206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (505) 583-2233
CGID8814

Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   5   9   8   8   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Ranks with the worst parks ever visited. No one maintains the rv section of this "resort". Just driving in a circle to approach a site our rig got 3 big scratches from overgrown bushes. The angles are wrong so you can't come in to back into the spots they say will "fit" a large rv. This place might be OK for a tent camper or a rig under 25', but we have a 34' 5th wheel with 3 slides, and even tho I told the man at the hotel this when checking in, he neglected to tell me that they really didn't have sites for anything that big. He told us they had 50 amp sites. Well, there was ONE 50 amp, everything else was 20 or 30. Trying to get back out was a nightmare. Do yourself a favor and drive on by! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Good campground if you are self-contained (portable toilets and showers at the paid spa). Friendly staff. The desert trails were worth the stay. Ask for the map and bring water and your GPS. We used the spa after 6PM for $15 a night weekdays. So, for $35 a day, we had cool pool, hot tubs, mud pools, steam and sauna: with relaxing views of the desert, and comfy camping. Bike rides around the river was nice, too. If the campground had sewer hookups at each site, this place would be a 9.5. Using the central dumping station was OK, though. No cable and that's OK. Wi-Fi was OK by the office and pool: not in the campsite. An ethernet run and wireless router by the campgrounds would be a good idea for management to consider. Reasonable drives to Espanola and Taos. Nice place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Bad roads, huge potholes, overgrown trees (watch out large rigs), no signage; those are the negatives. The positives are mountain view, hot springs, a nice restaurant ($$) and spa services. All costs extra over the $20 a night (7th night free). There are only porta potties at the campground. Dump station near entry gate. We will probably not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
What a great spot! Desert, mountains, and hot springs. This is a small campground of 29 spaces attached to a wonderful hot springs spa resort. The campground is a little tight for larger rigs or with a tow vehicle. Road is a bit bumpy, too, but the Spa facilities and restaurant make it all worthwhile! This is a great place to stay and use the facilities with a day pass options. Wonderful restaurant and wine bar. There is no Wi-Fi at the sites, but in the main building there is. At the site, my 'card' worked fine. I would return here often! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Overall it's a nice park with much more of a campground feel than an RV park feel. The sites are hit-or-miss in terms of ease of access. We had reserved site 19 and had a rather difficult time backing our 21' TT in due to the trees and bushes. Then, after all that work, we realize the water/electric is at the front passenger side of the site (relative to being backed in). Our hose reached from our standard rear-left hookup on the trailer, but the electrical cord couldn't make it even 1/3 of the way. Even if we moved the trailer to the front-right of the site, the cord would have barely reached, and getting in/out of the trailer would have been blocked by bushes. We called the office (non-RVers unable to comprehend our complaint) and moved ourselves to site 17 (not shown on their map, but it's a pull through at the bottom center). A blessing in disguise, we'd say 17 is the best site in the park. Later walking the park we noticed there were several sites with this stupid front-right placement of the water/electric. It's fine if you pull in forward with a motorhome, but otherwise why on Earth would anyone place the hookups in that location? We also experienced some frustration with the desk staff. Long story short, our reservation had gotten lost. Luckily the part was mostly empty when we arrived. Wifi is not present at the sites, but it is not advertised to be. It is available in the restaurant building and in the pool area. We did receive a perfect T-Mobile 2G signal at our site. Here's a quick rundown of the sites: 1 & 23 are occupied by hosts. 2 would be nearly impossible to back a trailer into due to trees. 3-10 are all wide-open in traditional RV park style, but suitable for large rigs. 11-22 are more spaced and have trees and bushes and are reasonably easy to get into (varying difficulty). 24-29 should not be attempted with a trailer as the bushes are intrusive and the road for that section is a dead end (locked gate, despite being shown as a loop on their map). The site widths, lengths, and amperage vary, so be sure to consult the map on their web site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
This is a no frills RV park which is why the price is so reasonable. You are basically paying for utilities and the convenient access to the Ojo Caliente Mineral Hot Springs (4 minute walk). While the park is basic, you really don't want for anything while you are there.. More than likely, you are there to enjoy the natural hot tubs, beautiful hiking, and delicious meals at the Alsatian. We would definitely stay here again and hope to visit next time during the summer months so we can try the Mud Bath. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Fabulous destination: hot springs, spa, restaurant, wine bar. Terrible RV park. We decided it was worth the $20; very rough roads,and lots of untrimmed trees to enjoy the renovated spa facilities and the rare treat of an on-site wine bar. Without the spa facilities, this place would merit a 1 or 2: terrible roads, very few decent sites, no restrooms/showers/laundry. Just a weedy dump station; electric (only three 50 amps, if that's what you need), and water hookups. But who cares after a soak in the hot springs and a massage? Sites 1 and 23-27 are the popular ones. Stop by office to get a map and pick out your own site first before paying. Note the new rate (which their web site does not yet reflect): you pay $20 for RV site + $24 per day for access to springs. Old rate was $30 for RV site, which included 50% reduction in hot springs fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
Since we are New Mexicans, we knew about the slightly funky, but popular, Ojo Caliente Resort & Spa. This hot springs has been a local fixture for many years, but their affiliated RV park was an unknown. We tried them in our 42 footer because they said “big rigs welcome.” We should have been more cautious after we pressed the staff on this and they said that “Someone had been back there a few days ago and it looked OK.” In reality, we scratched both sides of our coach on the untrimmed trees and had to maneuver very carefully to reach our site at all. Once there, it was level with nice privacy and good hook-ups. Unfortunately, if you went outside you were attacked by mosquitoes so voraciously that even doing a quick hook up was an experience that took several recovery days. This may be a better spot in the mosquito free winter in a camper, but we won’t try it again in our rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com