223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Hard Labor Creek State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (706) 557-3001
CGID927

Hard Labor Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   8   7   9   9   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Better than we expected! Large and clean sites with plenty of space. We stayed at #26 and it was flat. Sites closer to the stream are smaller, but there is still plenty of room for a fifth wheel or large travel trailer. People are supper friendly and bath houses were clean. It was quiet and there is space for any size camper in the park. Large swim area and a small lake for small boat with no motors as well. The only thing is the bath house near the circle with lake views is not updated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
MH's towing heed the RR warning if coming in via the signs. Very sharp incline, there are a couple of big lots near the park turnoff on US-278 for unhooking. The CG here has lots of nice level sites, mostly back-ins. Paid $28 less 20% senior discount, plus $1 for 10 cable TV stations. No Verizon cell or broadband in CG, but there was a usable signal near the office. We had a really big level site. Only downside is the CG exit and dump stations are on the same narrow road. So you could be stuck in a dump line if only trying to go somewhere. The golf course was overloaded on a Friday; we drove off the course after 5 hours and having 4 more holes to play. Not acceptable at all. Laura Walker and Little Ocmulgee are much better options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
One of the nicest parks in Georgia...close to cute towns like Rutledge and Madison, Ga. Lake is loaded with bass and brim. Popular with horse folks. Some of the nicest sites feature two and three tiers - a place to park, a lower level for tents and chairs, and another level for picnic table and fire rings. Very friendly staff, well-secluded sites. Highest possible rating for a state park... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Nice State Park. Our site faced the lake where we caught a few small fish. The sites were well designed and nicely landscaped. We went on one of the weekends that the observatory was open but unfortunately weather prevented us from seeing anything. We didn’t see much to do in the area. There was absolutely no reception for Verizon. Campground does offer cable TV for $1 more per day. Probably wouldn’t stay here again. Not that the campground was that bad, but there are many others that have more activities and more things in the area to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This is a very nice state park. The staff is friendly, both paid and volunteers. We stayed 7/2 for 3 nights and again 7/9 for 1 night. Our first stay was in #6. Very nice except the cable did not work but did get a refund. On the 9th, we stayed in #13 which is a very nice, long, and private pull thru. I would have rated it higher except for two things: It is hard to understand their signs and we drove past the entrance the first time because it didn't specify it was for camping. The other is that there is virtually no cell phone signal. You have to go up to the golf course, about a mile, to get any reliable service. The fee is $28/night, but mention you are 62 or older and you get a $5.00 discount. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Camped in site 47 which was down in the valley but very secluded. Great park with lots to do in the surrounding communities. Staff is very helpful and friendly, including the camp hosts. Facilities are a little bit older but well kept and clean. We camp here often as it is close to home, yet we can still enjoy the outdoors. We will return again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
This is a lovely, hilly, wooded campground with good spacing between level sites. Some sites are on the creek, some are on the lake, and some are “just” in the woods. We love it when deer come up to our campsite. Usually we overnight here on our way from North Carolina to Florida but have on occasion stayed several nights to explore historic towns in the area: Rutledge, Madison, and Eatonton. Price is for seniors with Georgia State Park pass and includes an extra $1 for cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$30
This park was good for us because it is close to home. And it was good for checking our camper out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
I don't know how the last reviewer stayed for $10/night. I'm a senior and got a $5 discount off the regular rate of $25. It is a beautiful park with a great golf course. No sewer which is why I didn't give it a 9 or 10. It's nice they have cable TV available because there are so many trees that satellite reception is nill. Verizon cell phone coverage is very limited. We had to drive to the golf course or into Rutledge to get reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$10
This is part of the Georgia State park system and could easily be mistaken for a high end private campground. It is absolutely beautiful, spacious sites and immaculate. The bathrooms are old and could use a makeover. The golf course is used by the pros for practice before Augusta. It looks fabulous and I wish I had my clubs with me. Make it a destination. There are also camping cottages and horse facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
A great state park in a wonderful location. It's close proximity to the historic town of Madison is a great convenience. Many of the campsites have recently received some sprucing up with new gravel and utility connectors, and most are well spaced with plenty of room and privacy. There is a lot to do at the park when you're finished touring the local historic cities (Rutledge is nice in addition to Madison). Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We had a great time camping at Hard Labor Creek campground. The sites were level, shady and well maintained. The bathrooms were old but clean, which is all you can ask for. There is not a lot of things for kids to do. The observatory is open one night a month. If you can plan your trip for one of the open houses at the observatory I would highly recommend it. We were able to see Jupiter, the moon and several binary stars. Very educational. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Great campground. Level sites, clean rest rooms and showers. Too bad the lake is down due to the drought, great lake sites. Close to shopping and Interstate 20. GA State University runs an observatory at the park once a month. Unfortunately, we were camping during a monsoon and we were not able to attend. We plan to go back during the warmer weather for golf and swimming. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Lovely, thoughtfully designed park typical of Georgia State Parks. Sites are all marked for tent or RV so we shouldn't see the guy with the bicycle and miniature tent in the 60 foot pull through. Some tight turns on interior roads. We will go there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This is a great camp for horseback riding, offering a separate camping site for riders. Camp sites are well maintained. Bathrooms and showers are very clean. Camp Host was great and very informitive. Great park for hiking with over 22 miles of trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
