223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Denali RV Park & Motel (Privately Owned) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (907) 683-1500
CGID87

Denali RV Park & Motel (Privately Owned)

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   9   8   7   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Right on the highway just north of the park. Clean, wonderful owners, nice gift shop. Laundry very clean and pleasant as were showers/bathrooms. Full but quiet except for some highway noise which did not bother us....it was cool so windows were closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Nice park convenient to Denali Nat'l Park. Very good Wi-Fi. All services worked well. Nice folks in the office. Right off Hwy 3, so some road noise during the day. We would return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Everything that the previous reviewer said is spot on so I won't bore you with the same information. I will add however that the Wi-Fi is the best I have seen in Alaska. On my last visit to this area, I stayed at the RV park in the commercial area. I may have been convenient, but can't hold a candle to this RV Park. I would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We stayed here a total of 3 nights. This RV park backs up to a mountain range, so the view is beautiful. Not a whole lot of trees in the park, but the sites are level and wide enough for slides, and there are pull-throughs as well as back-in sites (which are easy to get into and out of). The staff are very helpful and friendly, and the office stocks souvenirs and Denali National Park jackets, sweatshirts and t-shirts that are very reasonably priced. Best of all, they offer dog walking -- twice a day for $10 -- so if you're taking a day-long bus tour in Denali, you don't have to worry about your furry friend. I can't praise this place highly enough - I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it if you're visiting Denali Nat'l Park. They're about 10 minutes drive away and it is definitely the best of any of the campgrounds outside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Although this park is several miles form Denali National Park, but based on our options, it was worth the drive. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The sites were back-in and a little tight, but doable. The front office had very upscale gift items, which was a pleasant surprise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
The pull throughs were very tight and I actually backed into ours. The bathrooms were clean and a lot of them. You will need tokens from the store for the showers.The sites were level. The small store had very good items but the staff would not wait on you. The hook-ups were located about mid way on the site. It is a good park to stay in while visiting Denali and can accommodate large rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
We stayed here 5 nights, and it is the best RV park in the Denali area. Located 8 miles from the park, it is quiet. We were given a pull-thru space. Roads and sites are gravel. Sites are close together, but we put our slides out with no problem. Sites aren't long, but in fairness, Denali has very little flat land, and our site was level. The manager was very nice and gave us information. Hookups worked well, and cable TV and WiFi were excellent. We had 4 bars on our Verizon phones and data worked, too. We didn't hook up to the sewer because it is in an odd place, by the front left tire, and our hose wouldn't reach that far. It is right by the highway, so there is noise, but it didn't bother us. We slept throughout the night with the windows open and didn't awaken once, but then we were really tired. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Managers were great - personable and helpful. Water good, electric stable, cable OK, WiFi great (a little slow on the up-link but this is common in AK), gravel sites reasonably level (and not the usual "messy" gravel), sewer a little bit "uphill." Restrooms/Showers clean, neat, and 'supplied." Laundry has four new high-efficiency front-load washers - four dryers. "Pay" showers might put some campers off, but we've seen this business model quite often up here - no problem with it. Owner apparently still "investing" in this property, else it would not be in the good shape it's in now. It's about six miles to the Denali Park entrance - five and a half to the commercial stuff near the park (South). Mile and a half North to Healy - 49th State Brewery - try the "Smoked Marzen." Nice tourist area near the Park - but it's nice to camp away from the hubbub and touristy stuff. Based on what we saw elsewhere, we'd DEFINITELY stay at this place again (others were veritable parking lots and trash-bins). Bring mosquito netting - unless there's a breeze, they'll be a bother, even as dry as it is here (as is the case all over AK). Rate reflects the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$46
The folks who run this campground are very nice and helpful. Sites are narrow but plenty long for a 40' motorhome and toad. Utilities worked well and were properly placed. For us this made a great one night stay. The price is high but the closeness to Denali was worth it for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
