214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Jekyll Island Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 108 user reviews. Phone: (912) 635-3021
CGID900

Jekyll Island Campground

Camp Information
Sites
206
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   4   7   9   7   10   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Great place on a beautiful quiet island! Our site (F11) was perfectly level, packed dirt with pine needles, convenient to restrooms, trash and wifi and a good size to park the RV, rental car and the rental red bug gem car we rented for touring the island and still allow room for the awning and camp fire. There are trees everywhere - tall huge beautiful live oaks and pines - enjoy them! Wifi and Cable worked great. It's the only campground on the island and it was good. They have a bird sanctuary area which my husband enjoyed and he saw a "lifetime" first bird there - the painted bunting. There are lots of squirrel, some raccoons and deer in the area. Friendly staff, souvenirs and limited supplies available. Showers were ok. The roads are small but adequate. There's a $7 charge to book online. We would definitely go back... and want to... NOW! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Enjoyed Jekyll Island campground. Stayed a full week while exploring the area. Sights can be somewhat difficult to get in, they are arranged around trees. The free WiFi is excellent, which for a state park was a surprise. If you are a bike rider, this is the place to be. Terrific bike trails! The park provides cable. Due to the trees, no satellite reception. Will enjoy coming back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
This review may be influenced by the fact that it rained every day we were on Jekyll Island. We were totally underwhelmed by this campground. The sites were one on top of the other, the roads were sandy soil and dead leaves. The bathrooms and showers were moderately clean but ancient. Some of the washers and dryers worked. The Wi-Fi did work. There's no place to walk a dog. It seems that the State of Georgia has made no improvements here since it purchased the Island. But they are the only show in town. We would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
We really enjoyed the campground. With the large number of old trees, the campground is fully shaded. Site material is dirt with a large amount of leaves on top. Our site was spacious and level. Cable worked well. Water pressure was good and we had no problem with the 30 amp service. The store has propane, ice and a small amount of supplies. The rent bikes if you do not bring your own. You will want them to explore the miles of paved bike paths that traverse the island. AT&T cell service was good and campground WiFi worked without a problem. The only problem we had during our stay was it was at the time when the oak trees were dropping seeds. This was extremely messy and meant a constant cleaning of the awning and sweeping inside. Overall, a great place that we will probably return to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We had stayed here a couple of years ago, and if anything, the place got better. The cable TV was clear and steady, and the WiFi is excellent. Everything is very clean, well kept, and the staff is most helpful. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because some of the turns are pretty tight for a larger unit due to the trees. We will definitely go back, as we love Jekyll Island. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$39
This campground seems to be filled with Northerners who enjoy the Georgia weather for their winter stay. Many of the campers are there for long stays. This campground is all dirt and heavily shaded. No satellite, but they have cable and Wi-Fi. Bicyle trails are all over the island and a fishing pier is less than a mile away. Interesting history museum and tour is available nearby. Trees are dangerously close getting in and out! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
We are here as "winter guests" . We arrived January 19 and will leave March 1. Some of the sites are small, but there are also large pull throughs. The roads are narrow and tree lined. I had no trouble negotiating them to our site with a 38 foot RV and toad. They have shower houses, a laundry, community room and General Store. There are bikes for rent. They sell propane and there is free cable and WiFi. The campground is located on the North end of the island in a grove of live oaks and southern pine. We have seen wildlife every day, mostly deer and raccoon. We did spot a gray fox one night in the bird sanctuary. There are paved bike trails all around the island and through the marshes. We watched the dolphins play at the fishing pier nearby. Jekyll Island is an awesome place to visit and the campground staff is phenomenal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
Nice campground. We had s pull through end site so it was easy in and out. Sites are dirt so you might want to use outside rugs. All hookups worked well, including cable and free Wi-Fi. Only real complaint is you have to pay each time you cross the bridge onto island. Great island for riding bicycles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
Large sites. Hard packed sand. Easy in-easy out. Very friendly staff. Jekyll is a great place to be with wonderful beaches, lots of history. Rate was for a full month stay. All services, including cable TV worked fine. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Very friendly staff, helpful and courteous. Tight back in site, but quiet. Full hook up with good free Wi-Fi and lots of cable stations. Great island with cheap tennis at club and great for biking/running. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Very nice campground. Our site was nice but difficult to get into. Watched numerous campers have difficulty getting into their spot. Other than that the campground is in a great location with access to miles of bike trails that circl the island. Staff was very friendly. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Disregard the 5 rating. Drive throughs should always be read skeptically. During the Winter Season the park is usually fully booked by Northern and Canadian seasonals and they make it a second home. If you fortunate to get a reservation it's a very congenial group. Last year we booked four days over Xmas in November and got the last available space. During the balance of the year it's a pleasant (and about the only convenient) place to enjoy Jekyll island from. We've been going to the Island for 25 years and the campground for 8. We've never been disappointed with either and will return as often as possible We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The park has the potential to be a 5 star. The setting is amazing, large trees canopy the campground with moss hanging down from them. Easy access to paved biking paths, we biked almost the entire island, a lovely bird garden. The bathhouses were okay, and they had a nice enough laundry room. Bring lots of bug spray, the mosquitos are bad and treat your dog for ticks and fleas before arriving. The biggest issue was the "junk yard" appearance from the seasonal/permanent residents. Junk under the campers, outdoor freezers, assorted tarps covering more junk. Just enough of them scattered around to take away from the natural beauty of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Loved this campgound as we stayed here for a week. Nice sites and private. Has a wonderful staff and is simply beautiful. I wish it had a pool, but found a water park close by. Beach area is close, but muddy and little surf for kids. DRIFTWOOD beach is worth coming to this campground. Absolutely stunning place to see. Super close to Saint Simons Island for the restaurant and shopping. If you want privacy, bike trails and time with your family - this is your campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
