214868 User submitted reviews online!!
High Falls State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (478) 993-3053
CGID899

High Falls State Park

Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   7   7   9   8   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
We got the senior citizen discount. Regular rate $30. We only stayed one night, but got a chance to walk around a bit. Very nice park with a short walk to see the falls. Very clean park, clean bath rooms, hosts were very helpful. Quiet park with walking trails. The only change we would like to see is sewer hook up at each site. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
High Falls has different levels of sites. We selected a Premium Pull-through site that was fairly level. The roads into the campground are level. To register, you must go to the main park entrance and complete the process. Once that is complete, you go back on the main highway to get to the appropriate camping location. Having never been to this park before, it was nice that, once we paid for our site, we had the choice of any open Premium site. The only negative we have noticed is that many of the sites are not very level. Site selection is extremely important. The bath houses are extremely clean, as are the camp sites. The trail along the river was beautiful! I would strongly recommend that you take the trail to see the falls. They are great and the trail is well maintained. The camping sites are large an include a picnic, fire ring, water, and electric hook ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$29
Very convenient to I-75 and great for an overnight stay between Atlanta and Macon. Park is well maintained. Lots of trees in the camping area. Most back-in sites are easy to access and are large. Baths and showers were clean. Park was quiet with few visitors when we stayed in January. In addition to $29 camping fee there is a $5 park pass fee. We look forward to returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
This is a very nice park. It was quite clean and well kept. There are falls a short distance away that provide beautiful scenery and hiking trails (we didn't have time to hike this trip). There is a well used public park adjacent to the campground - horseshoes, pavillions, kids playground, mini golf. I only have 2 complaints to lodge. 1) I do not like the fact that you cannot reserve specific sites. If you are a late arrival, as we were, you get whatever site remains. We were stuck directly across from the Campground Host and the bathroom (too much traffic for me and that is a personal preference), and 2) there is no dump station at the Lake Side campground. You must drive up the road and down a very steep, winding road across the street to the River Campground to use the dump station. It is a bit sketchy of a drive. Aside from those 2 items we will return - enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Very nice setting and very quiet at night. Stayed in a premium pull-through site and although there is no sewer, there are grey water drain pits near every few sites (our sewer hose with extension reached one) and a new dump station at park exit. A short mildly steep hill on entry road to river-side of campground and roads were narrow but looked worse than they really were; We went slow and neither were the slightest problem with our larger RV. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
The facility was beautiful and spotless. Miles and miles of hiking trails, beautiful river, and man made falls. There is a very nice lake with boat/canoe rentals. All in all, a wonderful place to get away with nice, friendly folks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Very nice park. Nice large sites with a fire ring and a picnic table. The hiking trails are also nice. It's just a shame how people throw their trash on the trails...not the campground's fault. The falls were low due to drought conditions, but still pretty. We ate a nice dinner at the Hot Dog House...good food, reasonable prices, good service, and free Wi-Fi, located on the main road through the Park. Park Rangers were very helpful and friendly. The only complaint is how the showers are built. The shower floor and the bathhouse floor are almost level, so it floods the dressing area and then some. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
For us, this was a wonderful state park. There are two sides; one on the lake and one on the river. The lake had a max of 25 feet vehicles so we could only look on the river side. There were very few people there when we arrived, so we had our pick of sites. The one we got was right on the river. There was a pretty steep embankment so it wasn’t like we were sitting right on the water, but it was still nice. Once we ventured out we found the falls and it was a beautiful site. There were lots of other smaller falls that were also fun to play in but they weren’t marked. It is pretty steep in some areas so be careful going down the hills. I kind of found this out the hard way. Camp host was super nice. The only two things that I could even find fault with is the no sewer and there was no television reception, even though the flyer from when you check in has 5 channels listed. We can’t wait to go back there again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
This park could use some TLC. With a little bit of fresh gravel and pruning the trees around the river sites, this would be a beautiful park. It is quiet and secluded from the rest of the state park. Again a little bit of landscape attention around the river would greatly improve my opinion We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
I sure do hate to down my state's parks. This Park has only a few sites with lake view area for small RV/campers. The other sites are river sites below the lake and long cascade falls. That view is of woods only and not very appealing. If you want to go swimming you can swim in the pool run by others inside the park. Day use $5.00/car & $5.00/ person, not cheap. I will not camp here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
We have been camping for years. This is the quietest campground I have ever spent nights in, terrific. Close to I-75, close to shopping and Atlanta. Surroundings are beautiful. Camp Hosts are helpful and friendly. Sites are large and very level. We hope to return and possibly stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
