214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Scenic Mountain RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (478) 454-1013
CGID912

Scenic Mountain RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   6   8   10   7   6   6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We stayed one night to get our son registered at Georgia College. Only minutes away. Very pleased with our stay, very large sites and very friendly staff. We will stay here for all our future visits while son goes to college. You can arrive early and leave as late as 7 PM without additional charge, which works great for our needs. Thanks for a great stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
Rate cited reflects a Passport America discount. Overnight stop but would stay longer if planned. Gracious hostess and great service. Sites are fine. A nice breeze on the ridge. Needs a little TLC but overall and excellent stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Very nice park with friendly staff. Sites not too level (two wheels off the ground to level). Surprising amount of road noise. Several permanent residents. Would stop again on the way through. Price represents Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
A little off the beaten path but for those leaving I-75 and going to I-20 (east bound) and wanting to avoid Atlanta, this is a great park. People are so friendly and the rate is Passport America. We are just here but for one night but this is our 3rd visit. Some of the sites need leveling and more gravel but they are dry. Most sites are back-in but we wanted a pull through and got one. There are new owners so we look forward to improvements when we make our next stop here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
The rate includes a Passport America rate for 2 days. The Wi-Fi was having some problems; I didn't try it after I couldn't get on with the first try. There was plenty of room for our 45' rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
Perhaps the only play in town. WI-FI did not work. Our site had an uphill run to the sewer outlet. Community room seemed to be rented out; it was not available to park users. No storm shelter. No tables at sites. Go slow turning off the highway as there is quite a drop to the driveway. The view was nice however. Nice historic town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$40
I wanted to share that the campground is currently making a transition to new management. The previous owner passed in September, and the bank has taken over the property. I spoke with the new operator and his wife, and I'm extremely happy that the campground is on its way back. The new phone number is (478) 454-013. They are revamping the website, and they advised they will continue to operate the pool. They are also going to partner with the city of Milledgeville and other local attractions to encourage people to use the facility. They also are planning events for the campground such as bluegrass concerts, etc. The facilities are already showing signs of improvement. This is a nice quiet facility and with the pool, is a great family environment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
We were moving between Atlanta and Savannah, and just needed an overnight with sewer hook-ups to dump and fill the tanks. This was a perfect spot in-between, especially with a Passport America rate. The park itself holds a lot of promise. The owners are apparently somewhat new to the location, and we love what they seem to be in process of doing. We loved that there was ample space between the back-in sites, and most had nice overlook views. And the saltwater pool was very refreshing. There is a spa, but it wasn't working on our visit. The campground was relatively empty on our visit, and were given our choice of spots. We at first tried their three pull throughs by the bathhouse so we wouldn't have to unhitch, but the approach to them is really not easy. It's way too tight of a turn. Suggestion to management: Move the wood beams marking the spots further back to allow more swing space. Once we were into the slot however, we realized that the sewer connection is UPHILL of the spot. That's just not going to cut it. So we switched to the pull through spot further down the hill, which the owner had told us is difficult to get level on. It was a bit unlevel, but a couple pieces of wood under the rear tire was able to fix that. It looks like the management is in process of moving out some older long term residents. One area of the park definitely has some very old RVs that are decaying right on site: they're really quite sad looking, and brings down the feel of the park. Once this place is cleaned up, it'll be a great location. Their back in sites really do hold a lot of promise of being an ideal location. Oh, and a warning to Passport America members: the rates published in PA were $17.50, but when we arrived it had gone up to $20. And they accept cash only for PA: which was not disclosed in their listing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Nice park at passport prices. Clean pool and a semi shaded site. Staff are always cordial. Very nice laundry. We always stay for a couple of days when in the area. It's a college town and there are some fun restaurants downtown. We like it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
This is a very nice park check in was a breeze. It is under new ownership within the last year or so. The owners are very friendly, from Colorado and keep the place up nice. There was not a lot of full time residents when we visited. The campground is hilly with nice views, and they keep the sites pretty level (they are gravel). There is a lot of space between you and your neighbor. The water was great too! I would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
The park was a nice park and our club of 18 rigs all stayed together and also used the conference room for our buffet meal and also for gaming the second night. Very nice. the owners were very accommodating to our club and it was appreciated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This was an unexpected gem. We got in way after dark and had been told what spot to go to--one of 3; however, only 1 was vacant by the time we got in. Hilly but easy to get in and out of with their pull-thru. We were close to the laundry and bath and we would not hesitate to use this park again. Had a little trouble with the directions as we used an address for our GPS instead of lat/long which we should have used after dark. Friendly staff, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Nice quiet park. The sites are spacious and you get a nice view of town from the sites at the top of the hill. They have trails for walking and there is a fenced in dog play area. The roads are a little steep but the sites are level. We stayed for a month. That's why we had such a low nightly rate. While we were here they didn't have planned activities, but we were here to relax so that was fine with us. We had good signal strength for our Verizon phones and air card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
