221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Peregrine Pines FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (719) 333-4980
CGID8770

Peregrine Pines FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   10   9   9   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
Very nice FamCamp right across street from USAF football stadium. Lovely base. Very friendly staff in office. Lots of trees, sites are nicely spaced. Good laundry and WiFi. Will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
This is a gorgeous FamCamp. It’s tucked away down the road from the Air Force Academy cadet area, back in the woods. The campground is full of pine trees and tons of hummingbirds. We put out a 32-oz feeder and they drained it in 2 days. There’s lots of other wildlife as well. We were warned of bears and mountain lions, but didn’t see any. We did; however, see wild turkey, a fox, and two coyotes in the immediately area of the campground (like across the dirt road). The WiFi is sketchy and there are a couple of laundry facilities for .75 per washer and dryer. There’s a very active train track that runs through the back end of the campground and it loves to lay on the horn as it’s passing through, about 8-10 times per night? Yep, don’t expect to get much sleep here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
This is one of the better FamCamps in the system. Customer service is excellent. Pea-gravel sites are long and have decent space between them, especially on the patio side, with a metal picnic table and BBQ grill. Some are not satellite friendly unless you have a portable dish antenna. A handful of sites have minor sloping issues. There are two nice bath/laundry buildings at each end of the CG. It's kid friendly with a playground, volley ball court, and plenty of space to ride bikes. Also for the kids, there is an ample supply of junk food sweets at the check-in office. Voltage is good even with a full park. Water pressure is high! A regulator is a must. My Wi-Fi repeater signal at the back of the camp was 5 bars so the signals are solid, but it’s slow when the park is full and everyone is hogging bandwidth. Verizon 4G is good. If you have a digital ready TV, then there are about a dozen stations that can be received. The AF base has all of the amenities one needs with an exception that the Commissary is small. Go off base and use a local grocery. There is also a separate 30A section of the CG which is similar in all respects. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this FAMCAMP. It's in a beautiful setting on the USAFA grounds. The staff was quite nice; allowing us to check in early, they drove around monitoring things from time to time. Our site was quite spacious. Literally about 3 times as large as any KOA we stayed. We stayed in a back in site with quite a few trees for privacy. Fire pits don't come standard on sites; but there are a limited number of fire pits available to rent for $10. Only stipulation is you must clean them, not a big deal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
The only downer is the trains down the mountain side can be heard on a regular basis. But other wise beautiful setting. Will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
This was our first visit to USAF facility. We have used other services and most are usually well above average. As expected, this was a top notch place. Check in was smooth and we were "strongly" advised to not let the cat out in the evening as bear, coyote, and mountain lion were all reported to be in the area. (We never saw nor heard evidence of any). Spaces are large and fairly level. Hookups are easy, and good. We were there on a football weekend so it was crowded but we never felt it. Feel I can not give a 10 for several issues: (a) WiFi was very spotty in our site. Perhaps we were too far from the tower, but it would cut out all of a sudden then come back in 3-10 minutes. (b) Noise of trains and announcements was poor. Can't help the trains (so be forewarned), but the announcements of some weather issue were loud but unintelligible. Glad it wasn't serious. Not fault of campground, but distressing to have announcement blaring and not be able to understand what it is about except the phrase, "Take cover immediately!" Need to improve speakers and those speaking. But both issues are minor and not really that bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
If you can stay here, please do. This is a wonderful place to be. It is a wooded area but they keep it clean and neat. Ask for a satellite friendly site. Love the way the spots are laid out with plenty of room between units. Of course, there is so much to see in the area so we extended our stay. Will definitely stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
One terrific campground. It would be a 10 except that leveling required blocks. All the utilities worked great. Sites were generously spacious and the place was unbelievably quiet even over a home football weekend. There is train noise but not enough to interrupt your sleep. Satellite worked great but ask for a satellite site. Did not use WiFi but is is available. Staff was friendly and helpful. Verizon worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Our 2nd stay , we really enjoy this family camp. It is set in a beautiful setting. Not busy in Sept. Used our satellite for the first time and it worked very well, however you cannot use your satellite at all sites because of the trees, so when making reservations be sure and ask for a satellite site. The only downside on this visit is that the showers were not that clean, not sure they were cleaned every day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Stayed here 5 nights with the SMART caravan. Nice park. Friendly staff. Good Wi-Fi and antenna TV. Long gravel sites. Plenty of shade trees. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
I gave it a 10 even though no Cable. We are able to pick up all major networks on our antenna with box so TV not an issue. Wi-Fi works great. Sites are big and the many trees provide the shade. Great location. Peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
