214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Unicoi State Park and Lodge was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (706) 878-2201
CGID896

Unicoi State Park and Lodge

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   8   5   9   8   3   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
Upon arrival, the desk clerks told us they just had selected our site, and had the paperwork handy. Checking in didn't take more than 3 minutes. We asked for the stickers for the Georgia RV Program (not all parks have them, so we make it a point in asking for them) and the clerk handed us 3. We only stayed 2 nights, so that great! The site was very nice, the rig backed into the top site, one step down we had a similar size site for recreation, with a fire ring and a picnic table. The visitor center is a short walk down the hill. Staff at the center was very friendly and helpful. The beach is a comfortable walk along a trail. Mind you, the water is cold! There is also a very nice foot trail to the lodge. Personnel at the lodge were setting up for a banquet and had closed the gift shop early, but when we notified someone we were unhappy about that, they opened up the shop for us, with the entrance through the tavern. They were also showing a (free) movie on Friday night, but we didn't want to walk back along the trail in the dark, so we didn't stay for that. The trail turned out to be well lighted, we were pleased with that. They seemed to have a lot of activities at the lodge. We were very happy with our stay and will certainly stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$33
We visited the park for a short one night stay. We made our reservations online and upon arrival we discovered that an additional five dollar vehicle parking fee had to be paid. This was not a surprise we appreciated. Our in advance reservations reserved a site, but the sites are given out on a first come first choose basis. In other words we were guaranteed a site, but we were given a map at registration and told to drive through the campground until we found an empty site marked with a "white" reflector. We could then take any of the sites so marked. The bathrooms were fairly clean, but well worn. They were close to our campsite and seemed to be fairly well located to the loop where we were staying. We did not visit the park amenities as we were passing through. Helen GA, is located a short drive from the park. It was already decorated for Christmas and looked like a great place to spend the day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Unicoi is a beautiful state park with a nice lake and swimming area and nice trails for mountain biking. It is also next to Helen, GA where there is a lot to do. The CG is just OK. It is a single line of campsites along a stream but the sites are a little close together for my tastes and there is no view. It is too bad that, with all the land of the park, they could not have made the campground nicer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We have camped here repeatedly and find Unicoi to be a solid gateway to the North Georgia mountains. The campground is located off beautiful Smith Lake, but not situated on the water, except for the sewer sites that are located on a stream that flows to it. Sites are situated close to each other, so privacy is limited and they do need to be updated, but it is a beautiful setting and always shaded. Restrooms, except for the one in the tent area, are beginning to show wear, and there are two that are quite old. The park offers a wealth of weekly activities, including folk singing and Sunday church services. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
First off let me say that parking the rv in the sites was very , very difficult . To say the sites are tight is an understatement. I'm sure more than 1 person has had to put a transmission in their truck because of these "hills" . Steep hills, tight roads, uneven lots , camp fire rings too close to camper to even use. On the up side I would like to say that the park is beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
We were in site #26 FHU Big Brook Campground. Our site was part paved and part gravel. We had a fire ring/grill combo, picnic table and lantern pole. W/E/S with 2-30A plugs and 1-20A plug in electrical box. Site was very shady but not very wide. We had just enough room to put out our opposing slides but could not use our awning. So we set up our EZUP behind the RV and put out our chairs facing the stream. Only 2 sites actually have a view of the stream #26 & #27. No TV reception at all and SAT was hard to get as well. We were directly across from the bathhouse which had 2 showers and 3 toilets, mostly used by the camp above us, Laurel Ridge. We also had the trash cans and recycling bins in front of our site. After 2 days the recycling cans were full and campers were leaving their bottles and cans on top of the trash cans. There are 3 areas in which to camp for RV's:Big Brook (FHU), Laurel Ridge (W/E), and Little Brook (W/E). Hickory Hollow (walk-in) and Squirrel's Nest (platform walk-in). There is also the Unicoi Lodge, cottages, cabins, and Quonset huts to stay in. There is a dump area in Little Brook. Campers need to check in at the Lodge and not in the campground. You get a color coded card to match to the site poles and you can choose among the ones from your color card which campsite you want. Our camp host didn't seem too friendly, we were there a week and they never seemed to venture off their own site. At check in we were told there was bear activity