214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Little Ocmulgee State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (229) 868-7474
CGID911

Little Ocmulgee State Park

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   10   10   9   9   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
We stayed in February when the weather was particularly nice. The campground was mostly unpopulated, which we really appreciated. There is a lake with a beach and a miniature golf set up. The state park offers several pavilions for larger gatherings. There is also a lodge with a restaurant. There is a golf course on the extensive grounds. I'm not sure about restaurant's hours of operation during busier seasons. I do know it was closed on Sunday night in February. The campground is adequate. The bathhouse was clean. Some sites have sewer hook up. Most don't. We biked the mile and half into town for groceries. The trail in the park is quite sandy for off-road biking. So we walked. We are two retirees, and we felt as though two days here was enough to satisfy. There didn't seem to be any attraction in the surrounding area. Golfers and folks with children would probably enjoy the amenities during warm weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
This park is clean, shaded pretty well, sites mostly level, clean new bathrooms, quiet though somewhat close together. We paid $24 for senior rate (reg. rate is $30) PLUS $5.00 parking, so that is $29. ALL sites pay parking. The cable did not work and we were told we could move, however it was early evening, after a 300 mile drive, all set up getting dinner started and leaving early the next morning, that was not an option. We would have enjoyed seeing the news and relaxing with favorite shows. Also, with no sewer we thought it was a bit pricy. They did come out to fix it but were unable to. They basically said too bad. No refund or credit. As we travel a great deal, this was an unusual situation for us. We rarely have a problem. We are pretty easily satisfied. Not this time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
Wide, gravel covered, back in sites with good privacy. Very new and clean bathroom and showers. Wi-fi good at lodge and 60+ cable channels available. Good lunch buffet at lodge, but dinner menu is mediocre. Golf course has good layout, but somehow they have lost the greens. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
The campground was really nice very clean and for the most part the staff was friendly. For the most part all the sites were pretty level and very spacious. Had real nice play grounds for the kids to play on. There was also a splash pad for the kids to get wet ($3 charge). They have a beach area for the lake but the lake had lots of lily pads that had grown up in that area. The Park was really nice and we will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Very handy when traveling on Rt 441. State park with a pool and restaurant up at the lodge. Large sites and cable TV. Power was a little low at 104 volts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Paid $28 less 20% senior discount for a 40' site. As reviewed in Dec '08 and by others, most sites have some grade to them. There are quite a few back-in sites that are nice and level for MH's. One thing I did not care for was having to go to the lodge to check-in. There is no RV parking there and if it was busy it could become a problem. Being April we were able to play the golf course which is a nice layout. No discounts for being in the CG though. Verizon cell and broadband both very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
Another hidden jewel in Georgia's State Park system. Quiet, off the interstate but not remote. Golf, fishing, geo-caching, walking the nature trails or just relaxing in the shaded sites your choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
The park is beautiful with large, neat and clean sites. Golfers can walk from their RVs to a beautiful looking golf course. There is one excellent hiking trail. The Lodge looked good although we didn’t go there for dinner. Unfortunately, if you are not a golfer, there is not much here for you. The nearest town looks as though it is suffering some economic hardship. The bathrooms need updating but construction of a new one is underway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Really like this park. It was our first time here. Sites plenty large enough and wide enough. Lots of shade. Has a golf course but we didn't use it. Can't really canoe in lake as it is grown over with weeds. Has a pier. Two walking/hiking trails. Also has a water splash area for the kids. I would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This lovely, hilly campground is convenient for us to overnight as we travel Hwy 441 between Florida and North Carolina. Follow the signs for check-in: sometimes we’ve been directed to the campground, and other times to the park’s lodge. There are paved roads and gravel campsites; many of the pull-through campsites are not level for a 32’ motorhome with toad, but spacing is good. Cable TV is included, with lots of channels. There are large trees in the campground, though not all campsites are shaded during the hot summer months. The lake, adjacent to the campground, is temporarily closed; the drought of 2008 and 2009 caused an invasive aquatic vegetation problem in the lake. Price is for seniors with Georgia State Park pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This park is great. You have everything to play with in this park. You have two