The rate reflects a 10% Good Sam discount. We stayed at this park because we could not get into Riley Creek Campground, our original plans, in Denali National Park. It is about eight miles from the park entrance. We had seen it on the way to the park and it looked much better than the alternatives in the area. The couple running the park is incredibly nice and helpful. It was an extremely hot day and we did find a site with a little shade, but most sites are in the open. The power was strong and there is basic TV cable. They have Wi-Fi but we could not get it to work for us. Our Verizon Data MiFi worked OK so we did not need the camp Wi-Fi. Our Verizon phone had a strong signal. The site was very small, but not a problem since we have a small motorhome. The park is fine, except for the proximity to the highway. It is right on the very busy highway with lots of noise, even though we had a site further back and with some vegetation. Even with that, if we wanted a full-hookup site near the park we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
We stayed 3 nights. Park is typical of many Alaska private parks. With a 40ft MH we had just enough room for slides but we were comfortable after setting up camp. The pull-thru had full hook ups with 50amps and worked great. The WiFi was very good. The staff was very friendly. We were happy with the dog walk service at $10/2 walks during the day. Think the dog was happy also. We were glad we opted for this park after seeing what the other private parks in the area had to offer. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. This park is your basic park -- there is little shade and the sites are close together. When we were there it was not crowded, so we had plenty of room, but when the park gets full it will feel cramped. However, it is very convenient to Denali NP and that is why we stayed. All of the services worked very well, including WIFI. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and they even offer a dog walking service where they will come to your RV and walk your dog twice for $10. This is especially useful when you are taking the bus ride into Denali NP and will be gone all day. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Great spot away from the hustle and bustle of the Park and all the cruise hotels and hubbub, but not so far as you can access what you want. The sites were a bit close together but people were quiet and not much in and out traffic to disturb. The trucks on the road were a bit loud. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Showers did cost though. The best part of this campground was the trail options that were awesome to walk “spirited” dogs. The staff was very friendly and views quite nice. We would recommend this over all the Denali area campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Great Park ! Nice big sites and very quite. The location is far enough from the chaos of Denali, but close enough to come and go easily. Only drawback (like the rest of Alaska) is the hundreds and hundreds of rental Class c coaches that come and go at all hours. There is some road noise, but it was not problematic. Hosts were wonderful to talk with and knew the area. They were there whenever you needed something, but never bothered you. They booked a glacier flight tour for us that saved us a couple hundred dollars from anything we could booked. Only reason for the rating is I compared it to the resorts in lower 48 that we have stayed at. By "Alaska and Canada standards", I would give it an 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
We stayed here 4 nights and enjoyed the town. This park is typical for most RV Parks on the road. The pull through and/or back-ins are large enough for our 40' and 4 slides. Yes, the room on the left, was tight, but it left plenty of room on the passenger side of the coach to have a table and chairs. The staff was more than helpful. The Internet was perfect and cable TV had a good choice of channels. The price we paid reflect a change in their charge, due to date, as they will be closing mid Sept. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We stayed here four nights while exploring Denali. Loved the full hook-ups, The location is close enough to Denali but far enough to be out of the craziness. Yes, sites were not large, but those are hard to find in Alaska. Our dogs were happy with the walking areas. We were quite happy with the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Very tight sites here. Many Caravans use this as a stopping point, so it sells out in the peak season. Good location to visit Denali Park if you don't want to dry camp inside the park. There is a nice walking trail for pets that goes quite a ways through the brush and trees. Interesting though, the campground's location must be in a funnel for wind. Both nights we were there the wind howled all night long. So much that I had to bring in my bedroom slide just to be able to sleep. Leaving the park and driving a few miles down the road and there was no wind at all. I may try dry camping inside the park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
About 8 miles north of the entrance to Denali: on the side of the road. Nice setting but sites somewhat unlevel and pull throughs narrow. Good hookups; fast and free wireless internet; limited cable TV. Laundry room very clean. Nice gift shop on site and very friendly people!!! Dog sitting offered for $10 per dog per day, which made it nice to enjoy one of the long shuttle trips in Denali National Park without worrying about our dog. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
Way too crowded. We had little space to park our motor home, much less the car. With revised space allotment, it could be a very nice park. Coin-operated showers, fabulous view and an easy drive to Denali Parks. Unfortunately, because of spacing, we will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This is an excellent RV park just north of Denali Natl Park. Beautiful views of the mountains all around the RV park. Very friendly and helpful staff that works here. We would recommend Denali RV Park to everyone. We had a great time visiting the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
