221611 User submitted reviews online!!
Hawthorn County Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (812) 462-3225
CGID9094

Hawthorn County Park

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   6   6   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
This is a county park with a lot of beautiful trees. Unfortunately the paved roads are very narrow with sharp turns. We drive a 34 foot motorhome and pull a car behind us. While trying to find a spot we had to unhook our car from the tow dolly to navigate a turn. When we called to make a reservation we asked if they had full hookup (water, electric and sewer). When we got there we were told no sewer, just a dump site. We decided to deal with it. We ended up not staying as the electric and water hook ups were about 100 feet apart and we could hook up to one but not the other. For us it was a very poor layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$49
We stayed three nights. Very small spaces, had to go out and move my truck for they could come in with a motor home. Really not a place to park tow truck. Lots are really close together a picnic table can fit in between. Could never get cable to work. WIFI worked for me but not wife's computer. Couldn't put dish up a lot of trees, trees not bad really. The people where nice that checked us, when they finally got to the desk, we arrived at three pm. It took for ever to get checked in. If I was to stay another three nights I'D find another place, I would stay one night if I had to. 1st KOA I stayed in and they do want to nickel and dime you. My guests drove in, picked us up and the owner didn't say any thing, but the owner didn't see it, either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
We were just overnighting, and always prefer a state/county/local park to a commercial one. Well, until now. Very friendly (but rather too chatty) host apologized for the state of some of the campsites when we got here. Then he proceeded to place us (in an otherwise empty park) smack-dab in the middle of a 3-RV party group. Our site was literally inside the party lights circle. So, back we went to ask for a different site. Took that one and, after 2 tours of the very leafy campground, realized that there were a number of homeless families living here. So, that's what he was referring to when we checked in. We were left counting our blessings. You are not allowed to leave water hose hooked up, so fill up before you get settled. We ended up not taking a hike in the morning, and just leaving, but it did look like there were trails. But everything is very overgrown and any kind of height (over 10') will scrape the trees. Price is right, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
On this review I will be judging the campground and my experience in it. The campground is part of a county park and the area here is quite large and includes nice hiking trails around the lake and surrounding wooded area and on the dam on the south side of the lake. The trails are well maintained, wide and family friendly. The lake is stocked and we saw a number of people fishing, with positive results! While there is no access to a pool here there is a lake with a beach that allows swimming and has a lifeguard during the summer months. On the south side of the park is access to a city trail that is several miles long for walkers and cyclists to use. The campground area also features a playground with a few things for the children as well as two shower houses. The one we used, closest to the entrance, was clean and usually empty; we never waited during our stay. The campground does not have water hookups at each campsite but the water faucet was very close to ours so we placed a splitter on it and left our camper connected with the permission of the staff, who is very friendly here. The two problems we ran into were the shower houses were closed for more than 24 hours consecutively during our stay, and there is a problem with leaving at night. The park closes at 10, and we had to leave for a sick family member and found the gate closed and locked. An inspection of the gate gave us an easy exit (without damaging anything) and as I was leaving an employee from the parks department, who was off of work, arrived and told me I was not allowed to leave, and as I was opening the gate I was grabbed, and the local authorities had to be called. Upon returning I found that a parks department employee stays near the shower house overnight, and if he were aware of my leaving this might have been a far easier event. Upon leaving we found the dump station (open hole, no adapter) near the guard shack that was very easy to access. Overall I would recommend the campground, but make sure you have your own shower ready just in case, and alert the staff near the shower house if you are leaving after hours. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$88
Stayed here on our way back from Cedar Point. In a weeks time the cabin we were staying in went from no tv and no chair to having both plus cable. Also the floor had been redone in the cabin and a fence put up around it. Nice little campground for a over night. don't know if there a lot to do around there but if your looking for some place to over night this is a good one. friendly staff and quiet all night. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
This is a very KID friendly park. They do not have a pool, but there is a very nice beach that has lifeguards and is open from 9 till 6, or something around there. There are great playgrounds, and very nice trails. There are pull-through sites, there are actually 15 of them. All sites are wooded, and shady! There are 2 shower houses, and both are nice. I have never had to wait in line! No water hook-up, BUT there is water every 100 ft, so it's not bad. You are allowed to run a hose to fill your tanks, as long as you remove it. Overall, great place to camp, and not expensive! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$15
For an older county park, this was very nice. Good hiking trails and a lake for swimming and fishing. There were a lot of tent campers, popups and smaller RVs. A large RV will have trouble getting through the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com