206918 User submitted reviews online!!
Savannah South KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 130 user reviews. Phone: (912) 756-3396
CGID921

Savannah South KOA

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   5   8   8   9   10   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Kind of tight for a 40' RV but very friendly park. Sand and dirt pads close to trees, but very friendly staff. Comp'd pancake breakfast for campers on Saturday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$39
The Savannah South RV Park is located just off I95. It was easy to find and very easy to get in to and out of. The park has a nice setting with tall pines and a small lake. If you are traveling up or down I95 and want a park to stay in one night while traveling, it fits the bill. We stayed here several nights while visiting Savannah and Tybee Island. I wish I had found a different park because the freeway noise is noticeable especially at night. Also the spaces are quite narrow so to have any privacy in your coach you have to keep the shades closed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
The facilities at this KOA are nice and the people were helpful. However, the pull-through site we were assigned for our 41' motorhome was TINY. The slide-out on the motorhome in front of us hung over the picnic table on our site. Seriously - I would post a photo if possible. Our RV door opened almost into the next RV. Otherwise the park was nice. There were other sites that were very nice. If you reserve here, be sure to ask for one of the larger sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Rate is with 10% KOA card discount. This was an overnight stop. One of the better KOAs. Level, shady sand spaces. Well-kept. Tengo Wi-Fi. Railroad a few hundred yards across the highway, but only a few trains at night, noise was not too bad. Pretty fishing lake with lots of ducks, geese and swans. Rowboat rentals. Friendly staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
This is a nice, clean park. Gals at front desk were very nice, and accommodating. They knew exactly where to send us to see the sights in Savannah. The park is very well maintained and clean, which is evidenced in the details down to the freshly painted electrical posts. This park would benefit from having some paved pull-through sites; patio sites available. My biggest beef was the sandy sites and having sand tracked into my coach. If they had that, this place would be a 10 of 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Great little KOA which is very well run. Just about a mile or so from hwy. Plenty of gas stations, restaurants, etc convenient to park. We actually ordered delivery from the local Italian restaurant which was good. Nice camp store and well run office. The escort to our pull thru site made sure everything was working correctly for us. Site was level and long with plenty of room to stay hooked up. Easy in and out. Park has a high pressure RV wash area for a fee which was nice since it was love bug season. Nice 35 acre lake with, ducks, geese, and beautiful swans. The front area of the park is transient sites with seasonal or annual sites on the back area. Some reviews complained that there was a lot of traffic in and out and speeding thru the transient site area. We did not observe that at all. Garbage was picked up daily at the site. We would use this park again for both overnight and even longer stays to sight see Savannah. It was about 20 minutes outside Savannah's historical area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
We stayed at this campground while visiting Savannah and were very impressed! Campground is clean, well maintained, and quite lovely. Sites are not huge but not tight either . Savannah is only about 15 min from the campground, but plenty of small businesses within 1 min of the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
We loved this KOA! It was clean as a whistle, from the restrooms to the pool to the laundry room to the individual sits. Even the dog play area was immaculate! We had good cable connection and decent WiFi; sometimes it was good and other times spotty, but it was good enough for us. There are no fire rings at the sites, but there is a large communal fire ring behind the pool under the trees. There are park benches placed around the edges of the lake, from which you can watch their 15 or so swans, geese, and ducks play in the lake. You can rent a little boat too, if you want to go fishing. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Nice campground, loved the lake and feeding the geese. So close to the interstate but you can't hear it really. Only thing I don't like is the people who live in the back have no regards to the campers up front with the speed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
This was a nice campground and conveniently located for the touring we needed to do. We had a pull through close to the office and it was easy to get in, set up, and get out. The site had a combination of gravel and sand, but mostly sand once it rained which was challenging when breaking camp since hoses and cords were now covered with sand. Didn’t use the laundry facility since it was a constant stream of folks coming and going. Trash trucks picking up at 3:00 a.m. were quite noisy slamming containers around. Lots of people coming and going so every day there was noise from rigs. We would still stay here again just further away from the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$44
Made reservations a few hours in advance over the phone with no problems at check-in. Park was busy so we were given a site close to the office that was just long enough for our motorhome. We put out the slides, but not the awning (it would have hit the trees). There are differences in length and available width (the tree locations can make it narrow) in the 50 amp sites. Lake was lovely and tranquil. WiFi was sometimes fast, sometimes very slow (we'd switch over to our MiFi). Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$43
We stay here at the KOA Savannah when we travel up and down the east coast. Its nice, staff is friendly. Our only grip is the 5 mph speed limit Is Not Enforced. I have seen cars, trucks and motorcycles traveling at speeds between 20-30 mph. This has been a problem for the past 1.5 years now. Don't' let my 1 negative comment keep you from a nice stay at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$39
We called ahead to make sure we had a site for the night, everything OK. We were asked whether we were towing and responded that we were. When we arrived we were put on a site that required disconnecting, if we had known this we would have stayed at a different campground. We asked for a different site and were told that all of the sites had the utilities in the rear; however, we later found a site that would have been adequate for us. We will probably not use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$43
Concur with earlier posts. Price shown is before KOA discount. Good clean KOA. Positives: pretty lake view with swans, lots of trees, 65x25 foot level pull through sites, cable, pool (in season), game room, pancake breakfast (weekends), 25 minutes from downtown Savannah. Negatives: paved interior roads can be narrow for big rigs depending on how people park, hard-packed sandy sites with very little grass in campground, most sewer ports were 6-8 inches above ground level meaning your hose will not drain well. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$39
Stayed here about a week and is our third visit. All services worked well except for Wi-Fi which was difficult to impossible for most of the time with only a few days in the middle of our stay when we could use the service at all. Mentioned to office who came to unit to investigate. Not sure what they did but improvements were must have been made as service improved for 3 days and then fell off again. Voltage levels were consistent good readings. Clean park and friendly staff. Will likely stay again when in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$39
Close to visit Savannah without having to go through the city traffic to get there. Long level sites, easy in and out. Noisy traffic coming in and out of the park as the long term residents are in the back of the park and need to get through the transient section to reach their area. Sites are dirt, so it is dusty. Shady sites so you will not get a signal with your dish however they provide cable, so it did not matter to us. Wi-Fi is sketchy, had to walk to office area to get close to the tower but it was still not so great. There was a pancake breakfast all weekend which was included in your price. We thought this was a nice benefit. We stayed a week to see the sites. They do have a tour package that picks you up if you do not want to drive to town, which is good if you do not have a small vehicle to take into town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