in the campground. We met him personally on the 2nd day we were there. He came right up to my husband who was outside eating his breakfast. My husband ran inside but wasn't able to grab his milk and the bear helped himself to it. We had another sighting of him in our camp 2 days after that. I feel the camp hosts should be policing the campers better and informing to not leave food out that the bears can get at, but they are not. Like I said we hardly saw our host. Because they are not policing the bear will be euthanized when caught. We also saw 3 deer, many types of birds and butterflies, and squirrels in the park. The park has an interpretive center with a trading post that sells camping stuff and ice cream/sodas. There are several programs a day for children. There is a lake front beach with paddle boats and canoes to rent. Several docks to fish from. There are many trails to mountain bike or hike. Anna Ruby Falls trail is about 4.8 miles one way from the park. The Lodge has a restaurant that has a buffet for every meal. There is also a craft store and Wi-Fi can be accessed there. The town of Helen is about 3 miles away from Unicoi. Try to visit on a weekend because during the week many shops are closed or open late in the day. Check out Betty's Grocery for anything you need, their prices are reasonable on most everything. Stop at Fred's famous Peanuts for boiled peanuts at Hwy 17/75 & 356. Go tubing on the "Hooch" with Cool River Tubing, take the 2 hour trip it's well worth it. The water was cold but the tubes have bottoms so you don't hurt yourself on the rocks. We also visited Anna Ruby Falls ($2pp) which is right next door. Then traveled to Brasstown Bald the highest point in GA, stopped at Goats on the Roof for fantastic fudge and shirts. We then hiked a portion of the Appalachian Trail and stopped for wine, pottery, and specialty grains at Nacoochee Village. We ate lunch at Troll Tavern and watched the tubers from the patio. We also did a farther trip to Mercier Orchards in Blairsville for cider and novelties. We would love to camp here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Great park. We stayed a week in a full hook up site (there are only about a dozen of these, I believe) and the sites were VERY shaded and were only steps away from a small creek. Be weary however regarding units with multiple slides. We have two slides and by my estimate only a few of the sites would have accommodated us. Restrooms were cleaned regularly, but like at most state parks they are not cooled. We will definitely stop there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We arrived a bit on the late side, so I was expecting sites to be limited. We did however have reservations for a large site so I was confident we would not have an issue in that respect. Upon arriving, I drove around trying to find an available site (Georgia State Parks do not reserve specific sites only by size which are color coded) After several laps around the park without success we sought the help of the campground host. After I told him that there were tents in the sites coded for larger units he said that he was not sure what he could do. Basically, I had a reservation that was useless. He did manage to locate me one spot that according to the color code would be large enough. He offered to guide me in backing since the site was to say the least..tight. After he about helped back me into a nearby car I heard the "thunk" that strikes fear into the hearts of all RV'ers. The thunk wound up being the power box. Looking at my bent bike rack he announced "Well you can get it from here," and promptly left. I was not a happy camper to say the least. The sites in this section did not really correspond to the color coding normally found in parks we have previously stayed. There is very little space between sites and not much room to open your awning and sit out dooors. We have camped at numerous GA State Parks and thus far, this has been our least favorite. On the plus side, the hiking trails and lake are fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
Most of the sites are partially or heavily wooded. There are a limited number of full hookups with 50 AMP electric. The sites are narrow (12-13'). There are several sites that will handle a 40' motorhome. The park is nothing short of beautiful in the Fall. There is a great deal of wildlife. Spent a week here at the height of leaf season and did not get bored. Lots of hiking/nature trails. There are multiple area attractions including Anna Ruby Falls (Federal Park). This is the place for a week of getting in tune with nature in the Northeast GA mountains. Elevation is about 1850' above sea level. Great roads and easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Beautiful scenic campground in the mountains of Georgia. This is a state park and you must go to the lodge to register before camping. Only about 8 sites large enough for our motorhome and no cable or internet access. Satellite reception is possible at certain sites. We were lucky enough to get one. Some pet owners refused to pick up after their animals. Restrooms and showers were very clean, and the rangers rode through with some regularity. Excellent restaurants and entertainment nearby. Even with Verizon, cell phone use is limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We have stayed here years ago in our pop-up camper and decided to come back with our new travel trailer. We have stayed at Unicoi numerous times over the last 11 years: both in the campground and in the Lodge and have never had a bad experience. We