221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Old Stone Fort State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (931) 723-5073
CGID9299

Old Stone Fort State Park

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   10   9   7   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$19
This is a rustic park, but many trees and shade. The bathrooms were older, pretty clean but not maintained while we were there. Also to note, the bathrooms in our camping area were only toilets and sinks, the showers were down the road, not quite as clean and also had bathrooms with them. Unfortunately, we had tent campers behind us that stayed up until 2 AM and talked very loud, so it was difficult sleeping. It was pretty close to the interstate and to enter the campground one had to cross over a one lane bridge. Would have liked to know that in advance! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Arrived at dark and left next day so really didn't see much of campground or facilities. Rate at TN state parks is good but as stated prior, parks appear to suffer from lack of needed repairs and updates likely from lack of funds from state. Online reservation site set up few years ago is wonderful and should help their occupancy rates, I hope. Staff was friendly, park was adequate. Lacked needed signage for directions getting there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
Got the off season-senior rate which was well worth it. The facilities are ancient but clean. Paved but some level, some not level sites. Moss growing on most of the shaded sites. Very narrow bridge across the river to access, but otherwise easy in and out for all but the longest motorhome/5th wheel combos. 5th wheels would be very hard to maneuver around. Lots of low, poor drainage areas, so we bet the mosquitoes would be terrible in season. One other point, the signage from the interstate to the park is poor, so use the GPS. Maybe 2 miles from the interstate, though We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Got to stay here a couple of nights as I went back and forth across the state. Friendly people. Being Sept. there was still room on a Saturday night. Later in the week when I stayed a second time it was almost empty. Showers and restrooms were clean, bug free, and well ventilated. I would like to come here again if I get the chance. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Very nice state park campground with friendly workers. We walked from the campground to the museum and hiking trails. Lots of trees: it is doable in a Class A but a little tight in spots. My husband says, "Better know how to drive your big boy before visiting this park." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Some spots are not well drained. Heavily wooded sites so no satellite TV. Great hiking trails at the Stone Fort along the Duck River. I would readily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This an older park with an new bridge at its campground entrance. This is NOT A BIG RIG PARK. The bridge is narrow with low weight limits. Trees are low and roads are narrow. This is a fantastic park for small travel trailers and pop-ups, with lots of trees in a natural setting. The web site for the park mentions the bridge but does not mention the width or weight restrictions. Great area for nature lovers. Did not accept Golden Access Pass as Tenn did in the past. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
The campground was well shaded and quiet. The rangers were nice and helpful. There some walking trails. Beware of the Stone Fort trail, it has a lot of bluffs, very dangerous for children. The museum was very interesting and there are a few demonstrations. We did have electrical problems which was isolated to the first loop of the campground. The breaker was overloading and we were without electricity half of the time we were there. From what we understand it was a problem last year too. Good place to camp for a couple of nights, but not really a whole lot to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com