Very easy to find with easy entrance and exit. Sites were level. We were escorted to a site near the office and asked for one further back in the campground to stay away from the traffic and were glad we did. Very pretty lake with lots of birds. Took some great pictures. A nearby train could be heard occasionally, but it was not annoying. A short drive into downtown Savannah, although they did provide a free shuttle. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Would give this campground a higher score but the sites are sand and makes it easy to track the sand into your trailer. Staff was very helpful. Wi-Fi signal was strong at our site. Interior roads a little narrow but easy to maneuver. The cable signal was OK but not great. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
OK overnight stop. Rained very hard and area drained well.typical tight KOA but everything worked and people were friendly. Lake and birds were pretty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This park is extremely well kept and maintained. There is a beautiful lake to look at with swans and fishing. They have very clean restrooms and a great laundry facility. The pool is well kept and clean. Staff seems very friendly and helpful. Any time we had a problem, someone was right out to fix it. The only thing we had a problem with is that they had no rules to keep noise down as it got late. We had people on both sides of us playing VERY loud music and drinking all night. That was hard to deal with, but everything else was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Stayed for a month. Its a decent park however some of the staff are rather snooty. Lots of sand gets tracked in your coach. Small store, clean bathrooms/showers. Some kids in the back that are running around a lot, that should be in school. Have a 5mph speed limit that needs to be enforced, as I have seen cars/trucks do 20-30. Also loud trucks/motorcycles. Lots of military and contractors in the back monthly area. Grounds keepers are friendly. There is a lake you can fish in but the geese have ruined the lake. Not a bad park to stay for a month or two if you full time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
Pretty campground on a small lake. Staff was very friendly. All utilities worked well including the 60+ channel cable. Free Wi-Fi could stand to be improved a little. Laundry price was very affordable and propane dryers dried clothes in a heartbeat. Trailer wash was good. Nice pool. Our pull-through was sandy but level and reasonably roomy; however, some sites were close together. About a 25 minute drive into Savannah. We would certainly stay here again when visiting Savannah or even as an overnight stop on our way to/from Florida. (Less than 1 mile from I-95.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Nice campground for visiting Savannah. Easy access to the highway and most sites. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Well stocked store, clean laundry room and restrooms, and a nice pool. Level sites. There is a shuttle service to town or just a short drive if you choose. Plenty of gas stations and restaurants within a couple of miles. They could enforce the speed limit rules a little better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
We liked this RV Park. It's located just off 1-95 on Rt. 17. There are several gas stations located just outside this park. This KOA is not too far from Savannah, Tybee Island and other points of interest. The pull-through sites are long but not very wide. However there was a little room for a table and for sitting outside. Lots of shade. There is a lake in the RV Park with waterfowl, Geese, white swans and other kinds of birds. Benches located on the shore line makes for good viewing. Good Wi-Fi and Cable along with 50 Amp service. I would have rated this higher if the sites had been wider. We stayed here for 6 days and if ever in the area,we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
Great access to Savannah, but the sites were small and tight. Staff was great and had all the answers to get into the city. You can get a tram into Savannah for the tours, and they bring you back at end of day. With the holiday weekend, Memorial day, traffic in and out kept the noise level high. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
The only negative is sandy spots, so when it rains expect a mess on the lower part of the RV. After that, it's all good. Easy access, nice office/store open until 9pm nightly. Utilities all worked, spots were level, interior roads paved. Good fuel prices at the exit. Richmond Hill is a nice small town location with everything needed; makes a good base for visiting the Savannah area. They have a high pressure RV/Car wash as you drive in to the right of the propane. Real handy if you picked up bugs . . . especially nice during "love bug" season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
What I'm looking for in a campground is easy big rig access, 50 amp connection, level site, secure area, and clean restrooms. Pull through sites, Wi-Fi, and cable are bonus features appreciated but not required. I have no interest in pool, dog run, or kids activities. This campground met all of my requirements and had all the bonus features I mentioned although I did not use the Wi-Fi. It was easy access from I-95. Trees were trimmed high as my 13' plus tall 5th wheel had no opportunity for scratches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
Nice for a KOA and wonderful staff. But the site we had (basic) was very small and so tight that with our 36 ft fifth wheel parked, we had to park the truck to the side and it was almost butt up against the trailer and the small conversion van on the other side. Dirt sites that were very dusty and created a lot of mess. Old, icky picnic table and no fire pits. There is a nice lake with quite a few swans and ducks that was very nice but no path to really access the lake. Pool had just opened so was too cold to use, no spa. Fairly quiet area but still quite a hike into Savannah. Not much else to do within close range. Laundry was used by staff everyday to wash sheets from the cabins (5 washers, 3 dryers) as well as residents who rent the larger "cabins" on a monthly basis so getting a load of wash done was a juggling act. We would probably not return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$42
This park has changed a lot. I was here 6 years ago and was very disappointed. They have cleaned it up and the staff was real friendly and helpful. Still a little tight for big rigs but if you get the right spot you are OK. Would definitely come back if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$43
This site was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The owners husband assisted us in hooking up as we are newbies. It was easy to pull in/out and the facilities were very clean. Easy access from I-95, they are pet friendly but no dog run. They have a fenced in play ground for kids. We would recommend this site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
Park has been renovated and is much better managed than the last time we stayed some years ago. Staff was friendly, helpful, and very professional. We were escorted to our site, which was located among tall pines, as are virtually all the sites. The adjacent lake includes a bird sanctuary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
Our second time here. We only stayed one night but as before we put this at the top of our list. It's convenient access from I-95 and would be a fine base for travel into Savannah. The staff is helpful and friendly. The only reason it isn't a 10 is the spaces are sand and not really level because of tree roots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
We stayed at this campground for one night on our way through to Florida. After staying for the night, I wish we had chosen to stay for a few more days. It is a very nice campground with very easy access right off of I-95. The staff was very accommodating and the entire campground was very clean and well-kept. The pool was very nice and well maintained. We have stayed at many KOA campgrounds over the years and this is one of the nicest we have been at. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
