220449 User submitted reviews online!!
Northshore Resort at Lake Oconee was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (706) 453-4505
CGID892

Northshore Resort at Lake Oconee

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   5   1   4   1   6   8   8   9   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$15
We were very disappointed with this campground. We arrived at 4 p.m. on a Sunday and the office was closed and the security shack was not manned. If another camper had not come by and told us to look in the mailbox for our packet, we would not have gotten past the gate. We were Coast-to-Coast guests and the site we were given was small and very unlevel in an area with several other rigs almost shoulder-to-shoulder while there were many vacant sites closer to the lake. The entire park had a run-down appearance. We will not be returning to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Northshore uses a railroad-theme in its campground;"cute idea." They have 2 pools, lake access and both family and adult activities, mostly on weekends. The park seemed 'old', not all roads/site were paved. The main road is a steep hill to navigate and could be difficult for the disabled. People were friendly, but this park seems to cater to more 'permanent' RVers because many of the sites were occupied with long-term setups and there are no lakefront sites available due to permanent homes. Park needs some work and updating before we'd return; they'll be happy to 'sell' you a spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1.0
Spent Memorial day weekend there for free incentive from our RV dealership. The $50 check the timeshare people (Ocean Canyon Properties) provided din't even come close to making the place any better. We were not there for 5 hours had a dog running on our deck then another small child, we have a Rot that goes camping with us and was on the deck of our site on her leash. A little after 10:00 PM teenager comes running between my chair on our sites deck and my awning about tripping over the dog. Sites are stacked one on another, not very level sewer problems, rules were 1 vehicle per site most sites had 3 plus had multiple vehciles park in front of my site blocking us in. Golf carts up and down the road all day/night vehciles not following the directions sighs on the roads. This is a member's only resort count me out. Next morning at 9:00 AM had our strong arm membership sale from Ocean Canyon properties 3 minutes in very rude and strong arming. I let him know right then and there did not like the camping and why. Still pressed on with his sales pitch 90 minutes turned in to 2 hrs. 13,000 plus for a lifetime membership plus just shy of $400.00 yearly dues. It was al I could do but laugh. Run from this CampGround and OCP. See BBB rating here thankful they paid me for an unpleasent experiance instaed of the other way around. http://www.bbb.org/shreveport/​business-reviews/​real-estate-management/​ocean-canyon-properties-in-tex We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
Site was so poorly designed and built that my truck slid as I pulled onto the site and then the jacks sank into the ground while we were parked here. Red clay gets into everything, as mud when it rains and as dust when it is dry. Could be a beautiful place, but will require much work. We stayed here because we belong to the camp group Ocean Canyon Properties, and they do have some very nice campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
Stay AWAY! BEWARE. These people are nothing but salesman. The people are crazy to think that I would pay thousands for a membership. Red mud everywhere, no internet when I was told there was, bathrooms were nasty, pool was nasty, and the salespeople treat you like you are an idiot. I should have known when I pulled up at the front gate that I should turn around when the guard asked if I had my checkbook and started laughing. My rugs are ruined in my camper because they are covered with red mud, and you can't take your dogs out without washing them off afterwards because the grounds were running with mud. I feel so sorry for the older people who have owned their membership for years, because the people who bought this place out are trying to strongarm them out of the campground and their memberships because they wouldn't agree to upgrade. Please do your research online with the BBB before visiting this place; I wish I would have. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$2
$2 was for 50amp service using ROD membership. Power and water (45psi) worked OK, the sewer connection was high so I had to lift the hose to drain the last of the holding tanks. Our site was not level, for the first time traveling in 4 years: the Big Foot could not auto level the 5W without wood under one pad. The road and site we were in was gravel, had to be very careful when departing that the 5W didn't hit the truck bed rails on the loops exit road. No TV stations on the antenna, the rooftop dish worked well. Sprint cell and internet worked OK. Park workers were friendly. We found only 2 washing machines and 1 working dryer at their laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$1
This is a membership park that makes the cost worth it. The park is very well maintained and the staff is very friendly. This a wonderful park to relax and enjoy the RV experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
This is third time we've stayed at this campground. Since the new management company has taken over, it is a lot better. The security gate and keypad is a pain in the butt. You have to have a code to get in and the intercom doesn't work, so you have to call the office phone number. While you're waiting for the code information, you are blocking the only entrance. Even though I've stayed here before, I think the price of $50 is a bit steep, especially since it doesn't have cable TV. Also, the park office doesn't have any supplies and there is no RV store anywhere in the area, so stock up before you get to the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$10
