223556 User submitted reviews online!!
River Vista Mountain Village was rated 9 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (706) 746-2722
CGID882

River Vista Mountain Village

Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   10   8   10   10   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
We have been to Dillard, GA numerous times, but never stayed at River Vista. We loved this campground. We usually do not like campgrounds or RV resorts that have permanent or semi-permanent residents due to the cliques and standoffish nature that tends to be prevalent. The residents here made us feel like we were family. The pull-through sites were spacious. The park was very clean with many areas to walk. The laundry facility was clean. There are good restaurants and many sites to see nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
we stayed here for three days in October, we are located on a premium site, not much shade but good level gravel sites. there have been numerous Halloween events include haunted house, many campers competed in Halloween decorations. We stayed here because of the closeness to the Highlands. Very friendly staff, clean campground, the pool was in the process of being closed. Everything was a 9+ and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$63
We try to stay here every year. Had pull thru this year and they were great as usual. Folks in office helpful and friendly and very cordial. This is a great campground, one of the finest we stay in. Verizon phone coverage was excellent and Wi-Fi was good. Cable TV had good selections and water pressure good. No complaints or negatives as usual. Will be back soon.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Favorite RV park in all of Georgia for us. Planned activities for the kids, outdoor and indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, paved roads, full hookups at reasonable rate, awesome views, and great people. We've camped here at least 15 times over the last several years. Plenty of great places to see around the area with Highlands NC just 20-30 minutes away. The kids never get tired of it and it's a great place to relax. We like to walk around the park just looking at different rigs and the cabins they have. Have never had a bad experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Clean pretty park with level parking pads and a nice pool with hot tub. Park could use more trash containers for dog waste. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We come to this RV resort at least once a year. Great clean place. I can't say anything bad about this place. Staff is friendly and helpful. Sites are nice and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
Beautiful park and nice pull-thru, big rig sites for a 45' motor home. We stayed here during heavy rains for a couple of days and had no high water issues and parked on gravel. Park attendants were very cordial. Great location for car trips to Cashiers, Highlands and the like. We will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
Very good campground. Had coupons for nearby businesses and restaurants. Swimming pool was indoors, heated/sauna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$37
A very nice park with many amenities. Planning of sites can cause a problem by assigning too short a site for a larger RV. Wi-Fi at our site #76 was not usable - too slow with frequent disconnects - had to use our Verizon service. We were here at a rally. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Beautiful area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
New park that is also in the RV lot sales business. Nice facilities with many large sites for rent but has many owners that summer here. Wi-Fi is weak and slow and no cell service in this area. Many dogs in park that can get annoying late at night. $45 rate is high for this area. Reservations told us one policy but it was changed on check out. We camped here 4 nights but would not come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Attending a rally at this park. It's a large park with beautiful views of the mountains and nice meeting accommodations for a rally group. I'm extremely disappointed with the site we were assigned especially since I booked my reservation as soon as the rally was announced. Members of the rally group are scattered throughout the park rather than getting us all close together. The Wi-Fi reception is poor. We would stay here again for a rally but would not stay here if we were just traveling as it is not worth the regular price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Beautiful location. Everything is paved but plenty of grass for the dogs. 1 bar of ATT signal but it worked fine. Laundry sparkling. Pool and hot tub wonderful. Water barely warm in the bath house and that was odd. Had to sit at a table by the pool to get WiFi. I never could find the river I was supposed to have a vista of. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Well designed park with virtually all amenities. Cool mountain location. Wi-fi was intermittent. AT&T cell signal was poor at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
This is a great campground. We often stop here on our way home after traveling the USA. This year we decided to stop by before on our way out and will again stop on our way home in a couple of months. Love the huge adult only hot tub pool. Love the staff and exercise room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
