219079 User submitted reviews online!!
Sandy Lake COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (218) 426-3482
CGID9372

Sandy Lake COE

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$12
This is another fine COE park, if you camp in the north loop. The campsites are large and well maintained. The south loop is rather cramped and the sites that back up to the water are very short. That area also has no maneuvering room for backing into the sites. We stayed in the north loop and loved it. All staff, whether paid or volunteer, were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again in the north campground. Our rate reflects our Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
Very nice COE park. Friendly helpful CG Hosts. Sites on the north loop are larger and further apart. Restrooms / showers were spotless. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
Price reflects 50% Golden Age discount. Typical beautiful COE park: widely separated flat and level sites with grass and plenty of trees and shade. There are sites of all sizes, some reservable and some non-reservable. We came here on a Saturday in the summer without a reservation and were lucky to get the very last site big enough for our 36' motorhome. Every site has electricity (20/30/50amp) but that is all. Water and dumps stations are available. The bathhouse is modern, well-lit, and spotlessly clean. Both ranger and host were very helpful in finding a site for us and guiding us into it. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$8
Price reflects Golden Age discount. This another great COE parks. Lots of trees and grass and plenty of room. They only have power connections and a dump station. There is water fill spots in the campground but we were there before they were turned on. The nice staff let us fill at the office before and after our stay. We met a very the friendly and hardest working COE volunteer I've ever met. We got some TV on the antenna. The Verizon phones and Mi-FI worked OK. This is a beautiful, clean park. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
This is a very nice campground. The volunteer staff was always available if you needed any help. Pull-throughs are a little misleading. They are actually Pull-OFF's off the road. In some sites driver side slides will almost be on the road. We stayed in the North Park. I would suggest making reservations in advance. If you are going to the North Park, you want to get off Highway 65 at Aitkin Lake Road (46.792928,-93.327785). You do not need to go to the main office to pay. We will definitely stay there again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
This is one of the nicest semi-modern campgrounds I've visited. It's like a State Park, but not as rustic. The grounds are extra clean including the bathrooms and showers. I stayed on the North end and felt the sites had plenty of space between them. The lake was beautiful with lots of docks for boaters. What seemed a bit strange is that you have to walk a distance to the modern bathrooms from the North end. The dam separates North and South campsites. I drove to the parking lot and walked across the dam to shower. It seems there is only one shower bathroom. There are clean vault toilets around too. There are interesting history markers on site describing settlers, Native American tribes and their wars. The campground is on the burial site and land where these battles occurred. There are two grave stones from the early times and a newer memorial with 13 or so tribes from various states who fought in battles. I missed the turn because I was looking for US Army Corp of Engineer signs. Look for the brown Big Sandy Lake Recreation Area signs. The host is in the North campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
It is always a nice campground to stay at for a long weekend. We camp here, every year, in the double sites. The get tight, but everyone that stays in this section "gets it" and have been very respectful of their neighbors (so far). The bad part about the campground is that they took away the slab wood that they had piled up. We were able to cut our own firewood for a few bucks an armload. The story goes that the "locals" would pull in and cut it for them selves, and haul truckloads out of the park. A couple of jerks ruin it for everyone. The rangers have fun programs for the young kids to participate in where they can become a junior ranger. It makes a good break for parents in the middle of the day. The grounds are perfect shape. Information on the grave's in the middle of the campground would be interesting. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Army Corps of Engineers park. Located on Big Sandy Lake for swimming and fishing. Restrooms and grounds especially clean. Staff very friendly. Firewood only $3.00 for big bundle. Sites well spaced and angled for easy entry. Nice beach for the kids and three boat ramps. Good cellular reception. Paved interior roads. Handicap and group sites are available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com