stayed in the full hook up area. The sites were adequate. Nothing fancy. On the spot we chose we were able to position our camper to open the slide outs around the electric/water posts, but we were not able to open the awning due to a tree. Which was fine because you are under a canopy of trees anyway. The bathrooms were clean and modern. I did not use the shower. There is also laundry facilities at the bathhouse. We did have a bear come through the campsites one evening which brought some excitement. There is so much to do at Unicoi SP as well as Helen. You can go swimming, canoeing, fishing at the state park as well as mountain bike and hike its many trails. There is also Anna Ruby Falls which is a fun thing to do. In Helen, you have to go tubing. I don't care if it's the only thing you get to do, you have to do it! There are many shops and restaurants here. One of our favorite restaurants is the Troll Tavern. It's fun to sit outside and watch the tubers go by. Also, don't forget to stop by Nora Mills Granary and get some grits to take home, amongst a bunch of other things they sell. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
What a beautiful and clean state park. We paid a little extra for the full hookup that was located in a full shaded area. In fact, all the camp sites are full shade. There is a nice beach on the lake for summer-time swimming. There is a cold stream for the trout fisherman and a nice size lake for the bass/catfish/bluegill if you prefer. The lodge has a GREAT restaurant with mountain trout served at every meal. If you like hiking, then you must camp here. The trails are well maintained and marked well. The town of Helen is adorable with some nice eating establishments. I highly recommend this park for all forms of camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
Georgia has some beautiful state parks and this one is no exception. We loved it here: it's very shaded, level sites and in the woods, just like we like it. Lots to do around here: Helen, great hiking, etc. Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
I just love this campground and have been staying every year for the past 10 years. This last visit though I was really disappointed in the condition of the showers. Mildewed shower curtains and walls and some of the showers were broken. The toilets were spotless. I will probably bring my own sun shower next time as I love everything else about this place so much. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
This was our second time staying at the park, and it was as great as the first time! We stayed here in June for a family reunion, and we could not have picked a better place. The small lake located at the park is very clear for it's size, and all of the kids (and adults) in the family had fun swimming. The campground is well kept and very clean. However, I did notice that the bathrooms near the nature center and full hookup areas were much more modern looking than the bathhouse located in the first loop. Still, they were both cleaned daily. The park offers lots of events at the nature center and they had bluegrass music at the lodge one night. The only thing I noticed about the park was that some of the bigger rigs had to "work at it" to get backed in to some of the spots. The sites are all fairly large, but it seemed like some of the angles that people had to back in at may have been a little tricky. It may have just been a skill level thing since we had no trouble getting our travel trailer backed in. Other than that, I can only say book early because the park was full the entire time we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
This was my second visit to Unicoi State Park and this visit was much better than the last one. The park staff at the lodge were very friendly, courteous and helpful. The rangers and campground hosts made rounds several times a day and were friendly. Nearby Helen has a couple of good restaurants, one being The Troll, but the shops leave a bit to be desired. The showers and bathrooms were very clean and most of the sites were pretty level. We camped in the first campground loop with the older comfort stations, but they were clean. Lots of hiking and biking are nearby. I didn't eat in the lodge restaurant, but others in my party did and they said it was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
We camped at Unicoi State Park this May. We arrived on a Monday and left the following Friday. We enjoyed our stay for the most part. We stayed in Little Brook, which is the first loop of campsites. Laurel Ridge and Big Brook, were bigger loops, and had nicer bath houses. WiFi is available at the Lodge, which also has a very nice restaurant. It was buffet only, and we paid $12.95 each for dinner. Breakfast was $7.00, and I don't know about lunch. We brought our bikes, but the campground is very hilly, and we weren't able to ride them. You can't collect wood in the state park, but there was wood available at the lodge, which I wouldn't recommend buying. There is a place down in Helen where we bought a wheelbarrow full of wood for $10.00. We collected kindling on the side of the highway. There obviously wasn't much traffic during our stay. Some of the campsites were laid out with the picnic table and firepit at the end of the campsite, instead of to the side, which would be in front of the camper. We enjoyed the park, but we probably won't be returning as it is a long drive for us and there isn't much to do in Helen the second time around. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
