206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Georgia Veterans Memorial State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (229) 276-2371
CGID878

Georgia Veterans Memorial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   6   9   9   9   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Georgia Veterans Memorial State Park is a sprawling complex that includes a marina, RV & Tent sites and a couple of restaurants. The Lake side sites ( on Lake Blackshear ) are 50 Amp with water and the inland sites are 30 Amp plus water. We couldn’t find any sewers although our site had what appeared to have been a sewer connection in the past. Yes, when there is warm weather the gnats are present and annoying. One does have to look out for fire/biting ants. They have showers ( 2 male, 2 female per camping areas ( 3 areas & probably not adequate when they fill up )). The waterside sites are all back in and are level gravel and somewhat challenging to get into. They offer no wi-fi but our Verizon mi-fi worked just fine. It’s first come first serve and if you have a satellite dish, open sites are at a premium. The nearby golf course is excellent, challenging and after 2PM a bargain. Veterans price w/ cart $16.20 and three dollars extra for the senior rate. Reservations are now made directly with the park 229-276-2371, no longer through Reserve America – and book early. They do require a car pass and so the CG fee per night plus car pass was approximately 25.00 per day.. I’d play this course and use this campground again. A WalMart super store in Cordele is approximately 12 miles away and there are many small very interesting local stores ( Little Farmer’s Market, Leslie, GA and Striplings General Store at the park entrance) in the general area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This is a really nice park. We stayed here for a couple of nights and was very pleased. We stayed in section 3 which is mostly pull-through sites. All were pretty level. There is some lake side sites but you need to get there early on a Friday because its a first come first served. There is a beach area swim at your own risk. There is no life guard. Great place to ride bicycles. The park is a little spread out so the bicycles came in handy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Gnats swarm thru the campground during the day, seem to disappear when the sun goes down. Sundown is when the rednecks come out cruising the shoreline drinking alcohol and using vulgar language. Around 10:00 PM a large party of drunks cranked up their party music and cussing, could be heard from one end of campground to the other. It took the Campground Host and Park Rangers almost an hour to quiet the group down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
This is a beautiful park on Lake Blackshear. The sites are a little close but laid out nicely to allow a little privacy. There are a number of waterfront sites as well as a more wooded loop if that's your thing. Campground is situated on a cove which makes it nice for kayaking and fishing. Host was extremely helpful and friendly. The museum was at no additional fee and worth checking out. We will definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
A real pleasant surprise! This is a large park with a convention center/restaurant/hotel, with a large lake, beautiful walkways, a small well done veterans war museum exhibit and an outdoor exhibit of WW2 aircraft including a B29,(how did they get that large plane there?) tanks and artillery pieces. There is a huge golf course. The campground is spacious with large gravel-dirt lake side sites, no brush clutter, large trees. Only negative I had was the bathhouse is dated and is in the middle of the campground with no walk ways to it from the surrounding roadway/campsites; excepting one handicapped site. Meaning you walk through lots of brown fallen leaves that can hid snakes and bugs. Things are spread out so a bike is great for getting about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Nice park and very clean, large sites with many pull throughs. Lake was beautiful this time of year with the fall colors all around. Lots of activities to do. I gave it a 9 for two reasons. 1. the park was full and they decided to close area # 3 and cram everyone in 1&2. 2. the park camp host acted like we were bothering him and was rude to my wife when we wanted to purchase wood from him. Other than that I would come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Very clean and well maintained. Most, if not all sites in #3 are pull-through. Large sites. We reserved the Lakeside Pavilion for a family reunion and everyone enjoyed the facility (little overpriced) and closeness to restrooms and playground (large area for throwing frisbee, football). Great weekend! Hated leaving. Will definitely come back for longer stay (and try the golf course and train). We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
The park is 10 miles west of Cordele off I-75. There is a large display of war machinery and aircraft as well as a museum and gift shop. The sites are large, many lakefront. The campground area is gate guarded, neat and clean. Most of the sites are shaded with mature trees. There is a R.C. model airport for use with a current AMA Card. There are boat rentals, fishing, a golf course and a nice restaurant. The park is very well maintained. There are discounts available for active/retired military and senior citizens. A great place to spend a few nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
