214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Follow the River RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (812) 427-3330
CGID8699

Follow the River RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   8   8   9   10   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$41
This is a very nice campground that is located about 1 mile from the Markland Dam and the crossing into Kentucky. The nightly rate is far more than other parks in the area. We were there as a camping group and had a great experience. The park is a perfect location for the NASCAR Races at Kentucky Speedway. It is also good for a group rally. I would not stay here as an individual because of the excess cost. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
Overpriced for the amenities that they have. The whole campground is paved, which is nice. They do have a nice stage and host live music once a month. They also have nice paved walking/riding path. The location is good, somewhat close to the expressway, and close to the KY Speedway and Bellterra Casino. Now for the things we dis-liked: The cable TV doesn't work, so don't count on that. The pool is a saltwater pool. It doesn't bother some people, but isn't real refreshing on a hot day. There is also no shade or tables around the pool. We have young kids and the playground isn't real entertaining for them. In my opinion, this campground is worth about $35 a night, which is the rate you pay Sunday-Thursday, but on Friday and Saturday they jack the rate to $48. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Newer campground with excellent sites and concrete pads. The rest rooms were very clean. The people are very friendly. The swimming pool was very clean. The only problem was that the cable was very poor at our site, and one other site where friends were staying. Three other sites had no problems. Also, there was no shade. Trees have been planted but have not matured. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
This is a relatively new campground, obviously built with clientele looking for more upscale than normal places. Sites are large with level concrete pads and patios. Nice smaller pool (salt water), catch and release fishing lake, playground, and sand volleyball arena. We thought rates were a bit high, but they obviously are hoping to attract casino traffic (2 miles) and Switzerland County, IN, numerous festivals and tourist attractions. It is a bit far from major highways for an overnight. Except for the cost, we have no negatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$45
We were here over the Thanksgiving holiday. It is something to be in a campground with nearly 160 sites and BE THE ONLY TT IN THE CAMPGROUND. It was certainly quiet at night. Veevay is such a great little town - River museum, and grand old homes. Then into Madison - WOW!! It was a shipping town - big successful businessmen built big homes (mansions) and then along came the rail-roads but because of the large hill behind Madison, the railroads couldn't get into the town so passed it by. Nothing was ever torn down - there are 133 blocks on the National Registry of Historic Homes! Many of them are for sale if you have any interest in historic homes, this is the place to be. We also visited Hanover College-high above the Ohio River with all Georgian architec-ture. Beautiful campus. Much to see in the area. We had car problems and the owner of the CG came by and spent a lot of time trying to get us operational. Finally called to get a tow truck for us. Very accommodating - much more than was necessary. We left the day after Thanksgiving as the ground was covered with snow - time to put the TT away for the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
As a first time RVer on his inaugural trip, all I have to say about Follow the River is, "WOW!" If this is "RV resort" living, I'm all for it. It has easy, high clearance access from I-71. Just follow the signs to the Belterre Casino then go the other way after you pass the lock and dam (that's a right turn), it's a mile down and to your right. This park is new, groomed and down right luxurious! There are few trees on site but the northern most sites offer excellent afternoon and evening shade from the summer sun. They have pull throughs but I had no trouble with a back-in. Guys with short hoses, like me, just need to keep close to the edge of the parking pads and you'll have no problems with the lighted ShoreMaster hook-ups. Were it not for the fact that we had destinations and deadlines, we'd have loved to stay longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
This is a relatively new RV park. The grounds were very clean. Had planned activities for the kids and a very nice, salt water pool (pack the eye drops though). Has a nice bike route, sand volleyball, decent playground, a good sized clubhouse. All the sites are extremely level with huge concrete patios. It's very quiet even though located on the main road. Only negative is the limited items in the camp store, (but a local grocery is within 5 miles). Although this is a family friendly park, for families with more than 2 kids (12 & over), there's a small fee per night charged extra. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
Nice, new park with full hookups at every site. Generally a nice group of respectful people here that are quiet and well behaved. Would like to see more activities for kids such as mini-golf or something. Only negative is the price: we would go here more, but it's expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
