214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Palms RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (352) 748-2237
CGID9371

Thousand Palms RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   10   9   5   8   7   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$43
We camped here for 9 days including St. Patrick's Day weekend, and were included in their celebration dinner and dance. What a fun time and well organized. The sites in this park are very spacious and have plantings between most, if not all of their sites. Very shaded with beautiful mature live oaks and palm trees. The 3-hole golf course needs some work, but made a great place to walk our dogs each morning. Shuffleboard was available as was air boat riding at the local establishment. Downtown Inverness has great restaurants and various churches to attend. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2014
$43
Claims to have large pull thru sites (Wrong). I was in a circle and had to ask the person in front of me to move his truck so that Ii could get out. Site was very unlevel and twisted my slide which leaked when it rained. Free WiFi (Wrong). You get 1.2G a month if they can get your computer hooked up. Paved roads to all sites (Wrong). Road in center of park is paved, but everything else is dirt and rough. Plus, I was asked how sharp I could turn as they had to take me through some rough and close areas. Will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This is truly an awesome campground! When we pulled up on our site which was across from the clubhouse and was getting out to setup, several other campers came over introduced themselves and were eager to invite us to the current activity going on in the clubhouse. Everyone here is extremly friendly; we stayed for 3 days and felt like we had been there for months because we knew just about everyone before we left. The campground has a ton of activities going on all the time, Bingo, Nightly Card and Domino games, group activities and outings, golf, Lunch Socials and dinners. You wont get bored here that I promise. The park is very pet friendly which is a plus considering we have 3 pugs. The staff is wonderful, very helpful and they keep the park extremly clean. If you are in the area I highly recommend Thousand Palms RV park. We look forward to visiting again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Stayed here when visiting relatives in the Villages. This is a very nice campground, a mix of campers and park models that mostly have snow birds. Park is very clean and the owners/workampers are superb. Soup day on Wednesdays is a treat. Two of the residents/workers do the cooking, and it is as good as any place to eat in town. Lots to do or just enjoy a walk in the adjacent acreage. A good drive to either town (shopping), but well worth the trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$50
Don't know where the sites they had on line as premium pull through were. Our pull through was a field of grass. The paved road ended to ride around for our site. The Wi-Fi was limited which meant you only get so much time then you can't get back on. The water was awful. It just wasn't worth the $50 a night that we paid. The pool didn't look good either. We camped here in a motor home We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Great place to park during off season. My weekly rate was $152 + taxes. The owner was very accommodating as was all of his staff. I learned to play "Hand Over Foot" card game with his staff members. Met a lot of really nice campers here, including some who stay for a season. It's not really located at Lake Panasoffkee. It's less than 10 miles east of Wildwood or less than 10 miles west of Inverness and on a 4 lane highway. As I was leaving, they were setting up a huge water slide contraption to get the family camping business during the summer months. I was parked under trees and it was cool. The only drawback is the very loud noise of air boats revving their engines at a public boat ramp next door (which goes on until late at night too). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
We stayed here off season so none of the 'activities' were available. The staff, while friendly, consisted of only a few people (the rest were working at the corporate HQ in Michigan). I had to phone four times over a three and one-half hour period in order to make a reservation. Evidently their "customer service" person (based in Michigan) did not believe in returning phone messages. Yes, the restrooms are clean and there is a pool as well as full-service sites, but the overall facility appears lacklustre and old-fashioned. RVs sit on either grass or dirt at the sites. And the hook-ups are spread around instead of being conveniently clustered. Our water source was to the left of the patio pad, while the sewer was behind the coach and the electricity (50 amp only) was immediately to its right. Compared to other campgrounds that we frequent, this place isn't worth the $36 per night that was charged (which actually turned out to be $40 when taxes were added). We would be unlikely to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
One of the cleanest, friendliest parks we've ever stayed in! Staff is very accommodating to ensure you are satisfied and feel like part of the "family" of campers staying there. Lots of beautiful trees and large sites, unlike so many of the large RV parks in Florida. Would highly recommend Thousand Palms RV Resort! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
We stayed here for a month at a rate of $525 per month, plus electricity. The campground staff is very friendly and helpful. Everything is well maintained. A variety of activities are planned throughout the month for those who wish to participate. Wi-Fi is excellent; we did not use the cable TV. Hiking trails and a small golf course on site. Excellent biking trails and paddling streams nearby. We hope to use this campground again someday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
Nice Park, Nice People, My Kind Of Place ! I love the bathrooms here. They are beautiful and I have been in them mornings, mid-days and evenings and ALWAYS found them clean. I have cleaned professionally in my life so I think I'm a pretty good judge of clean. I was also surprised by the "nothing to do comment." We have a great time here. Love the potlucks, the desert bars, and the weekly weenie roast - and they're FREE ! I also think this area has a lot to offer. We are goers - almost every day, we find interesting new things to see and do. As for prices, I have checked around a lot and found Thousand Palms to be one of the most reasonable. This park doesn't have rates that I consider high for this area and it also discounts for weekly and longer stay. After spending a couple of vacations with us here, my brother's family has reserved their own site for next winter. I guess this is just our kind of place. I love it here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
The park staff are excellent, available, and always ready to help! They listen to guest activity suggestions and requests and implement them whenever possible. The park is quiet, clean, and have a "campground" atmosphere. Not the concrete and blacktop sterile types one typically visits in Florida. We really enjoyed that! The park offers excellent access to the highway, is very close to major interstates, shopping, and convenient for daily road trips. The pool is totally cool: recently renovated, heated, and always clean. Because of all the palms, you can float on your back and watch all the birds flying back and forth, in and out of your view!!! We enjoyed our stay very much and plan to return for the winter of 2010. Enjoy! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