We stayed here one night.It is a very nice shady campground on a lake. Since it was the beginning of a holiday weekend it was nearly full but they found us a spot. The site was a flat gravel site on the water. We had no trouble backing in and leveling the coach. Wi-Fi was available but we had trouble connecting. The laundry room was clean and reasonably priced. There was a pool but we didn't use it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$44
Friendly staff. Close to touring Savannah. Small level sights, dirt and gravel but worked out OK. Lots of trees (no sat access) but good cable. Nice lake/pond view with many waterfowl. Small laundry but clean and worked well. Huge resident population but separated from nightly campers. Easy on off access to I-95. Would stay here again. Free and decent 3 bar Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
We were put in a very tight and short site. Whole park is packed in like sardines. Could not even put awning out. Water pressure bad, and could not connect to internet though I was showing full signal. Paid for full price site and was put in 30 amp site. Had to back our smaller 32 foot motorhome out of our "pull through" due to too short turning clearance. Did not have "toad" and could not have fit anyway. Unfinished dirt site with badly placed tall scrub oak trees. Checked in by two clueless kids who had no business doing so. Kept awake by train going by every half hour. No paper towels in bathrooms. Only redeeming quality of this park was clean rest rooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$43
We stayed here in April 2010 while visiting Savannah so decided to do the same again in 2011 on our way back north. Our site in 2010 was small, but this year it was UNBELIEVABLE tight. We could not open our awning and our picnic table was on top of the neighbors sewer connection. This was a bad situation. However, if I were to return I would make certain they do not squeeze me on a tight site again. The sites need gravel since they are quite muddy. The campground is conveniently located about a 20 minute drive to beautiful downtown Savannah. Some sites are so small they put orange cones behind the RV while it sticks out in the campground roadway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$39
Liked this campground except for the sandy soil but that is to be expected in this part of the country. Sites are a little tight and we were not warned of the logging operation that was going on next door! Very noisy very early! We did not spend much time in camp as we used as a base camp to visit Savannah and Jekyll Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$39
We stopped over for the night on our way to Florida. Easy access to I-95. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They made sure I had a pull through site so I would not have to unhook my towed car. Good safe and secure KOA for an overnight stay. We would stay here again if traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$59
This is an exceptional facility that is very well maintained. We would recommend it to anyone with small children. Although we are now grandparents, we often share our experiences with our RV ing children. We would recommend this one highly. Great staff, exceptional facilities and numerous activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Of all the campgrounds we have stayed at this has the most beautiful view. We woke up in our lakefront cabin and went out on the porch to a family of white swans slowly and gracefully swimming in the morning fog that was slowly lifting from the water. The sites are all fairly level but does not have any concrete pads for picnic tables. Very clean and spacious showers. Laundry facility was also nice and updated with modern dryers and washers. Best feature is that it was connected with the main building so it was air conditioned and access to the store inside. Instant access to the highway but no road noise! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$43
This is a fairly nice campground with a view of the lake. No fenced dog walk area as some KOA's have, but has areas around the lake for walking them. My biggest complaint with this park is the sites are sandy with many low spots that collect water and many are uneven to one side. A bit of fill stone and some grading and this could be a much better campground. Also, trees opposite your site could be a major headache when trying to leave your site. I gave it some thought that backing out of my pull through site, would have been my first choice if the site in front had been occupied. They should do everyone a favor and cut a few of the trees making exiting much easier and safer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
I don't know the exact count, but the campground appears to have more space than the site number listed on this page. The longer term campers are nicely separated from the short term campers. Gravel pads but level, easy access into the sites and adequate room between sites. You can hear freight trains somewhere in the distance at night; otherwise it's a pretty quiet campsite. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$43
This CG gets a 10 in almost all categories - friendliness, ease of reservation, easy on/off I-95, nice store, help with a (self inflicted) problem. The spaces were a not very level around the actual parking site - tree roots and uneven ground. It was raining when we arrived so there was water standing where I needed to hookup. It was gone the next morning. We were only passing through, but would stay here again for overnight or to visit Savannah. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$45
Very nice park with great views of the lake and wildlife. Staff was friendly and the store was very well stocked with food and gifts. Took the kids fishing with their jon-boat. Game room was a bit lacking and the pool tables were missing balls and all the cues were missing tips, but there is plenty else to do around the area. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$43
We just stopped here for one night, but it's a very nice park with a small lake full of migrating waterfowl...swans, Canada geese, mallards, etc. The sites are a bit narrow for a larger rig with slide-outs, but services worked fine. There is a fairly well-stocked store with laundromat. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$49
We stayed here overnight on our way back to Florida. Easy to find. Very nice staff. Assistance to site which was easy to find. We had a pull thru and had plenty of room with our 39' motorhome and a tow vehicle. My boys wanted to stay to go fishing but we needed to leave. Gave it a 9 because leaving the campground was a little challenging. We waited to attach our tow vehicle until we got to the front of the campground. I'm sure more experienced RVers could get out easily. Otherwise, it's a nice place and is on our list of campgrounds to stay at in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$39
Rate reflects KOA discount. Park is well maintained. Roadways are paved and sites are sand/gravel mix. Guided to our site which had good length, reasonably level with good services. Wi-Fi worked very well with couple of minor hiccups. Only negative to park is the extremely early departure of many travelers who use this as a night stop over and this disturbance interrupts a good sleep. Stayed here before and despite the early departures we will likely stay here again when next in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
Nice place. Heavily wooded. Trees can be a problem with exiting your site and the park, go slow and all will be well. Internet worked well, but you must have a new code for the Tengo wifi every 24 hours. Verizon air card worked very well. Office workers very friendly. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$49
Agree with other posters. This park is good for an overnight stay. Has easy access to 95. Very busy campground. We stayed twice: coming and going to Disney. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Easy on and off the road, close to the interstate. Lightning had just taken out their computer and WiFi. WiFi never did return during our overnight. Pleasant staff in office, where we were given a map to our site. Quiet campground with many tall trees and lake was populated with many ducks and even swans. Our pull-through FHU, 50/30 site was really minimal length for our motorhome plus toad. Our electric surge guard was left hanging on ground by the low electric tower, by a continually dripping water faucet. Electric cover would not close for impinging on water hookup. Nice store, but I was sorry I bought the local wine, which turned out very much not to my taste. Clean but slightly dated bathroom and showers. I thought the park was pricey for what we got. We might return with better utilities or better price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