This is the campground to stay at in the Denali area. It is 7 miles from the park entrance, but away from the madness of the heavy tourist area. The park managers are very helpful and friendly, and the prices of items sold in the park store were very reasonable. Sites were a little tight, but not unreasonably so. Wi-Fi was excellent. There was some road noise, but because of the mountains and river that would be the case at all area campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Park has good level sites. All features worked well including Wi-Fi. Easy drive to Denali National Park. Friendly and helpful staff. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Typical gravel sites but has shrubs separating sites. 7.5 miles north of Denali NP entrance. Close to Copper Center (Denali Princess hotel) for gift shopping, etc. As with the other northern RV parks we've stayed at, tannins turn the water orange/brown/yellow. Totally non-toxic, just an FYI. Right on Hwy 8, 18-wheelers & Harleys day and night. However, after a long day of sightseeing and shopping... Not too many other options, though. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We have stayed here two nights and will add another so we can spend more time at Denali Park. This RV park is one of the nicest in the area and features level and fairly spacious spaces. Very nice and knowlegable office staff. Clean laundry room with generous hours. We are eight miles north of Denali Park entrance; the office staff can help with Park info and reservations for various activities. Nice views! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This RV park is about like the rest of the RV parks in BC and Yukon. We stayed two nights as we wanted to visit Denali and hopefully see Mt. McKinnley. The lady and her husband who manage the RV park were extremely nice and accommodating. They will also do dog walking for $10/day. This was a big plus for us as it took us from early morning to late evening to go to Denali NP and return. Would stay here again for sure. Main reason was the advantage of the dog walking service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Nice park outside of Denali, really liked the location, plus the staff was friendly and helpful. Our site was wide enough but barely long enough, it was tough parking the tow vehicle. A large caravan came in while we were there and blocked off one whole street making it very difficult for us to leave in the morning. Thought that was very inconsiderate of the caravan group. We would return to this park if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
The fee for staying her is certainly reasonable. There is a choice of pull-through or back in sites. It is 30 amp with picnic tables. They office staff is friendly and helpful. If you stay 7 nights the 8th night is free. they have excellent cable reception. Denali is 11 miles away and it is easy this as your homebase. Be sure to eat at Salmon Bake in Denali. Their halibut dishes (halibut and chips, halibut cheecks and halibut tacos) are outstanding. The 11-hour bus ride into the park offers great opportunities for viewing wildlife. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We stayed 3 nights. Eight miles from Denali Park entrance but well worth the drive. Best campground we saw in the Denali area. Good Wi-Fi and clean restrooms. Good check in experience and the staff was helpful with things to do in the area. Spaces a little tight but manageable. We had a back in site and our 40ft rig fit OK. Would definitely stay again if in the area. We highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Nice clean campground; friendly staff. Sites are somewhat close but not as bad as some other campgrounds we've stayed in in Alaska. There are some immature trees that will provide some privacy someday. There is some traffic noise from the Parks Highway, but not too bad at night. It was only a 15-minute drive from the campground to the visitor's center in Denali National Park. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We stayed here one night so we could have sewer hookup. We would have stayed here more but were locked into another campground. This campground is about 6 miles away from the park entrance, but most campgrounds in the area are this far away unless you stay in the park and dry camp. The staff was really friendly! The sites are close together, like most parks in the area, but their are beautiful views of the hills out back. The sites are level and services are good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Rate is for 30 amp FHU back-in site. Roads and sites are on the small side, plus park was quite crowded due to a big rig caravan. Gravel and dirt roads and sites. Was able to connect to Internet satellite. Cable TV at the site. It is located a distance outside of the town and on the opposite side from Denali NP, so it requires a good drive to see or do anything. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
We stayed here in our 33 foot 5th wheel and it was very easy in and out, plus our pull-through site was long enough to easily accommodate both the truck and trailer. The big problem here was the water: because of the iron in the water we were advised to run the hose for 15 seconds before hooking up but even after running it much longer it never ran clear and tasted bad. Two of the three nights: the highway traffic was loud most of the night. Our site was level, Wi-Fi worked but was very slow, and there was cable TV. The park wasn't very full and sites appeared to be assigned with an empty next to most people which was very nice. We'd made a reservation the first of the year and had to pay in full at that time. Upon check-in we were told even with the end of the season rates ours was $3 per night less and the extra night we were requesting would be at that lower rate we'd been charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
