223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Callaway Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (403) 240-3822
CGID9089

Callaway Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   6   6   6   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
We usually stay at Calaway campground when we travel through Calgary. It is clean and easy to access off of hwy 1. Staff is friendly and helpful. Check in isn't until 1 pm, so if you're wanting to go to Calaway park, you have to park in the parking lot and wait till then. We had reserved a site, so it wasn't really an issue. We weren't allowed early check in (we tried). Biggest downfalls are a) showers are not included with the camping fees. They are 2.00 for 5 mins and b) there is no playground or activities for children. A play area would be a good addition. That is the reason for the 8 rating, otherwise it would be higher. Good camping overall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This park has clearly been designed by someone who has never owned / used / seen an RV! Hookups were spaced apart so poorly that we had to go to an RV supply store to buy longer connections for water & power! We never even tried to hook up to sewer. That was a nightmare itself, as it runs uphill! The only positive I can see about this park is the proximity of the amusement park. If you don't have little kids, pick somewhere else to stay! Most RV parks are throwing in wi-fi for free. Callaway charges a ridiculous $10 / day for internet access. The other thing is they are less than accommodating when it comes to moving sites. We had opted to move from a partial-service site to full-service where there were lots of open sites; in fact, the one they put us in hours later was vacant when we wanted to move. Instead, they had us drive down to the amusement park's overflow parking & wait til 2 PM! It was inconvenient for us, and from what we could see, completely unnecessary. Would we stay here again? Only if there wasn't another RV park or Walmart in the area! And there usually is. In other words, no, we wouldn't stay here again. Nor would we recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Located next to water park, if you have children they would probably love it. Park was clean, new laundry and restroom facilities. Sites are basic gravel and not very level and had poor drainage. We had a thunder storm and our site was flooded. Stayed to see Calgary Stampede. Park provided shuttle service to and from Stampede twice daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The real advantage of this RV park is the combination deal of Amusement park passes, meal vouchers and RV park rental. There is one side of the park which has a few trees, whereas the area we had was in an open field with quite a slope toward the west. It rained/ and then hailed while we were here and this explains the slopes at calgary RV parks, so that the water leaves quickly. As Campgrounds go, it is pretty poor, however as a RV park it is ok and the Park deal is the reason you would stay at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$01
We stayed in this CG this June. It is great for kids since it is in the Calaway Park grounds. The other side benefit was that there were lots of other kids for our kids to make friends with. There are a couple of open areas for the kids to play, that are very visible from nearly all sites. The downside is the actual sites. The size, slope and location of services are all issues. The sites are quite small. They are usually long enough. We had room for our 45' MH and tow vehicle. The widths are narrow though. Nearly every site has a significant slope. Either front to back or side to side. The services are the most frustrating though. The services are in the middle of two sites, so you share the post. It's not too bad if you get one on the convential side (left), but the other half of the sites of course will put you on the right side. This along with the fact that the posts are at the beginning of the lot mean that you have to stretch out a lot of cable and hose to reach. Even longer if you are parked on the wrong side of the services. We originally had that happen, but requested a different site (the next one over). After a bit of groaning from the folks running it, they agreed to allow us to park in the next site over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to Calgary. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
A poor excuse for a campground. It is nothing but a large, open field. It's only saving grace is that it is right beside Callaway Amusement Park. There are no fires allowed. The wind will carry away poorly secured items. The store is run by Callaway employees, which means that there are 16 year old kids looking after the place. There is Wi-Fi, but no one working at the office, you need the password. The washrooms were cleaned once a day, and were disgusting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com