The is a large state park. Our site was on the water and very large and clean. We did have 50 amp but no sewer in any of the sites. Many pull through sites but some could be tight for large rigs. The restrooms were clean. We were able to launch our kayaks directly from our site. The golf course in the park is a little pricey. We played at Pine Hills in Cordele on a senior rate of $19.00 each. A very nice course and highly recommend it. The state park is big enough for lots of biking. There is a nice swim beach too. We were not bothered by noise from the marina since we were here during the week. Almost had the entire camping area to ourselves. Don't know what it would be like on the weekend but I can see how it might get really hectic. We will definitely come back but probably during the week again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Nice place to stay overnight or for a few days. Only a few miles off the interstate. Friendly staff and the lake was outstanding. The military display outside needs some up keep. Nice little military display in the main office. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We camped here on the lake front. Is a nice small interesting lake, great for our canoe. Planes and other sites in campground were nice, could stand some upkeep. Plenty to do here and in nearby areas, check out Jimmy Carters home town with train, nice trip. Georgia parks are better than some other nearby. Right off I-75 good stop over. Some sites are close by, others are in open, and a few are lakefront, find what suits you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
We stayed at site #11. We arrived on Sunday and stayed 3 nights. When we arrived Sunday early afternoon, the beach on the lake was packed along with the marina. At the marina there are boat/jet ski rentals. There is also a lodge in the park. The campground is somewhat secure. Each time you enter the campground you must enter a code for the gate to open day/night. Only paying campers are allowed in the camping area. All sites will accept large rigs. There are many pull-through sites. The office does not assign you a site, once you pay, you go find one on your own although you can make reservations online. There are several sites with lake views. The sites are very clean and most are shaded. I cut one point for not having septic hookup at each site, but there is a dump station with 2 dump sites. I enjoy hiking and the two trails here are very short and boring. Thus, I took another point for lack of hiking trails. There are a few military vehicles on display, but it is obvious they are lacking in maintenance. The museum is small but interesting. I would recommend this campground for campers traveling on I-75 and boaters. It is 10 miles from I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Nice campground, well laid out, clean restrooms, no garbage visible, clean firepits and sites nicely kept. Only drawback seemed that vehicles were parked everywhere and the rules we were given, did not seem to be enforced even though we saw the rangers driving through several times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
Another great State of Georgia park. Sites are large and easy to get in and out. Park clean and well kept with friendly staff and camp host. We camp here every year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
We were park volunteers and stayed at this park for 4 months. Very nice sites that can accommodate any size rig. Waterfront sites are close together. Only one bath house is heated. Washer/dryer cost is $1.00 per load. Verizon cell and air card service is excellent as there is a Verizon tower located in the park. Beware that there can be loud music during the weekends from the Marina. Loop one would really hear it. Wal-Marts are located in Americus and Cordele. We would stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Georgia does a wonderful job with their state parks. Clean, quiet, and friendly. Enjoyed the museum and surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Very nice park to visit. We have camped there quite a few times. Most are shady but with some of them you have to decide if you want the AM or PM sun. As with the Ga. parks their is no sewage, but the bathhouses are located close to all the sites. They have a few 50 amp sites, but no one working in the office knows the site numbers. They just say you have to look for them. The grass around the lake needed to be cut when we were there in April. Good level sites with gravel in some. The workampers were excellent and all we had to do was ask and they would do their best to help us. My ratings on this campground are very high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
This was my absolute first time camping with the family, and we chose this park because of its proximity to some historical sites, the SAM Shortline Railroad, and because of its easy access to Albany which has a few things to do for the kids. The sites are very flat and are made of gravel. The sites close to the lake are really nice and have a bathroom close by as well as the playground. The back sites are equally as nice but offer more shade and less motorboat traffic. In the back where we stayed, the bathroom sits in the middle of the circle and is pretty easy to get to in the middle of the night if needed. I fully expected to take a cold shower in the morning because of its heavy usage, but the camp water heaters handled it well. Noise is what brought my experience at this park way down. In order to make/save money, Georgia has leased out the cabins and lodge to a private company that has a "club" running on most nights with live bands or disk jockeys. On Friday night, the music didn't shut down until 1 a.m. and on Saturday I woke up to the last call being announced around 2. Although the bar shut down a bit earlier, the parking lot of screaming people and bass speakers didn't go quiet until about 3. My only quiet night was Sunday, and we decided to leave on Monday morning. It just wasn't what I expected when going camping. I joked that we could have camped in downtown Atlanta in the parking lot of a nightclub and had a more peaceful evening. There is easy boating access, a huge field for playing ball or flying kites, and enough paved area for riding bikes made the park worthwhile, but sleeping helps make those experiences better. If you need wood or bait for fishing, there are two stores directly in front of the park that are pretty reasonable, but Sunday hours might be tricky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Senior rate. 10 based on no sewer. The dump station is well laid out and has two stations. You can dump and reverse back into the site loops with no problems. Golf course is pricey. With our Golf Card discount ($6 each), a weekday round with cart for two was $63. Ironwood Golf Club just south was $50 for two. On Tuesdays and Thursdays they had a $25 dollar special of golf all day with cart (no Golf Card required for the special). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Very large S/P on lake Blackshear. Roads are good asphalt, sites are packed gravel, most are level, table, fire rings, good number are on the lakeside, and have 30/50 amps, most have lots of large trees to park under. Cable TV was poor with 11 channels, DTV was good for 3 channels, sat. TV with work if your dish is on the ground or you can find an open site. New dump station that can take three unit at the time. Very large beach for swimming. Hotel Blackshear in park as well. Playground equipment for the kids. Gate was locked 24/7. If you like to fish, 20 feet from your door to lake. Wal-Mart and lots of place to eat and shop in Cordele. Very nice golf course in park. Sam Short Line (train) runs from park over to Plans, GA. Lots of fun for everyone here. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
This is a very nice park and everyone was helpful and courteous. The sites are nicely spaced and are not right on top of each other. There is a resort adjacent to the park and the food in the restaurant there was wonderful. Beautiful sunsets and lots of big grassy areas to walk your dog. They also have disc golf and a museum. The only thing I thought was a little disappointing was that they say they have cable TV, but that only consists of about eight stations, four of which are network stations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
I would rate this park a 10 except it had no sewer and very few 50 amp sites. But what a park! I don't think I've ever seen a state park with so much to do. A marina, restaurant, museum, tanks and airplanes on display and even a train. Sites are nice and well spaced. We will be back to this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
The rate here was actually 22 plus a 3 parkpass. The park is beautiful with a museum for all the wars. Outside the office, there's planes, and helicopters, and various tanks. We only stopped for one night off of I-75. We did not stay on the lake but had a gorgeous lake view as the sites across from us were not occupied. The sites here were quite large and full of trees. Even though it's quite pretty, I don't think I'd want to spend much time here without a pool since I'm sure that lake is full of gators. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We had site #30 up on a hill overlooking the lake. Each site has basic cable, picnic table, grill with a separate fire ring. 3 camping areas and 3 bathhouses. Coded entry into campground. Small playground in camping area. 2 others in picnic area. Boat ramp and dock in camping area. Laundry facilities at bathhouses. Park has small museum with aircraft from several wars. Small store at check in area. Model airplane flying field. Cottages and Lodge on premises. 2 nature trail(1 mi and 1/2 mi) 2 dump stations. All sites large to extra large. Several family type sites. Golf course on property. SAM train to Americus and Plains at edge of park. Fishing allowed and there is an outfitting company that puts together fishing/hunting/and antiquing trips. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Located on beautiful Lake Balckshear. Nice, level sites. Only drawback we noticed was the lack of sewer hookup. There is a dump station available on the property. Gates lock at 10PM. You can leave but will have to locate park personnel to get back into the park. Quiet time means just that. We have been there a few times and will return. Sams Shortline Railroad has a stop/pickup here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
We camped on the lake. This park is very beautiful and peaceful. The sites are pea rock, so you do not track in dirt. The bathrooms and showers were clean. I did laundry here and only had to run the dryer once per load. There is fishing and a war museum. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
GA Vet's has 3 comfort stations. Loops 1 & 2 have 2 showers per side. Loop 3 has 3 showers per side. We have always found this park to be very clean. Unfortunately it does fill up for the holidays and you need to book far ahead. We had to leave and stay at Dixie RV park across the street for Memorial weekend. This is one of our favorite parks in the GA State system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Wonderful place! We took our waverunners and were able to use them on the lake. Lake is very large. The campsites are large and mostly shaded. There are 2 comfort stations, however the womens had only 2 showers, but during the busy Memorial Day Weekend, there was not a wait to use them. There is a small playground for the children. The boat ramp has plenty of parking area and the ramp and dock are in great shape. There is marina and golf course at the Lake Blackshear Resort which is on the property. This campground is family and pet friendly and very quiet. The sites on the water are $27 per night. The only thing lacking was the State Park staff. On the few occasions I went to the office, I found them to be not as friendly and informed as I had expected at a State Park. We will, however, definitely go back. This is a great place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
This is a very nice park with lots of nice large sites. In order to get a waterfront site you have to get there early. It is difficult to get reservations unless you book early. There is nowhere to clean the fish you catch as the fish cleaning station is closed and has been for a long time. There also are only two showers available for use in the women's bath house which is not enough for the number of sites on the lake side. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