Rate reflects winter group rate. Some sites individually owned and many sites are for sale. All rental sites desperately require new layers of gravel and refreshing; after rain nearly all sites are muddy. All sites are cramped side to side and difficult to back into with anything over 30'. Owners seem more intent on selling sites than renting short term. Office closed at 3pm. Upon our arrival at 3:15pm, we were directed by late arrival paperwork to our site. After backing into our site we discovered our site had no power. Back to the office we go. We called a listed emergency number on the door, as there is no on-site campground host or security. Gentleman at emergency contact told us he was off property until the next day and to move to another site. We did. As we backed onto the 2nd site, our 5'ers wheels sank to the wheel rims in soft chat. Called again and was told this time to move to another specific site (3rd site) but that site upon arrival, was a mud pit and too short for our 32' 5'er. (How would you like to pay $45K+ for a site, arrive with no power at the site, and get told, "Sorry, I'm off property and there's nothing I can do for you right now?") We returned to the office (again) for a list of "vacant/available sites" listed outside on the office door. Chose one (by now site #4) but when we drove to it, the site was already occupied. We chose site number 5 because it was simply empty and we weren't ready for number 6. Very poor campground maintenance. We stayed 5 days. During that time, the power was not repaired to our initial site, the deep wheel ruts we created on our 2nd site still hadn't been repaired. Our group reserved the community room and the hot water heater was already broken and remained broken the entire 5 days we were here. (Try washing dishes for 24 people in cold water.) The windows were missing off the rental cabins. The hot spa, IMHO, is a germ pool as we never saw any kind of daily maintenance performed. We never saw any kind of security during our 5 days here after the office closed at 3pm. This CG has very nice facilities, but they're not going to last long with the attitude the operators have towards selling what they have as opposed to renting weekend sites. It's a shame; looks like at one time it was a nice CG. Find another CG, this one's not going to be around much longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
Gave this park an 8 rating out of 10 for a few reasons. There are a few "permanent" residents but not of the "normal" variety. There are sites that can and have been purchased. Many of them and even a few of the "campers" seen to feel like it is common practice to have a golf cart to take you anywhere on the property. Many it seemed, bring their dogs along with them. Personal opinion only, when I camp I want less responsibilities. But all seemed to clean up after them. The sites were about 45' in average length with about 15' between each rig. Had to park truck diagonally in front of trailer. Beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and just a 5 minute drive to grocery stores and restaurants. Nightly rate reflects prime season with a Good Sam discount. I am usually leery of places that call themselves resorts, but this place has so many amenities we weren't able to take in because we were out sight-seeing the scenery in the surrounding mountains. Stayed 5 nights and if we were to stay longer we would have been able to fully enjoy all this park has to offer. Streets were well paved, most sites were gravel except the one's that were owned by individuals (concrete). I know the price is kind of steep but the park is well laid out and the best part is that you don't have to climb a mountain to get here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
Just spent 7 days here, and it was great. The owners take special pride in their facility, and have many amenities that most camp grounds don't have: enclosed fireplace under shelter, inside huge hot tub plus the community gathering center. Our site was level and Wi-fi was pretty good. It was slow at some busy times but never failed to connect. Some guests sped through the park too fast, but when we complained an employee went to the offenders and asked them to slow down. We will certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Planned to stay here ten days, but after seeing the nice surroundings, extended another five days. Large park with friendly workers. Nice indoor pool for adults only, with outdoor family park next door. Fun activities planned. Good internet and cable TV. Had no problem with AT&T cell service. One worker said that plans are in the making for a dog park, enclosed area which would be nice. I would come back and stay for the summer. Cools off real nice at night! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
We try to stop here every year on our way home from traveling the USA. It is a great place to just relax and enjoy the scenery. They have an amazing adult only pool which is heated with sauna jets. It is sooooo relaxing. Everyone is friendly and the WiFi is very good. Sites are level and area is clean and well-maintained. Price shows Good Sam discount. This place is only an hour drive to Cherokee and it is almost all very scenic. We drove there to go to the Casino and such. Also many restaurants close to CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
It is a nice park with nice people. Only problem is the Wi-Fi at our site. We lost connection several times in a minute. Investigation showed a not working meshed network based on 2 Cisco devices. Signal strength is not stable, ranges from excellent to lousy. Back trace shows the provider Windstream.net. Hope they find a real specialist being able to setup this simple network in a acceptable quality. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This is our second time here. It's a beautiful park nestled in the mountains. Our Wi-Fi worked fine. We will use this park again when in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Just looking at this place I would give it a 10. I think it's a really great park but we had a few issues. My husband's a pro at driving/backing trailers but even he had to swing into the site across the road (which is nicely paved) to back our 23 footer in. Maybe it's possible to back in without doing that but thankfully that other site was empty. At night, when I suppose everyone was pulling the juice, our lights dimmed constantly. During the day we had no problems, using the same lights/appliances as at night, and we only have 20 amp service on out little camper. The Wi-Fi signal never improved above "low" the whole weekend though we were actually able to stream some video, check email, etc. It was definitely manageable for us but if you're online a lot you might want to consider that. My biggest complaint is the CG says they have cable and even include a listing of the channels with the check-in packet. We had basic channels, no cable at all. Normally I wouldn't care about cable or Internet but the reason we chose this CG was the cable hookup, which we didn't get, so we could watch a game. The lady at the office was nice about it and said we could watch the game in the clubhouse if we wanted but we opted to visit around town, catching scores when we could. We were told they were doing renovations and are aware of the problem. Other than those glitches River Vista is a very nice park. It's clean, the people we met were nice and it's in an awesome location. It's close to Dillard, Mountain City, Clayton, GA and even Franklin and Highlands, NC but in a surprisingly quiet locale. I didn't see many children but it's not a senior-citizens-only place either. We stayed in a standard site along the road so our dog would have more walking space near our site. It's a great dog friendly park which is very important to us. It was nice to be somewhere our dog didn't seem out of place or treated like a nuisance. Set up was a breeze; the gravel site was perfectly level. We had a picnic table, little shade tree, lots of grass and plentiful natural screening from the road. Having direct sewer hookup, especially in the mountains, is a wonderful change from dealing with dump stations. I sort of missed having a fire pit for that true camping experience but this is more of a resort than outdoorsy place. They have community fire pits anyway. We were only here for a weekend so we didn't get to enjoy the amenities other than strolling by but the pool looked clean, the fireplace pavilion was nice, the landscaping was pretty and I really, really regret not getting to use that heated indoor pool! We would most certainly stay here again (though maybe not on game day!) and we would stay longer to enjoy everything it has to offer. My in-laws have rented a cabin here before and we would like to try those out too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Except for advertising "Free WiFi" and not providing a strong enough signal to use inside the camper, this is a nice park. Note that the owners clearly state that their goal is to sell all the sites to individual owners. Still, the amenities make for a nice temporary stay. We have stayed here more than once and will likely return when in the area. I'm not sure where the shaded sites mentioned in other reviews are located. All the sites we have occupied have been out in full sun as the trees within the park are pretty short. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
The park has everything you would need for a complete and safe stay. Well maintained and shady sites were available. Many pull thru sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Our first time here, but for sure not our last. It was destination for us while making the trip with 3 other RVs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The park is easily traveled and the sites are level gravel with a large grassy space between them. Plenty of room for our 40 footer with 4 slides. Some sites are well shaded and some aren't. For the most part site orientation is laid out well for optimum patio shade. Our only real disappointment was the inconsistency of the WiFi service. Worked okay sometimes and not at all others. They said they were working on it, but not much changed during our 9 days here. Great place for families and kids too. Having no kids in our group we enjoyed the "adults only" indoor heated pool and sauna. I would give this park a 10 if it were not for the WiFi. Computer access is very important to us in our travels. We would absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Excellent park run by a good manager and staff. This CG has it all from pool to hot tub to events. Could not recommend higher. We were here for a week and were very happy with all aspects. Wi-Fi could be stronger but that's it. Sites are large and FHU. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We stayed here for 6 nights and it was fantastic. Love the "adult's only" pool/spa. Sites were large with plenty of space between sites. The only thing that puzzled us, we could not figure out the numbering system for the campsites. We were on site 10, people next to us 16, behind us 1 and in front 543. Other than that it was perfect. Can't wait to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$48
If this is the best Georgia has to offer then we are in big trouble! We were put in a spot in the front of the campground by the main road. Sites were very, very tight to say the least. It was difficult to get our 32ft fifth-wheel parked without overhanging the sloped hill in back part of the site. We had no room to park our Ram 3500 beside, or in front of our rig without blocking the entire road or parking right next to the neighbor next door. The roads are narrow single lanes only and are one way, for good reason. The sites are gravel which made it hard to level. About half the campground is privately owned lots which are kept immaculate. At least 1/3 of the 127 rental lots has permanent residents. There was a lot of noise late into the evening and constant traffic leaving the park. Speed limit signs were posted, however never enforced. We did enjoy the views and the children's pool was great: but we will not be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Our second visit to this park. Still, a good place to stay. During this visit, we were in one of the smaller sites near the front, which was a little crowded. Given that we were lucky to get a site on a holiday weekend, we can't really complain. The kids loved the pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