We were not able to get a reservation for this park during the days we needed but we decided to drive through it to see if it's a place we would like to try in the future. I am so glad we did because it's not a place we would enjoy at all. The sites are very small and packed together like sardines. There is very little space between RVs. There are many long term residents and there don't appear to be many rules about upkeep. There were still Christmas decorations up at the end of February. There were shabby, ill kept structures on some sites. There is not privacy at all between the sites. It had the feel of a very cramped, poorly kept trailer park rather than a campground. We would not stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
This campground is owned and managed by the island and there are over 206 sites on 18 acres. They have tent sites, full hookups and a few just water and electric. It cost $32 or more for full hookups, cable and internet but for snowbirds there is a monthly fee which seemed to be quite reasonable. Bike and Red Bug rentals can be made at the camp store. This campground was crowded in February with all the snowbirds here for the winter. I only saw a few sites available for overnighters. The snowbirds all had a lamppost with their state and names on it (cute and interesting). Everyone seems to love it here because of the biking, golfing and weather. Friendly check-in, and even though it was crowded, we loved it. There were two bathhouses and they were clean when we used them. If you need to shop like at a Wal-mart one needs to leave the island and go over the huge bridge to Brunswick which is not that far away. The campground is at one end of the island with Driftwood Beach and Clam Creek Picnic Area across the street from it. Nice visit and I know we will return because we love the bike trails and the relaxing feel of the island. There are hiking trails across the street and walking around the campground is interesting especially the little bird garden where campers have set up bird houses and nesting areas. RV’s have to pay $10 to cross over the bridge to the island, but it is well worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
We thoroughly enjoyed this campground, set among a dense forest of trees. And, while some of the sites are a bit challenging to back into, the are sufficiently wide to permit a larger motor home to fully open opposing slides with room to spare. We also were both surprised and extremely pleased to discover the campground was incredibly quiet, so much so that the "silence was almost deafening". Located at northern end of Jekyll, the entire island, only 7 miles long, is easily accessible bike a network of paved bike paths. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
We returned for 2 weeks during Christmas and New years after missing a year. It now cost $10.00 for MH and $6.00 for pick ups and cars to get on the island. The daily pass is now good until midnight the next day. Camp ground was great with a great staff as usual. Only draw back is the WiFi is still weak, but the problem is the modem and not their WiFi. Love this place!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
LOVED IT! When we first pulled in, I was a little hesitant just because the site width was not what I was expecting, but after we setup we realized we had more space that we thought. The campground is beautiful with all of the large trees and spanish moss. The weather was nice, and mosquitos weren't too bad (I read past reviews where campers complained, and I'm not sure how you can blame the campground for that, you are in South Georgia!). The bike paths around the island are amazing! We rented bikes for the day and rode around. We enjoyed it so much, the next day we drove into Brunswick and bought bicycles at the Walmart. There aren't too many restaurant options on the island; however, Brunswick is just a short drive, and it has everything under the sun. We've decided to make Jekyll Island Campground a yearly trip! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
Large campground with moderate number of trees. Dirt sites and roads. Close together sites. 37 tent sites, two electricity and water only sites, and the rest full hookups. Some sites were 30 amp and others 50 amp. RV storage areas along perimeter. Bathhouses fairly clean but could use sprucing up. Best feature is good paved roads and bike paths for Jekyll Island., and a fishing pier and nature paved trail an eighth of a mile away by a tidal marsh with loads of wildlife. An 8 for the biking and nature trail by the tidal marsh. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We have stayed here many times. We always have a good time. Park is well run and staff very friendly and helpful. CG is heavily wooded and roads are dirt/crushed asphalt. It does get dusty. And yes there are plenty of skeeters, but this is South Georgia so we just deal with them. We enjoy the bike trails on island and beaches. Bathhouses were kept clean as possible, but there was a full house on the weekend. Overall I give the CG a 9. We will stay here many more times in the future. This is a laid-back island, not like most that are built up beach towns. There are groceries, gas, adult beverages available if needed. Be prepared for the bugs, they are part of life down here so don't let them deter you or keep you from enjoying this CG. Besides, with cooler weather there will be fewer of them to bother you. Also, there are some good places to eat on the island and the surrounding areas. Be prepared to pay "fee" to get you RV on the island. For our motorhome it was $10. And there is a 5 dollar a day fee for your tow vehicle so if staying a week, get the weekly pass it is a little cheaper We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
A very nice park, but it has a few issues that keep it from being rated higher. The campground is very wooded, which makes July in Georgia much more tolerable. It is also very spacious, at least at the pull through sites. We had so much room between us and the next rig over that we thought there might be a tent site in between (there wasn't). As noted by a prior reviewer, the hookups are somewhat randomly placed, so check carefully before you unhook. Also, our sewer cap was slightly uphill, and it also clogged up when I tried to dump. Management had someone out there within minutes to work the issue, however. The campground is also very sandy as mentioned, so there is plenty of dust and your feet will be black if you aren't wearing socks and shoes. The biggest disappointment however, were the mosquitoes. Other than Alaska, I have never seen so many mosquitoes in my life. They swarmed us as soon as we were out the door. They even bite through clothing! We were told by a shopkeeper that they spray the island, but if so, they missed the campground. We could not even sit outside. Last, there are some trees very close to the roads, so watch carefully when you pull in and out. I was able to maneuver a 38' fifth wheel OK, but there wasn't a lot of room on some roads to make the turns. Other roads are fine - it is just luck of the draw, so check things out before committing yourself to a road. Overall, we enjoyed the island very much. The beaches were quiet and peaceful, though the water is very silty. There is a very nice municipal beach near the convention center, 5 minutes drive from the campground. The campground is adequate and decent for the price, just bring lots of bug spray! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
The visit was our third to this campground. I knew from experience that the campsites are tight. When making the reservation, I requested a site set at an angle and they booked one for us. If you are longer then 25 feet total, you will be happier with a pull through or angled site. The bathroom are cleaned in the morning and dirty by the afternoon. This is a very busy campground on the week-end so the bathroom should be checked more often. The staff was very helpful when I asked them to pick up a trash bag a raccoon decided to eat during the night. It is not a perfect campground, but we continue to return for the activities the Island provides. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