Wonderfully shaded, easy in and out. We stayed in loop "C" at space 62. Nice touches are a fire ring, substantial picnic table, small BBQ grill, and a lantern pole at each site. We checked in after regular hours, and there were volunteers on duty at the check in point to help us, as well as a campground host. Park ranger even stopped by as we were setting up to welcome us. There was a man that was scooping out fire rings and the BBQ grills, and sweeping off the picnic tables. Really well maintained, comfy, quiet, and a fabulous golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
The sites by the water are beautiful and are back ins. The other sites seem to be all pull throughs in a u shape so they are a little odd to navigate your parking. The park is very nicely maintained and quiet. There is also an outside museum of old military aircraft and tanks, for your viewing pleasure. We will definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$18
Beautiful park. What a treasure find. It was very cold the weekend we where there, but the view across the water was spectacular. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
We have camped here a few times and have always enjoyed the peaceful setting. Entrance gate is locked at 10 PM. You can leave but not return until the morning. Personnel are available for emergencies. I believe quiet time is from 10 PM until 7 AM. The lake beautiful. Clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Camped here July 4-9/ Very crowded but because we reserved we were able to get a waterfront site. They close the gate at 10 PM so if you have evening plans do so early. Showers were OK but could have been cleaner. Golf course was great. Although no WIFI there is a nearby resort center and they have wireless at the convention center. Just a short walk or drive from the campsite. Work campers were very nice and helpful. Would reccomend this place the 4th Fireworks were super. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Roads around lake are blacktop with gravel sites. Roads off lake are gravel with gravel sites. Sites were more or less level. Lots of trees in park with very large 9000 acres lake to swim or fish in. Play ground equipment for kids. Late check in office. Cell phones may not work here. Park is very large. If you wish to ride an old train "Sam Short Line" runs into park. Lots of old WWII equipment and museum on display near office. No noise in park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$21
Our favorite state park in Georgia. We camp here often as we live only 45 minutes away. Most all campsites are spaced way apart, giving you a lot of privacy. New marina opening April, will have pontoon boat rentals, and ski boat rentals. Premium sites are on the lake or are right across the street from the lake front sites. Level sites, with campground on the lakeside having paved road, and other campground hard packed dirt and sand. You won't be disappointed at this campground. Been visiting since 2002. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
The campsites in this park are gravel, quite long (especially the pull-thrus) and typically level with a separate area for picnic table, BBQ grill and fire pit; we have a 30 ft class A. We had site #21 right on the water. Bathhouse and laundry nearest our site was closed for renovation and one dump station was also closed. The other dump was easy to access. Nightly rate includes a $3 parking fee in addition to camping rate. Enjoyed the museum at the park and highly recommend a day trip to Andersonville National Historic Monument. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$24
Excellent campground. This is our favorite campground for just easy relaxing and lake fishing. Nice museum of military artifacts, nice fishing piers, good restaurant in the park, nature trails, lots of wildlife, waterfowl, etc. Watch your pets in the warmer months, Alligators are numerous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
We loved the park. It was clean, tidy and well maintained. We had a pull through site directly on the lake. We kayaked to our heart's content. It was easy to get in and out. We brought our bikes and rode all over the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
A great campground located in the Ga Veterans State Park. SAM Shortline Excursion railroad makes a stop on the property. Most sites are either lake front or lake view. A nice place to stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Great CG. Level, shaded sites. The Excursion Train isn't to be missed. In addition to the Carter historic sites, you can get off in Americus and tour Habitat For Humanity's Global Village. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$17
Excellent State Park that is just a few miles from I-75. It is a close drive to Plains, Andersonville, and other tourist sites. A train stops at the park and will take you directly to Plains and the Jimmy Carter farm site. The museum is outstanding! There are many activites for children at the park. It is also very convenient for snowbirds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Park is very nice, roads, sites all clean. Most RV sites are on Lake Blackshear. Lot of trees to park under. Kids would have a good time here. Park had 1308 acres of land. No road noise. Some noise from boats at times. Swimming pool was very large. A fun place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Nice campground with interesting veterans museum inside the park office building. Outdoor display of old military planes and tanks adjacent to park office. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
9 Miles West of Cordele. Owned by State of GA. Reservations through ReserveAmerica. On Lake Blackwell. Nice quiet place, although fishing boats can wake you up at all hours! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com