This will actually be a double review in 1 post. We have stayed here twice, first was a "Preview Stay" on our way south through Florida to stay in Miami 11/08 to 1/15/09 to visit with my family. We then returned here to stay 1/15/09 to 4/15/09. So this review will be a bit longer than usual. When possible we try to at least tour the RV Resort before committing to be there for several months. Best is to stay a couple of nights to get a true feel of the resort. Luckily, due to our travel route we were able to stay here a couple of nights. From the first smile and warm, friendly, & welcoming greeting at the office when we checked in for our first stay we were quite sure we had found the the correct resort for us. Being early November they were not completely full yet, although they were very busy, they allowed us to preview the RV sites available to choose from for our short stay. To be so accommodating usually requires a long stay for the staff to go out of their way, but we had yet to even discuss & confirm our return dates at this point. Another good sign! Usually you get a list of available spaces from the front desk with a comment check them out and let us know what you want. Not here, they gave us a "No Pressure" tour of the resort showing the spaces available to choose from and also outlining the improvements they had completed so far and their future aspirations for the resorts. I immediately loved their three hole fun golf course the RV'ers have created, PGA it is not, but it's there for the fun of the game. We decided on space #122 in a small circle group of 6 new spaces they had laid out. We chose #122 because of the clear shot for our satellite dish to tune in. Although they have cable TV available, there were specific shows that we knew were going to aired on our satellite system we wanted to be sure we'd be able to watch while there. These spaces would be great for a mini group rally or the headquarters of the rally masters of a larger gathering especially being these spaces are adjacent to their new huge beautiful Club House. I am a stickler for quality power as we have had to repair or replace electronic equipment due to poor power voltage. The power level consistently ranged between 117 to 123 volts! Excellent in my experience for RV resorts. Another priority is the bathrooms/showers, their's are top notch & very clean and would put to shame any we have seen so far in our travels. Their heated swimming pool had just been completely refurbished and was a pleasure to enjoy. We returned for our 3 month "Snowbird" winter stay and had a great time. This time we found the activities calendar chocked full of things to do. Everything from Classic RV Resort potlucks that always have too much delicious food, to golf, shuffleboard, photography classes with computer support help, movie nights, pool side hot dog cook outs, catch & release fishing in their pond, Monday library bookmobile w/ movies you could check out, adventure trails. The list seemed endless, I know I forgot many activities but the above were the things we had fun attending. Like magic if someone mentioned they were interested in a new activity it just seem to appear on the next calendar! There were also group outings going to local flea markets, horseback riding, air-boat rides, miles of hiking & biking trails, local state parks, Homosassa Springs to see the manatees, Russel Stover chocolate factory tours, breakfast outings to local restaurants all within minutes of the resort. Any of these can be enjoyed without joining the group if your schedule dictates so. The aspect we really enjoyed most about this resort was it's location, location & location to some of Florida's most popular must see & do attractions. Our touring of Florida from there was a big arch from the Panhandle in the north to the Atlantic coast in the east to the southern Gulf coast. We took day trips to Naples, Tampa/St Petersburg, Orlando, Ocala real equestrian country, Cedar Key, they call the area "The Nature Coast" for obvious reasons the Gulf Coast area there is as natural as the can possibly keep it, Cape Canaveral, WOW, there was a space shuttle launch while we were there and they said you could follow the launch rocket trail glowing in the sky from the resort. We were able to zip up to the beautiful pristine white sandy beaches of Panama City & Pensacola and decided to grab a inexpensive overnight hotel room. This may sound like I'm their Chamber of Commerce rep but I'm not, I just found a great resort at a great price and wanted to share it and get the word out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$40
We spent 3 months at this resort beginning January 1, 2009. The sites were spacious. The park staff was friendly and helpful. There were many activities for those who chose to participate. Overall we had a very pleasant experience here and would definitely consider staying here again. Our only suggestion for improvement would be the laundry room. It was not large enough for a park of this size. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Nice park. New owners are upgrading facilities. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Great location, close to madness of central FL and far enough to be quiet. Sites are larger than normal. Plenty of space to walk and roam around. Near boat ramp for canoeing or kayaking. Definitely on our list for return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$50
This is a clean campground, bathhouse was hit and miss however. The sites off of paved roads are wonderful. Very large patios. Garbage location is a bit distant and no other cans available in the park. Staff cats and strays wonder - causing havoc w/ dogs at times. Pool has a heater, but never was on, so pool was not usable. Nice staff, acvtivities geared to the older age folks. Kids in the park but for limited times and all were well behaved. Will be interesting to see how it develops over time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$27
Passport Rate of $27.25 paid, NOTE PA can only be used here once. We would never come back and pay double what we paid. Previous review is pretty much on. There are a couple of sites that 'work like pull throughs' and we had one. Nothing in this area at all to justify the full $50+ nightly rate. If you are PA and need a spot for a minimum 2 nights or up to 7 nights, go with the two and keep on truckin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This park changed hand last year and although they are trying to fix it, it has a long way to go. The bath house was redone but has no A/C. Only the road at the premium sites was paved and in the rain the other sites are mud. The staff has a long way to go. There are only 2 laundry machines and 4 dryers for a campground of this size. I found that not suitable for my needs. The clubhouse is usually locked. The place looks good from the road but that doesn't surprise me. With the money they have wasted on palm trees, they should have put that money into paving all the roads to keep the mud out of the rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com