219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverside Campground and RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (402) 376-2958
CGID9208

Riverside Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   9   8   3   10   6   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Older facility that has seen better days and minimal maintenance. Sand/dirt roads. Only 6 FHU's with the rest mainly electric (30 amp only) and water. We made the mistake of staying on a Saturday. Noisy and dogs running loose. Probably on a weekday it wouldn't be as bad. Sites are close together and scrub grass. We were passing through and made our reservations based on the website, which isn't reality. The restrooms were old and crusty. For one night it was just okay, but we wouldn't want to stay any longer. It's like an old clunker car that needs fixing up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
We are from Australia on our first RVing trip. We stayed for a single night in our 38' Class C while passing through. The Riverside Campground is the most rustic RV park we have stayed at so far, and the first where we had to check ourselves in. Fortunately fellow-travelers orientated us to the campground. The campground environment feels open and natural, and there were few other guests when we stayed. Dusty gravel roadway and sites are separated by fair-sized islands of straggly grass and picnic tables; large, well-established trees provide plenty of shade for most sites. Sites seemed quite rugged; however, we seemed to chance on a quite level spot on our site when we pulled up. Water and electric hookups looked a bit dodgy, but worked fine. We noted, but did not need to use, the sewer hookup, go-karts, and laundry. Wi-Fi was free, but had only intermittent access to the internet. The campground was very quiet. The serendipitous main attraction for us was the Niobrara River, which runs along the back of the campground: it has been the best swimming locale we have had in our entire trip so far. Toilet/shower facilities were also rustic, but seemed fairly clean; I deferred having a shower until our next stop. I cannot comment on the staff, as we did not see them. Overall, an inexpensive and enjoyable, if primitive, overnight stop that provided us with fond memories of our swim in the beautiful and refreshing Niobrara. If we had to spend the night in Valentine again, I would stay here again without looking elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Small little cozy campground. Owners extremely helpful and very willing to assist in any way possible! They went out of their way to put us into an extremely long site that accommodated both our 40 ft. coach and our toad so we didn't even have to unhook!! Very accommodating! He informed us right up front that they only had 30 amp service and that we'd probably be more comfortable going down the road where they had 50 amp service, however we appreciated their up-front attitude and friendliness and decided to power down and stay. We were informed it was OK to run our generator so we could operate all three air conditioners to cool the place off, which we did but then switched it to one air and had no problems the rest of the night. A very nice place to pull in for overnight when your on the road. Would definitely stay here again. The rate is for a FHU site! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Wi-Fi was a great surprise! Owner has been trying to get the Wi-Fi added to the campground profile. Friendly staff, clean campground and nice place to swim in the river (our dogs loved it). We only stayed one night but would certainly come back. The fee is for 2 people, others over 16 are $5 each. Discount for Veterans! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
We used this web site with it's good reviews to make reservations for 2 nights here. When we arrived we found out that there were no 50 amp spaces and very few spaces with sewer connections. The owner was very nice and refunded our money and we went up the road to Fishberry. It's too bad because this place appears to be a nice quiet stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is a very nice campground with a beautiful view of a river running right by it. The staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This place is only half-open...the bathrooms are out of commission and there's no Wi-Fi. But they are only charging $20 and it is in a beautiful location. We were here several years ago, and it looks like they've made some improvements since then...should be nice later in the season! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
We prefer quiet, un-congested campgrounds and that's what we got when we made the decision to stay here. The only other real option was an RV Park on a hilltop north of town with no shade or protection from the wind. We think we made the right choice. There were very few other campers during our 4-day stay. The owner and his staff were friendly and helpful, directing us to local places we should see and explore. It's an old KOA park with a mixture of sites from primitive tent camping to a few full hookup pull-through sites for bigger rigs. Some sites are a little close as the park was designed before slide-outs were common. The roads through the campground are not paved. But that said, we enjoyed our stay. The park is right along the Niobrara River, within walking distance to the historic Bryan Bridge, and close to the Cowboy Trail recreation trail. In our opinion this is the best place for us to stay in the Valentine area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
Large campground, pull through sites, gravel, large trees. There are no riverfront sites. Manager was helpful in selecting our site due to having a 40 ft. motorhome. We stayed one night. Roads are narrow but sites are roomy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Very friendly family campground. Walk down too the river and let the kids run around in a foot of water and play in the sand. We will use this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We found this campground on Google maps and were hesitant to use it because there were no reviews on this website for it. Since it was only 2.5 miles south of town we decided to check it out. Being along the river sounded like a plus. We are very glad we did. It's an older campground with lots of large shade trees (if that's what you want, they have other sites with smaller or no trees). There is a playground for the little ones (ours loved it...we were right next to it). The current owners put in a concrete go-kart track with half a dozen Honda powered karts. When we read they had Go-Karts, we were a little leery due to experiences with other tracks close to RV parks we've stayed at. The noise and smell wasn't something that sounded appealing to us. But we were pleasantly surprised! The track is away from the campsites and doesn't open until 6:00pm. It was a blast zipping around so close to the ground, you have to try it! The sites along the river are for tent campers. The river averages 12" of depth (at least in August) and was great to just wade out to and sit down in! There is a one-of-a-kind (in the U.S.) steel bridge adjacent to the campground (Bryan Bridge). The owners were very nice and accommodating. They run their campground by the Golden Rule, and without a list of other "rules" that so many campgrounds must unfortunately give everyone these days. We really appreciated the neighborly approach at this campground. The campground experience was a 10, with the cattle grazing nearby, the two horses on the property next door, the river view, the bridges, etc. The amenities are few, no pool, only 1 washer and dryer, older showers and building, however the current owners are redoing the place and putting a lot of work into it. They've replaced most of the electric and water to the sites already. After setting up camp, we looked at the other campgrounds in the area and we very glad we picked this one, nestled down in a valley, close to town, on the river and with wonderful owners. If you're coming to Valentine to float the Niobrara River or see the refuge, this is a great campground to stay! (And no we didn't get paid to say that, we just really liked it and since there wasn't any reviews, we wanted to be thorough). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com