214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Jennings was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (619) 390-1623
CGID8980

Lake Jennings

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   8   9   10   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We spent one night at Lake Jennings Camp site and what can I say but WOW! W stayed in site 19 right next to the playground even though we didn't have any kids with us. Our site was very private and the park was clean and quiet. Because the park was not packed we were able to take our chairs and go sit at a different site that overlooked the lake. Staff very nice and helpful, allowed us to park our trailer out front while we attended a funeral, picking up after the normal check out time. I would highly recommend this beautiful hideaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Staff was friendly and site was clean and level. Our site had a nice view of the lake. Nice trails to hike. Dinged a little in rating having to pay $1 per pet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Stayed for four nights in this park. Had a site in the loop on the hill which has nice views. Restrooms and showers were clean and well functioning. Wi-Fi was working ok, however, the signal is not equally good throughout the park. On the hilltop it was rather weak and you had to walk down to the bench where the bird watching area is. Would stay here again and can recommend this park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$40
Rate shown includes $8 "reservation" fee. Even though I showed up at the ranger station to register, the ranger had to "reserve" me a site on the campground website. Campground fees have to be paid by credit card except for extra vehicles, people, rentals and day use charges. Rangers hand out a good information package on the park and activities. Site was a gravel pull-through and not level. No cable TV, but plenty of channels off the antenna. Wi-Fi was strong, but slow at times due to traffic. Beautiful views on some of the trails around the lake. Good wildlife and bird watching. A couple of table games inside the pavilion. There is even a scavenger hunt. I was planning on only one night here, but the ranger said everyone stays here at least two nights. She may be right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Monthly winter rate. Advertised as "cleanest bathrooms in CA." Very scenic views in a quiet setting. Some large rig sites with varying degrees of level. Convenient to shopping and fairly close to San Diego via I-8 and La Jolla via Hwy 52. Many hiking trails within 20 miles. Utilities are good with free Wi-Fi. This is a gem of a park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
We stayed on the long Veterans Day weekend. The park is very well maintained and clean, with a very friendly and helpful staff. A coded security gate that closes at 10:00 p.m. will greet you if you are a late arrival. You will get the code when you make a reservation or at the ranger post which is inside the gate. The sites vary in length, and they have each sight rated to vehicle length. Pay close attention to this as our's just fit in the site length specified and that is tongue to bumper for travel trailers. Don't go by "box" length or model length, or you may find yourself disappointed if you don't fit. Fishing is open to campers daily, but on weekends only for non-campers. There is a shaded playground for the little ones which is very nice. They have "doggy bags" throughout the park for when your pooch needs to take care of his business, and people apparently are attentive to this. This park is at the top of my list ,and I would visit it time and again. You won't be disappointed! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
We loved Lake Jennings. I liked the amount of shade trees our site had and the proximity to the restrooms. I also appreciated the fact that although we had neighbors on both sides, we couldn't even see them because of the shade trees and shrubbery. We would definitely stay here again. There is an $8 fee for each reservation made in addition to the nightly fee. You are only charged the $8 once for the entire stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
We went back to Lake Jennnings again. The Helix water district is now responsible for the campgrounds. They assumed the campground January 2009. The host's are very friendly and helpful. I like this place because it gives you a camping feeling even close to home. The showers and facilities are clean and well maintained. We visited many San Diego sites that are within a short distance and had a "campfire" evening. It was nice and quiet. We will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This is a good place to camp for a "get away" weekend. The staff is helpful and friendly. We stayed on a hill overlooking the lake. There is no swimming but you can watch the fishing boats and the weather was nice. Down the road is Barona Casino and that was a nice stop for the afternoon. The campsite was quiet and very clean and we will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a reservoir for San Diego area residents, which means NO SWIMMING, WADING, IN THE LAKE and NO ANIMALS ALLOWED OUTSIDE CAMPGROUND. Campers can rent small manual or electric-powered boats and fish on the lake as late as midnight so long as you have a lantern. Due to budget cutbacks, the lake is only open for fishing, boating, and hiking from Friday-Sunday. The campground is open every day, and if you like to be in a half-full campground near a lake during the summer, then midweek camping here will satisfy that preference. There aren't any decent lakeview sites for RVs, except for the small overflow section that only allows units 25' or less. On the backside you can get a decent view of the mountains behind the lake (sites 13-19), although some are hindered a bit by bushes or by power wires (site 13). Overall, it's a nice place to camp if you want to be near San Diego yet feel like you're a little farther out of town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
We stayed here in April 08. Campsites were dirty weeds were overgrowing sites. Rangers were extremely rude. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com