loops. Loop one has lots of trees, three 50 amp sites, (10) sewer sites, sites have cable TV with lots of channels. Loop two has three sewer sites plus (7) 50 amp sites. Roads in loop two are bad. Found sites to be a little off level front to rear but was not a problem (auto level system). Sites have a nice table and fire ring. Free Wi-Fi in lodge and visitors center as well. The 265 acre lake had been drained due to weeds. Will refill lake in spring. You have 10 cottages plus large number of motel rooms to rent if you need them. Super nice golf course to play on. Bathrooms were clean but shower were not clean, also all bathhouses are dated. Long list of things to do here, great place for kids. We had dinner in lodge three times and found food, service, and prices were very good. People from town come out here to eat. Cost less that in town. McRae is 5 miles south of park for anything you may need. Anyone would be happy here. Nightly rate were for seniors. You will need a park pass or pay the daily rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
I was fortunate to get a good site, but the majority of sites are less than desirable. Security patrols came by frequently. The park and trails are very nice--inviting for families to visit. Water pad for the kids. lots of shelters and picnic areas. and a good size lake (being drained at present). Service at the Lodge Restaurant left something to be desired. Bathrooms are old, but clean and arranged nicely so that one can get dressed without water slurping underfoot. Rate based upon senior discount. Regular rate $23. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$23
We stayed in site five and had no problems leveling. We went to three park events over the weekend, a campfire program, breakfast with Santa Clause, and a Christmas craft making program. We also went geocaching in the park. There are three caches in the park that were not there the last time we camped here. WiFi is not located in the campground. You have to go to the lodge or visitor's center. Had a great weekend and met some really nice people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
$18.40 senior rate paid. The park is a 10, I hedged between an 8 and a 9 because of the campground. Some of the sites are big, beautiful level sites, others are real dogs if you are in a motorhome. A lot have some pretty severe grades to them. We pulled into site 5, a 50amp pull through with sewer, it had at least 1 foot of drop front to back between our jacks. We took a 30amp backin with no sewer instead. Only spent 1 night because of the cold, did not get to play the course. However, we did go to breakfast over at the lodge. Excellent buffet for about $6.50. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
The campground has lots of shade and an abundance of activities. There is an 18 hole golf course on the premises, but not run by the state. It is a nice course with reasonable rates. The restrooms left a lot to be desired, which is why I rated it a 6. There is only one shower in each restroom, and it is not clean at all. There are dump sites available, so I suggest that you take your showers in your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$21
We use this campground as our "break" between NC and St. Augustine, FL as we use US 441 for the trip. It is always clean and quiet with good facilities. There are lots of opportunites for walking or biking. There is a golf course, lodge, etc. on the State Park grounds as well, but the camping area is near the lake and is separate from those facilities. They rent canoes, bicycles, and pedal boats. There is a swimming pool for lodge, cottage, and campground guests only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
The park is beautiful with scenic places to walk near the water. Moss hangs from large hardwoods. We were not impressed with the campsites- they were close together with little privacy. Wireless can be picked up from the parking lot of the lodge. This is a golf course / resort park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
This is a great little state park. There are lots of big oaks with Spanish moss hanging from them. The campsites are large and shady. Lots of walking trails with benches for resting along the way. The lake does have a lot of grass growing in it due to the lake being almost empty for a while which makes it difficult to fish without getting hung up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$21
This was our 5th time camping here. (One of the closest to our home). Last time we were here we had some issues with the restroom facilities not being cleaned over the weekend. However this time the problem had been taken care of. The restrooms were very clean. We enjoyed our visit. The park has a lovely 2.3 mile nature trail that we walked a couple of times. We rented a canoe and paddle through a cypress tree swamp trail. The park had several ranger lead activities that we enjoyed. Most sites are level or near level made of packed gravel. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This was a beautiful campground with numerous amenities. There is an 18-hole golf course, shaded tennis courts, a pool, playgrounds, many group shelters, nature trails, lake, boating (canoe and paddle boat rentals), a lodge, and very nice restaurant. We often camp at Ga state parks but this one is exceptional! Most of the sites are shaded and private. The only thing that would have made it perfect would be camping on the water, that is only afforded to the cabins. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com