217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Mother Lode Fairgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (209) 532-7428
CGID9312

Mother Lode Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   6   9   5   7   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Open field camping with some shade in selected sites. Level and easy to maneuver for big rigs. Clean bathhouses. We had full hookups with 50 amp and partial shade. Perfectly good place to stay and convenient to the Sonora Twain Harte area. About an hour and 40 minute drive to Yosemite. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Access to locked restrooms/showers is by keypad. If you arrive when the office is closed, there may not be anyone there to give you the code, and there is no phone number to call. Campground host was not there the whole weekend we stayed, but the maintenance crew happened to be working Sat. morning, and they were able to help. (We were told by another camper that the host hadn't been there during his previous visit either.) We called the next time we planned to stay to ask for the code or a phone number and were told to use the facilities in our RV. Won't stay there again despite it being a fairly nice and convenient place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
The good news, the new bathrooms are done. The bad news, they still are not being cleaned. We were here for over a week the grass hasn’t been mowed the bathrooms were not cleaned. They still don’t have Wi-Fi and the price has been raised to $30 per night with no discounts for week stays or Good Sam or anything. Not sure how often we will stay here in the future. To bad that this great community asset is not being utilized. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
These fairgrounds are a very well kept secret. The sites are on grass and fairly level, not much to get it level. Beautiful mature shade trees, it was a park setting. Except for a couple other RV's we had the place to ourselves. There are brand new restrooms and showers that are very nice. Very big rig friendly and it sure beats the other RV parks in the area for price and space for big rigs. We will return next time we are visiting the gold country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
The new restroom is under construction but the old one is in worse shape than ever. The grass sites are starting to wear out with ruts, and the sewer opening was full of earwigs so bring so spray to keep them out of your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
We have been here several times but this is the first time in the winter. The paved sites around the perimeter were fine but after all the rain I wouldn't want to try the grass sites as they are very slick and muddy. Still this is the best deal in the area, and the new restrooms should be built this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We were here last year and gave it an 8. However the restrooms are in even worse shape, and the rate has been raised from $20 to $25. This place is still very convenient and we will stay here again. Hopefully, someday they will fix the restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
The office is only open Monday - Friday, 8am to 5pm. There is a campground host located at the far end by the restrooms. They do not take reservations (except for groups); it's first come first serve, but the host said that they never fill up. The front gate is always open with a pay envelope slot for cash or check. It was $25 for full hookups, $5 for only the dump station. Tent sites were $20. Pull through and back in sites were semi-level, on grass and dirt, some with shade trees. The restrooms were very old and require a entry code that you obtain at the office or from the host. Since this is a County Fairground you will get flies from the various animals. There is no security, and anyone can come in through the open gate. We did not have any problems but we thought it best to park next to three other RV's that were there. Very quiet at night. I couldn't find another RV Park in Sonora so this is it. We stayed one night as we were visiting friends in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Older restrooms keep this old fairgrounds site from getting a higher rating, but this is the best kept secret in the Mother lode. You can walk to downtown Sonora or across the street to a great barbecue place. You can not find a more centrally located spot to visit the caves, wineries, Big Trees and Yosemite than Sonora. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com