218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Orchard Lake Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (828) 749-3901
CGID8850

Orchard Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   10   1   10   8   2   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This campground offer 1/2 off one night for Passport. Space was ok. Grassy, & fairly level. Our space was narrow for our slides. Nice park with much to do in season. Quiet after Labor Day. Must drive all the way through the park on a winding clay road to the transient sites. There was a short cut for the exit. If visiting in this area, we would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Very nice amenities. Staff friendly. Lot of permanent residents. Very nice campground in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
This is a hard park to get too. A lot of winding roads and we missed the turn into the park the first time. Too far off the road for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$69
We had a great time! What a great value to have use of all of the canoes, paddle boats and kayaks included in your nightly rate. My only complaint... My son couldn't catch the huge fish in the fishing pond :) Will visit again! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
We travel in a 40' Class A motorhome towing a 16' enclosed trailer. Crossing the railroad tracks on the way into this park could end in disaster if you are traveling with a big class A and towing a trailer. The tracks are raised several feet above the pavement, making a very short, steep hill out of the crossing. The groves in the asphalt told the story where hitches had dug deeply in. The remainder of the highway into the park did not improve the nightmare. There are many hairpin corners and lots of raised pavement and the highway is very narrow. Once in the park the roads are narrow and mostly gravel. I did not see any large Class A motorhomes anywhere in the park, especially rigs towing large trailers. This park may be fine for smaller rigs, but not for big Class A's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
**WOW, WOW, & WOW** Family friendly to say the least. We have 3 boys and a golden retriever (who does not retrieve). The campground blew our expectations out of the water. The staff could not have been more helpful or nicer to deal with. The facility was very homey, welcoming, and an absolute blast for us and especially the boys (and the dog). Two lakes - one to swim in, the other to fish (catch n release) - the sites were clean and the location of the campground was remote. We felt very at-home during the entire time. We spent 5 nights at the campground and didn't feel like we wanted to leave. The weather was gorgeous in the mountains, and the town of Saluda was quaint and cozy. We were a bit surprised at the camp office and all that they offered right out of the office (from ice cream to Schwanns meats, breakfast, wood, books, videos, etc.) and all the little extras (horseshoes, ping-pong, carpet pool, and even a 3-hole course). They had all the gear and equipment already hanging out waiting for you to start playing at your leisure. You did NOT have to go to the office and request to play horseshoes or golf - only to find out the office was closed. You just walked up and did it. The campground was silent at night and only once (July 4th) did the chatter and noise go later than 11pm--a minor detail in comparison to other campgrounds during the holidays. The staff and the campground owner went overboard in making the visit to Orchard Lake a memory that my family will remember forever. We plan on coming back with the entire extended family. We had little phone coverage at our site (a positive), but TREMENDOUS Wi-Fi connection. Loved this part (as a business owner) and was blown away that we could be this remote in the woods of North Carolina, and still be online this strong. Pet-friendliness was a great part in knowing that other people were OK with our dog swimming the lake and chasing a ball and hanging with other friendly big-dogs. Lastly - a vast majority of people we talked to were locals who stay at the park when they want to "get away". Think about that - you live in the mountains of Carolina, but come HERE to relax... it says volumes at how beautiful and easy-going and welcoming this campground is. Bottom line - I could go on and on for more pages - just get to this campground. You won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
The road leading to the campground is winding and two-lane. However, there are plenty of signs telling you when and where to turn. We particularly appreciated being routed on a bridge over the railroad tracks in the town of Saluda. We were traveling with a 13-year old and he was greatly entertained here with the facilities available. He used the zip line, the lake for swimming and for paddle boats, and the skateboard ramps. Our site was long enough for our 36-foot unit and our full-sized SUV. The office staff was courteous and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