The park is hilly, the staff are friendly. The GPS co-ordinates do not take you to the right place. The new directions in the 2010 PA directory are correct. Our GPS did not take us on an easy way to get here! The town has some very nice antebellum homes and some are in dire need of repair. This is a college/university town so lots of young people. The campground is accessible to lots of shopping We would camp here again if in the area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
First: their web directions are wrong; if you follow those you may end up, as I did, in a very bad part of town with few opportunities to turn around. Call for accurate directions. They put me in a part of the campground that is basically a grassy parking lot with hookups. I could see into, and hear phone conversations and television from, the neighboring RV. There were no trees and no landscaping whatsoever near my site, though there were trees near other sites. There were many vacant RVs parked throughout the park, as well as utility trailers. There was a very foul odor at my site. I suspected a septic tank problem, but it may have been a nearby paper mill. It was here when I arrived and here the next day when I left. There were no picnic tables on the property. I was close to the office but WiFi signal was never better than "fair." Verizon had 3 bars. On the plus side: they had a fenced dog run area. It is somewhat scenic. While there was only one Ladies' shower and one Men's shower, it was a roomy area and extremely clean. If not for the odor, this would suffice for a one-night stay. Passport America rate was only $17. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Highly recommended park. Very clean and level sites. Staff is very friendly. Trash pick up at your site. Good views of surrounding mountains and forests. This is our second time here and will return next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
The current reviews pretty much covers it all. The large site, very nice pool and enclosed dog run are nice extras. Staff always there to help. The wireless was useless for me on the upper level. If I stop there again I hope they have upgraded the wireless system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
This is a nice quiet and clean RV park. Plenty of room to maneuver even the largest rig. There is not a lot of shade available at this park so expect it to be hot in the Summer months. It does have excellent cable service and WIFI. The staff were very friendly and the park is well laid out. When the sign says deer crossing, believe it. One crossed our path and ran into the woods shortly after we arrived. The restrooms and showers are private and clean. With the Passport America rate of $15 this park is a bargain. The site had a gravel pad that was fairly level. There is no road noise from any of the surrounding highways. It does have a pay laundry that is also kept clean. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Nice quiet park and a great bargain for Passport America users. We had a site toward the back, great view of sunrise over the tops of the trees. Our site was level, they are working on rebuilding sites. Staff was friendly as were the folks who are seasonal. If in the area again we would stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
This a good clean base campground to take in the local sights and town. A bargain at the Passport American rate of $15/night. The office staff lady was OK, but not overly friendly. I requested a site close to the free WiFi so I didn't have any trouble receiving the signal. The free cable TV was good with about 70 channels. The laundry facility was not adequate for an RV Park of this size. 2 washers and 2 dryers. The local town is considered the "Antebellum Capital of Georgia" The old homes were great to see. There are 2 colleges in the town. Georgia Military College and Georgia College and State University. Fun town. As an added attraction there is an old Georgia State Hospital (mental hospital). It is very Hannibal Lector looking. A must see. Next to it is a correctional facility. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
We camped here in a 37 footer. Very pleasant campground in a nice location with good views. Site allocated was very uneven and narrow. Relocated to next site along which was much better. Wi-Fi variable, signal kept dropping out. Cable TV limited channels, but OK. Only 1 shower and toilet for women and 1 for men, which in probably not enough for a campground of this size. However, they were clean and tidy although we didn't use them. Excellent value on this campground with Passport America discount. Would use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
We stayed here for a wk. on our Passport, but had to extend our stay at the regular rate ($28.00) because of medical reasons. This is a fairly new park & although there were only 2 washers & dryers I had no problem being able to use them. Both Laundry & Restroom facilities were clean. The pool is heated, but we saw no one in it the entire time that we were there. It's right next to the Club House. They were getting ready for their annual music fest, which they have twice a yr. It would have been fun to stick around, but we had to be on our way. The staff was friendly & most helpful. Should you need medical attention while there, you're in a good area. I was impressed at how quickly I was accommodated & how well. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$13
Large sites with good views of the local hills. The new owner is working [very hard] to add to all amenities. The cable system is all inclusive. The laundry only has one washer/dryer. The pool appears to be in the owners yard, but I guess its ok for everyone to use. Close to town that has a huge amount of things to see, as its an old Georgia capital. The tours in town were an added surprise and great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Park was super nice, paved and lighted streets easy access. Sites are large, new local owner has material on site to level and landscape all sites, should be completed by late Sep't. Also new propane refill station installed. I will return one of the most scenic RV parks I have been to, clean quiet, great fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$13
New CG with paved roads. Many sites are not level, we had to move 3 times to get (sort of) level, but not a major issue, lots of space. Most campers are overnighters but about 80% of regulars are working on a construction project. A nice group of people! We will go to this CG on our next visit to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$13
The on site owner continues to add sites and upgrade. All of the interior roads were paved and he had added more sites. There is a new "bluegrass barn" that is used for entertainment and concerts. A restaurant at the front of the campground serves breakfast and lunch. There were two rallys there when we arrived and the way the park is laid out, there was plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$22
This is a new campground with an owner on site. He has developed this rv park with the rver in mind. It is exactly the view you would expect in the foothills of the Appalachians. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com