218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Whaleshead Beach Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (541) 469-7446
CGID9040

Whaleshead Beach Resort

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   4   8   9   9   10   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
This park gets a 7 because of the natural beauty. There are a lot of residents, but they are friendly. The park does not appear to enforce the residents to keep their sites tidy so it takes away from the overall appeal. Some of the sites are not very level and they are difficult to back into with all of the trees, especially in a class A over 36 feet. The restaurant is closed, but that information is correctly advertised on their website. The "tunnel" is actually a culvert that goes under the 101. The RV park is situated below the main resort area, so the reception, at least for Verizon, was next to nothing. There's free WiFi available at the office/restaurant building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
Rate shown includes cable TV charge. Site was an unlevel gravel back-in. It had a concret patio and table. Nice landscaping throughout the park. Most sites occupied by permanent residents it seems as I never did run into any other transients. Good cable TV. The Wi-Fi only available up at the restaurant. It is okay to sit at a table and use the Wi-Fi without ordering a meal. I was somewhat disappointed that the beach trail from the park was impassable due to high water. Our park info map did say boots were required to use it, but you would need hip waders. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
This is a great park, but might be a little tight for big rigs if you are squeamish. We had a 43' Motorhome, and received many comments on our success at getting parked. There is a really neat path through a tunnel to the Whale's Head Beach, a nice little on-site restaurant with bar, and very, very friendly staff. Lots of shade and a very good price/value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
This park in on a quite steep hill, paved roads and sites with some grass and tables. The road turns and backing into the sites can be a challenge. We successfully backed a 40 foot motorhome into our site but if the sites across the road were occupied it could have been worse. Needed to do some minor tree trimming to extend all the slides as the park maintains the grass but the sites are not as good. RV also needed some leveling boards under the tires to keep the jacks from lifting some wheels off the ground. Water pressure is fine. This was a 30 amp site and it had voltage issues, no load was 115 to 119 volts but when put a load on would drop to 105 to 110 volts. The on site restaurant had good food and service. All in all I'd look for another park next time. Rate reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
The restrooms and showers need updating: very creepy. This park is well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful especially one gentleman. This is a great location to coast and city. Has nice trees and gravel sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This park got a nine because the Wi-Fi is in the restaurant which closes at 8 PM. We came here because of the Wi-Fi and it was raining and I was not going to walk all the way up to the restaurant for the Wi-Fi. Should have stayed at the nearby state park. Eventually got the Wi-Fi with my antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
This RV park is beautifully located just a short drive or walk to a stunning beach. The park, itself is very clean and the sites are spacious with each site having a small patio and deck for the picnic table. The grounds are very well kept and nicely landscaped. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The rate was one of the lowest we paid over the course of a two week road trip. We would highly recommend this park and can't wait to go back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Staff was friendly and helpful. Sad news is the number of true RV sites is dropping. Many sites are being replaced by "Park Model" trailers and being sold for long term owners. Otherwise a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Nice location. Not at all easy to navigate through the park. If you're not confident in maneuvering there are a lot of other RV parks down the road. Quiet, which is what we look for. Satellite is iffy depending on the site you're in, we requested another site from the one originally given so we could get service. Verizon phone is on one bar but worked OK. Not easy to walk anywhere as it is steep which ever way you go. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We stayed here on a recommendation from a friend. Very nice RV park. There are RV sites and cabins. Some of the cabins are owned and people live in them full time. Others are owned but rentals. Cabins are on one side of the park. The park is very hilly and the cabins are up on the top and the RV sites in the lower area. Site large enough for our 32 ft trailer and then some. We were unable to get cell phone reception because we were down in the lower area. But no worries,we just took a hike up the hill! If you have trouble walking be advised you are either going up or going down. The "tunnel" to the beach is really a huge storm drain, actually 3 of them. But serves well as a fun little hike to the beach. Bring a flashlight! No WiFi, but we had a wireless card so no worries for us. Really nice place and the best part is the price. $25.00 a night! Oh, if you want cable TV, it is $1.50 more. If you are going through Brookings, it is worth a stop! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
This is a very nice RV park resort, The office staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant attached to the office / store. The food was very good as we did eat there after we got our rig parked and all hooked up. The park is very hilly and some RV pads are not very level. We were in site OL14 in the Orca Loop which is on a hill side over looking the lower RV sites and it had a very nice view. Our site had a cute little wood deck with a picnic table on it that extended out over hill side. A lot of the upper RV sites have these wood decks. Our site pad was fairly level and clean. They have Wi-Fi but it was only available within the office or restaurant. The restroom I used was not very clean considering this park is well kept. There are a lot of permanent cabins that you can rent or purchase. There is also a culvert like tunnel that goes under the highway to access the beach, but we were told you would get wet walking through the tunnel, So we chose to drive down to the beach instead. The beach parking area had restrooms and picnic tables and was nice with lots of beach area to relax on. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a beautiful RV park! The restrooms were clean and the showers were almost as good as at home, lots of water pressure and free to boot! The laundry facilities were very nice and quite economical. When we checked in and headed to our site we thought the one across the way looked nicer and they let us camp there, no questions asked. We didn't stay in one of the cabins but spoke to other people there that really liked them. If you get the chance to go, head a little north out of the campground and look for Indian Sands. A short walk will take you to an amazing natural wonder! The only downfall of our visit was that the tunnel to the beach was very dark and you had to walk thru knee high water to get to the beach. It would have been nice to be forewarned that you need a flashlight and to be prepared to get wet. Because the tunnel was impassable, we chose to drive to the beach, though it wasn't far at all. We are looking forward to our next stay at Whaleshead! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This park is mostly made up of permanent residents and park model rentals. We were across from the building that housed the laundromat and restrooms. They had six washers and dryers which was nice, but the facility wasn't the cleanest. The bathrooms needed lots of attention. We never saw the managers out taking care of the park. They had some pretty flowers, but the grass was dead. They advertise a tunnel to Whaleshead Beach but there are no lights in it so we drove over instead. It wasn't necessary to have but we didn't have Internet service or a cell phone signal. Their satellite TV was very good. Their restaurant was nice (very good clam chowder) and you could get wi-fi there if you needed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com