I received, and have included, an e-mail from the owners of Orchard Lakes Campground 3 months after the review I wrote about their campground. They wish that I clear up some unclear items in my review so here goes. The roads were not dirt as I stated, they were gravel. People still drove too fast and they are still dusty. I didn't know we were in Polk County not Henderson County. Dogs still ran loose bothering our dogs on leashes. They ask people beside us about the problem we had, and they did not feel the guys were drunk and loud (camp here a lot). We will always leave a campground before we have the owners confront someone around us. Makes for a long weekend if people around you are mad (especially if they appear to be intoxicated). I wrote the 1st review before I was contacted by them they did offer our money back, or a free stay. We declined both. "I came across your review of our campground, Orchard Lake Campground, at RVparkreviews recently and would like to respond to your review. Again, I would like to apologize to you that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our goal that we work very hard towards is to give our campers a great experience though there are times this does not happen. However, if you read our other reviews you will find that most of our reviews are positive. As I said over the phone after your stay when I initially called you, it is unacceptable for someone to urinate publicly. At that time you indicated that you were under the impression that we were a Christian family campground. I would like to clarify that we are Christians that run a family campground. The difference as I see it is that I believe that both you and I are called to welcome and reach out to a lost and dying world which means that we at times have to deal with campers that do not act like Christians because they are not Christians. We depend on our campers to help us monitor what goes on in the campground and we do not hesitate to deal with campers and situations when necessary. It is unfortunate that you did not speak to us so that we could deal with this situation. We do not stay in the office 24/7 because we have bathhouses and cottages to clean, firewood to deliver, and a variety of other chores to perform. We have provided what has proved to be a very convenient means for campers to communicate with us when we are not in the office by installing a phone at the door that automatically dials the portable phone that someone carries and that reaches throughout the campground. We do not consider our office closed when we are out and about in the campground and merely a phone call away. Having insinuated that you are Christians, I believe that you left out some important facts and misrepresented others. I suppose there are two sides to a story. First of all, your campsite was located in Polk County, not Henderson County and Polk County does not have a leash law. We do require leashes but it is a constant battle that we actively deal with concerning neighbors dogs in the campground. Secondly, I believe that most would describe our roads as gravel, not dirt. I do wish we had a lot of money to pave the whole campground which would solve the dust problem but at this time the Lord has not provided us with that kind of money. We do have people that drive too fast and speak to those we can but we do not speak to everyone. Thirdly, your departure left us with the inability to deal with the problems first hand. However, both myself and our manager contacted you on a timely basis to discuss your concerns and offered you a refund. We also contacted your next site camping neighbor, frequent campers at Orchard Lake and also contacted the camper in charge at the site with the inappropriate behavior to voice our concerns. Your next site neighbors did not feel that the campers were loud and drunk. I wish we had the opportunity to evaluate for ourselves. We permit alcohol but it has to stay on a site and under control. We do not hesitate to ask people in the campground if they have alcohol off their site or to investigate whether or not someone is out of control with alcohol on their site. The camper in charge on the site with the inappropriate behavior apologized for the behavior of his relative that had bladder control problems. Our conversation with him would have been much more effective had this taken place on Saturday. The phone calls we made to you and others after the fact would not have taken place if we did not care about our campers out of a desire to treat others the way we want to be treated. While you are entitled to your opinion based on your experience, again I do not feel that you stated the whole truth. Regardless, I pray the Lord will bless you and hope you will have great camping experiences in the future. Sincerely, (the owner of) Orchard Lake Campground." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
We went down on Friday April 24 to April 26. Office was closed most of the time, dirt roads with 10 mph speed limit everyone driving a lot faster so if you tried to sit outside you were dusted continuously. Dogs ran all over the campground bothered our 2 dogs, that are always leashed when outside, which is the law in Henderson County, NC. But the straw that broke the camel's back was the group of men that showed up Saturday in tents behind us. They were drunk, loud, and used the wide open space behind our travel trailer to urinate in front of my wife, brother, his son and me. They didn't care who was there. We left in the afternoon of the 25th. Could not find anyone in the office to talk to about the problem. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This is a nice family park with plenty for the kids to do. The owners are very nice and the park is well maintained. There are two lakes. The large lake is for swimming and has paddle boats, canoes, kayaks, slides. The small lake is for catch and release fishing. There is a recreation room, skate ramps, zip line, climbing wall, hiking trails, soccer field, swimming and much more. I never heard one time from any of the kids that they were bored. Not even from my 16 year old!! The campsite we were on was extremely small for our travel trailer. Were were in the area of the park called "the woods" and many of the sites in that area were small, but they had large campers on them. There were a lot of seasonal sites and it seemed that most of the larger sites were seasonal sites. There are a couple other areas in the park that would allow for more room for larger RV's, but they didn't seem to be as shaded. Overall, this is a nice park and we enjoyed our stay very much. We will definitely visit there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com