An above average KOA campground IMHO. We stayed there twice this summer. Park is set up in two sections, one for permanents and one for travelers. The permanent part of the park is in the back so it leads to a lot of early morning traffic with people heading to work. Well run, clean and well staffed. It could use more gravel on the sites and roadways due to the amount of rain received in this area. It is an easy off and on to Interstate 95, but far enough away that the place is reasonably quiet. It is an excellent one night stop for us as we head to the mountains of the Carolinas and back home to Florida. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Have stayed here several times. Great spot for an overnight stay. All P/T's and mostly FHU. Sites are sandy but fine. Nice pond with wildlife. Staff very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
Nice people, wonderful location. We stayed for 3 months and never really encountered any problems and would go back again. I do wish however they were a little more kid friendly. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$43
Easy in and out. Plenty of room. Nice camp to take a walk in. Very friendly staff. Gas available off interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
OK park but sandy sites. Sites were also pretty tight. Easy on & off to Interstate and not far to Savannah. Only bath house was at front of park, but clean and laundry as well. OK if only staying to visit Savannah or an overnight stay. Some real nice sites to the front of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Pool was fairly dirty. Not a real good spot to walk the dogs. Site we were in was cramped with the other camper to our left. When the living room slider was out it was on top of the other camper. To be fair we only stayed one night on our way to the Blue Ridge. Other sites seemed to have a little more room. Access to and from the camp was easy as are most KOAs. The staff were friendly. If there was more room for our motorhome and a cleaner pool and a better spot to walk the dogs they would have rated in the 8s instead of 6. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Very nice campground. Staff bent over backwards to arrange a last minute reservation. The park we called before Savannah South blew us off when we asked for a next-day reservation. The lady at SS KOA had two "holds" listed in her computer and took the time to call them to see is they were going to show up. One backed out, allowing us to have the reservation. The park itself is nice and well run. Lots of activities like wine tasting, movie night and arranged tours of Savannah. Lots of thumbs up for this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$39
Easy on and off from I-95 and a short drive into Savannah. The check in was pleasant, information was available, and the restrooms were clean. Wifi was free, and there were many cable stations. There was some highway noise, and the sewer connection was high making it difficult to drain. The sites are dirt, and ours was not level and full of large tree roots. Sites are extremely close to each other. Interior roads are very tight, and we will not return. A small rig would be ok, but we did not feel comfortable with the close trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$39
Very nice park with a great staff. A little ride from downtown Savannah but being close to the interstate made it easy to do other site-seeing in the area. Would definitely stay again. The only negative is that there is not any restroom/bath house in the back section. If you plan on using these, then stay in the front section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$39
KOA's generally are a bit over priced but this is a very nice park in a nice location. There is a lake right on the property and water fowl like ducks, swans and geese live there. The staff actually go collect the baby ducks from the nest in spring to make sure the alligators don't get them (don't worry we didn't see any gators but we were told they are around). The swans have their wings clipped so live there year round and are fed by the park. So you will be sure to see lots of birds - the ducks even wander right up to your campsite and say hello. The park itself has a nice pool, although we didn't use it many families did and bathrooms are clean and nice. The only negative point is when someone flushes the toilet and you're showering the water turns scalding hot for 30 seconds so you have to be aware of that. It's about 30 minutes from downtown Savannah but after reading some of the reviews of parks closer we picked this one and we not unhappy. We stayed 9 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$39
We have stayed here in the past. It is an average campground. Easy access off of I-95 and a short drive to downtown Savannah. The sites are sand and fairly level. It is kind of messy when it rains. It is almost amazing how many overnight campers they get. We stayed 3 nights and had a new camper next to us each night. The campground workers are very friendly. We have stayed at all of the campgrounds in the area and like this one the best. For dinner, I highly recommend Steamers and Love's Restaurant which are a short drive from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$48
Was a great KOA. They offer tickets for tours of Savannah and their confectionary store offers quite a bit. Staff was wonderful to speak with and very helpful. The washrooms and laundry area were great. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$43
We picked this park for its proximity to Savannah and weren't disappointed. It's a pretty standard KOA - very nice people, lovely pool/spa and week-end activities. Richmond Hill has everything you need, including some great eateries. Your satellite will not work here but they have good cable. There Wi-Fi is also very good. The park is located on a lake with catch & release fishing, boat rentals and the most amazing collection of swans, ducks, geese, etc. While we were here there was a power supply problem which they addressed promptly - even though it was Sunday. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$34
This park is very close to I-95. The best description is trains, planes, and automobiles, or, in this case diesel trucks. The noise level is very high but the place is friendly and very clean. It is mostly a stop-over for folks trekking up and down I-95. Kids would enjoy the lake with lots of water fowl to feed. Would we stop there again? Yes, but one night without a good nights sleep is enough. Clean, clean, clean. Give it a shot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$36
Price was for a full week with 2 nights of the 7 free. Pull-through sites were narrow but acceptable. Nice location close to Savannah: the trolley tour of Savannah will pick-up from the campground. Campground staff was very helpful and friendly. I thought it was quiet, with road noise minimal and trains at night actually kind of nice to hear. Campground was well kept and clean, shower area was very, very clean. Wi-Fi was spotty each day from 4-6, otherwise no problem. Nice restaurants nearby. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$34
There is friendly and helpful staff. The sites are nice. It is great for an over night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$43
A nice, clean campground but a little over priced. We stayed two nights and the first night there was a party in the recreation room that lasted until 12:30 am: with loud music! Was very annoying after driving all day, Other than that, this was a nice stay and Steamers, located just the other side of I-95, has great seafood and service! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$42
A very rustic KOA and very nice. The staff was great and the site was good for the size, but they are very close together. The pool was closed but it is winter, the lake and the wild life on the lake is beautiful. The play ground is in need of updating. Overall it is a good place to stay for a few days and if you want seafood there is a place about 5 miles down the street called LOVES that is very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$37
