214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Brown's Millpond Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (760) 873-5342
CGID8648

Brown's Millpond Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   4   8   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$24
Great quiet location just past West Bishop. Super friendly owner. She was closed for the winter and water was turned off but she let us stay and connect to the 120V for our diesel block heater. Lots of trees and a small stream that runs behind each back in site. Large fire pit plus a BBQ in each site. Clean restrooms when park is open. This is about 5 minutes off the highway so make sure you have called for directions or GPS location. Town is about 10 or 12 minutes away. Good views and plenty of pet walking spots. Depending on the site, you may need to move your satellite receiver to get reception. Warning, some guides don't give the correct location for this campground. There are a couple other Brown's campgrounds in the area. Will be back the next time in Bishop! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Hmmmm. I don't really believe in grading campgrounds "on a curve". This is an acceptable place to stopover but not an 8 or 10. There are only around 12 hookup site and they are pretty close together. The stream is about 2' wide. There is a millpond down the road. I really wouldn't bother to stay here next time we're traveling down 395. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Ok, so why am I, ah say why am I going against the flow on this park (not a 10)? Yup, the stream is nice and there is grass between you and it, not to mention the lovely shade trees. (I said NOT to mention them,son.) The price is right, even if they charge for showers (only a buck for 7 minutes of hot water). The young lady that runs the place is cordial. But, there is not a place to dump tanks. Gotta have that, I say, you've gotta have that to be a 10 in my book. Not that the park can do anything about it, but if you are going late in the season, be forewarned about the pesky no-see-ems. Also, make sure you call a couple of days in advance if you are trying to get in during the week-end. Late September the weekends were full. We'd definitely go back if we find ourselves in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This place is a real find. It's five miles north of Bishop in the beautiful Eastern Sierras and far enough off the highway that you do not hear traffic. Every one of the decent-sized sites back-up to a creek and has a good-sized lawn. There is a tree line south of the sites with hook-ups but I somehow still managed to get a good satellite signal. Verizon service was fine. The nighttime skies are wonderfully dark for stargazing. The $25/day is fair, but remember, no credit cards. Besides the beautiful surroundings, this campground has the most pleasant, helpful and personable host I've ever come across. There is nothing that she will not do to make her guests happy. For all these reasons I am rating this campground a "ten," even though it lacks sewers (which are only an issue on longer stays). We look forward to returning here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Probably a huge portion of my excellent rating is the fact that we had a nearly empty camp ground experience at high use season. But even full to capacity, this is a little gem of a campground. Well maintained grounds with access to a huge, green, park and athletic facilities. Friendly caretaker, so don't let the amateur web site discourage your decision to stay here. Not satellite friendly at all, but we were able to grab Direct at site 11. Your pets will love the grass between your camp site and the little creek. It is a ways north of Bishop so not for those more inclined to be in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Very clean campground with friendly staff. Able to ride offroad vehicles straight out of the campground onto 100's of miles of trails. County park next door with pond, tennis courts, and playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
We camp here every Fourth of July and make other trips throughout the year too. Located on the north side of Bishop, just off the 395. The sites all sit right along the creek. Hookup sites are on one side of the creek (you can also have tents on the site) and the dry sites are on the other. (The creek is only a few feet wide.) Where you park your RV it is dirt, but your fire ring/bbq area is nice green grass all the way up the the creek. The dry sites are all dirt, no grass (as far as I can remember but there may be some sites with grass--we always get an hookup site, plug in the RV and put the tents on our grassy area). Sites seem roomy enough for our liking and we've never seen the park full. Even on the major holiday when it is more filled, it never feels overcrowded. The flush toilets/token showers are quite clean and there is also a laundry facility. 19 of the sites are electric and water. No sewer. Grounds are very well maintained, and you can always catch them working around camp and keeping the green grass well watered. The campground has numerous amenities that rarely seem to get used such as tennis courts, huge athletic fields, horseshoe pits, a playground, archery area, and a small pond for fishing and swimming. There's no power boats and I'm not a big fan of swimming in ponds, but I have seen people in there on occasion. More often, the kids just play in the creek although it is always freezing! We are terrible fishermen, but can always catch tons of bluegill and they stock the pond with Alpers we catch some times. Fishing there is actually quite decent. You should know that the grounds are quite large and all the amenities listed here in this second paragraph (except the creek) are not right adjacent to the campsites. It's all the same property, but you've got to walk a bit (or a very short drive) to get over to those things. I guess there is an equestrian area just next door. I've seen the horses but that's about all I know. Also, stargazing is fantastic here. It's very, very hot in the summer, and quite cool in the fall and cold in the winter. Dry sites are on the left and hookup sites are on right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com