221756 User submitted reviews online!!
Moutardier COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (270) 286-4230
CGID8637

Moutardier COE

Camp Information
Sites
167
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   8   9   8   9   4   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
I frequently use COE campgrounds, but this one will not be on my return list. It isn't a bad one and would do OK for week-end of family camping. For me, there were too many annoying, pet peeves negatives. First, the interior roads are laid out like a go-cart track: circled, narrow, and curvy. Big rigs can maneuver on them, but it is best to pay attention. There were overhanging tree branches along some parts of the roads and over some sites. Most sites have some degree of sloping; although, none are drastic. The space between sites is less than most COE parks. The hook-up locations are not standard. My site had power on one side and water on the other. All of the lake side sites lack utilities. The noise from someone doing weed eating started at 7:45 am. The roads leading to the park are what would be called "back roads". They are narrow, without a shoulder, hilly, and a chore to drive on with a rig of size. At the time of visit, about half of the park sites are closed due to current administration budget shortages, but that would not be the campground's fault. Now on the plus side: The location is scenic and the sites are long with a nice picnic table and fire ring. There is some nice playground equipment. The bath houses (there are several) are a bit better than average. Utilities were good. 3G cell was 3 bars. Satellite signals would depend on the site due to trees. The rate is based on an A.T.B. Access Card discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
We chose this location as a good jump off point to Mammoth cave, for that purpose it worked out well. This campground is pretty remote for supplies and at least 20 min from the nearest shopping area. That said, it's also a good 30 min from Mammoth cave. Our registration was fast and simple through reserve America. We were given a garbage bag and map at the park entrance and we were off to the campsite. The campsite was well kept and the area appeared to be in good repair. Our biggest problem was the cleanliness of the bath house. There were dead bugs all over, and I mean all over everything, to include the sink counter, the urinal, the toilet and the showers. As for the live bugs they weren't that much of a problem but they need to install a fan to move the air and keep bugs from settling in. The view we had from our campsite was incredible, overlook of the lake breathtaking especially the next morning when the sun came up. We would camp there again when in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This campground is fantastic! It is located right on the shoreline of Nolin River Lake. Many people have their boats on site or on the shore, so very boat friendly. The playgrounds are all fairly new and the bathrooms are pretty good too. The showers have hot water and water pressure. There is a boat ramp near and a marina. The marina has some hot food and groceries to purchase, and also picnic tables to sit and watch the flow of people. There is not a store near by so make sure you come stocked with enough food. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
I am so excited to have found this campground! The park is amazingly beautiful and the view of the lake is picturesque. There are sites that are right on the water, you can even tie your boat up next to it, but those sites don't have electricity. We stayed across from these sites in A020. The bath house was clean, there are regular showers with hot water - something not all campgrounds have! Most of the sites are not too close together. The one we stayed in had a lot of trees around it and room for my kids to play. There are many playgrounds and they are updated. The only thing I wish they had (that they don't) is a pool. However, the water is clean and beautiful and everyone swims in the cove near the campground on hot days. I can't believe this campground is this nice and is only 22 dollars a night! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
A sprawling campground with lake views at nearly every site. Nicely wooded, with average spacing between sites, which could mean little privacy depending on where you are. Property includes marina with well stocked store, however it is not within easy walking distance of Areas A/B. Also available are rental cabins, multiple playgrounds, fishing pier, boat launch, and large picnic pavilion. No swimming beach, but lake access is available throughout. At the end of the season, Moutardier was unexpectedly crowded. Overall, this COE property was well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$11
Clean campground. Sites are fairly level though site entry can be a challenge. Campground is located on Nolan Lake, so boating, swimming and fishing are featured. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Pretty standard Corp of Engineer fare here. Lots of room between most sites situated on three different loops. Lots of waterfront sites but all waterfront sites lack power. If you have a boat, park it on the shoreline around the campground. Most of the activity at this campground centers around Nolin Lake with few other features in the campground. This might be a good stop when on your way to or from Mammoth Caves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$11