Nice park,especially if touring the area. Secure, on base facilities, office was not open, everything is self check-in . This time of year no problem getting a site; there were only a handful of campers in the park. Laundry and rest rooms were nice and clean. Wi-Fi was excellent. Only downside were the numerous trains going through in the back of the park, but did not bother us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Staff helpful and professional. Site was gravel and relatively level. Unusual amount of speed bumps. Water pressure (should use regulator) and electric fine. Near lots of attractions like Garden of the Gods. Plenty of hiking and mountain bike riding on base and in surrounding parks. Only negative was trains blowing horn most of the night, but after hiking all day, we usually slept through. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Peregrine Pines is everything that the previous reviewers said it was - great. Yes they seem to have lots of trains with loud horns after nightfall in the back section but that is nothing that the campground can do anything about. Their wi-fi was intermittent but their restrooms are excellent and they even provide soap in dispensers in the showers. Not all sites are satellite friendly but they swapped us into a site (#77) that allowed our roof top dish to work at 100%. Thank you camp staff. I played/walked two rounds of golf on the Eisenhower Silver course ( the Blue course was tied up with the Colorado PGA tournament finals ) and was totally impressed with the course condition and its surrounding scenery. For you seniors, the fast food place beside the commissary gives free coffee. Note that on football weekends the campground gets full so reservations are a must. We’d be delighted to camp here whenever we’re in the Colorado Springs area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We love this campground. Lots of trees, large sites, full hookups and excellent facilities. We asked for, and got, a site that was satellite friendly and still had plenty of trees for shade. Access to the city and the facilities on base is easy. Wi-Fi signal was strong and reliable. We've camped here before and we'll be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We had an excellent site. It required a little work to level but it was worth it. The water pressure was high and we were warned about that when we checked in. The local train bothered my wife a little but not me. I would certainly stay here again if in the Air Academy/Colorado Springs area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
I always pick this CG when traveling through the area even if I have to travel more miles in a day that I normally would. A few negatives are that there is quite a bit of train horns especially near the back sites. That’s OK during daylight, but quite annoying at night. The airfield traffic from sailplane towing creates some noise, but it’s during daylight hours. Satellite coverage depends on the site, but you are in the woods. The hot water was out for three days in one of the bathhouses during our stay. Apparently the base uses civilian contract maintenance and with most government contracts you get low bid service. Verizon 3G signal is good. Wi-Fi covers all of the sites. There is an indoor pool on base. If you are being a tourist in the area, the MWR office provides for one stop shopping for event tickets. Just outside the north gate you will find everything for all shopping needs. This is one of the nicer campgrounds, civilian or military. It pleases 99% of the users. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
If you are military, this is a campground that needs to be on your list. Great staff: very helpful. The FamCamp is heavily used and is generally full so reservations are a must. The Wi-Fi works well, water pressure is 90+ psi so be sure to use a reducer. There is a commissary and BX on the installation. There is a gas station but does not have diesel. We will definitely stay here again. Very few road markings but the South entrance from I-25 (exit 150) leads to South Gate Road which turns into Stadium Blvd. At the North side of the Stadium there will be a sign for the FamCamp to the right (approx 4.5 miles from the entrance gate). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is in a great location within an hour of most major attractions. The disappointment was we reserved the dates by phone and arrived two days early. The staff said you could not reserve a particular space only dates but that was untrue. When we arrived, they gave us a space but said we had to move the next morning because someone was coming in the next am. Lie, no one showed for three days. We moved for what? The people that showed did request that space another lie. I had chosen this campground partly for amenities needed like laundry and Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi needed for work communication and laundry to clean cloths. 2 out of 3 washers and 1 of 2 dryers were broke the 5 days we stayed for 105 sites. They were working on the roads and the water was muddy for one day with no warning causing campers to drain and flush their water systems. How fun on vacation! The internet worked sometimes. We booked for 2 weeks and cut it short to 5 days due to all the above. They seemed disorganized and uncaring. I would only stay here again under duress. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Park is in a great location, and each site is well groomed. Just one set of lynx levelers to have it dead even under the tires. Sites are all gravel. No hosts are present during the winter season. There was a sign about high water pressure, however it was not a problem as the water pressure was almost nonexistent at our site at least. Perhaps because it is the winter season. No issue just filled the tank and moved on. Just an overnight stop for us but for the military and retired it is the best park in the Springs for the price. With Colorado Springs less than 10 minutes anything you might need is there in town. Only issue is the fact the stadium is real close, and if a game is going on expect to hear the play by play (they were having a High School marching band competition)not normally one to be concerned with noise, however this one took a few hours to get used to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Another nice stay at the Air Force Academy. Campground is self service for the winter season. Campground is in the pine trees but yet close to shopping and dining. Site 58 worked well for satellite and Verizon Wireless. We'll stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Just what you'd expect from a military Famcamp. Outstanding. From the person behind the desk with a great sense of humor to the well shaded and mostly level sites. My wife and I enjoyed our two night new trailer shake down. If you are heading to the springs and qualify to get on a military base, this is the place you want to stay! We've already made our reservations for the AF - Navy football game. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