Bathrooms and showers were very clean and there was also a hair dryer in the women shower which was a nice extra. Check in was easy and office staff very pleasant. Some road noise but given the proximity to I-95 it was expected and actually not too bad. I have to question the wisdom of cutting down tree branches at 8 AM - seems a bit rude. The leave blowers were also obnoxious. Finally, beyond the campground is a private lake front community with several folks living there full time. Although the stated speed limit is 5 MPH, these folks were blowing through at around 25 MPH. Pretty obnoxious. But we were there just for an overnight and it was okay for that purpose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$40
Check in was smooth and staff friendly. Wi-Fi works well although a new code must be entered daily, not sure why. Nice small lake. Place clean and well maintained. Pull thru site not as long as most KOA's so had to unhook dinghy. Near two major roads but noise tolerable. Noise within the park another story. One afternoon it was the leaf blower, then were awakened by tree trimming, take down and stump grinding at, get this, 8AM. Ridiculous. Then it was the power washing around the office building. I understand wanting to keep the park neat and clean but at what cost to the customer? Might return for an overnight only since I-95 access is very close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
Very easy registration, wi-fi, easy to maneuver in and out of campground. 35 acre lake made for relaxing on park bench while watching various birds including ducks and egrets along the shore, and quietness was also appreciated. Easy to get on and off I-95 to Savannah, and staff gave very good directions on the free map in the office. Some trees were being taken out while we were there, so ease of getting big rigs into sites, etc. should be easier once that project is completed. Clean facilities, and store was stocked with campers in mind. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Campground roads are very narrow and it was hard to exit pull through sites in a big rig. Also, campground is infested with sand gnats that leave bites much worse than mosquitoes! Staff are indifferent to insect problem, and don't bother to inform campers that they have a sand gnat problem. Easy to prevent bites by using insect repellent, but since sand gnats are too small to see, the staff should alert visitors so they can protect themselves!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$38
This was a nice three night stay. Savannah is wonderful and very close. The staff was very nice. The store is well stocked, they even have RV bulbs and fuses. The sites are not concrete, they are sandy/grass. This was okay with us as we did not expect much more, especially for the price. The cable was good. There was some HD TV off air access. There are limited satellite sites. There are a limited number of big rig sites. There is some road noise, which was hidden when we ran a fan. The lake was nice and peaceful, with plenty of waterfowl. The park is dog friendly. They lead you to your site and pick up trash at site. The internet was robust. We are not sure why a previous review was so negative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
From the rude person at the check in counter to the dirt/sand overpriced space, this is a place to avoid. We did have a very small,very sparse patch of grass at the back end of the space that was of no use. The ground was wet so it was almost impossible not to track the dirt/sand into our RV. Have these people not heard of gravel,cement,or grass. This place makes a Wal-Mart parking lot look like the Ritz. We stayed there in a motorhome, but not again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
This is a typical KOA off the Interstate, very dusty, and we had 4 inches of rain while setting up so the lake in the campground was really nice. I can't fault a site because of the weather though, the bathrooms were clean and air conditioned. The store was well stocked. The laundry room is not large enough for this site. Sites were very tight, but all in all we would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
A very nice KOA close to the interstate. All the campground workers were friendly and gave great tips on what to see and where to eat. The only negatives I would give is the sites are sandy so you track a lot in your unit. Also, there are no grassy sites so you have to walk your dog along route 17 with alot of traffic going by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
This is a very nice KOA: on a lake with ducks and swans that roost in the trees in the middle of the lake. It was very quiet even though they get a lot of overnight campers from the interstate nearby. I never heard any of them leaving early in the morning even though they would be mostly gone by the time I woke-up. The office staff are very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We stopped for a night here on our way to Florida. Great staff, clean park. Sites are close and not very private, but it's fine for a couple of days to see Savannah. They have an Old Town Trolley that will come pick you up and bring you back. Easy to get to Savannah by car if you have a tow vehicle. Easy to get to right off of I-95. We really enjoy stopping here on our way south. Our Dog likes it too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Great place. Staff outstanding. When we arrived the computers was down, so there were some glitches with check-in and spot assignment. Staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. Computers were back on line just after we settled in and a staff member stopped by to make sure everything was O.K. and to ask if we needed anything else. Clean and tranquil. Star this one in the KOA directory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
A few sites are long enough for big rigs; medium-sized ones will be happier with the fit. Lots of trees and narrow CG roads with tight turns; campsite surfaces are natural dirt; trees help keep sites a little farther apart than often found in private campgrounds, and provide nice shade. Friendly staff, escort to site provided. Fairly well-stocked store in office, though gift assortment better than necessities. Placement of utilities varies with each site. Lakeside sites are back-in and very close together with no vegetation between. Campground has semi-tame ducks, geese & swans; ducks wander the campsites. Seasonal/long-term section separate from short-term section of CG and has very nice rental cabins around the lake. Savannah tourist trolley sends scheduled shuttle to campground for pickup and return. Campground convenient to US 17 and I-95; some road noise from both, also the obligatory train running nearby. Other than state parks, this may be the best option in Savannah area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Great staff, great cable TV, great Wi-Fi, great lake. Really nice park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Overpriced, as all KOA's. Looking for clean, reasonably priced, no frills, no trash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
The rate is based on a weekly rate (pay for 5 get 2 free) and included four coupons for the Nomadisp WIFI system. As others have mentioned there are a number of long term stays and cottages in the rear section of the park. We did not notice any traffic problems or noise as we were on an outside loop away from the main traffic flow. We were disappointed that the larger lakefront sites were all taken by the workampers and unavailable to visitors. During our previous visit in 2008, the workampers were in the long term stay area and we had a beautiful backin site on the lake. We would stay at this park again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
I have stayed here before. It is always a stop over. They have a lot going for them with the lake, etc. BUT there are cottages farther back in the park which have people living in them, so early morning traffic going by your RV is extensive. Also this time when we pulled into our site, there were 4 piles of dog waste we had to avoid while setting up. Because of these things, I rated this low. The dog waste alone is unacceptable. They should be checking the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$36
Great staff. Super friendly and helpful. Since this is located just off of I-95, it is a very busy park for the "one night stop" folks heading south for the winter. We stayed here 11 nights and had new neighbors almost every night while here. Sites are fairly close together with lots of shade. The lake is nice and full of many different types of geese, ducks and a few small gators. We rented a small jon boat one afternoon and the staff didn't even charge us the $3.00/hour fee. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$45