Our second stay but not as enjoyable as the first one. Despite the campground was half empty the staff made a big fuzz about available sites (we had a reservation for three days and asked for another site when checking in because we didn't like the soft dirt, the narrowness and location of our assigned site). Sites are all very shady as you are parking in a forest but are close together and offer little privacy. Mostly it's quiet except for some barking dogs (for hours) nobody seemed to care about. Another indicator for somewhat ignorant staff. A real nuisance was the amount of campfires pretty much all day. It was simply to much. The price you pay is fair for a full hookup site with cable and internet. Unfortunately there is no other campground on Jekyll Island. I think some competition would help this campground to improve quite a bit. However, Jekyll Island is a beautiful place to stay and we would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
The shower was closed between 7:00AM and 9:00AM because that fits better into the staff schedule. The showers and bathrooms were filthy. The tent campers filled our trailer with choking smoke. They were about five feet from our trailer. This campsites were too small for us to enter and exit. We had to negotiate into other adjacent sites. If those sites would have been filled, we would have been blocked from exiting. Jekyll Island is a fantastic place to visit, but I would not stay in this campground. This campground is poorly managed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
The Good. Appears to be a clean, well run campground. The staff was very friendly. The best Wi-Fi I have seen at any campground I have stayed at. Great cable TV. I don't know about the showers and bathrooms, as I did not go in them. Great family friendly bicycle trails, starting across the street from the entrance to he campground. Fish pier across the street along with horseback riding on the beach. The Bad, and the reason for the 5: Dust. I could not believe the dust caused by moving vehicles, even at slow speed. I camp about 7 months a year and this campground is one of the worst I have seen for dust. I will not camp here again until the roads are fixed. If you own a nice RV, I would look elsewhere, or stay off island and commute to it. Even keeping the RV closed up with the A/C on, the dust still got in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
First, let me say that there were "sand fleas" and/or no-see-ums; whatever you call them. However, this is Georgia in the Spring and, according to the news, bugs are much worse everywhere. We encountered these everywhere from mid-coast FL to the Carolinas. Now, the Park is in an ideal location especially if you like to ride bikes. Jekyll Island has miles of trails that are paved, not paved, run through the forest, along the beach, or on the Beach (don't miss Driftwood Beach at low tide). The trails also run through the historic district where the rich & famous built cottages years ago. We have biked all over the USA and this is our favorite overall location. The bike trail is right opposite the campground entrance. The entire Campground is wooded. That means lots of shade and loys of leaves and/or pine droppings. The facilities are nice, the staff was helpful and the sites were a generous size. This appears to be a popular place to stay the winter so many of the best sites may be taken through March/April. The campers were friendly and the Park was very quiet in the evenings. Be aware, there is a $5/day or $25/week or $45/year fee to get onto the Island by vehicle. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
We were ready to leave the day we got here. Sand fleas were terrible, must have eaten 100 just hooking-up. Site wasn't level, sewer ran up hill and treads were bad. Staff could care less! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
Loved everything about the island; the scenery, the bicycle trails and the neighbors in the park; everything was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
Park is in a great location, if you like to bike and walk on the beach. Golf,and tennis (clay courts) are near by and are reasonably priced. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The park, in fact the whole island, is owned by the State of Georgia and could use some tlc. Over the air tv antenna worked well. Would definitely stay here again. Camped in a motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
This is truly a great campground. There are large sites and lots of trees so you don't feel your neighbors are on top of you. Also, the sites are at various angles, so there is not a feeling of lining up in formation. If you enjoy a natural setting, this park is ideal with lots of wildlife and their own bird sanctuary. There were a few minor negatives. The staff in the office were quite young, and not overly attentive. It could be a need for better training. Also, we had some trouble with the TV cable, but the cable company got out here and got things back online. As stated, the negatives were minor. We definitely look forward to getting back to the beautiful island and a great campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$32
Although the rest of Jekyll Island is wonderful, the campground itself is older and in need of updates. The sites are very tight and narrow. Our particular campsite was "awning to awning" with our neighbor, as we had opposite direction pull through sites. Most of the interaction we had with other campers were with those who were wintering over, and we were definitely treated with open rudeness as outsiders. Though the rest of Jekyll Island is very kid-friendly, the campground itself is not, as there are no playgrounds and kids acting like kids is frowned upon. Though I will come to visit Jekyll Island again, I will not stay at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$37
If there is anything to complain about this park, it's the lack of privacy. Lots of shade (no surprise, you are in a forest). No traffic or any other noise at night. The sites (pull-through) are dirt, easy to level and offer good access to a full hookup including cable and a very reliable Wi-Fi. Easy to get in and out and once you've parked your rig you might want to get around with a bike on this very bike friendly island. Don't miss the butcher department in the small grocery store at the beachfront. We are somewhat picky with our shopping but everything this butcher offers is top quality at very reasonable prices. And please go and visit the Georgia sea turtle center - it's amazing. We adopted a sea turtle, what's your pet? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
This is an excellent campground. The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. The rest rooms, though dated, were quite clean. Jekyll Island has tons to offer including the wonderful Driftwood Beach (a short walk from the campground), spectacular and reasonably-priced golf courses, biking trails covering the entire island, a neat historic district, a Sea Turtle center and good restaurants. Room for improvement in the Wi-Fi area with Wi-Fi only accessible in the activity center despite advertisements of Wi-Fi everywhere. The park is quite shaded so count on little sun at your campsite and lots of gnats. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Want to give my latest reviews after a negative one on our last stay here. This park has done many upgrades. They now have crushed blacktop roads in the campground: now my feet don't get covered in dirt or black after using the showers. New cable for the TV, the showers are all renovated and very clean. All posts and buildings have also been painted. Staff is very friendly. Love to see lots of people about and camp fires burning. The campers here are very friendly too. Now all the campground needs are paved patios on the spots, but I can understand with all the trees that could be difficult. Screened in pool would also be nice, it would be worth paying the extra for that. Not too many snow birds at the moment which makes it a little more like a campground. We will definitely be back here again real soon. Love what Jekyll Island is doing to the Island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Great location for checking out Jekyll Island. Very nice campground hosts. Slight Sulphur taste in the water supply. Good bike trails. Camp store was well stocked. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