What a great State Park. The RV sites are very well laid out and vary is size to accommodate any size of rig. There are only a few "Full Hookup" sites in the Big Brook loop so, if you need full hookup, call ahead for a reservation. There is a beach, boat house, and a great little "Trading Post". The campground hosts do an outstanding job here. The park is only a few miles from Helen, GA. Helen is a fantastic Bavarian style village with great shops, and places to eat. In the summer you can go tubing, too! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
We stayed at the State Park over Thansgiving. It was a wonderful place to stay. Hiling trails, informative and fun classes at the nature center, and very close to Helen. The bathrooms and laundry facilites were clean and well kept considering the large number of campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
We really enjoyed the park. Lots of trails and the areas around the park offer lots of activities and sightseeing. The scenery and views are great in the park however we saw very little wildlife. That maybe due to the amount of visitors they get and spring break had just ended. The campground was very nice and had a friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the upper most full-hookup site that faced away from the other campers. If you like a little space I do not recommend the full-hookup area. There are very few of them and they are very close to each other. Our neighbor’s fire ring was less than seven feet from our camper and about three feet from our hookups and sewer drain. That is a little close for me. The most distance between any of the full-hookup sites was about 20 feet which was the host campsite. Additionally, we had no view. However, they had some roomy partial sites with great views. Next time we will stay in one of these sites. The hiking trails that go to Helen are connected to the campground/lake trails and are very nice and moderately easy. They have a great mountain bike trail that is a little hard in places but it doesn’t go to Helen. Without a bike path along the road, there is no way to bike to Helen other than on the highway which is very busy and not a place to take children. We had cell phone coverage and there is WiFi at the lodge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
I stayed here for three nights Thursday-Sunday. The park was fairly quiet and only moderately filled the first night and the second day; however, Friday night the campground filled up with lots of kids and loud adults. The children seemed to be, for the most part, unsupervised as they were running through campsites and yelling. I don't know if it's like this every weekend in the summer, but it was quite annoying. The park itself is located in a convenient location very near Helen, GA for shopping and dining. There are several miles of trails to hike all with trailheads within the park. The lake is stocked with fish and there are also paddle boats for rent and a swimming beach. There are two different campground sections, one of which includes a separate tent section. The sites are close together with not a lot of privacy. The scenery from the campground is of other campsites - no views at all. The roads are in good condition and paved and moderately wide to allow big rigs. The personnel all were friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and grounds were exceptionally clean. The lodge located in the park has a restaurant with good food. All in all, the park is decent, but I probably won't come back to this one anytime soon. I will rate it a bit higher than it appears in my write-up, simply because I understand there are some who prefer this type of atmosphere- i.e. families with children, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
Great park! We had full hook ups, with lots of trees around. The bathrooms were clean and warm. They even had some activities going on for the kids on the weekend and some great bluegrass music Saturday night. Beautiful foliage and Octoberfest was fun. We will definably be back during the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$44
We loved it. It was peaceful and very family oriented. We left Jenny's Creek due to the poor condition of the park and was very glad we did. The only thing we were upset about was the fact that we did not move sooner. Would recommend this to any one. The only down side was it was hard to get my camper into the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Helen, Ga is a great area, and park was well kept and clean, although we had a little problems with ants. Rangers and camp hosts were very friendly and helpful. Will be back here come next Oct. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Unicoi is a very nice state park in Northeast Georgia. All of the sites are terraced on hill-sides which can make backing in a bit tricky. The sites have the usual table and fire ring and the sewer sites back to a small brook. The camp host was friendly and helpful. The surrounding area is quite beautiful, especially the loop following routes 17, 180, and 384 going by Brasstown Bald (GA's highest peak). The park has a lodge with a reasonably priced restaurant. We plan to go back--Fall should be beautiful here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Only low because I had no internet or phone service ... this is the place to stay if you are a hiker... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