A great KOA with great owner/employees. The park was very clean and the office/store had lots to offer! Laundry facilities were nice and clean! We scheduled our trolley to downtown Savannah through the ladies in the office. We will stay at this park again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
We really enjoyed this park. I could see why some would not like it but it is a nice, clean park and a very friendly staff. We were in site #11 and was told that if we had any problems fitting in the site to let them know. The site was nice and level and we had plenty of room for our rear bedroom slide. I do agree there is a lot of sand, but it was not that big of an issue with us. We did have some road noise but then again, that was not that big of an issue. Even when the rain started our site did not become messy. We are already planning another trip to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
It is close to traffic so you do get some noise. Sites are nice and shaded. Nice and wide for larger RV's. One thing I didn't like was the internet. For one, you got one code. So if you and your mate has a computer, one of you will have to pay for it. Second, the connection was weak & slow. When we did ask about getting a second code, they told us it was one per day. So everyday you have to go up to the office to get another code. That was a pain. Plus it stinks to pay for a connection that doesn't work very well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$42
Sites are extremely narrow and short. We stayed here with a pop-up camper and when opened the camper and parked our car both were just contained on the site which was between 2 roads.People coming in very late and cars and trucks going in and out starting at 5:15 AM. Must be long term campers with jobs.Very sandy no grass would not want to be here in the rain. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
Easy access from I-95. There is a T/A travel center also at this exit if fuel is needed. The campground has many pine trees for shade, but that means there isn't much grass. In the rain there is a lot of sand and some mud to walk in, not well drained. The sites are adequate for pull thru sites. WiFi works OK, but there is a charge, $9 for 3 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
Sites sand or gravel. Mostly sand. Quite dirty due to sand everywhere. Quiet area right off I-95. Short drive to Savannah. Has tour bus company that will come to the park and pick you up. Very convenient. Would be a 10 except for sites. Staff friendly and efficient. Stayed here 4 days and toured area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
In my opinion, a very nice park. The sites are sand which some folks do not like. We stayed over St. Patrick's Day weekend when any accommodations were very hard to find and feel extremely lucky to have found such a nice campground. We passed several other campgrounds on US 17 on our travels around Savannah. Most were very close to the highway, with small sites and did not appear that well kept. We had an extremely large back in site at the end of a row. Some of the long pull through sites appeared to be narrow. We met several other campers that were repeat customers. There is a fairly large section of the park, primarily dedicated to snowbirds and longer term rentals. The park is far enough from the highway and train tracks that the noise is not a big issue. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$38
We've stayed here a couple of times overnight on our way to somewhere else. It's right off I-95 and walking distance to restaurants and truck stops. The pull-thru sites are convenient, but once we had a bit of trouble with the sewer connection being too far away, so we had to connect our spare sewer hose to the main hose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$37
Beautiful campground. Quiet, nice sites on packed sand. Close to Savannah and State Parks. We cannot hear the noise from the roadway, which is a plus. The only thing that would make it perfect is if they would provide wi-fi free of charge. As it is now, you have to pay $19 for a weeks worth of wi-fi. It works most of the time, but for the cost of the site, this would be a plus. We will stay here again. These people are out every day keeping the place spotless. We camped her a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$48
This was a great place to stop for one night on the way to Florida. The campground was very well kept. It had very easy access form I95 and maneuvering within the park was easy. The staff was very courteous and helpful. If we were to visit Savannah for an extended stay we would stay here. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in the area and fueling up before getting back on I95 is easy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$38
We stayed at campground for 5 days during Thanksgiving. Excellent park and the people were very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure things were right. Very enjoyable time and Savannah is awesome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
Made reservation, confirmed reservation, paid for reservation, arrived, and reservation was gone. Spent the night at Love's. Canceled my KOA membership, and swore I'd never darken their door again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$42
We made reservations at the Savannah South KOA Campground and when we arrived the office person said we would be parked on the lake. We were escorted to site #52 and our assigned spot was #13. I called the office and explained that we were in the wrong spot and the view was a big black tube out our front window. The person I spoke with stated she was the owner and if we didn't like our spot we could just leave. She did say someone would come down and we could change places with our friends who were put on our spot. The spot she put us in was so bad that I wouldn't have expected our friends to take it as they were also already set up. Why would this spot be used with so many better empty spots? My husband went to the office and she started screaming at him. This verbal attack was witnessed by other park visitors who informed me that it was not provoked by my husband. The owner who was actually the manager then told my husband that one more word and she was throwing him out. Everyone that we talked with was not impressed with the management including the staff. We then discovered that we were parked in the doggy dumpster area. Our view from our motorhome consisted of dogs doing their business continually. We had asked if we could be moved by the water as there was three empty spaces for three days. The answer was no of course. She then put a motorhome there longer than ours. We toughed it out for four days due to lack of other campground openings. We have never been treated so badly and we have camped for 30 years. We found this campground to be over run with ants and mosquitos and in general not very tidy. Other campers were just disgusted with the dysfunctional management and packed up and left. It was interesting that when we received our KOA Kard it stated that with the Kard goes a promise of the best site. The pictures that I took from our motorhome tells the story. Many staff workers complained about the manager to campers too. I was even told by two of them who to complain to and where to send the pictures. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
The campground is ideally located right off of I-95 in Georgia. It is a lovely place with a large pond. It is well manicured and very clean. The staff takes great pride in the appearance and customer service; it's a shame the manager doesn't feel the same. I made reservations on-line for a two-night stay in April for October with the intent of visiting Savannah, Georgia. While I found mixed reviews on-line, overall this campground provided the amenities and location we desired for our week-end stay. We traveled from Maryland to Georgia and on the day of arrival I called to verify our reservation and ensure a large site for our 40-ft motor home and trailer. The staff member who answered my call was friendly and helpful. She very quickly recognized there was only one large site, referenced as 70 feet, and I was told she would reserve it for us. Upon arrival, I was met outside the office by one of the staff who inquired about my reservation. I showed her the reservation and was promptly met at the door inside the office by the manager, who advised they “could not accommodate” my motor home and trailer. She advised a woman behind the counter to issue a full refund for my deposit. I asked if we could unhook and was told there was no where to put the trailer. She repeated several times, “We can not accommodate you.” When I asked what she expected me to do, she advised I should find another camp ground and suggested one in South Carolina. I left the office and returned with my boyfriend to inquire about alternatives. Once back in the office another manager, was present and through negotiation we were able to unhook the trailer and park in front of the office. We were not offered the opportunity to view the site and determine other options. After arriving at the campsite, we realized there was no need to unhook. I was shocked and disappointed by the lack of customer interest displayed by the manager. Not only was she rude, she was argumentative. She made no attempt to offer resolutions until the second manager was present. The staff was noticeably disturbed by the incident and offered numerous apologies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