The park was extremely clean and well maintained and the staff was friendly as well. There are several gas grills around the campgrounds that are available, making grilling out easy. All sites are level and are gravel (the gravel posed no problems). There are several rental cabins and permanent sites. Clean laundry facility too. Great view of the mountain and having Tallulah Falls, Glen Falls and Sky Mountain within just a few miles, what a great place to stop and stay. We stayed 6 nights and would highly recommend River Vista Mountain Village to our friends and family. We will stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
The good things about this campground were the playground and the adult pool/spa. It is a square-shaped pool with benches along each side and lots of jets, so it feels like a jacuzzi. It is very nice! The bathrooms were very nice and clean, too. While we were there, a large camping group was there, and the Wi-Fi was spotty while they were there. When most left, it was great. My son-in-law on the site next to ours could never get online (only while camping group was there). The sites are gravel or sand. I thought it was a little over-priced. Also, there was not much shade. There are lots of young trees, though. There is a pitiful little stream that flows along one side, but I sure would not pay more to camp by it! We paid a weekly rate and got a discount. Check ahead for current pricing! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
This place was beautiful as always. It is one of the nicest parks I've stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$39
Nice park setup in a valley; this is just such a beautiful area. The park was very clean and we were able to get a site that backed up to a "creek" for about $5 extra per night. The creek had no water to speak of, but being backed up to the green belt was still nice. If not against the green belt, there are a few trees in the infield, but not many. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
WOW! This place is the cats. In a stunningly beautiful area (north GA and western NC mountains, and as well kept a campground as I've ever seen. And in all our travels I've never seen a campground with an INDOOR POOL! It's heated and jets make it like a HUGE hot tub. I can't wait to come back in the winter (this place is open year round). The very clean outdoor pool also has a small hot tub connected, great! Sites are nice and level, good cable TV, great wireless internet with 3 separate networks to choose from so you will always get a strong signal. Don't tell too many people- we want to keep this one quiet and always available for us to use! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
Wonderful and outstanding faculties. Indoor spa pool and outdoor pool both excellent condition and well kept. Showerrooms superior in cleanliness and areas around RV's clean and weed free. Picnic tables good and well placed for your arrival. Personell in office and on grounds friendly and very helpful. The area has much to see and do. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Nice campground in a great location. The RV sites were easy to get into. The pool, spa, basketball court and playground were great. There was an area with an outdoor fireplace and comfortable rocking chairs that made for an excellent location to sit back and relax. The only negative I can think of is the lack of a grill or fire pit for each individual campsite. However, there was a community fire pit in addition to the outdoor fireplace and community grills. Will surely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Tons of amenities and quiet. Gravel sites are pretty level. Convenient to Highlands, NC and other small towns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
Very nice sites, the WiFi is $2.00 per day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Very beautiful park which is kept clean and well maintained. Swimming pool and whirlpool were clean with plenty of lounge chairs but was small. Sites were spacious and easy to get into with large rigs. The pads need more gravel and leveling up. Lots of channels on cable system and wi-fi worked great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
The sites were very close together; reminded me of a parking lot. Kids were running all over the place; not a very peaceful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Very clean and nice place. The new pull-through sites are great. The pool is very clean with plenty of deck chairs. They are building a new indoor adults pool. Well manicured and well run. We will come back. Wi-fi works well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Very clean and comfortable. Sites are not crowded but gravel areas need to be leveled and widened. Excellent facilities. One of North Georgia's best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
This park is wonderful with breathtaking scenic mountain views. There are plenty of activities and places to sightsee nearby. The campground is very family friendly and the bathhouses are spotless! The pool is beautiful. The free pancake breakfast on Saturday morning was a nice touch. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2003
$30
Campground is in the North Georgia mountains with wonderful scenery. Some sites have plenty of room for big rigs; some sites are very short; and in some sites, the back of your RV hangs over the sites below. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Nice pool, recreation area. Very clean. A/C in shower. New construction in progress to double capacity. Some permanent occupants. Covenient access. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com