We stayed on Site 25, the site was below the sewer hookup, and 3 inches out of level. Some of these sites need to be back filled bad. But this is a beautiful area, moss covered oak trees, the historic district from the 1920s, great bike paths, fishing pier, and wide beaches. Ladies at check-in were wonderful. Right now is not a good time to go, as per the construction disarray and numerous detours, especially if you are pulling a long trailer, or motorhome with an vehicle behind it. (The left turn after paying the $5.00 parking fee, is almost a 180 degree turn to start the detour.) There is a $5.00 per day parking fee, if you need to leave the island for groceries, or anything else. As long as you pay your parking fee for that day, you may travel back and forth to the mainland as many times as you need to, as long as it is before midnight on the same day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
A fine park. Very shady. When you pull in, please pull all the way to the stop sign before you get out to register. The sign is not as obvious as it could be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We have camped here many times. This time the staff was highly visible cleaning and doing daily chores. Check fast and efficient and all staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful. All sites shaded so satellite does not work well. Wi-Fi was good but kind of slow. All sites are dirt as are the interior roads but in pretty good shape. Some sites need some fill dirt as the have been "wallowed out" by years of campers coming and going and in heavy rain water stands on them. All in all a very good campground. Good store for supplies and island has great bike trails, bird watching, fishing, beaches etc.. A lot of construction going on on island at this time as they are building a new convention center and shopping area. Several stores in temporary building located near campground. We got a nice surprise with a free night camping since we were staying more than six nights. Price of $28.00 reflects this. We plan to return this fall after weather cools a bit. If you are not from the South and not used to biting insects, be prepared with lots of repellant. In the South we have bugs but they can be controlled with good repellants so come on and enjoy a visit at a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is a county campground with 220 sites that are well shaded. Full hookups with cable TV, internet, and store for $30 a night. Sites are very close together and some seem hard to get into with a big rig. We had a nice site at the end of a loop, so it was bigger than many of the others. Restrooms are older but very clean and the water is hot, hot, hot for a shower. Checkin was fast, efficient and the girl who checked us in was very nice. There is a nice bird sanctuary at the end of the campground. What this campground has, is that it is on Jekyll Island with its beaches, bike trails, historic district and controlled development. Great island and place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
A shady campground near to activities of the island. The bathrooms need an upgrade. We would stay here again. A great place of bicycles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Meandering campground set among HUGE shade trees, so not much sun if you want it. Great launching point for touring the islands. Bike trails around Jekyll Island are great! Sites are poorly defined and somewhat random. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We have camped many times at this park and we love it. I recommend it highly, a great fun place to camp. The camp ground is quiet and peaceful. The staff is helpful and courteous. The bath houses are clean, grounds are neat. You get a lot of visitors at your camp site, squirrels, raccoons, birds, and mosquitoes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
I thought the campground was really nice, however campsites were close together. I love the huge trees, not so much the no-see-ums. Campground had a little bird sanctuary toward the tent site area. Rental bikes are at the campground store. Cannot bring your own firewood, we purchased firewood which turned out to be wet and would only smoke. Very Nice Bike/walking paths. Campground is near historic ruins. North Beach was a really interesting beach. Most of the campers that were at this campground, this time of year were snowbirds. Will love to come back to explore some more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$34
We really enjoyed staying at this campground. It was close enough to the beach for us to walk. We especially loved all of the bicycle trails around the island. The camp store had a good selection of items and the staff and hosts were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
I love the trees, but there is no privacy in the camp spots. They are too close together, and there is too much dirt, everything gets filthy dirty. I went and took a shower, by the time i got back to my camper my feet were covered in dirt. Campers from deliverance pulled in next to us at 10pm and were up most of the night partying, all 6 adults and 4 kids. I complained about the noise and the park manager told the deliverance people who reported the noise. The wifi is terrible, I could never get on. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Great campground with friendly staff and neighbors. The campground is located just across the street from a wonderful park with a fishing pier and 2 mile nature trail around a salt marsh and beach access is about a 1 mile walk away. The only improvement I would suggest is a playground on site for children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Have stayed here a few times and enjoyed it. Park is heavily shaded. Interior roads are dirt and get really dusty but they spray water on them to help keep it down. Sites are both pull-thru and back-ins and most are very easy to get in and out. Sites used by me have had full hookups. This is an older park but overall good condition. Jekyll Island is a great place with plenty of bike paths and fishing. A daily fee is charged to get on the island so be aware of this if you are planning on trips off the island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This campground was very nice and shaded. We stayed in site J-2, which was in the back and totally blocked from the site next to us by a huge shrub. We had a dog with us, and there was plenty of room for her to stay at the back of our camper without being on anyone else's site. It was also good to take her straight through the woods to run off her leash. Biking is awesome on the island, and the access to trails from the campground is great. We really enjoyed exploring and didn't spend too much time at the campground. There is so much to see, so we used it for home base and that was it. The only negative I have is that there was a lot of dirt/sand all around, and it would be a huge mess if it rained at all. Definitely a beautiful place, and we had a great week there! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is a nice place to go to. The campground is a bit on the wilderness side. You park on regular grounds between trees. The shore services was good. Verizon Air card was good. Satellite TV is a bit of a problem but they have cable. I was able to get a Directv signal through an opening in the trees using a Bird Dog. Other people could not access their satellite service and asked me how I was able to do it. This is a very popular place and you need to call in with reservations if you plan to stay here. Weekends and holidays are hard to get in. We moved after two nights to Blythe Island to stay in the area longer. If you leave the island after midnight you have to pay another $5 to get back on the island but if you stay on the island you do not have to pay a park fee for each day. Great to go to the beaches if you have children. There are no gas or fuel stations on the island. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
A wonderful, shaded campground, with a friendly staff, located on a state park island. All RV sites include 3-way hook-ups and cable TV. Make sure and pack your bike and fishing pole! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