Beautiful, well maintained campground typical of Georgia State Parks. Paved interior roads are narrow and have some sharp turns. Sites are level. We believe all sites are 30 amp, not 50 as others have stated. Cable TV $1 extra. We will definitely go here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
This was our first trip ever in an RV, so admittedly I don't have too much to go on. But the grounds and bathrooms were clean, the employees were friendly and they patrolled the CG every few hours. We got there a little late for a primo spot, but it was nice none the less, would definitely recommend this CG. I did read a review about avoiding the RR crossing in Rutledge (which looks like an adorable town)but we had no problem in our 31' Class C. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Campsites are spacious. The pads are built with small gravel, very comfortable to the feet and for our dogs. Many of the sites are multi-tiered, each graveled. All have nice tables and fire rings. Many shaded sites, and many on the creek or ponds. Have now camped there twice. Planning on going back again in October of this year. Another really neat thing to do is visit the observatory which is located within the park. The observatory has open house one weekend per month and is run by Georgia State University. Google Hard Labor Creek Observatory for info. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Great park not too far from Atlanta. Sites were level with crushed stone including patio with perm.concrete picnic tables.We had site 41 by the creek. Very nice and clean with good hiking trails. Rather hilly for riding bike. Golf near by and nice swimming lake. Twists and turns and some low hanging limbs but nothing a good driver can not handle. Would definitely recommend and go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Many of the sites are small, but reservations can be made for 50' and 60' sites to accommodate larger rigs. This is a very nice and clean campground with accommodating state employees. The only negative points are narrow roads, (unhook your toad at the registration office), and the steep railroad crossing in Rutledge, which can be avoided by not turning right to cross it, but stay straight ahead traveling 1.2 miles west to the second right, which will be Old Mill Road. This road has a level RR crossing. When this road ends, (about 2 miles), the park entrance will be on your left. The golf course is nice especially for the money ($10 for 18 holes if you walk). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
Great State Park! Play ground and horse facilities - golf for those inclined with very reasonable fees. This can be a destination CG for time away from the hustle of life. Small Grocery stores in town. Warning: there is a steep approach to the rail road crossing in town - real danger of bottom scrapes - approach with caution. You have to cross this thing to get to park. Staff/rangers were great - went out of the way to interact with our child! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Typically well-designed and maintained Georgia state park, attractive in all respects. We were right on the scenic creek and saw deer come within a few feet. ... Only negative was the grumpy female ranger at check-in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
Although the sites were fairly nice size, we felt the park had not been taken care of. There was no soap in the bathrooms. They had a water pipe problem and some of the sites were getting brown water. The worst part was the ticks. They were everywhere - at the site and on the trail. Hundreds of seed ticks crawled on my husband several times. We cut the trip short due to the ticks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
The campground host suggested I park in site #3 that is a pull-through. This was a fantastic site. We had a grassy hill just outside our door. It was our own private backyard. My son and I went golfing at the The Creek Golf Course that is about a quarter mile down the road. The dump station was a little tight but our 29' trailer made it. I would return if I was camping in the area. Great campground and golf course. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
This is a nice state park. It's peaceful even if crowded. There is a laundry facility, picnic tables, and fire rings. The nearby golf course is gorgeous and well maintained. But, the campground is definitely not friendly to taller RVs. There are a substantial amount of low overhanging trees that will snag the top and sides of your rig as you drive thru it. Additionally, the voltage was low. The rating would be higher if those two issues were corrected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$21
Beautiful state park as are all of Georgia's. Sites that are very large and private. Our site had 3 separate levels. Each lower than the first. This park also has campground for horse owners with stalls. The only problem we had with this park were the ticks. They are everywhere. My daughter and husband were infested with tiny, tiny seed ticks. The park has deer everywhere, we would have deer standing on our camp site all hours of the day. They aren't afraid of people, so I can only assume that is why there is an over abundance of ticks. We probably will not camp here again but only because my daughter is afraid of the ticks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Have stayed at Hard Labor Creek a couple of times this year and both trips were very good. The park is located north of the small town of Rutledge and is about 6 miles from I-20. Easy access to the park from the interstate. While I am not a golfer, there is a golf course in the park and understand this is a major attraction. Some of the sites are pretty close together, but you can find some that are at least 20 yards from the nearest camper. Sites are well shaded and level with picnic table and a fire pit. While we use the trailer facilities, we did look in the bath house and all appeared clean. From what we understand, this is pretty much the case with Georgia state parks. Rutledge is a very small town with a good restaurant - Yesterday Cafe. Worth a trip for dinner and be sure to check out the old caboose where you can buy some great fudge. For more "serious" shopping you will have to head into Covington (15 miles away). For a great Southern Buffet, check out the Blue Willow Inn - about 10 miles away in Social Circle. A wonderful weekend get-away location for those of us in Atlanta! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com