If you are in a big rig, HOLD YOUR BREATH when coming into the park. The entry road to the State Park area is narrow, winding, and steep. If you tow a car, might want to unhook the car before going into the park. I'm in a 32' Class C (and NOT towing a car) and it was arduous for me! But once you get here, it's a nice area. Adequate spacing between each site. Park is open year round, and there weren't very many people there when I stayed. My site was fairly level, didn't need to work the stabilizers that much. My site was also fairly long, plenty of room for a tow car if I had one. Georgia State Parks appears to have this "color code" thing. I was assigned to a "yellow" spot, whatever that means. I had a back in site, fairly easy to back into. I tried to get into a pull-through (also colored "yellow"), but the pull through that I tried were too "arched." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
Rate is senior rate. Good Verizon cell & data. Extra charge for 50A (premium) sites. Fair over the air TV. Hiking, river. Join the GA parks RV club (no charge) and get free night after 10 stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This is my 3rd stay at the park. Recently picked up a Jayco Popup and HF was not far and a great place to test. Note to others, the riverside lots are down in a valley and will not get TV or cell signals. It does have larger lots. I stayed in one of the lakeside lots, near the restrooms. Had good cell so did not need to use the Wi-Fi at the office. Was quiet and near empty. Nice stay, well maintained and good sites although some of the lakeside ones are not real level. Have stayed in both camp areas. Both are nice, some are right on the river. Falls trails are nice. First stay was in torrential rain first day. Rest was nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Another win for Georgia State Parks! We stayed in the premium sites and it was well worth the couple of extra dollars. They were secluded as well as large. We camped here with two other couples and all three families loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
The gate staff were excellent as was the checking-in process. We'd selected the Riverside Campground, across the road and down the hill, and we were offered any free site. We chose number four, backing on to the river and in amongst the trees. The pad was level and long, made of hard packed gravel that was bound by timber edging. The campground was not very busy and therefore very quiet, being some distance from the falls and the road. The State Park has a big lake and an outdoor pool as well as hiking trails. It also has free WiFi if you go within range of the Park Office. The bath house we used had full and working facilities but wasn't the cleanest I've seen. However, the kids felt this was a bath house they could use so that is a great recommendation. Indeed, the kids really liked the campground despite not actually using any of the provided amusements; they felt safe and happy playing in the woods. The dump station in the Riverside campground is being rebuilt but the existing facility worked just fine. Overall I felt this was an excellent site and only the cleanliness of the bath house stopped it being perfect. We will revisit this site anytime we are in Georgia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
We stayed in site #81 in the River Area in a premium loop D. Most sites there are PT's. Our price was $36 due to purchasing a $5 parking pass required in GA. We only did an overnight but tried to see as much of the park as we could before leaving the next day. Our site was gravel and had a picnic table, fire ring, stand up grill, and a lantern pole. There was no cable or TV reception for us even though the park lists 6 stations on their brochure, we were unable to receive any. There is a sign on the dump station to beware that it backs up often and that a new one is under construction. There were grey water drains throughout most of the park. We didn't use it since we only stayed 1 night. Our site was very shady and quiet. It seems this is the area where most of the big rigs stay since the sites are the longest in the park. We did not have a reservation and the office had just closed when we arrived so we stopped at the host site to pay for the night. Host was friendly and helpful. Bathhouse was clean but the park was not crowded at all. Park sells firewood (host site) and has a store in the office. Campground is 2 miles off I-75 so there was no noise to bother our sleep. Park offers paddle boats, canoes, has several playgrounds, riverside as well as lakeside camping and yurts for rental. Falls were a short drive from our site to a parking area, then a path to the stairs which led to a very steep descent onto the rocks to view the waterfall up close. Several people were playing in the water at the base of the falls, but the park advises you to stay off the rocks and out of the water since it is very slippery. Brochure also states that Wi-Fi is available at the office but we didn't use it so cannot comment about the strength of signal. There was a Catfish restaurant at the entrance to the riverside camping area that seemed really busy for dinner so I would guess it was a good place to eat. Would definitely come back to this park to enjoy a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Our second time here. Just as nice as before. We had a big pull through site. We did not use the pool but it is back across and down from the falls, not walking distance from the lower level sites. The pool is in walking distance from the upper sites but you can only camp there if you are under 30'. We had a great time, will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
The website led us to believe that the pool was within walking distance of the campground. It is a separate area down the road from the campsite. This is also true with regard to the falls. They are lovely. Level sites, nice bath and laundry facilities for campers. The sites were spacious and the park did not seem crowded. They sell firewood and the fire ring and grill were nice. This is a good place to stop overnight. If you reserve through the web be prepared to pay an additional five dollars for a park pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
