214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Kelly Park/Rock Springs was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (407) 889-4179
CGID9130

Kelly Park/Rock Springs

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   5   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
We had site #13 and have been here multiple times. Really like the woodsy feel and closeness of the camping area to the tubing area. Campground had noisy people next to us this time. People using loud voices until very early in the morning, not drunk (no alcohol allowed in park, they WILL check) just noisy. It rained at the start of our stay and there was some standing water in a few sites which breeds mosquitos here. Park was very crowded on weekend but quiet during week. Tube run is great and cold. Lots of lifeguards for safety, if you are not acting in a family friendly way you WILL be asked to leave. Park closes from 10a-3p on weekends because of crowding, so get here early or come late. Campers checking in must be IN sites before park closes for night. No late arrivals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
We were in site #13.This is our 4th visit check out reviews on 8/08, 6/09, and 9/10 for full info. We love this park even though the campground is older. It is a short walk to the springs to cool off and there is peace and quiet here. No alcohol or rude behavior is tolerated. I even saw some loud mouthed kids at the springs get their entire family ejected for loud cursing. This is a very family friendly park where they don't put up with rule breakers! The newest thing they have added is the bear proof trash cans in the campground. We saw a young bear checking every trash can in the picnic area this visit. Park is patrolled often by sheriff deputies. The tubing is great and as a camper you can walk the spring trail after the park closes and see lots of wildlife come out. Our site was HUGE and next to the walkway. Lots of shade and they also sell firewood for campers now. Apopka is close by with many stores if you forget anything. Best value in Central FL in our book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
We camped in site #8. Very shady with w/e, fire ring/grill combo, picnic table on a concrete slab. Sites are long enough for the longest RV's. We did have a problem with the power going out, but it was rectified quickly with the ranger. This our 3rd time camping here and we still really like this campground. It is quiet, but close to the river where the tubing is. Park is not crowded during the week but does get full on weekends. We saw deer on a hike, turkeys, raccoons, and a bear was sighted in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Bathhouses were clean all weekend. No alcohol is allowed in park, nor pets. On duty sheriff deputy on site entire time park is open. Very family, group oriented park. No loud music, cursing or fighting going on. Really appreciate that this park is so nice. Springs are very clean and easy to navigate, there are lots of lifeguards available to watch swimmers. Rules are enforced. Park closes in summer at 10 am and re opens at 3 pm for crowd control. Our site was shady as are most. It looks like they might have cut back some vegetation in some of the sites. Beware of the road in and around campground as it does have some low hanging branches but nothing too scary. We saw lots of wildlife: turkeys, raccoons, deer, gigantic grasshoppers, fish, turtles, and a coral snake near our site so don't go off the paths! Campground road is limestone dirt so it did get a little muddy when it rained but we did not notice too much dust. We were able to get many stations on our new digital converter box so TV viewing was ok and clear. we will definitely will be back. Maybe in the winter so we can do some hiking as we haven't had a chance to get to that yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
Kelly park was a great park. The springs were excellent and a joy to visit. The campground itself however was not. The staff at check in were great but the rest were not the best Florida Parks and Recreations had to offer. There is a rule that there is no alcohol allowed but these silly people actually came around to each site checking all the campers coolers!! Just leave your bottles inside your campers. The showers there were awful. The shower heads sprayed water in all directions but where you need it. You were better off standing outside the shower curtain to rinse off the soap. The hookups were all over the place. Some had the water on the right side of the camper and electric on the left and some were reversed I had to buy an extension for my electric and a full length water hose to get connected. All in all this campground was a bad experience. I will not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Fun place to stay. Come here, rent a site for the day then go to Kelly Springs. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
There are 26 sites but seven are without power. 1 pull-through site but it has no power. Two Family sites, one with power. We had site #23 which was very shady but still received good TV reception. No pets or alcohol allowed in the park and they DO check. Only 15/30A at elec sites. Most sites were big enough for a 40 ft RV. The water hookups were to the back and left of the site (leftover from when it was only tenting) and the electric was at the front of the sites. Be sure to bring long enough hoses/cords. Bathhouse was old but seemed clean. They have tried to update counter tops and stalls but showers have not been updated. You have to exit shower to get dressed- there is no dressing area, and nowhere to hang your towel or put your soap, etc. No A/C either. There is a small swing set in camping area next to bathhouse but park has two larger playgrounds in day use area that are updated and very nice. Campground road is dirt and sites are limestone with concrete pads for the picnic tables. Site has a combo fire pit/grill. Dump station is very rustic but workable. Busy weekends you might get blocked on the road by an RV using it. Campground also has a pavilion for campers use with several tables and grills. There is a separate entrance/exit for campers once they check in because there is usually a long line at ranger station for day use persons and they let a car in as one exits especially in summer. There was enough privacy in campsites and a concrete sidewalk that led from the bathhouse to the springs swimming area. Tubing was awesome. Get tubes outside of park on your way in- park does not rent them- or bring your own. River shallow enough to walk so it's good for little ones. There is also a beach sand area near the swimming area. Water was between 68-72 degrees, felt great in August. Nice boardwalks to get you back to beginning or you could use hiking trails. Tubing takes about 25 minutes if its not too crowded. Plenty of lifeguards in run and swimming area. Concession stand had all kinds of food and was reasonable. We saw birds, alligators, turtles, raccoons, and plenty of fish and the largest grasshoppers ever. No online reservations but park does take credit dard over phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com