206617 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Meadows River Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (970) 264-5482
CGID8685

Elk Meadows River Resort

Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   4   7   6   7   3   4   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Great little stopping spot. We always stay in a back-country campsite for 4 or 5 days when in the Pagosa Springs area. When we come out, we go directly to Elk Meadows Resort. Clean restrooms and showers, nice laundry and all the hookups we need. Plan on staying there this September for a couple of nights. Highly recommend the spot. Only reason I didn't give it a "10" rating is it's just a flat space, few if any trees and no character, but it works. Will always go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Nice campground just North of Pagosa Springs, very clean laundry, gravel roads and sites. Pull through sites sloped very slightly front to back. Beautiful area but access to river is down steep stairs. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
When we arrived I really don't know what I was expecting but must say I was disappointed. The resort is not as displayed on their web site. Let's just say they were creative. The sites were relatively level although they did not appear so at first0 glance. Closely spaced but as they stair step up a hill side that gives you some semblance of room but you really don't have a lot of patio area. Very rocky and gravel sites. Must use a patio mat. Power and Internet (Wi-Fi) was strong and stable. Water pressure adequate and water taste was good. Resort has a eating and banquet area and they serve breakfast. Check in was poor. The staff or clerk on duty seemed overwhelmed and inept. Since I had prepaid she could not find information but did see I had paid. Wrote my site number on map and told me to try to come back later to register. What ? Well that did not happen I just went to my site and forgot the rest. Place was full as it was the 4th. Overall gives an unkempt appearance. Wildlife is all around and the campground has a huge family of prairie dogs that nest in all campsites. Overall the place is adequate but not much more. With a little investment and up keep the place could be nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
This is by no means a "resort," but it is a nice little RV park just past the eastern edge of town headed toward Wolf Creek Pass. The park itself is a bit run down, but OK. The pads are dirt and gravel, and are fairly level. There is some grass for each site. The 50-amp power (only a very few 50-amp sites, though, and the rate reflects the 50-amp site) and Wi-Fi are good; there is no TV, but satellite reception was good (most trees are small). Verizon broadband was marginal at best. Management is friendly and helpful. The highway is adjacent to the park, but road noise was minimal at night. Make sure your bedroom is facing away from the highway, though. They sell ice and a few other frozen items, and also have a freezer for guest items. There is one high-end RV park in Pagosa, but aside from that one, Elk Meadows seemed to be better than the others we visited. There is lots to do in and around Pagosa Springs. The hot springs are fun for an hour or two; there are several, but we tried "The Springs" and recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
First, this is not a "resort". Once here there is nothing to do. All sites are full-hookup and there are clean individual restrooms with showers. There is a small clean laundry. The campground is along Hwy 160 west of Pagosa. The trees are small so no shade. There is good spacing between sites with grass: compared to many other parks. Our Verizon air card worked great but they also have WiFi which we didn't try. It's on the San Juan River but is difficult to use due to steep stairs. They water their grass continually but leave the hoses in the street/walking area overnight which is a hazard if using the bathroom. It's a well-kept campground and about the best in the Pagosa area, and we would return. The price is on the high end though for no amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Previous reviewer must have a hard time finding a park they like. Roads are dusty, but find one that's not in this location. All sites but 2 are pull through. Wi-Fi isn't working because they had a lightning strike. Seems like you could cut them a break! It is being fixed. We have stayed here many times and have no problems with the management or park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
This park is old and seems a little rundown. It could use some TLC but woman who owns it runs it by herself and one helper. Traffic noise from highway is not too bad, and quietens at night. There are dusty gravel roads throughout the park some pull-through sites, and some back-ins 30/50 amp. You can walk down a hill to see the river but to get there is a long walk down rickety stairs. We stayed here because we were waiting on another couple. I certainly would not call this a resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
1. I paid more than the advertised price. My fault. I didn't check first and just assumed I was paying the right price. Now I look on the Internet and find I paid lots more. 2. "Resort" is a real stretch. This park needs serious maintenance, or a make-over. Gravel roads and walkways means chunks, stones, not pea gravel. 3. Calling this a riverfront resort is a joke. The stairs to the river defy OSHA. Anyone above 60 may die in the attempt. The riverfront is covered with brush. There is no way to view the river, or fish from the bank. You will need waders. And there appears to be a hobo camp at the bottom of the stairs. 4. Wifi was advertised, and inquires brought the response that the park had complete coverage. I asked if the selected site also had coverage brought an affirmative response. Then the money changed hands, and the wifi coverage disappeared. I had to change sites to get any coverage at all, next to the shower building where the broadcast is located. There the reception was one bar. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This park has very clean restrooms and showers in individual rooms. The grounds could be so much better if the owner would mow and weedeat more thoroughly. The owner is divorced and has a new boyfriend who is a jerk, which is the reason for our leaving early. We will not stay here again as long as the boyfriend is here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
The staff here is very friendly and helpful. Although the campground is very well kept, it offered little in the way of amenities. The rec room is very small, hot and limited. They advertise themselves as a river resort but to access the river involves a long climb down old wooden stairs that are very hard to use and a long climb back up. The sign at the top of the stairs says use at your own risk. The river can not be seen from the camp sites. The volleyball court is overgrown and they offer no supplies other than ice and ice cream. It is on the highway (US160) so the traffic noise in considerable. The WiFi is good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Staff very friendly and accommodating. Big rig easy access to site. Gravel. Road noise kept it from being rated higher. Easy walk to San Juan River, at campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com