We stayed here 3 nights while visiting Savannah. You can catch a trolley tour bus at the camp store that will take you on a one hour tour of Savannah then return you to the camp store. We enjoyed sitting on the park benches watching swans in the park lake. This park is not close to downtown Savannah. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
From previous posts and our experience, it seems site reservations and coordination of groups is a problem for this campground. We had reserved 3 side-by-side sites for 3 nights. One in our party tried to cancel 2 days in advance. He could never get anybody to answer the phone. He left a message on the answering machine stating he had to cancel. When he called again the next day, he was told since he did not give 48 hours notice he was going to be charged for one night. He told them he left a message on their machine. They said they never got the message. When I originally made my reservation, I could never get an answer either. I left a message and they returned my call within an hour. When I arrived, I double checked to make sure the other camper in our party was going to be in the site next to ours. They confirmed this and said it was not a problem. When our other camper showed up a few hours later, they were assigned a site 2 spots away. When we complained at the office, we were told they already promised the site to somebody else. I told them that is not what I was told earlier. They said nothing could be changed. Later that evening an overnight camper showed up on that site, but there were many other empty spots that they could have been sent to. With as many open sites as they had, they could have very easily had us in side by side sites. This is just an average campground. The sites are fairly level and all sandy soil. It is convenient to get to from I-95 and the ride to downtown Savannah is not too bad. The pool area was clean. In the office, they had a nicely stocked store. The next time we are in Savannah we will probably stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
This is a very nice RV park. They have made many improvements since we were here three years ago. The sites are level and the roads are paved. The park has sites of all varing sizes. We will stay at this RV park again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Not to be redundant, we agree with all the positive comments prior to this post. Manager and staff were friendly and very accommodating. We camped in a 45' Prevost and were given a nice pull through. There is one turn on the way out that is very tight if towing. While a little bit of an inconvienience, it's probably better to unhook the tow before exiting if you're in a 45'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Very nice campground. We stayed on our way down to Disney. It was a nice place to pull off the road and rest for the night. Most people there seem to be doing the same. We like it enough to stop on the way back also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Nice quit campground. Lake is beautiful. Drive to Savannah is not bad. Sights are a bit close. Staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
We stayed here while visiting friends . A nice park, although for the price not having cable access is ridiculous, but we just used our satellite system. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
Stayed in this park overnight while traveling home from Orlando. Called and requested a pull-through said and was told they had none so we were given a back-in site. We were given a tent site - and our popup trailer barely fit in the space. Our back bunk was about 2 inches from a tree and our front bunk was almost in the roadway. Our van had to be squeezed into the site. We noticed many pull through sites at this time but again at check-in we were told they had no pull throughs available. Campground backs up to a very nice, clean lake with fishing available to campers. Since our campsite was on the lakeside, other campers kept walking through our campsite to view the lake - they were literally walking right next to our door and windows. Our neighbors (who appeared to be 18-20 yrs old) arrived while we had gone out to fill up on gas. They had pitched their tent on our campsite directly under our back bunk along with their picnic table. We decided to let it go since we were only staying overnight. Very loud with kids and adults yelling and screaming until well past 11 p.m. Before bed we observed about 10 pull through sites still available. In the morning, our teenage neighbors awoke and promptly dumped all their leftover food from the night before on the ground - causing every duck in 10 miles to invade the area. While leaving we still saw 10 pull through sites still available even after we were told they had no pull-throughs. Clean bathrooms and showers. Small pool but we didn't bother to check it out. Would stay here again due to the convenient location, but this time insist on pull through site away from the lakeside. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
I am staying here as an extended stay guest. The extended stay rate is the best in the area. As of 6/2007, it is $270 per month, plus $30 for cable, plus electric and LP. Compared to other campsites I looked at making an extended stay at, the KOA offers the lowest rate, Cable TV (that you can call Comcast and get cable modem connected to at your cost), beautiful wooded sites that you can stretch out on, catch-and-eat fishing from the lake, 1 minute from I-95, and a store stocked with essential RV'ing goodies and groceries(though the prices will make you look for the closest Wal Mart). Though staff is VERY friendly, it can be a good thing to just take some matters in your own hands. This KOA has VERY few tent sites - 5 total. If you tent, PLEASE call for reservations. Pool is very clean but can be busy. I'm very happy here and have no hurries to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
The only thing we found good about this KOA is that it is right off I-95. The manager of this campground is extremely rude with no cause. The other employee seem to follow her example. I do not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Staff very friendly and helpful. View with the lake is wonderful. Bathrooms very clean. Park also has small location to clean your truck and RV for a $$. Even though Hwy is near, park is not too noisy. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$36
While KOA is not usually my choice due to corporate "cookie-cutter" qualities, I was really impressed with this campground. More spacious sites than usual with good but not intrusive tree cover and easy in and out - and the most convenient full hookup park for exploring Savannah. But besides that, when you find nice sites with great management, you've really found a winner! The managers were some of the best I've seen in almost 6 years of full timing. They're experienced RV'ers themselves, so know what they want in a park and go above and beyond to provide it to their guests. Immaculate restrooms/showers and friendly service. Highly recommend it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$36
