206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Folsom Lake SRA - Beals Point Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (916) 988-0205
CGID9182

Folsom Lake SRA - Beals Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   3   8   7   5   6   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$55
Nice Park. Located in-town, good place to stay for visiting local area. Also, traffic is a bit noisy due to locations. Biking is popular but fishing is very challenging despite regular stocking. Finally, campground still gets full in spite of the high fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$46
Nice long term RV park. We stayed here so we can visit our kids during the holidays. Pricey but okay. It was clean and the camp hosts were okay. Park Ranger was very nice. Very quiet. Please note that they charge you $10 a day for any visitors who stay longer than 15 minutes. Wish they had told us that when you register or I would have gone somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$45
The price is outrageous. $55 per night in summer and winter rates $45 per night. If you have a handicap placard and paid for a CA handicap Camping sticker, it's a 50% discount and if your a disable Vet with 50% disability it's free. The cost to make a reservation on the internet is $8. The prices for State Parks in CA is outrageous. When we arrived, our camping spot was littered with cigarettes and broken glass and there is no TV available. I stayed at two other premium campgrounds in the area during my stay at a much cheaper price. What is the State of CA thinking with their camping prices. Someone with a handicap sticker should not receive a 50% discount and a free veteran campsite is fine if it is on a space available basis. Paying customers should get first priority. I cannot recommend this park because of its lack of amenities and the high price charged to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$45
This is a very nice and well maintained state park in California. The sites were well spaced concrete and easy to get in and out. Full hook-ups. Very quite and nice location close to lots of shopping. Only complaint is that 45 dollars is high for a state park and if you are going to charge that then must you really collect another 50 cents for the showers? We stay in a lot of state parks and have always found California's to be more expensive. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
We were able to get the last big rig site that was not reserved for the night and my first impressions (of my site) were that it was not situated in the best location; even though on pavement the dirt is very fine dust. However, you can walk to the lake and you are not packed in. I'm so happy they are accommodating big rigs now, I would not have known that but for this site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$55
Although this wasn't a terrible place our spot had no shade, no grass, no cable, but they charged $55.00 a night and we stayed here two nights. This is a state campground. Is CA so broke they have to charge 55.00 a night. I would have passed on this one if I knew the price before hand. My wife had stayed here before was the reason we stayed here. I didn't check any other RV parks in area before start of trip. I'm sure there were much better parks for less money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$61
The State of CA has raised rates, this is the most we have ever paid for a campground. The price shown is with a Senior discount ($2), through Reserve America ($8 fee), in the full hook-up’s section ($55) of the Park. There is a separate section for dry-camping. We stayed here only one-night as it was our first time Grandson camping and we had to stay close to his home. The Park brochure says 31’ maximum trailer length; however, they have added new sites that are 40’ in length. Semi-level, asphalt sites, only a few with shade, picnic table and fire ring, and a couple of pull-through sites. Quite a bit of poison oak in the campground, ask the camp host to point it out if you can’t identity it yourself. Folsom Lake has a beach and shaded picnic area, lots of paved bike trails. Restrooms and showers were clean, tile, and individual locking rooms, but have a 50-cent fee for 4 minutes. Quiet at night, with camp host as security, host also sells firewood. No Wi-Fi internet, site box had a cable hook-up socket, but we never tried it so don't know if it's available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
We stayed here for 4 days. The lake is walking distance from the RV Park. There is only one pull-through site which we obtained by making a reservation online through Reserve America. The rate was $44.00 with a Senior discount, plus a reservation service charge of $8.00. When we got here we noticed the pricing at the entrance was $55.00. I guess they raised the prices from the time we made our reservations. The spaces are all very spacious and not close together, so it is a quiet place to stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
A beautiful setting and a quiet campground. Easy to find and a no-hassle check-in. Reservations were easy to make. We used this for an overnight spot on our way to Southern California, and liked it so much we will be back to spend a week or so to enjoy the beach and lake. Spaces have lots of room between: very private. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
I booked this camp site online before the state prices went up. The park is divided: one side is RV friendly with hookups the other allows RVs for dry camping but is more tent friendly. The tent side is in a pine and oak grove with lots of shade. The RV side has some shade trees but not at every site. I would also like to note that not every site has water but the shared hose bib I came across was threaded and within 50' of my camp site. We dry camped and I should have called ahead before booking to get a recommendation on sites for my 30’ trailer. I selected site 35 based on the online map which was very difficult to get into and I’m pretty good at backing my rig up. There are better sites on the dry side of the campground for larger trailers I strongly recommend calling ahead. The major benefit to this campground is the American river bike trail. It’s a paved trail that runs several miles from this campground all the way to Sacramento. Other than that, it’s what I’ve come to expect. The lake was very low at this time of year and the campers around us were quite noisy right up until quite hours which they obeyed despite the fact I never saw a ranger the entire weekend. I would stay here again however certainly not in site 35. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Having arrived without reservations we were unable to secure a full hook up spot ($45) but were kindly given a site in the tent section. No hookups and the restrooms and showers were severely overloaded by the number of campers and shortage of cleaning staff. Other than that the site was pleasant and quiet and offered a nice forest view. For an overnight spot this was excellent albeit pricey dry camping. The campground is only 7 miles from Hwy 50 so it offers a convenient stopping off point with full access to all stores and services yet feels "woodsy". We'll stay again but will try for the FHU side assuming we are flush with cash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
This is a top-notch campground with paved roads and sites for parking rig. Carved out of a wooded area so many mature trees. We were in Space 52 which campground information said was not shaded; however, trees to one side and to back. Concrete around utilities so on does not have to get out into mud or grass hooking up and disconnecting. TV available by antenna. At least one wild turkey around that roamed throughout the campground. Do not depend on GPS getting you to area if you specify Folsom SRA as it will take you to to the upper end and other side of lake. Take Douglas Blvd off I-80 or Folsom Blvd off US-50, about 6-8 miles from I-80 and 4-5 miles from US-50. I would rate this a 10 had WiFi been available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$37
This is a state park. We were very happy with the location(site 55) even though you could see the traffic on the highway we found it very quiet. They are currently building new service buildings which will be much nicer than the current ones. Visitors are charged a $5 fee for entry into the park. We would stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
The Beals Point campground at Folsom Lake is split into two areas: 49 tent sites and 20 full hook-up RV sites. The RV sites have all the amenities: 20/30/50 amps, water, sewer, mostly level asphalt sites with lots of space, a table and fire ring. The shower/bathroom aren't kept very clean. The sites are well-spaced with trees or shrubs between most of them, and half the sites have shade trees over them (sites 55-69). The back half of the RV campsite (sites 59-63), is close enough to a busy road that you can see and hear the traffic; the rest of the sites are OK. There's no amenities beyond the lake; given the current low lake levels not sure there's much reason to stay here beyond just the camping experience. You can get on a bike path that goes along the American River to ride all the way into Sacramento. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com