Stayed here using ROD. This is a beautiful and well kept park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$01
We traveled most of the day to get here. We pulled up to a gated entrance which was great for security. We pressed the call button for the intercom to the office. They responded quickly. But all we heard was static. Very bad static. You know the kind of static you hear when you pull up to a fast food place and the 14 year old asked for your order? But it sounds more like pigs mating? Yeah, that. We called the office on our cell phone and she implied it was our fault as she said we sounded the same way. We got the gate code and proceeded in. Now for the fun stuff. You know how when you pull in to an RV resort they have an area for RV’s to pull over right next to the office so you can check in? Not here. You have to park on the main road in the right lane and leave it there when checking in. The office is around 300 feet off the main road, down hill, all gravel. I get down there with my walking cane and the Pepsi driver says you’ve got to move your rig, I need to leave. At the same time I ask a local coming out of the office about the RV parking situation and got a case of smart lip from him telling me to go back to Yankee Town. I went and moved the RV while my wife went in and canceled our reservation. I couldn’t see staying at a Yankee Town haters resort. Not really a resort, more of a southern sand box. I will not be back. I gave it a 2 because they tried with the intercom. We did not stay at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
I have no memberships that qualifies for the free or $2 rate, but they will still allow non-members to camp. The 30 amp rate is $35 and $37 for 50 amp full hook up sites. Lots of activities for the kids and many planned events such as kids bingo, cupcake walk, etc. Two swimming pools, beach, three playgrounds. What other campground can you take a shower and do laundry in a train car! I was in site 190, not very level, I would recommend the pull thru sites for larger units. Great clubhouse and very good members to camp with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$2
Second stay there, it was Georgia Hot and humid but we still had a great time, the 40ft 50A sites are not all level, and some of them are pretty tuff to get to with a 40ft RV. Be careful on which one you request. 260 and 261 are solid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
This is a membership only park and one of the nicer ones we have been to through RPI. The big rig sites are a bit small as stated in other reviews. 40 foot max so parking a car in your spot also may not be possible. They do have a few parking lots for cars. The lake view is nice but the park is spread out over the hill so climbing back up to your spot is a workout! This park also has had the best Wi-Fi connection I have had at a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$1
Rate is actually $0 for a 30amp site with an ROD membership. Add $2 for 50amps. Just to set the record straight, this IS a membership park, but looks like they are affiliated with almost everybody - ROD, AOR, RPI, Coast to Coast that we know of. Sites we could choose from are not very level, and not paved. We finally leveled, and after one move were able to get satellite internet & TV. There is a building marked "Country Store", but it wasn't open during our stay. The sites are tight, and 40' really is the maximum rig length, 'cause the sites are just 40' long. If you pull a toad, you might have to park it elsewhere. On-site trash pickup is nice, staff is very friendly. If you stay here, drive over to Madison and visit the microcar museum - it's a blast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$2
Stayed there with our Thousand Trails/Resorts of Distinction membership. Quite pleased, our site was 40ft and not much more in length, but they do limit their sites to 40ft units. The site leveled out ok, but not all sites I observed were quite as level so we jotted down those that were for our next stay here (when we make reservations). The laundry was nice and clean, the view of the lake from the sites was very nice. We stayed during the week leading up to the RV Rally in Perry and it was very quiet and not very busy, perfect for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
We did not find the restrooms convenient to our site, and there was no camp store at this resort. However, it was a beautiful place to stay, overlooking a large lake. Very nicely laid out, with level, roomy sites, full hook-ups. Most sites had shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$1
We parked here in our 40' motorhome using our ROD membership. Park is on a hill. Our site (46) was very nice. We parked on concrete with a wood patio including table and bench. The site overlooked the lake. The railroad tracks are close but not very noisy. Relaxing and quiet while we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$8
We stayed here as Coast to Coast members. Most sites are on terraced pads that are difficult at best to get into. There are a few pull thru sites but they appeared to be mostly un-level. Other than the difficulty in accessing the sites, this is a nice park. Greensboro, Madison and Eatonton all very close. We would stay here again. Verizon Cell service was good to excellent. Some sites are satellite friendly. We didn't use the park WiFi so not sure what the cost was. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$1
Previous camper did not mention that this is a MEMBER ONLY RESORT. "NO" overnighters or weekly accommodations. Only completed $ rate and overall rating to gain access to review site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$8
We stayed here only one night but will definitely return. The campground is terraced so there are many sites with great views of the lake in addition to those who sites directly on the lakefront. The campground has many permanent residents but has great facilities for one-nighters and weekly vacationers. Very very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com