This is our very favorite place to camp. We always stay here every year. We don't feel that their rules are out of line. As far as scooters go, as long as it has a tag no problems. As far as Cingular, I had no problems getting out from the inside or outside of our motorhome. Some of the sites can be close but we're usually running around the area doing and seeing things. The only thing I would do different as a camp host is greet each camper and let them know where I was located and would help in any way I could. We never saw the camp hosts, but not important. We have already made our reservations for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
What a great campground! Bath house was recently remodeled and my kids had plenty to do. In fact, the campfire program supplied the fixings for smores and had an audience participation story that was a lot of fun. Very close to Anna Ruby falls and Helen. We are planning a return trip soon! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$34
Our camper club had a group trip here over Easter. Six families. The park staff was very helpful getting our group in sites together. The park is beautiful; sites are rather small for Ga State parks; and the road, while paved is narrow. The negatives were: the Park ranger was very rude Saturday night. W were up talking and yes it was past 10:00. We might have been a little loud but it was just adult conversation, no screaming, etc. Instead of just asking us politely to hold it down, he told us we all needed to "go to bed." Sunday, the militant campground host hounded us promptly at 1:00 PM to leave or pay for another night. There was no one waiting; we were all packed and ready to go. There is no excuse for rudeness from Park Rangers or a campground host. I have never experienced this before in a Ga State Park. Our group probably will not return because of this rude Ranger and Camp Host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
Our family reunions have taken place at this park for the past 2 years. It is a beautiful place, very woodsy, rustic, huge trees, nice lake, streams, hiking trails and all located close to the quaint city of Helen, Ga. We truly enjoy our visits there but, this year, the campground host for our area was very negligent in greeting, assisting folks coming in. It's a shame, after all, the host gets a free campsite and should be friendly and helpful, neither of which this one was. We would stay there again, since the hosts change all of the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
This park has lots to offer, too much in fact. I get the idea that it trying to be a resort location rather than a campground. The sites are assigned when you check in by some sort of color coding scheme. We had a difficult time finding a sight in our assigned color that would fit our camper, and a pop up is not that big. Even during the week the campground had a very crowded feel to it. Fortunatly none of our "neighbors" were the type to use flood lights, so it was at least dark. The newer restrooms / showers were in good condition and clean. I can't say the same for some of the older buildings. If you prefer a site that has more of a theme park feel than a quiet camping experience this may be the place for you. There were lots of planned activities offered every night and I'm told that the restaurant is very good. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$24
We spent two nights here during a visit to north Georgia. If you like rules, this is your park. Besides the rules brochure, there are huge rule signs everywhere. Don't plan on picking up dead wood for the fire, against the rules. No scooters of any kind are allowed. This may just be GA State Parks in general. We had a full hook-up site. Those are closer together than the water/electric only sites. Still, we were about 30 to 40 feet from our next door neighbor. There was a little stream behind our site. The site was gravel with a little dirt, and fairly level. There are lots of planned activities. The kids got to pan for gold at the campground activity center. They also have a nice store right in the campground. There are three major camping areas, two of which are near the store. There is also a lake and lots of hiking trails. There is also a tent area. Despite having so many rules to follow, this is a very nice park and we enjoyed our stay. During our stay, we visited Helen, Georgia, a small German town that is just a few minutes drive away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$17
Very nice wooded/mountain campground. Restroom facilities are clean and adequate. The park, including the lodge and cabins, are well run and maintained. Most sites are semi-secluded and although they are on a hill, they are fairly level. Not a good park for a first-time camping trip in a large RV due to maneuverability issues on the narrow, winding roads, but someone with medium-level driving experience could handle it. Most sites seem big enough to accommodate large rigs with slide-outs, but I would check for availability. They will allow a tent and an RV to share a larger site if you request it. My experience with this park is that it is not one for heavy socializing, most campers keep to themselves although everyone seemed friendly. Great place for hiking, and lots of site-seeing and activities in the surrounding area/towns. Office staff and rangers are very helpful and accommodating. In a positive way, they do not hesitate to enforce the rules of the park. They receive an 9 out of 10 rating only because they should probably increase the size of some of the sites for the newer, larger RVs, and they do not offer the more modern amenties like phone/cable. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com