This is a great campground if you enjoy beautiful wooded campsites, as we do. We would give it a 10 if the sites were a bit farther apart, as the location on Jekyll Island is perfect -- the Driftwood Beach is a short walk away -- and the campground is well run and maintained. We had no problem getting in or out of our pull through site, and the utilities were all fine. While there was no designated off-leash area for our dogs, we found plenty of nearby places to walk them off-leash , so that wasn't a problem. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
We had a great time at this classic campground. Miles of bike trails, beach walks, and tons of history puts this snowbird haven at the top of our "Do Again" list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
Nice campground. Sites are level but a bit close together. The canopy of trees is so dense you cannot tell it is a campground on Google Earth! I guess this makes it nice and cool during high summer. All the foliage is high up though, so it still feels roomy down on the ground. Jekyll Island is a terrific place: quiet, peaceful, beautiful beaches, and a real cycling paradise! Be sure to gas up before heading onto the island, and stock up too. There are no gas stations, pharmacies, or supermarkets on the island, and it's 1/2 hour to Brunswick for most of what you might need. There's a decent camp store, but prices are predictably high. Ice and firewood is sold, and there's a bike rental too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$29
Park is woody but sites are relatively close together. Good camp store on property as well as bike rentals. Certainly convenient to sites on Jekyll Island and to bike paths. We had poor weather while we were there but I would be happy to return just to take advantage of the bike and hiking trails and the beach areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This was a beautiful campground with old mossy oaks, and fun people. I would definitely come back here. Close to beach and the old town was fun. Lots of biking and walking trails. The office doesn't have long hours, but if you are scheduled to come in and are arriving after the check in time, there will be a camp host looking for you to direct you to your campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Location, location, location is the only reason to stay in this park. Jekyll Island is beautiful, with great biking, walking, beaches and historical significant. The campground itself is all dirt, sites are close together, some at odd angles. You can see where it rained and had standing water in low spots. It was quiet at night and about two miles to swimming beaches. Would look for another choice if we come again to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$11
Great park. Great island. Easy pull through. Sewer plug is at an angle so it is easy to have an "accident". Satellite is not doable at this park due to the large number of trees. So many trees there is no grass. Glad it did not rain while we were here. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
Very nice park to stay at and to explore the history that Jekyll Island has to offer. We stayed at site D02, right up front and noticed quite a bit of traffic during the day, but it calmed down during the evening hours. This site was originally assigned to our friends who were there in a motorcoach but it was too much of a tight turn to get in. There are some tight spots in this campground. Biking around the island is great; all the bike paths are concrete or paved. There is no playground for small kids in the campground but there are 2 very nice playgrounds at the Putt-Putt center for kids to enjoy and it's free. Access fee for the island is $5 so make sure you have all the things you need and if you leave the island, expect to pay that to get back on each time. At the time of our stay, there was no WI-FI up in the front camping spots by the office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This was our 3rd time there, we love the place. The campground is very well shaded with lots of beautiful trees, bike paths are very nice, and the campground is very close to the beach and historical areas. The staff is friendly and efficient. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
A very nice campground. Loved the mossy oaks! Clean overall but there was a stench near the bathrooms. Some places were tight to get in and out of, but managable. Would stay again on beautiful Jekyll Island! Could walk or ride bikes to the fishing pier and driftwood beach. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We camped there July 24th through the 27th. We met friends from Tennessee and South Carolina there with there travel trailers and had a great time. Two of us had G-28 and G-29 that face each other. I'm not sure I would like that if I didn't know who they were. And the third party were three slots down. The campground very clean and very quiet. The summer months are good there, but in the winter, there are snowbirds there for extended stays and it is often hard to get a spot. We would recommend this to friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This is the fourth time that we have stayed at the park. Each time has been great. It's very shaded, and the sites are fairly level. The employees are nice and the manager is a great guy. Another plus is that you can take take your golf cart, or rent one from DC Motion Carts and ride the roads of the entire island. When we stay there, we never have to drive our truck, just hop on the cart and go. We will return to the park for many more visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
We enjoyed our 3 days in this campground. The site was fairly level and the setup was quick. The campground is very shady - which means we had to clean the awning before rolling it up. The picnic table needed to be cleaned before we could use it and, in general, the park could use a bit better maintenance. We stayed in the middle of the week and the park wasn't over half full. We'll stay there again - the island is beautiful and we rode out tandem bike over 50 miles around the island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
Great location. Our site is very roomy. Friendly staff. However, a few negative issues is the reason for the lower rating. 1. Picnic table and seats were very dirty. We had to scrub with soapy water and brush before we could use. Also, items of trash on the site. 2. Laundry room and washers, dryers are dirty. Trash all over the floor. The table for folding clothes also dirty. I had to clean out the built up dirt and soap on washers before using. Obviously, if campers cleaned up after each use, that would help. However, if kept clean by staff, I believe campers would be more likely to keep the room etc clean. 3. We did not use the rest rooms but a woman told us the rest rooms here were the "filthiest she has ever seen". I think a little "elbow grease" would raise the rating from 5 to maybe 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Lots of trees which made it hard to navigate into our site. Placement of utilities was also very questionable. No way we could reach the sewer even with an extended hose. The trees were oozing sap, rig and car were covered after 3 days. Thankfully there is a truck wash before you get back onto I-95. There was a lot of families and heavy smoke from camp fires. The location of the park is hard to beat. The island itself is fabulous. We would stay here again only for that reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
