223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Thunder Bay Golf & RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (989) 742-4502
CGID9046

Thunder Bay Golf & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   10   9   8   7   10   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
The biggest downside to Thunder Bay is location. It's in the middle of nowhere. On the other hand if you play golf, like solitude, and nature, it's ideal. The Wi-Fi runs 5/3 Mbps down/upload speeds that put it in the upper bracket of campgrounds. Cable TV is okay not really outstanding. Networks through our RV outside antenna was very good. There's a horse drawn wagon and gourmet dinner available that others have said is terrific. We didn't go to it. All roads and pads are asphalt and level. Campground personnel is very cordial and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
A great place to stay with a great golf course if you want to play. If not, you will find it a wonderful place to use as a base to visit many of the sites in the area. Big Rig Friendly. Don't miss the Elk viewing ride and gourmet dinner. It is fantastic and in a wonderful setting and lovingly prepared by one of the owners. You will really enjoy the five course meal including wine and a wine tasting. This is primarily an adult park, but families who are traveling the area will enjoy the stay as well. Kid facilities and activities are limited in the park, but are available in the area. The park is limited to self-contained RV's and there are no separate restrooms or showers, so you have to rely on your unit for those necessities. All in all a very nice place to stay and enjoy. Hosts and owners and staff are wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
First-class RV park with big rig amenities including some of the fastest Wi-Fi I've encountered on the road. You must be self-contained, as there is no shower house. The sites are beautifully landscaped and include a patio/apron with wrought-iron table/chairs (a very nice touch). There's a covered pavilion w/gas grill that's available for use by RV Park guests. It's near the fire circle & horseshoe pits. The park is golf-side so just a few steps to the 1st tee, Pro Shop and Clubhouse Grill. The course was in excellent shape and very playable. The grill, surprisingly, makes one of the best pizzas anywhere. The fish fry on Friday was also excellent. We didn't go in any of the rooms, but the lodging/hotel looked nice. We did take the Elk View Carriage Ride that included dinner & wine tasting. This is the resort's "signature" event & it was well worth the expense. Dinner at a cabin in the woods is cooked on old wood stoves & is delicious. Service was impeccable and the owner's made us feel like we were the most important guests they'd ever entertained. The carriage that took us out to the cabin was pulled by Belgian horses that were as majestic as the elk we saw on the way. This is not a resort for anyone looking for "daycare" for young children. Although there is a small playground, the only other activity that might be suitable for children is river tubing--though they do have some very nice bikes for rent. We stayed at Thunder Bay Resort because it was affordable and gave us a central location for places we wanted to see in the area. It's only 20 or so miles to Lake Huron where we visited the Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary and the Great Lakes Maritime Heritage Center. Admission to the Heritage Center is free!! The glass-bottomed boat tour of the shipwrecks was a big hit with everyone in our group & we were close enough to make Machinaw Island a day trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
This is a great park that is well maintained, open sites, and friendly staff. We did not play golf, but course looks inviting. We were in the area visiting friends so it was an exceptional find in NE Michigan. We did not have a chance to try their restaurant. The drawback is the lack of things to do in this area, but if you want to relax and/or play golf this is the place to stay. I wish there were more parks like this in Michigan. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
Paved roads and sites, minimal leveling required. Friendly professional office staff and camp host. Escort to site. No problems with water or power, fast free WiFi. No bath house, laundry 1 mile away in town. Not much to do in the area except exploring Alpena or playing golf. Still, this is a great place to decompress. No pool or playground, so the kiddies will probably be bored. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Nice, quiet park. Sites were easy pull-throughs with paved parking. A great place to stay while exploring the area (don't miss Alpena's Maritime Museum). Exactly what you'd expect staying at a Golf Course, lots of campers who leave early in the morning and don't return until afternoon. Very friendly staff, would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Nice quiet small park on a nice looking golf course. We enjoyed our stay here. The site was pretty level although they are fairly close. The sites and streets are paved. Not much for children to do but for us that made it a quiet place to rest for a few days. No laundry facilities, etc. We would recommend it for this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We were pleasantly pleased with this park. The facility is absolutely beautiful. The pull-through sites are all paved with large patio areas. Each site has a well manintained grass area. We enjoyed the covered pavilion which allowed us to have meals and games with our other campers. We also made use of firepit with plenty of firewood provided. It was an easy walk to the restaurant for their delicious Friday night fish fry. We will definitely return again and again. This is one of the nicest RV parks we have been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Very Clean and quiet. Even though we do not golf we enjoyed our week here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Stayed here for a little over a week. They have no restrooms or showers. Wi-Fi is poor, and there wasn't hardly anyone else here. Spaces are long but narrow, and aren't really set up for motorhomes. Staff is friendly except for one woman, who was very rude and matter of fact. Owner is not very friendly at all. Will not be back!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Great sites with WI-Fi, cable TV and full hookups. Its not a place for the kiddies. It has a great 18-hole golf course and a fantastic elk viewing ride through the woods to a fabulous dinner. There is no pool, laundry room, or showers so you have to be self-contained. It has all pull through sites and is big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
This is a great place to stay in NE Michigan. The RV park is small, clean, and well taken care of. No showerhouse, but that's not a problem for most of us RVers. We're big golfers and they have a beautiful course - with very reasonable rates. The Clubhouse is just pitching wedge away from the RV park, so we could easily walk back and forth. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the Clubhouse Grill so I hardly had to cook while we were there. Best of all, the Carriage Ride to see the Elk and have dinner at the remote cabin was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. We saw elk in velvet and new babies with their moms. The food was spectacular - exceeded only by the service and personal attention. Don't miss this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com