This is a good park if you are close to Atlanta. Many activities. Sites are generally level but the sites can be a bit close together. The reason for the lower rating is at the end of the trip it turned out that the dump station was backing up. A new one is under construction and I hope it is finished soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We stayed in the River Campground area. We had a reservation, but the hosts were nowhere to be found when we arrived. There was no available Wi-Fi connection on our side of the campground. We could only get 2 TV channels with our antenna. When severe weather threatened, we discovered we had totally lost all reception. Bathrooms are very dated and some restroom buildings were locked. The shower was clean, but not one I would use if I had a choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
The campground was very nice and the sites and restrooms very clean. Has a lot of barking dogs which got real annoying. The dumpstations were closed due to overflow problem. The camp host was real nice and hard working. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
We bought a "Friends of Georgia" annual membership for $30 and got a free night's camping at our next CG included. We also got a 20% senior discount here. It's a beautiful campground, covered with pine and oak trees. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed only one night, but would stay longer since it's quiet and serene. There are hiking trails in the area also. Gray water drain sites are scattered throughout the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
This park is well maintained and convenient to I-75 located about 25 miles North of Macon. There are a lot of outdoor activities. The 50 Amp big rig pull thru sites are in loop D and partially shaded. TV reception with an antenna is poor. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. The rangers and camp hosts enforce the rules with diplomacy. This is a great park to spend a day or two relaxing and enjoying the multiple activities the park has to offer. Senior citizen and military discounts are offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
This park is very convenient to I-75 and is only about 2 miles from the x-way. We arrived at night and found our way to the campground which is across the street from the park registration. The sites are flat and level. Once we arrived the park host required that we give an additional $5 for our car we were towing which we did not like. He said all states do this and since we know differently we told him this was not the case. The falls are visible from the road. There are trails but we did not go on them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Lots to do at High Falls State Park, Paddle boat, Jon boats, and canoe rental. Playground, trails, swimming pool, fishing, and nice scenery. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The Ranger was very visible and will enforce parking and quiet times. New section has bigger sites, but you give up shade and privacy. Restrooms were very clean as well as showers. The park has two campground sections, one by the river, and one by the lake. The sites by the river are bigger, but they're on the other side of the road from the main part of the park. Take the time to read the history of the park and see the old powerhouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Very nice park. Easy in and out and very near I-75, but not so close to be noisy. Good catfish restaurant at park entry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This was our first time to camp in this park. We only live about 27 miles away and chose this for a quick get away. We checked in on Thursday and when we left on Sunday. The bathhouse at the lake campground had not been cleaned one time while we were here. The reason I know there was human waste on the wall in the handicap women's restroom, and it was still there when I left on Sunday. The trash was running over in women's and men's restroom. We were greatly disappointed and hope this review will help others in the future. Also the handicap shower was broken. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
Fantastic park and now one of our favorites! The only drawback was the cold showers in one of the bath houses. We just went to a different bath house. The Wi-Fi is only located at the registration office located about a half mile from the campground. Lots of local stuff to do in addition to the park itself! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
We love state parks! We had a pull-through level site. It was rather small and had no shade but did have 50 amp and water. The bathhouse was clean. We had a reservation but no assigned campsite and was told to just go find one that was marked "yellow". It wasn't a problem since the campground was not very full but in the future I'd make sure I arrived earlier. Wi-Fi was available from the area around the office. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
Had not stayed at this park in a few years. It have been improved, sites are larger and the roads are good. We stayed in the lower camp ground, the upper camp ground is large and more fancy. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
Park was pretty good, allowed for late check-in via the campground "Hosts" who register you, and seem to patrol the campground. Stayed in a "River"side site, but couldnt see the river, as it was quite a wooded distance behind the site. We only stayed one night and then left in the morning. It appeared clean and wasn't crowded. Site was wooded and shady, but pitfall was that the oak leaves fell everywhere and acorns hit the roof all night long. Sewage/garbage dumping was available on the way out of the campground. A good place to stay. Located not too far from the interstate We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
This is probably the prettiest state park I've ever camped at. There are two camping sections, one by the lake and one by the river. We asked for a waterfront site and were told to go to the riverside section and look for a site with a yellow marker. None of the riverside site had much of a view. The next morning, I drove though the lakeside section and saw a couple of empty, nice, lake-front sites with yellow markers. So if you care about the view, breeze through the lakeside section, just in case. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