This is a really nice campground, but it does have a little work to do. The camp store is very sparse in its supplies. They do however have a pretty big selection of videos that you can "rent" for FREE. They also have a large supply of books for the "free" reading club. Take a book/Leave a book. The problems I noted wee that the WiFi is very LIMITED, based on your site. We were down by the bike/walking path and could not get a signal, I walked down the road and sat at a picnic table in sight of the office and had a decent signal. I just believe that if you advertise WiFi, it should be available at ALL sites. We use the internet while camping to research and plan activities for the area we are camping in. Also, on many sites, it is a long way to the sewer drain. We had to get a longer hose. The office sells one brand, if you do not have the same brand, they will happily sell you a very long kit for $70.00. We got directions to the Wal-Mart 25 minutes away and saved 40 bucks. Be sure you have plenty of sewer hose, or spot yourself in before you set the landing gear. It is a new campground, so growing pains are to be expected. There really is no draw to the area unless you want to go to Belterra. If you do plan on going, let them know at the office. They have a shuttle arrangement that Belterra will come pick you and your money up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$44
This is a brand new campground as outlined in previous posts, and I think will be open one year this upcoming Memorial Day (5/09). I think the facility certainly has potential. Given the newness of the facility the only drawback that I see is the fact that many of the sites are without shade. Rest Rooms and showers were very clean and spacious. Camp store as outlined in previous posts was somewhat sparse. Overall a very nice facility. For those interested in the casino, there is a shuttle service that will pick you up right at your campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$39
This campground has a lot of promise. Everything is brand new, the roads throughout are all asphalt and the camper pads are all poured concrete with poured concrete patios. Every site has WES with 20/30/50 amp. The sites are all very large and wide so you don't feel like you are on top of your neighbor. They have a very large office/clubhouse building with a big meeting room inside. The meeting room has a few video games, a pool table, and a dart board. I think that would be nice when they have coordinated activities because it is big enough to accommodate maybe 100 people inside comfortably. They also have a heated pool that just opened in August and surprisingly was still open! Of course we didn't have our suits because I would've never dreamed the pool would still be open in October. The pool seemed very small for the size of the campground, and was only 5 feet at the deepest end. They had a pretty large kids play area with several different swings, jungle gyms, etc, and they had a sand volleyball court. The pickup trash at your site every morning and offer firewood for $20 for an ATV load. An ATV load is plenty of wood for 2-3 nights. Here are my ideas for improvement: There were only a handful of sites with any trees at all. The sites around the edges were treed on the outside property line, but because that was north those trees didn't really provide any shade. I wouldn't come here in the heat of summer. The owner needs to plant a lot of trees throughout the grounds. Make the game room more kid-oriented. This is one attraction my kids look forward to when we go camping. This game room has: pool table, dart board, deer hunting game, car racing game, and a stuffed animal crane. The only thing my kids liked was the crane, and after $5 and not winning anything I gave up on it. Addition of a few games oriented towards kids like ping pong, skee ball, or pinball would help a lot. Stock the lake with fish that would help control the algae/seaweed situation. The lake is very narrow and long, and the algae extended several feet from every shore. It was hard for my kids to reel in their line without getting it stuck in the seaweed or covered with algae. I think the lake also contributed to a greater mosquito population. The store was large but wasn't very well stocked, but I attribute this to having just opened recently. They are right down the street from Belterra Casino if you are into gambling. All in all this was a nice campground with great potential. I probably won't go back with the family, though, because it is more oriented to adults than to kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$39
Very nice new park. Sites are set up well and a minor amount of leveling is needed. Pool is very small for a CG of this size. Need more shade trees or landscaping however I would believe this will come with time. Hope to see this park do well, we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have seen. The sites are paved and level. Roads are paved and very wide for ease in pulling in/out and no dust when weather is dry. Very nice pool, volleyball court, and playground for children. I really enjoyed the walking trail. The fishing was great, caught a 6 pound bass myself. Only downside we discovered were no shade trees (these may come later as this is a new facility) and no Internet access. The owners and staff are some of the best we have had the pleasure to meet. We have spent many weekends there and plan to spend to many more there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
This is a new park that hasn't yet started to advertise because they are not fully functional yet. They have started on the pool and volleyball court and anticipate finishing them within a few weeks. I never asked about their plans for WiFi. All sites have concrete pads and the roads are paved. They have done a great job so far and all their work is top notch. The park could use some more plantings to provide some shade. The owners are very nice people and go out of their way to take care of you. I'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
This park is only about 8 months new. Wi-Fi, Cable, Laundry, Store are coming but not in yet. Rates seem rather high for this park and location. Right now it is just a place to park. Bike/Hike trail under water from the heavy rains. I would have scored it higher had the cable, Wi-Fi been in and working and the daily rate less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com