All-gravel interior roads and sites with a mix of pull-through and back-in sites. Tight for big rigs, which will only fit in the pull-throughs. Electric (30 amp) and water sites are available, and a dump station is located behind the office. The overall terrain slopes up away from the road, so leveling can be an adventure. Friendly and helpful office staff. Popular with caravans, but we were able to get two big rigs without reservations in for several days to do Denali. Free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Clean, things worked as expected, while the pull-through we used did not have sewer the dump was in a convenient location. As mentioned some road noise from the highway but not overwhelming, but we were reasonably far back. Good location away from the tourist area yet close. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
This is a good campground to use as a base to see Denali. It's located about 7 miles north of the Denali entrance. The interior roads are gravel and in good shape. Our pull-through site was gravel, level and almost long enough for us to park our truck. It's an easy in and out and there is adequate space between sites that is mainly bushes. No trees and very pretty views of the surrounding hills. The entire campground is well maintained with a friendly and helpful staff. The bathrooms were very clean. Water pressure at our site was a little low. Good Wi-Fi reception and cable TV got about 8 clear channels. We also had no mosquitoes here. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We were here for 2 nights. The sites were large enough for most rigs to park plus park their pull vehicle beside them. Gravel interior roads and sites with some grass at some sites. Combo restroom and shower rooms were very clean. They did require tokens (purchased at the office) for showers. Staffers were friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Cable TV and WiFi worked very well. The truck noise from the highway did get loud at times but didn't keep us awake at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Very friendly staff, and very helpful with information on Denali. We had a full hook up site that was a back in. The site was level, but short. We had to park our truck across the road. The roads and sites are gravel. Great views and about 7 miles outside the Denali. A good base to visit Denali. They offer no discounts. If you need hook ups, this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Campground is approximately 8 miles north of the Denali Park entrance after passing through small unincorporated town. Sites were level and unshaded. Showers were very clean and private. $3 for 5 minutes and hot water was plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful. As this is early in the season, some maintenance was underway, such as sign repairs. Store / gift shop was not open as stock was not on-hand. We stayed two nights and I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
Gravel sites with some grass. Very friendly and helpful staff. Dog walking service for fee, if you go on long tours of Denali. We got satellite reception. We would return We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Attractive location a few miles outside the park; reasonably level sites, although the pull-throughs are a bit narrow. We had no room for chairs or grill outside because of the bushes used to separate the sites. The pull-throughs are electric and water only, and the water pressure was low enough that we had to use our water pump to be able to take a shower. Campground showers are $3 for 5 minutes -- very expensive. Dump station is awkwardly located and can block some sites if there is a line. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
It rained while we were here, and the site had deep puddles all over. A couple of loads of gravel would have made the park much nicer to stay at. The buildings were run down and poorly maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Gravel sites and area. But very quiet and wifi worked in coach. Pay extra for showers. Easy to get around in campground. Looked like best in area for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Small park a ways from the hustle and bustle of the motel and tourist area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Nice park, well located. Very friendly staff. Hiking trail nearby. Pet walking service available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Great campground, close to Denali and still remote and quiet. Dog watcher available onsite. Nice touch. Can leave dog alone all day while you visit park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
Another tight gravel parking lot. Wi-fi is weak, wouldn't work from my site. It is quiet and friendly, though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Great park for where you are. 7 miles north of the park entrance. A wonderful little restaurant about 2 miles north of the rv park-great bumbleberry pie. Everybody was very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
We stayed 3 nights and were pleased with the staff, clean restrooms and showers. There was satellite TV at our site (limited channels) and WiFi was free and worked well. We would stay again and recommend to anyone. They offered a pet walk service while we toured the park ($10.00). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$20
Clean restrooms & showers(metered). Gift shop. Would use again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com