This was our first trip ever in a camper. We stayed 2 nights. Lots of things for kids to do including fishing, miniature golf, swimming, and trails. Nice paved roads for biking. The BBQ place nearby was good. Very close Dollar General for supplies forgotten. If we were in area, would definitely stay again. About 45 minutes south of Atlanta. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Very family oriented. Lots of level sites; some not so level. These were mostly tent or pop-up sites. Pads built of small gravel, each with nice table, fire ring, and lantern post. Some very shady sites available. Rangers and camp host very friendly and helpful. We camp here frequently as it is so close to home. We're after the camping experience, rather than sightseeing. This campground, as do all Georgia State Park campgrounds, offer really pleasant camping experiences. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$23
You need to know that you can only park on the river sites now. I was told the lake area is going to be converted to a cabin type setup. Also, on the river sites Area 2 (loop D)is closed as of March 2006, due to electrical problems. I was told it was being worked on. There was another area Loop A that was also closed. The sites are rated by color for the size of rig. Yellow sites say 50'. We just had room for our 30' 5th wheel and pickup. The red sites are for like 25', and white for popups etc. They are putting new numbers on the sites and it does not match the map right now. I liked the park and the falls and river are a nice attraction. The lake area and dam have a history and there was once a powerplant below the dam. The building remains are still there. We did not go on the lake, but you can rent a boat or canoe. The river is below the sites 15-20' and is mostly shielded by brush and trees, so you can't really see the river even on river side sites. It is close to I-75, but feels remote. There is a restaurant with evening hours at the park turn in, but we did not eat there. There are a few shops and stores along the road coming in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
This is the closest Georgia State Park to our home, so we use this one when we just need a quick weekend out. There are two campgrounds in the park: Lake and River. The River campground had undergone renewal recently and has fresh pads and new utilities. The Lake campground is scheduled for some work, but at the time of the review was a little "rough around the edges". This is a popular park for families as there is a lot to do (swimming pool, fishing, picnicing, etc.), so the campground stays noisy most of the time. By 10:00pm, most of the kids are in for the night and things quiet down. Fills up during the weekends and clears out by noon on Sunday. There is not a lot to do in the area, but the park is within 5 minutes of I-75, so it's a great stopover. Bigger rigs will appreciate the large sites in the River campground. There is a large RV dealership two interstate exits north of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
Prior to visiting I had read the previous reviews. I took notice of the electric, we had no voltage problems under load. It appears the campground has upgraded many hook-ups and is still in the process. Some of the sites in our loop, plus an entire section were closed. They were all getting new electric, and more pull through sites were being developed. It is a beautiful place and I would recommend a stop. Many of the sites can handle big RV's as well. Only 2 miles from I-75, but quiet and picturesque. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$23
This is a beautiful park, very woodsy and somewhat overgrown. It could use some tree trimming (which doesn't happen often enough in state parks). The falls are beautiful and there are several bike trails. We were here after a heavy rain and it was quite soggy. We camped in the B loop (the most open) so we could use our satellite, but would have preferred one of the water front sites. The falls are situated away from the campground. It would be lovely to be able to hear them from your RV (in a perfect world). We will visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
We love this CG. There are 2 camping areas - Area 1 or "lake side" and Area 2 or "river side"; we prefer the river. Sites are level, reasonably well spaced, most are shaded. Spacing appears better on the river side. In addition to the water activities, the park has 4 miles of nice trails, some of which parallel the river. The park is very convenient to I75, which makes it great for an overnight stop. Dausett Trails Nature Area is approx. 10 min. away. This is a beautiful nature preserve that is free of charge. Park staff is very receptive to campers comments and are doing everything in their power to upgrade an already nice park. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of the lack of full hook-ups. We will definitely be back many times! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This was our first trip to High Falls and we enjoyed the weekend. While some of the camp sites are close together, all offer enough room to put out the awning and relax. Rest room facilities appear (at least in the section in which we stayed: site 32 in loop D) almost new and were very clean. A small lake allows boating, but a 10 horsepower limit is in effect. Lots of good walking around the lake and river. Wife and I enjoyed our time and it's on the list for a return visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2003
$25
Yes, the campground setting along the river is very picturesque, and there is plenty of room between sites. However, the sites are not at all level, and the power is grossly under voltage. With no load, except for our refrigerator & 5 amps set on the battery charger, we were reading 104 volts; turned on the coffee maker and our low voltage (102 volts) protection shut off the power. Park management said that they knew they had a voltage problem in the area where we were camped, but that the State of Georgia would not provide the funds to fix the problem; and the park was full, so we could not move to another area. We were also told that we could NOT run our generator, even during the day. The campground would be just fine for pop-ups or small travel trailers, however, we'll never go back with our motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com