218135 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Casey State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 6 user reviews. Phone: (360) 678-4519
CGID8729

Fort Casey State Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
This is a typical coastal state park. Kind of run down and the sites are small but you are camped right on the water! It's fun to watch the Ferry come and go and there are lots of trails to hike and explore. All sites are open to satellite reception and Verizon works fine here. No sewer hook ups are available and no dump station so come with empty tanks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
My favorite State Park in Washington State. What FT. Casey has that most parks do not have is "right on the water" sites at no extra cost. Electricity is now available and reservations is now available for the summer months. Not only a great over night spot for ferry travelers, but lots of walking trails and old WW2 forts to walk through. Beach combing, bird watching, wild life viewing and great sun risings always available. My favorite is watching the ocean ship traffic always coming and going in the straits overshadowed by the majestic Olympic Peninsula mountain range in the background. When is the last time you saw an Aircraft Carrier or Triton submarine from your easy chair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$11
There are lots of things to do at this park: salt water fishing, exploring the old gun emplacements and fortifications, touring lighthouse, beachcombing, etc. Additionally, if you want to take a day trip to Port Townsend, the ferry is just steps away from the campground. We were surprised to find all the electrical/water hookups taken in Oct. even though we came in early in the afternoon on Friday. (Although it was a beautiful sunny weekend, so that may have accounted for it.). We had to make do with a non-hook-up site for two nights before a hook-up site opened up for us to use on our last night. The campground was full by around dinner time on Friday night. This park does not take reservations so it pays to get here early and/or come during the middle of the week, especially in the summer or on mild days during other seasons. The campground at Fort Casey is right down at sea level. Quite a few of the sites have great views of Admiralty Inlet and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. In some sites, if the weather is inclement with wind blowing off the water, and/or in high tides, be prepared to get salt spray on your rig! You also get a front row seat to watch the Coupeville to Port Townsend Ferry come in and out. Thankfully, the ferry only sounds its very loud horn during foggy weather! All in all this is a great place to camp if you enjoy outdoor activities and need only the basics. There is no dump station. The nearest place we found to dump our tanks was at Deception Pass State Park on the north end of Whidbey Island. The rate quoted is what we paid for a non-hook-up site with a low income senior pass. Regular rates are $22 (or $28 for an electric/water site). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
Our review is close to the other review. Great location, right on the ocean. Kids loved seeing the ferry come in and out. Electric and water sites is $29...other sites are $22. Nice clean restrooms and showers. No dump station on site, but there is one close by and there is no charge with a receipt from campground. The close by town has everything. Park clean and well kept. Easy to back into. Best thing about this park is the park host. Very friendly and helpful. Great spokeswomen for the state of Washington. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$21
Park service added electric (30A) and water to a dozen or so sites. Water is turned off in winter however there is a spigot available by the restrooms. Lower # sites are closest to the ferry dock which was enjoyable to watch pull in and out. Ferry rarely blew its horn and generally doesn't run from 9pm to 7am (winter). Fort Casey is a nice walk up the trail away and has spectacular views of the Strait. Coupeville is less than 10 minutes away and has propane, gasoline, diesel and markets. First Street Grill was very good for lunch and dinner. Our family has spent every Thanksgiving camping here for over 36 years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$19
The park is a good overnight spot to dry camp if you have ferry reservations for the next morning to get to Port Townsend on the Keystone-Port Townsend Ferry and don't want to get up early and race to get here. Of the 35 total spaces, one pull-through is reserved for physically challenged customers. This park is open year round. This park does not take reservations, it's first come, first serve. However, if you stay here in the winter, be sure you have a good inverter, as it could be a bit chilly! (In my opinion, this park should be renamed "Inverter Park" because of all the travel trailers and RV's here that were using Honda inverters!) Dry camping only, there are no hookups or sewer dumps. The restrooms/showers were, about what you would expect for a State Park (ie: not perfect, but passable). Showers were 50 cents for three minutes. There are water faucets located about every third camping spot, but your hoses won't fit because these water faucets are meant for filling up buckets. There is a "winter water supply" that can accommodate hoses near the pay station. The "pull-through" spaces are on the outer edge of the loop. The "back-in" spaces are in the center of the loop, except for five "back-ins" located at the top of the outer edge of the loop. These five spaces offer the best location for ferry watching, with spectacular views of Puget Sound. The "pull-through" spaces are shaped in a half-circle. Some of the "half-circles" are a narrow arc, and some are a wider arc. The pull-throughs on one side of the park give you a "ring-side seat" to the ferry dock; you can sit outside and watch the ferries come and go. The pull-throughs on the other side of the loop are against a bluff full of trees and vegetation, not as good of a view. The back-in sites on the inside of the loop may or may not have a good view of the ferry dock. Each camping space has a good-size, sturdy picnic table and fire ring. However, you are not allowed to use the driftwood for the fires, heavy fines if you are caught. If you need firewood, you are supposed to leave a note and $5 in the pay box and maybe someone will bring some wood to you. Each site has plenty of room for tents. There is a short, uphill, hiking trail that takes you to the old Fort Casey firing batteries. Older children can have fun exploring and climbing the batteries, while adults and younger children can picnic on the grass. For the lighthouse lovers, there is a beautiful lighthouse that you can tour during afternoon hours in summer, and weekends in winter. As of this writing, there was a temporary food vendor within walking distance in a trailer near the ferry dock selling hot dogs, corn dogs, and Filipino lumpias. However, a sign on an empty building near this temporary vendor indicated that there will be a new restaurant soon. UPDATE: As of late June 2008, the Keystone Cafe is now open. It's located within a short, brisk walk from the park, and has a good view of the ferry dock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com