I agree with all the positive things that have been said in recent reviews about this excellent park, but will address a few points that haven't been mentioned recently. 1) It looks like the sites have been laid out helter-skelter among the trees, but it all works. 2) When you first see all the trees, it might seem that the park would be tight for a big rig, but if you pay attention, you will see there is sufficient room to maneuver to any site in any part of the park. 3) Not all sites are as level as they first seem; there are high and low areas, so you may want to inspect the site closely before you decide where to park. Most sites are big enough that you have some flexibility on where you site your rig. They really need to replenish the gravel on some of the sites and roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
As others have written, this is an excellent campground. There is not enough words to describe the outstanding qualities here. The check in gals were friendly and informative. The grounds were very clean with pine trees and cones. I could spend forever in this park. There are lots of trains but they don't bother me as I take out my hearing aid. Has a large box store and commissary and they are well stocked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
A beautiful setting among the pines. Had many hungry hummingbirds. Only negative was the train noise. Will stay again when in the area. Staff was friendly. Spaces were large and had a nice grill and picnic table. Satellite was not great at our site; other sites would work better, but the camp WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Absolutely impeccable park, has lots of room, easy parking and large sites. Office personnel were extremely friendly and helpful, and the bathrooms/showers were spotless. Only downside is IF there is any type of airshow or thunderbird practice (such as during graduation), you will have to leave the campground each day during practice generally from 11AM to 3PM (rig can stay but people have to be out), which makes for some inconvenience. Other than that, it's beautiful here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is definitely a 5 star park. Excellent staff, immaculate grounds, great location and all within a back drop of the US Air Force Academy. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
What a great park. There are 2 different sides to this fam-camp. One side is 20/30 amps, the other is 20/30/50 amps. Gravel roads and sites, aluminum picnic table and BBQ. We got a site (102) which was great for our satellite. There are train tracks that run very close to the campsites but not a problem with the noise. The office was closed for upgrades but we did run into the campground host who told us to park the RV and drive around and find a spot which we liked. This base is huge and they have everything you could want. We would definitely stop here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
I would love to give this park a 10 because it is a wonderful campground. Everything was immaculate. There is a playground, volleyball, picnic pavillion, and much to do in the area. It is wooded, but we picked up DISH just fine. Wi-Fi was inconsistent. The staff is great and work hard to get us just the right site. The only glitch is the train. The east side of the park is close to the tracks. We were in the middle of the park and heard it the first night, but after that it did not bother us. If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a site away from it. We enjoyed the hiking trails on the base, and cannot wait to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
We always look forward to our stay here. The campground is filled with pine trees. We had some trouble with satellite, but overcame it. Some people hate the sound of the train, but you do get used to it. When I made our reservations, I requested 50 amp and satellite capable site. When checking in we were given 30 amp and no satellite. The previous review about the staff being new is right on. We were given 3 different sites before we even left the office. They are very willing and it all worked out. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
We planned to stay 2 nights in this campground and extended our stay to 3 nights. We will definitely plan to stay again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
I normally wouldn’t rate a military campground on this site due to it being restricted to military and DoD personnel. But since it’s already here, I’ll provide an update to previous reviews. The header of of this review states for Military Camping Only. That’s not completely true. Civilians are allowed to stay here if accompanied by someone who is normally authorized to do so. It is an “in the woods” CG. Access roads aren't tight, but you'd do well to pay attention while driving to the site. Roads and sites are gravel. Some sites require a small degree of leveling. The is plenty of space between them. The main two bath houses are at the front and back of the park requiring a small hike if you’re not close. WiFi is still excellent and the water pressure still extremely high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
Wow, what a great military Famcamp. Beautiful location in the trees with excellent facilities. Wi-Fi worked great even though our site was at the very edge of the campground. Great staff who does their best to accommodate your needs. We asked for a site with Sat access and they knew exactly which ones would work. Both of us had careers in the AF but had never visited the Academy. Glad we did! Lots of good Geocaching in the area, too. We will definitely make a point of coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
A facility intended to support the military academy that accepts associated personnel. The sites range from crowded to spacious. The new Wi-Fi works great and the laundry and baths were the cleanest and most modern that we have encountered in a long time. The camp was dusty though in June. All the sites were gravel. The water pressure was high and needed a reducer. The base gas station has no diesel. A nice place and we recommend it. (ADMIN NOTE: the phone number of (719) 333-4980 shown above is good on weekdays during May - Nov. During Nov-Apr, the phone number is (719) 333-4356.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com