218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Mountain Motel, RV Park & Cabins was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (970) 387-5512
CGID9110

Red Mountain Motel, RV Park & Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   7   8   9   9   9   2   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
This is a pretty average campground, but probably one of the best in the Silverton area. The campsites, reasonably level on a gravel bed, are fairly narrow and arranged in a double row, back to back. The utilities all work with no problem. The campground is fairly close to the railroad track, --- only this case it is a bonus --- as one can get a good view of the narrow gauge railroad trains driven by a coal-fired engine carrying sight-seeing passengers to and from Silverton two or three times a day. There are no trains at night! I am a little chafed at the high daily rate, as we were part of a large 4-wheeling rally. When we asked for Good Sam discount, we were told no discounts were given to rally participants --- not what we usually encounter when attending rallies. Still we would stay here again as the RV park is convenient to Silverton, and in a pleasant setting; but we would probably be a little more aggressive in trying to get a reasonable daily rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We stayed here for the 2nd time in the last 2 years. The pad sites are a little tight but very long. We had very good 50 amp and great water. The wife loves watching the trains come and go, and they love motorcycles Jeeps and 4 wheelers here. Will be back next year for the RMAR rally. Oh and the owners found a spare set of my motorhome keys and sent them to us, great caring folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Fantastic campground. The owners were very pleasant, he backed my TT in for me. Located next to the Durango-Silverton train tracks, so you can get some great pics of the train as it comes and goes. Bath/showers were cleaned well each morning. We will definitely return the next time we are in Silverton. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
The 21 rate reflects a monthly rate, not nightly. Sites semi graveled, but each year they put in more gravel and sites are better. Drainage can be a problem in heavy rain. GREAT owners who'll bend over backwards to accommodate you. Close to town and all the Silverton area activities. Would stay here again. WiFi was iffy first week or so then got better and was reasonable although not fast, but cell tower is right next to park so we got good ATT and Verizon service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
The campsites are gravel, but there is a wide area between each site which was nice..we weren't looking into our neighbors' windows. The campground is right next to the Durango Narrow Gauge train tracks with extraordinary views of Kendall Mountain. There is some grass, but not enough to keep the area between the campsites from getting muddy if it rains, which it did a lot when we were there. The Wi-Fi was up and down and when the camp host left for the season. It was difficult to get them to reset it. The laundromat is small, but very clean. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We stayed for a month and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Stayed here 5 nights during a cycle meet and loved it. We have been camping in the four corners area for over 25 years but had never stayed in Silverton. It is our loss. We have a 43 ft RV and the owner had us park on the back row overlooking the railroad tracks (steam trains ) and the mountains.. It was perfect. We are coming back next year and look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Owners are very nice. Showed us to our site. VERY clean (new) restrooms. Wi-Fi was great. Jeep rentals on site. (Which we did use. Got a late start, so they let us keep it longer at the end of the day.) Play area for the kids. Near the train (which only runs during the day), kids loved that. Beautiful views in every direction. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
VERY friendly staff. Our site was facing Kendall Mountain and the Narrow Gage Train tracks. Spectacular "front window" view ALL the time. Good wi-fi. Liked this better than another park because we got a better rate, even though it is virtually right next to the Red Mountain facility--only divided by a gravel road. Easy walk to town and all the facilities of Silverton. If you don't like train smoke then ask to be on the north, not south, side of the park. Campground host was always checking with us to see if he could improve our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
I camped here one night. Its amazing that in the middle of a national forest, this campsite had NOT ONE TREE anywhere. There are NO pull through sites that I saw and the RVs are so closely parked together that I had to step on the picnic table to get out of my door. Every inch of the park is gravel or dirt. The cost is VERY high considering what you got in return. I was very disappointed and would NOT recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
Not being familiar with Red Mountain's previous facilities before they purchased the defunct Peaks of Silverton, my report is based primarily on the old Peaks property. Red Mountain does have cabins, so if you want a cabin or motel experience, please give them a call. The owners are nice and our check-in went quickly. By the way, check in at the Red Mountain office located on the main drag, GPS N 37.807190, W 107.668300. Interior roads are good, sites are fairly level and gravel. There is some grass between sites, but it is a little sparse. All of the Silverton campgrounds are extremely busy in the summer, so you best make reservations as far in advance as possible. The campground is very close to the narrow gauge Durango & Silverton tourist steam railway, so you will have a good view of the trains as they come and go. You are within easy walking distance of downtown with several restaurants and boutiques. Rent a Jeep if you don't tow one and go 4-wheeling in the San Juan mountains. Silverton is at about 9,300' of elevation and if coming from the North (Ouray), you will climb to over 11,000'. If you are not comfortable with narrow (in places) two lane mountain roads and no guard rails in many places, you might want to pass this by. If you do make the trip here, the scenery is spectacular and well worth the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
Park is only one year old. Friendly park host! They have monthly rates and take AAA/Good Sam. They have a Jacuzzi, sauna and seven private restrooms with showers. Sites are back-in with good maneuvering room and are long enough for a 40' coach with toad. Gravel roads. Sites fairly close together, but this is very typical of commercial campgrounds in the area (reminded me a lot of Alaskan campgrounds.) Very satellite-friendly which means don't look for shade trees! GPS: 37.8052° N, 107.6672° W. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com