This campground is excellent for very small campers and tents, but I wouldn't recommend it for big rigs - especially 45 footers (like mine). The state has done a great job of keeping all the old Live Oak trees that provide shade all day long. Unfortunately, for a big rig, this can make for some tight turns - not impossible, just a little challenging. The island is a little buggy in April as we found the no-see-ums and mosquitos to be unbearable at times. Be sure to bring your bike and kayak. There are lots of trails and marsh to explore. I gave it a 7 because of the dust, bugs and the fact that it really isn't big rig friendly. Had I been tent camping, I would have given it an 8 or 9. Despite my mediocre rating, I'd still recommend that you camp here at least once. The island is beautiful and non-commercial - almost as if it were stuck in a time warp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We loved this campground! Lots of trees...shade, etc..Bike rental is available at the campground and Jekyll is a fantastic place to bike all over the island. The community room has a computer with Internet connection for you to use if you can fight the teenagers off of the computer. The only downside to this campground is there are only 2 bathhouses and they are located toward the front of the campground. If you are tent camping or in a pop up and are stuck in the back of the campground, you have quite a walk to the bathroom (not fun if you get up in the middle of the night LOL). The bathhouses were very clean and the water pressure was GREAT!!! Staff was awesome. Campground store sold all the basics but very expensive. Propane was 29.99 for a tank so if you need it, be prepared to pay for it. Much cheaper off the island. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
Loved this campground. The camp is in the middle of a coastal forest with lots of trees. This makes for no grass so it is a little dirty. the restrooms were cleaned daily. If you are looking for a 5-star resort, this is not the place. If you like rustic camping with a great staff and beautiful location, then come on down. Jeckyl Island is wonderful. Lots of history and biking. Beaches wonderful. Great for a family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
Jekyll Island Campground has natural campsite settings and gorgeous trees throughout. The staff are available, friendly, accommodating and helpful. The showers are well lit and spacious, as well the laundry facilities are plentiful and clean. There are activities arranged if you wish to participate. We love the availability of bike paths and glorious beaches! This campground suits us to a "T". It's called "Georgias Jewell" for a reason. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Earlier posters have covered many of the features and limitations of the campground. I will add that, at this time of year the place is packed full, with many people staying for a month or longer. When we made reservations 3 months ago, we got the last site, shoehorned in between other rigs and trees. I think the reason is because 30 days, with full hookups and cable, is only $15.83 per day, tax included. We paid $25 a night for 7 days. The Wi-Fi is terribly underpowered, even though the signal strength is acceptable. About the only times I could get reliable Wi-Fi is from 4:00 am to 8:00 am. The staff, and especially the other campers, are very friendly. The campground is very laid back, as is the whole island. By all means, bring bicycles as this island is easily the most bike friendly place we've been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$36
We arrived Christmas day and stayed until the 4th. The park was great as always. We had problems all week with wi-fi but the manager was working very hard to get it repaired. We love this place and try to go every year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$34
We think this campground is over rated. It is one thing to rate the campground and another the location and amenities outside the camp itself. When I say 6/10 I mean the campground and to rate Jekyll Island itself I would give it a 9/10. The campground is the only camp on the island so one does not have another choice. The sites are so close to one another we could literally watch our neighbor's TV from our back window. Also this camp is far too shaded with trees, we didn't get any sun. The sites are gravel and bring in a lot of dirt and debris. They let campers in at all hours of the night i.e. 11:30 pm ( more than once). Wifi access is only available at the community room and is not all that strong. This room closes at 9:00pm. It seems to have lots of return guests but I wonder if that is because it is the only camp on the island and the island itself is a gem. Biking, trails, beaches, birding, fishing etc. fabulous!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$38
We stayed at Jekyll Island over the Thanksgiving holiday. We had stayed on the beach in a motel last year and this year. Although it was different, it was wonderful. Jekyll Island is just a great place to be. The park is clean and heavily treed. The trees make for some tight spots, but not too bad. It rained one night and because the park is not paved, there was some mud in and out of the trailer. Just bring your bikes. They have bikes to rent, but there is a bike path around the entire island. It is nice to ride in comfort. Bring some fire wood. It is expensive to buy and hard to find. Winter is prime time, so make reservations early. We made them for next Thanksgiving week before we left this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
This is a REAL campground. Dirt roads, pine needles, mud when it rains, nice folks, great walking and biking areas and close to the historic area. The laundry according to the DW is great it even has ironing boards and irons. It is on an island and if you leave the island you have to re-pay $3 to get back on. Nice place. We will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This campground is over rated, however Jekyll Island itself is very nice. This is the only campground on the island so there are no other camping choices. The sites are so close to one another we could literally watch our neighbor's TV from our back window. Also this camp is far too shaded with trees, we didn't get any sun. The sites are gravel and bring in a lot of dirt and debris. There are lots of good biking trails, one nice shopping area with some good restaurants and the turtle farm is fun. The campground is on the far north end of the island, meaning it is a very long bike ride from most of the attractions of the island. You should plan to either have a vehicle with you or rent a "buggy" that is available on the island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We stayed for a week at this campground. The site was fine--not spectacular, with ample shade. We had a pull-thru site at the end of a row. Making the turn to get in was a bit tight, but manageable. We were not warned that to leave the island, you must re-pay the $3 "parking fee" when entering again. Your camp pass is not sufficient for re-entry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Stayed here two nights on our way to North Carolina and the Coca Cola 600. The trees are all around and form a great canopy. The island is full or historic buildings, sea turtle center, water park, bike paths, and beaches. The campground is in a natural setting befitting the island, no pool but a pleasant place to stay while exploring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
Kind of tight camping. Okay when not full. Lot's of tree canopy. Jekyll is cool to explore. The driftwood beach is beautiful. The old mansions are a great place to spend the day. Lot's of history We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
Nice campground, plenty of trees for shade and about a mile inland from the beach so it reduces wind dramatically. There are many rv spaces and they're tight. The grounds were fairly to very clean. WiFi is advertised but has spotty uptime. Cable works great. Bathrooms need remodeling; not all toilets were working properly; they were working on that as we left. Lots of long term people staying for the winter (probably 60%). In March the campground was 90%+ full. There are kids playing in the streets. Bikes welcome! The campground did get pretty quiet just after dark before 9:00pm. It's about a 3 mile bike ride to town, perhaps a little longer. There's an ocean breeze that you'll need to contend with. It's about 1 mile from the beach and a fishing pier. Jekyll has wonderful paved bike trails all over. We will be back next year, perhaps in April when it gets a little warmer. If the bathrooms were in better shape this would be a 9 or 10 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$37