What a pleasure! From the moment we turned into the beautiful entrance we could tell that our choice for our "home away from home" in Savannah was a great one. The front desk was staffed by the most pleasant and courteous staff we could have hoped to be served by. We later discovered that this to be the manager and we were most impressed that she and her husband were both willing to not only manage the park but to put in time working and providing excellent service to their guests. Our site was a spacious pull-through. Although we've had larger sites at other parks, we had no complaints with this site. It was long enough for us to leave our tow car attached although many others we observed did disconnect and park in the front of their rigs. The grounds were well kept and the lake was lovely. A calming evening was spent gazing at the swans swimming along the shore. Although we use our own restroom and shower facilities, we took a peek at the park bathouse and found it sparkling clean. The campground store was stocked with all the items any camper could want or need. Quite a variety of groceries, snacks, sodas, and ice cream. We recommend this park to anyone wishing to spend time in a park that offers the comforts and care often only found when visiting an old friend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$36
Great campground. We stayed overnight on our way to Florida and were treated very hospitably. The sites were large enough for our 43 foot MH and well-maintained. The camp store was well-stocked, and the workers were so friendly and helpful. The owners themselves are on site and were available if needed. The villas in the rear of the campground are beautiful, and the lake and pool areas are very attractive. Many stores and restaurants nearby as well as easy on/off access. We would definitely stay here again and would like to visit in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
We will never stay here again. Called the day before arrival for reservations. Told we didn't need them. Got there didn't have any regular sites open. We were put in area located with permanent sites. Hard to get into because of all the extra stuff around the permanent sites. Office staff could have cared less. Cable TV didn't work. Reported it, but never got fixed while we were there. Upon check-in, printer was not working for receipt of credit card. Told to come back when it was working. How was I supposed to know that. Worst campground we have stayed in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
We found this campground just right for us! We had a back-in lakefront spot that gave us a wonderful view. The swans, geese, ibis, heron, egret and other birds were beautiful. The pull-thru spots were average and you might miss the ambiance of the lake if you park there. The employees were very nice and helpful. We did not notice the muddy holes that others have reported and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
I would call this barely ok as an overnight stop (which is what we did). The grounds were unkept, three are a lot of semi-permanent campers and cats running everywhere. We were in a pull-through site and the hook ups were so far away we couldn't use the sewer hookup, had to use the dump station on our way out. We won't be stopping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2006
$38
This campground is OK for an over night stop. It is very close to I95 which gives some road noise. There are also trains near which also give some noise. Not far from historic Savannah. Interior roads were a little dusty and the pine trees are not friendly to the finish on your tow vehicle or RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$38
This KOA could use some repairs on the internal roads. When it rains, they are pools of mud. The many pine tree roots make the sites very bumpy and unlevel. This could be much nicer if the owners would do some maintenance on the grounds. The modem hookup is in a rec room and is only available during certain hours. WiFi would be a definite improvement. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
We live in Florida, and we usually stay at this campground overnight while passing through Georgia on I-95. It is easily accessed from the interstate and has pull through sites big enough for our 40-foot motor home. The campground includes a pretty lake with swans, geese, ducks and other water fowl. The only problems we have encountered were deep mud puddles after heavy rain -- right in the middle of the roads, so your RV or towed vehicle had to plow through them. Most of the time we have found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. However, the last visit we registered with friendly but poorly trained teenagers who didn't know how to operate the credit card machine, and who couldn't answer any questions. An excellent nearby (10 minutes by car) restaurant is Love's Seafood on Highway 17, one of the main reasons we always stop here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$43
Campground was ok for overnight only. Wouldn't want to stay longer. No view or charm, but it is convenient to the highway; easy on and off. Before taking a shower I had to pick up used band-aids, gum, q-tips and several globs of hair. Then the drain backed up into the shower: yuk! The office was staffed by teenagers who acted like they were doing you a favor by checking you in. I strongly feel that the campground is way overpriced ($43/night) for the condition it was in. I like animals, but I do not find waterfowl or any loose pets wandering the campground desirable; I don't like stepping in what they leave behind! However, to the campground's benefit, they did send us an e-mail thank you note after our stay. Thank you notes are very rare these days! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
This park has tremendous potential, but alas through either a lack of caring or lack of funds, the overall condition of this park is dreadful. From check in, the park is no where near what we've come to expect from KOA standards. There was no one over the age of 18 working in the office at any time, the massive puddles quickly became lakes all throughout the campground making navigation impossible. The "water fowl" write up sounds charming, until you see that there's about 500 in the road ways at all times. The 2 nights we were there, our neighbours were without power for many hours at a time, this during 90+ degree heat and equal humidity. Upon leaving the campground, the much advertised and needed Rig wash had about as much water pressure as a tot's water pistol and to add insult to injury, the hose is only long enough to do one side of your rig. Perfect! Overall an experience that is much below the usually high KOA standard. Would never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
A good overnight park, or place to stay while exploring Savannah. Clean showers, bathrooms, activity room and laundry room. Fair interior roads, with some potholes needing attention. Easy pull-through access. Lots of nearby restaurants and a truckstop for fuel. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Decent campground. Owners very friendly and helpful. Not exactly close to Savannah, that's about another 25 minute drive. Convenient location with restaurants, fuel, etc., close-by. Interstate access within 1 mile. Campground was very muddy when we were here, roads in campground need a lot of gravel. When driving out it was impossible to avoid huge mud-puddles in the middle of the road, got the rig filthy. Also, the pull-through campsite we camped on was mostly sand, so we were constantly cleaning that out of the motorhome. Has an RV wash station which was a nice touch. You're gonna need it if you camp here in the rainy season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Very pretty. Lots of tall trees. Nice lake with lots of waterfowl. Good spot for quiet relaxation. Would go back anytime we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$29
Good overnighter, easy access to I-95 but far enough away for no highway noise. Restrooms very clean but need a little updating. Staff has always been friendly and helpful, we enjoy watching waterfowl on the lake. Some permanent sites at rear of cg, but easy access to pull-thrus in short-term area. We return anytime we visit Savannah or travel through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$29
Neat and clean. Quiet. Convenient to I-95 and Savannah area. The only negative was the price, at $29 they are overpriced for the area by about $5-$8. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$29
Very tight for big rigs, the 50 amp sites we saw were actually in the main drive way facing the highway ( very strange) other than that a typical KOA. Loud at times and overpriced. Friendly enough staff, A bit of a drive from Savannah, about 15 miles. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Very well run campground, manager very nice. We were there St. Patricks weekend and they found room for everyone. will stay there again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$23
Ok for overnight. Has narrow sites, but was long enough for a 40' 5th. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com