We found a gem in this campground. We were looking for a place to stay while touring Mammoth Cave and ran across this one, which gives seniors with the pass a 50% discount! The views of the lake are fabulous from almost all campsites. The campsites are some of the nicest (although not the largest) we've found with picnic table, cooking table, and gravel RV pads. There is no sewer, internet, or cable - which I normally require to give such a high rating...but the beauty and cleanliness outranks this time. This would be a great place to camp and boat. We definitely will return. Be aware that the roads approaching the campground are narrow with little shoulder. Once my husband saw the campground, I was forgiven for making him drive on such narrow roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
My experience here was greatly affected because of the campsite we reserved. I was going to give this park a 5 or 6 rating, but my wife said that the womens' restroom pushed it below this score. Upon arrival to the campground, we were instructed to ignore the "do not enter" sign to get to our campsite. According to the camp host, we had to enter in this fashion to enable our slide to extend and so that our door wouldn't open directly into oncoming traffic. The pull through site should have been labeled differently. Sites 56, 58, 61, 63, 64, and 65 are not true pull through sites. They are more like pull off the side of the road. If you reserve one of these sites, it is possible that you could be parallel parking your camper if the site in front of you and behind you are occupied. And because of the less than two or three feet of clearance from the road, you will get much of the campground vehicles running by your bed at night and in the morning. Sleeping in is almost an impossibility. The traffic on this loop was heavy, and it wasn't a place where I felt it was comfortable to let my child use his scooter or to play ball. To make matters more irritating, the weekend crowd was loud, and the music started at 7am during three of the days. At least two tenters had generators with them, and they cranked up very early in the morning as well. Also, this campground is heavily used by people who boat. hose who anchor their boats on the shore often track mud into the bathrooms and showers. This wasn't too big of a deal for me, but my wife said that beyond the mud factor, the ladies' room didn't look like it had been cleaned at all during our 4 night stay. This park was the first of six that we visited on a four week expedition, and it was rated the lowest by the entire family. On the positive side, there is a playground, a nightly kids' movie most evenings, and very picturesque views of the lake if you have the correct site. The lake is full of fish, and if you like to bring a boat along for your trips, this could be a park for you. But the "camping" aspect of this stop way below the parks which have visited and wish that I could have stayed at the local state park which is much smaller with less traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$11
Rate reflects Golden Age Access card. Excellent value and a wonderful campground. Each site has a good view and many are level and large. Loved staying here. Would love to visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
This is the most beautiful park. Almost every campsite has a view of the lake. There are a lot of shade trees. We love camping here because it is very reasonable, clean, and has a great view. There is shoreline for the kids to swim in the lake and fish. We love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Pronounced Moo-ta-deer. The campground is a good mix of trees and grass. Enough trees so that most sites have some shade but not totally dark like some campgrounds. Most sites are satellite friendly. Many sites are close together but staggered so you don’t feel on top of your neighbor. While many sites are as long as 65 - 70 feet, the interior roads are tight with some turns difficult or impossible for big rigs. Electric is strong 20/30/50 amp and water pressure is nearly 100 psi so be sure you have a pressure regulator. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
A beautiful Corp of Engineers park that is very well kept. Some of the turns are very tight and not accessible for big rigs, no matter what length the sites are. They were not at all that helpful when spoken to on the phone. The camp hosts were cold and distant although polite. We camped here to see Mammoth Caves when we were told their (Mammoth Caves) campground was full, which was not true. During the week the campground was mostly empty in mid May but filled up completely on Memorial Day weekend. Noise was a minor issue as many campers were "younger" and had the sounds to prove it. Quiet hours were observed though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$11
$11 was the rate I paid for a site with electric and water, using my Golden Age Passport. Regular rate is $22. Regular rate for site with no hookups is $15. Most sites have tables and firepit/grills. Many sites have beautiful lake views. Dump, flush toilets, showers, laundry, boating, fishing, public marina, playgrounds, hiking trails. Open mid-April through late October. Staff were friendly and helpful. Credit cards accepted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com