Nice campground, but tight to move around in. Very well shaded. WiFi is advertised but has spotty uptime - major equipment problems this winter. Didn't work at all during our stay. Lots of long term people staying for the winter. In mid-Jan, campground was 75%+ full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We did not enjoy this campground. We thought it was not kept up well and there were tons of kids in the streets. It rained the entire weekend and the sites were under water. All our stuff was floating by the time we needed to pack up. The staff does show you to your site, but that is about it. We don't plan on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
Big clean park. Bathhouse needs remodel. Bike rental on site. Propane fill station. An air station for you to fill rafts, tires, ect. Small store in the office with random supplies and food. Great for the stuff you forget. Great place to visit with the kids. Stayed in early June. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
We spent a week here and found this to be a pretty good park, primarily because of its location to other amenities. It's right on the bike paths that lead you all over the island. It's across the street from the salt marsh, which affords beautiful sunsets. This is all good. The sites are small and close together, allowing for little privacy. Even when the park is only 1/4th full, they put all campers in the same row. One on top of another. Stupid management! Although they advertise Wi-Fi, NO ONE could get it to work during our week here (including the staff). The rest rooms are clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$29
Jekyll Island is a great laid back location for a campsite. Nice beaches great walking/bicycle paths all round the island. Unfortunately they've tried to squeeze in far too many sites in this campsite. If it weren't for the trees it would look like a parking lot. WiFi is free and there seems to be a good signal everywhere. For this area I think Blythe Island Regional Park offers a much better campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
Really enjoyed this Campground, very shaded so no satellite but they have cable. The weather was great in March, not too hot and no bugs yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Man, do I love Georgia. Nice CG and wonderful folks. Everyone seems to really enjoy themselves around here. The island offers a lot to do and the preserve of the trees and nature trails really allows for a peaceful vacation spot. The early morning walks on the beach are a lot colder this time of year than where we just left in the Florida Keys, but the ambiance is fantastic. There is not too many good places to eat on the island, so either cook by the grill, or head over to Brunswick or enjoy dining on SSI. I would recommend this stay to anyone. Especially when they open the Water Park in the Summer. I guess that's why they call it Summer Waves. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$23
We stayed here 7 days in November. The campground is very nice and heavily wooded. Your dish will probably not work here, but the office has wireless internet throughout the CG. However, browsing was slow due to the heavy use at peak times. Early in the morning and after 10 pm browsing was good. The CG was completely booked when we were there and we only got to stay because someone else had cancelled. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We rented bikes from the CG for several hours to explore the island with the bike. It was great and there are many things to see. The nature preserve with its trails is very nice and you can see a lot of wildlife. The weather was warm when we camped here and the no-seeums and mosquitos were at a moderate level at night. The CG was very quiet at night and there wasn't much traffic even though it was full. We were assigned a pull thru site in the front and had no problems setting up. We would stay again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$31
Campground sites can be tight in certain areas if you have a big rig.The 50 amp sites are easier to get into, not as tight. The campground management does a good job assigning sites based on rig size. Cable TV and free wi-fi reception were good at my site. Bathrooms could use some modernizing, but were cleaned daily. Great bike riding on the entire island. Some of the sites were close together, but not a problem for us. Workampers lead you to your site even when the office is closed. Overall, a great experience for us. They have weekly get together for both the seasonal and weekend guests including Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$29
Jekyll Island Campground is beautiful campground on one of Georgia's most beautiful Islands. The campground is covered with old, moss covered live oaks and is real shady. The roads are dirt, but they water the entrance and dust really isn't a big problem. The bath houses are old, but clean and even though we didn't use them, would have felt comfortable using them. There is a well stocked store with reasonable prices. They offer bike rentals by the hour or day and Jekyll Island has bike trails all the way around the island. They have added WiFi since our last visit, but coverage was "iffy" near the back of the park. They have "seasonals" on a number of the sites, but they have managed it so that it still looks like a campground. Everything from tent trailers to big class A's are spread around the park. Tents are mostly in a couple of beautiful, secluded places on either side of the park. We liked the place so much we made reservations for next year. We did notice a couple of things that had changed this year that we didn't like as well as past visits. Someone has gone sign crazy. There are signs everywhere and they really distract from the beauty of the park. Also they have installed speed bumps. I had never seen speed bumps on a dirt road before, but they have them. We had never noticed a problem with speeding in the park, but someone there must have. They're not as big a deal as the signs, but we felt an unnecessary aggravation. All in all, it's a great place to spend a weekend or the winter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$34
Nice, clean, shady park. No bugs in October when we were there. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
The park is an OK park in an old oak tree setting. Island is very nice. We stayed over the labor day weekend and the park was very crowded and very noisy. Mosquitoes were a bit of a problem but not too bad. Sites were very small and the owners obviously packed in as many people as they could. With so many people, the bath houses were not big enough to handle the crowd and tended to get very messy. If the sites were spread out more and the bath houses updated, this would be an excellent park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
This is a wonderful park on a beautiful island. Nestled in a deep oak hammock, all sites are heavily shaded keeping things pretty cool on a hot summer's day. Forget about your satellite, too many trees for that; but they offer free cable tv and their free wi-fi is as good as it gets. Previous reviews complain of mosquitos, poor cable tv reception and untrimmed trees. All the trees in the park are trimmed and we had no problems with our 42' rig.. the cable reception is a problem on the entire island so there is nothing the park can do to improve this... and mosquitos?? Hello... sitting in a forest surrounded by marsh I promise there will always be mosquitos. Blaming the park for mosquitos is like blaming them for bad weather.. Jekyll Island is the best kept secret of all the barrier islands... and there's no better place to stay while visiting than here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
Dusty should have ran water ruck around the whole camp ground instead of just the main road . A pool would be nice to help beat the heat . Bugs where not to bad for south georgia. We will be back again . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
