to a huge off-leash dog area that included beach access to one of the lakes! Very quiet at night although there was a concert in progress at the nearby amphitheater one evening. Note that the camping fee has been raised to $16.00 a night: still a great bargain! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Wonderful park and what a deal. Sites are large and easy to back into. Convenient to everything in the Omaha area. They even have recycling, which is such a plus and rarity. We stay here every time we pass through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
This is a great bargain for paved roads and paved sites with access to the lake and trails. There are no showers or laundry. The one vault toilet is on the upper level next to the playground. Fresh water is available at several hydrants in the park. There is a dump station on the way out. There are a few sites with 50 amp service but it is hard to find one empty at this time of year. They only take reservations for clubs so call for availability. There is a garbage dumpster and recycling across from the residence. The nearby Sumter Theater has programs during the summer. You can use the access trail or you might be able to hear the music from your campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
What a deal! A fantastic city park. Sites are huge and easy to back into. Campground hosts are just lovely. We stayed here last year and would again in the future. Close to major shopping and the new Werner Park for AAA Omaha Storm Chasers baseball. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
I wish the prior reviewer had posted before my visit. It was a surprise to find no showers and pit toilets. Just never expected to encounter a campground without showers. What ever, we made do and enjoyed our stay for two nights. It is a very nice facility and area. There are several potable water spigots located around the campground. You need to fill before parking your rig. Dumping is available upon exit. Signs state garbage is pack in and pack out but we were informed by a resident (he had three more days on us) that there is a dumpster that he has been using, next to the camp host. We were in the upper campground and I believe that the only pit toilet was at this upper level, a good hike for someone not in shape. We used the local bike trail network for an interesting ride. The paved bike trail is connected but not well marked. Once we found the Papio Trail we enjoyed the paved surface at levee top. The local lake trail in an easy one hour circle walk or bike-able. The local prairie grasses were abundant and interesting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This is a great campground. There are no water or sewer hookups but there are several spigots where you can fill with fresh water. There are no showers and only one public bathroom near the playground. Not all sites have 50amp service. The roads and the sites are paved with nice green space between the sites. The camp hosts were very accommodating. They only take reservations for clubs so be sure to call ahead to see what is available. The ambience of this campground is wonderful; fall visits are especially nice. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$14
What a gem. The host couple were very friendly and told us of all the things to see and do. Each day we walked the one hour lake loop which was located directly across from campground. The campground is very quiet and well maintained. No water hookups but fresh water was available to fill up your tank. Watch your voltage meter. We were here in a heat spell and our site voltage ran at the low end of safe. We shut off one A/C and kept an eye on things. We were only going to spend two days but ended up staying an extra day since this park was such a pleasure to stay at. Would definitely stay here again if we happen to be passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
What a find and what a buy! Beautiful location next to Walnut Creek Lake with fishing and walking/biking paths. Sites are level, easy to back into, large, spaced far apart from each other with lots of mowed grass, most have some sort of view whether the hillsides or the creek. Camp-host was extremely nice and a pleasure to chat with. Convenient to typical American chain shopping and restaurants plus well-placed to visit all of the Omaha metropolitan area. Would always stay there in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
Very clean park. Close to a nice little park with fishing and hiking. The only complaint I would have would be for long term use, it's a little tough. Only has electrical hookups, no water or sewer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
This is a beautiful well maintained, clean, city park with spacious, level concrete pads, with lots of grass and shrubs between sites. Adjacent to the campground is a city recreation area with several miles of paved biking and walking paths and a fishing lake. Campground is first come-first serve. Sites do not have individual water connections but water faucets are located in the campground. No showers are available either. There are a limited number of sites with 50 amp service. I would have given this park a 10 had water been available at each site along with WI-FI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
This is a City of Papillion RV Park with paved sites and paved roads. Some sites have 30amp and some have 50amp. The sites are spacious with nice landscaping, a paved patio and a spot to park your vehicle. There are several water hydrants and a dump station. There is no cable or WI-FI but the batwing works fine for the major TV channels. The park is clean, neat, and well kept. Next to the dumpster, there are containers for recycling. We camp here often. They are usually full on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Broke in our new camper here. Not many out this early in the season but enough for some good company around a new campfire. Nice park and well maintained but we did pick the one portion where the water was not working. CH said they were aware of the problem and was working to correct it but still the one black mark I could find in a great break in outing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$14
This is a city park and doesn't take reservations unless you are coming in as part of a club. Not all the sites are 50 amps. There is a lake for fishing (you need a fishing license) and a nice, paved hike/bike trail. We got the three major channels on our batwing. We have camped here several times and will do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$14
This is a local recreation area just south of Omaha. There are several water hydrants within park and a dump station available. Grounds are pristine and host and is super nice & accommodating. Interior roads are paved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com