219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Deschutes County Fair & Expo RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (541) 548-2711
CGID8881

Deschutes County Fair & Expo RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   10   9   10   10   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Easy access from Highway 97. The park was very well maintained. Great for big rigs due to large, level sites which were concrete. The park interior roads are asphalt and wide. No trees to deal with and Wi-Fi was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
My type of RV park. Flat wide cement pads, easy access, no trees to deal with, no excess landscaping at the site, and clean. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
This was a very clean, neat park. Site are large and all are paved but not quite level which we found a bit funny. There was extra paved parking for tow vehicles which was very nice. Office staff was very accommodating. It was a great place to watch the 4th of July fireworks in Redmond. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
This was a very nice rv park, well located, easy to find and access. Practically brand new. All sites were nearly perfectly level concrete pads with gravel or grass patio areas and picnic table, along with extra car pad. They were nicely arranged and spaced throughout the park. There were several long pull through sites. The restrooms and showers are modern and very clean, and the showers even had heaters running so it was warm. I don't think we've been anywhere as clean and neat as this park. Quiet at night. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. You will need a car to go to restaurants and stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
This is a park tied to the fair grounds. It has mostly cement pads and asphalt drive ways. some sites have grass others do have gravel between. All the services are good. We stay when we are in the area, we have found the staff to be friendly and very accommodating. Easy to get into and exit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We had to stay here a week. Paid one/two days at a time but then when I paid the last two days it brought us to a week and they recomputed our rate to the weekly rate. Wide, level concrete pads, entire area is paved, clean restrooms/laundry room, etc. View of several snow capped mountains. A mountain stream flowing by camp site would have been great. Absolutely no negatives about this place. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Camp host knows how to run a campground; If possible a space/campsite is left between each person. Their is plenty of grass and other areas to run your dog. Some locations in the "A" section have little or no WiFi access. However, the camp host forewarned us of this problem. Utilities are placed in the right place and worked correctly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
As others have stated, this park provides everything you would want other than ambiance. The sites are large and paved; the roads are paved and are easy for big rigs to access. The utilities are in the correct locations and are easy to access. There is a separate parking pad for your car or other vehicle. The grass along the roads and walkways is thick, mowed and well-maintained. The entire park is exceptionally clean. The only thing missing is any sense of ambiance (no scenery, no activities, etc), but if you are using this park as a base for the Redmond/Bend area it is nearly perfect. This is our second stay here and the office was more professionally managed this time and it appears that business not directly associated with fairgrounds activities is on the increase which demonstrates that word is getting around that this is a good deal. Reservations aren't usually necessary but it is worth calling to find out if there are fairground activities scheduled for when you plan to stay since they can result in the park being fully booked. In summary, this is a nearly perfect example of what a non-destination RV park should be like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This would make a good overnight stop, but it's a bit pricy for a week or more because they don't have a discounted weekly rate. Sites are concrete, roads are asphalt. There is a picnic table at most sites which is unusual for a fairgrounds RV park, in our experience. Wi-Fi worked well most of the time. Park was clean and well maintained. When the park isn't busy, I noticed they try to park rigs in every other site so it's not so crowded. We experienced having people parked on each side of us, and it felt a little tight. There are a few grassy areas to walk dogs, plus there's a gate that opens to a big open area of the fairgrounds so there's plenty of dog walking area. Electric and water worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
This is a great place with clean restrooms, well kept grounds, and laundry room. The staff is helpful and friendly. The park is close to restaurants and shopping. There is a golf course right across the street. There is also open BLM land right across the street. Your dog will love running off leash there. You can hike, bike, 4-wheel, or ride your OHV and enjoy the high desert scenery. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
I have no complaints about this campground. It consists of paved interior roads (well, pretty close to the entire interior is paved), with nice long level concrete slabs for RV sites. The concrete slabs have shorter slabs to the right of them for vehicle parking. In front of the vehicle slab there is a rectangular gravel area that contains the hookups along with a grill and picnic table. There are a sprinkling of small trees around the perimeter of the park, but none in the interior. The campground has free Wi-Fi, and it actually worked with no problems when I was there. I've gotten very tired of Wi-Fi systems that you can't use because they are so overloaded, so this place was a pleasant surprise. If you're looking for campgrounds with onsite activities and recreation, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a base camp for the area, then this place is nearly perfect. The maps they have online are a little confusing. They show the expo center as a big circle with the RV section off to one side of the circle and no detail on the approach roads. In reality, it is easy to get to. The easiest route is to take exit 124 off of US 97 and go east. After a couple hundred feet you cross a railroad track. Take the next right and you'll immediately see the campground ahead on the left. Although the campground is half a mile away from a railroad and maybe a mile away from the airport, neither of those is terribly active. I think I heard one train at night and never heard any planes at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
While showers/bathrooms were clean (for the most part, did see some mold in corners of shower), no provisions are available for necessary bathing toiletries and I had to put everything on the floor. Out of the shower, there is no privacy for dressing...just an open room with a long bench (reminds me of my old high school gym days). Park has no grass, only concrete, pavement, and crushed stone. Each site is plenty big even for a 45' RV with toad. No trees for shade and could not find a dog run. No cable, but Wi-Fi was very good. Staff was friendly and park had easy access, egress. Park was very clean! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Always love this park. Super roomy - friendly staff - clean and well organized. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Very nice park beside the fairgounds. Paved streets, concrete sites, picnic tables and bar-b-ques. Laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers only for $1.25 each. Great staff and close to whatever you need. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is not your typical fairgrounds campground,not a parking lot, this is a campground. Easy access to US97 to Bend and Redmond. We spent four days here and loved it. Will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Level, clean and next to the fairgrounds itself. No real ambiance, and for many sites, you'll find your neighbor's dump hose running right into the middle of your sitting area. If you are planning on running out a slide on each side, definitely make sure they know that when you reserve a space: there are spaces that are fairly narrow. But for the fairgrounds events you can't go wrong! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This is a really clean, modern campground in an area in which there aren't that many of them. In a perfect world they should charge $25-30 for a place that has no ambiance (all concrete and gravel), no Wi-Fi, no cable, and no pool, but I've stayed in plenty other ~$35/night places that have those amenities and are in far worse condition than this CG. We stayed here in mid-week when it was practically empty and it was quite acceptable. If it were full the design of the sites would put the next rig's hookups in the middle of your sitting area which doesn't leave much space. There is a busy railroad track which provides some noise but we didn't have a problem with it. There are planes overhead but the airport isn't all that busy. Do call and check for availability since we couldn't stay past Thursday morning because of a weekend event at the fairground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
We were a little hesitant about stopping here since the park was quite full of young high school people attending a horse event at the fairgrounds, but I have to say that it was very pleasant. We had a nice level pull through site. No need to level our motorhome. Even with all the people using the restrooms, they were kept as clean as possible. The weekend park hosts tried their best to keep on top of it and did a great job. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
A very nice park, with clean facilities. Long, wide, level pull through, but no shade. A little pricey for a fairgrounds park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Place was spotless. Great people at check in. Nice drive through sites. No shade, but nice grass area next to concrete pad. Restrooms and laundry room were impeccably clean. We were here only one night. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
This is one of the nicer fairgrounds we have been too but it was a little sterile with very little trees or grass. All sites have 30/50 amp electricity with water and sewer. You will probably need an extra sewer hose to make the connection. The wide interior roads and sites were paved. Each site had a picnic table and BBQ stand. The bathroom and showers were a little surprise. While very clean, it was very utilitarian. The bathrooms were constructed with cinder blocks, typical of most fairgrounds. Wi-Fi was available but we did not use it. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well. There were 3 washers and 3 dryers and they were reasonably priced. Note that there is no cable TV. There was some train noise at night but that was not a problem for us. The fairgrounds were a little pricey but that is the going rate for this area. We would come back here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
The park is adjacent to the Deshutes County Fairgrounds and is managed by them. The park hosts seem to spend more time driving their grandkids around on the golf cart than providing the necessary duties associated with their title. The handicapped shower in the men's shower is terrible. Mold and mildew on the shower curtain. Toilet paper not on the rolls but just stacked along side. No cable TV, but it is not advertised as having it, but they do offer WiFi thorough Bend broadband. It is spotty at best. The grounds are nicely maintained, but there is no shade except what you can manufacture on your own. We will stay here again since this is our "hometown." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Very clean and large, long spaces. Staff is very helpful and friendly. However, if you are looking for shady spots, there is not a tree in sight A great central and relatively inexpensive place to park and roam the Butte area of Oregon, there is plenty to see! We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Disappointed. Clean but feels like a parking lot and planes and trains disturbing. No cable, only got Spanish and PBS TV stations. Broadband doesn't work well. Staff friendly but expected more for money especially since owned by County. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
This is the third time I’ve stayed at this park during the past year. While new and clean, it has several deficiencies that should not exist in a park that charges a relatively high rate. First, the Wi-Fi situation should be addressed. On my first stay, it was open and available. On my second, I was told that the provider did not allow access for park residents. On my most recent stop, it was available only in certain areas of the park. Come on folks, sign a contract and erect an antenna that serves all sites! The second problem is that while the park is wired for cable TV, it isn’t available. Over the air reception from several local HDTV stations is decent, though. Finally, the laundry has only 3 washers and 3 dryers. While there never have been more than 10 RV’s in the park when I stayed there, if it were filled to even ½ capacity, it would be very difficult to get several loads of wash done. I’d suggest that the management either improve the services offered or reduce their rate by $10. Okay for an overnight, but certainly not worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
The staff is absolutely wonderful. If you need something the are on it. This is the place to stay if you are doing anything at or near the expo. If they could offer some trees for shade and evening wind block I would give them a 9. We stayed with a large group and they met our needs well starting with registration and end at Wi-Fi help. Thanks again we will see you next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This park has the potential to be a great campground, but the Expo management has to spend a little more money. Currently the only Wi-Fi available is Bend Broadband at $9.95 a day and while the park is wired for cable TV, it is not turned on. To justify the current $35 a night, the Expo management needs to put in their own Wi-Fi and turn on the cable TV. Otherwise, it is an ordinary park at a resort price. The location is great, the facilities are great and the view out the front window is spectacular. I had a hard time finding this park listed anywhere but on RV Parks Review. It needs to get serious about getting listed in all of the camping sites and do some online advertising with some coupons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Good clean park as stated above but too pricey for the amenities...(none) and no people on site in the office for much of the time. They are available by phone but it limits the secure feeling. The price should be about $20.00. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
This is a very clean and well-maintained park. It is quite new and is co-located with the fairgrounds. It is close to downtown and very quiet at night. The staff was just okay but the park made up for it. Since there is no cable TV you have to rely on "over the air" broadcasts. Only the network affiliates are available, so bring your dish. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This new park is adjacent to the Deschutes Fairground. Nice big sites. Level wide/long concrete pads with paved roads. It is an RV Park, not a Campground. No pool, no Cable TV, no library, no fire rings, etc. The park was opened in September 2007. It is not yet listed in Trailer Life. I paid $650 for a month. Phone number is (541) 548-2711 X 7949. It is by far the best park in the area. I like it even better than Crown Villa in Bend because there are no trees - good satellite TV reception. I would have given the park a 10 if it had an 'open' clubhouse. I will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com