An OK park in an outstanding natural, tall-tree setting (few mosquitoes in May.) WIFI was excellent, but the CATV reception at our site was only fair. The bath houses, while marginally clean enough, are very dated in terms of stalls, shower heads, lack of soap dishes and shower curtains. Excellent bike rental so you can tour this beautiful island at a leisurely pace. In view of the total lack of competition, this park is better than it has to be. However, with a bit of upgrading in the bath houses, it would be outstanding! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
When it comes to natural beauty, it doesn't get any better than this park! The moss draped "Live Oak" trees, as the locals call them, are everywhere. The campground was quiet and relaxing. If you are going for some R & R, this is a good place. There is really not much else to do in the campground itself. There are many squirrels here and they are so tame that they will come and eat, right out of your hand. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground is situated across the street from the beach, however the beaches were disappointing. There was not a lot of sand or waves. If you enjoy history there is plenty here to see by walking, or by over twenty miles of level bike trails. There are also tram and horse drawn carriage tours of the historic district. You can also go horse back riding on the beach here. There are not many restaurants on the island. We enjoyed our stay here but do not plan on returning because of the mosquitoes. I've lived all my life in the south, but in all my 46 years, I've never seen anything like the number of mosquitoes here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
This is the second time we stayed here, fell in love with the place the first time (May 2004), the racoons were a bit of a menace the first time but were not this time, love the peace and quite of the park and the big sites. We had plenty of room both times. We love the bike trails, and the fishing pier directly across from the campground. It is a nice bike ride down to it. The management is very friendly and helpful. Thanks so much for the great time can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$26
Stayed over Memorial Day weekend and the campground was full. Roads are dirt and even though they watered the main roads there was still dust due to the amount of traffic. Campsite was large and shaded. Had read mosquitos were bad, but found them to be no worse than anywhere else. Check in staff seemed efficient and friendly but busy. Tents, campers and motorhomes were all mixed together. Would stay again. As an aside stay away from Sea Jays "restaurant" at the marina. Food was terrible, service non-existent, saw a roach and they carried out dripping trash beside our table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
A well run, well maintained family campground. When you arrive, they lead you to your site in a golf cart and will help you into your site if you need help. Read some previous bad reviews about bugs but did not have a problem at the end of March (Easter weekend) other than early morning and dusk gnats. The grounds are beautiful with huge old oak trees that are well trimmed and maintained (no overhead clearance problems). Some of the biggest oaks I have ever seen. Bikes are a must. Lots and lots of paved bike paths on the island. It would be nice if there were a few more small or low-key eating places on the island. There is nothing after 4pm under around $16-18/person to eat. The island is beautiful and the campground is great. We stayed a week and I hated to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$30
I don't know if I liked the campground or the island more - it was a fabulous place. The site was large and shady, although it was Jan. when we visited there and no leaves on the trees. The bike paths around the island are wonderful and very pretty. The fishing pier is across from the entrance to the campground. The staff was friendly and helpful and just a great place to visit. We wished we had stayed an extra couple of days there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2004
$26
Beautiful campground on a beautiful island. Mostly dirt sites, under tall shade trees just across the street from the beach. Well maintained grounds, sites, and store. Only drawback was that you're charged $3.00 every time you cross the bridge onto Jekyll Island -- doesn't matter if you're paying the camping fee, you still have to pay again if you leave the island and want to go back to your rig. People in the store were not terribly friendly, but they were efficient. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We visited this park over Easter. I really liked this campground. However with just a LITTLE bit of extra effort this place could really be a showplace. The sites are large, level and shaded. the bathhouses were just adequate. Could have been MUCH cleaner. Absolutely nothing for children as far as the campground is concerned (no playground, pool, gameroom, activities) The bugs were bad but just spray about three time a day from head to toe with DEEP WOODS OFF and you will be fine. Regular OFF did not work. We loved the bike trails and the beautiful beach here. The entire island is set-up for biking. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
We were there in January so bugs were not a problem. Lots of trees so shade is not a problem. Long Term people with sat TV did some creative placements to get reception. People in office were very polite and helpful. Campground is not near major attractions on the island. Bicycling is easy with excellent trails and flat terrain. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
This is an excellent family campground in a friendly enviornment. It is the only campground on the island. Jekyll Island is part of the Golden Islands of Georgia. It is located near Brunswick, Georgia. St. Simon Island is only a short drive away. Most of the island is a state park. There are many beaches, tourist activites including a water park. I would highly recommend this unique park. There is something for children including fishing and swimming. Senior citizens will enjoy the historical buildings on the island. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Buggy yes, so bring a can of Off! Very well run campground and very friendly staff. Close to 20 plus miles of flat paved bike trails, golf course, fishing pier and beautiful historic Jekyll Island Club Hotel. This is a laid back easy going place. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Had reservation for three weeks before going - they put us in a site that was too small - lots of trees and not much room to move around plus we had asked for 50 amp service and the site had only 30. After going back to the office the mgr. stated he had taken the reservation and did not know what had happened. He did find us a space but the mosquitos were not good. Additionally, our dog who only goes out to the bathroom and back in the motor home got several tics. The office will tell you when you check in to cover your mirrors as the woodpeckers like to peck at them. Just too many trees and bugs, otherwise this is a good campground. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$16
Went tent camping with family 5-2002. From Savannah Georgia so we are used to the heat and bugs, but in all our years we have never seen bugs as bad as this. Forcaster commented of coastal cooling but we never felt a breeze! Mosquitos in swarms! Section J is near a public road which had houses partying till 1 AM (music)and then the garbage trucks picked up Sunday morning at 7:30AM. Worse camping trip we have had. Chatham County sprays for Mosquitos, I guess Glynn does not. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$24
One word: "Mosquito's". The campground sits far enough away from the beach that you do not get a breeze to keep the mosquito's in check. They seriously curtail outdoor activity unless you coat yourself in repellent. Should have known something was wrong when checking in and there was a sign at the desk that said "no refunds due to insects". The campground itself is very nice: very clean restrooms, totally shaded, and within biking distance to the beach and fishing pier. All of this was overshadowed by the insect problem. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com