223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Tallulah Gorge State Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (706) 754-7981
CGID938

Tallulah Gorge State Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   8   9   7   4   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Absolutely beautiful campground! The sites are large and plenty of room for slideouts and awnings. They have hiking paths and overlooks to see the beautiful waterfalls. Beach area for swimming, large playground for children. Paved pull-through sites for very large MHs and tow. We are excited to camp here again when it gets cooler weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$18
Very nice sites for big rig, we are in a 40' motorhome and no problem getting in towing our car. Have stayed here several times and always make it a stop. Great access to the Tallulah Falls trails and Nature Center. Have ALWAYS had great camp host. A gem hidden from most! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
First time here, on a whim so without reservations. They do not accept credit cards, just cash or checks. Sites are assigned. They have pull thru's for bigger rigs. We were in a regular site, bit too close to my neighbor for my taste. But I guess for shorter stays it is fine. Restrooms were clean and heated. Staff was very helpful. Of course the biggest advantage is the proximity to the gorge and falls. They are awesome! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$16
Pros: Reasonable rate (reflects senior discount). Pleasant staff. Many sites paved & mostly level. Lots of trees. Good electricity. Some sites very spacious, others not (consult park map). Cons: Water initially okay but became very rusty. Clogged our intake filter. Roads can be tight, esp. for bigger rigs. Dump is convenient but more than one rig in line blocks the exit from the park. Some of the newer pull-throughs are tight & close together (again, check map). Some truck noise from highway but not loud and little traffic at night -- not a bother. All in all, a bargain. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
A lot of upgrades are going on at this park. All the sites have new water and electric, so no more sharing of the electric pedestal. There are several pull-throughs that are fully paved. The other sites are gravel, but look new. The pull-through sites must be about 75-80 feet long! There are also 2 washers and dryers. The camp hosts were very friendly and when we pointed out a low branch, they immediately sent someone over to trim it. The roads are a little narrow, but very navigable. No low branches hanging down.The dump station is well placed, directly in the path as you leave. Both AT&T and Verizon had voice and data signal. The gate is locked at 10 PM, if that matters to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
North east Georgia is truly beautiful and this park is very nice. The only complaint I have it that US 441 is fairly close and trucks using "Jake" brakes were very loud. This park is operated by Georgia Power, but supported by state park (DNR) rangers, this means it costs a little less to camp there that typical of Georgia. The hosts were very competent and friendly. The sites looked like they were recently graveled. Roads were paved. Water was OK, but pressure low. Not problem with the power. This is a typical state park in that it does not have wifi, cable or sewer hookups. The area has so many things to do and at very little cost or even free. Many water falls to see in the area. If you want to hike the gorge floor (and it hasn't rained) make sure you get to the interpretive center no later than 8:15AM... they limit permits (which are free) to 100 per day. I recommend TGSP highly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Clean park. The staff was not very kid friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Great park that has recently completed some grounds keeping (fresh mulch) on most of the sites. We were unable to have a campfire because the fire ring was right outside our door. We were also happy our neighbors did not have a campfire because their fire ring was under our slide out. Sites are long but very close to each other. Bathrooms may have been renovated lately they looked brand new and very clean. Overall, a great campground with very friendly hosts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
Beautiful park. Camp hosts very friendly and helpful. Lots of hiking and sites. The Tallulah Gorge is spectacular. Only problem is the power and water hookups are not in convenient locations. You will need an extension cord and extra hose on most sites. Some back in sites would be difficult to get a big rig in. Would definitely stay again. We'd just make sure we had extra cord and hose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
A great campground for the price. Sites are not large and are close together, power boxes are shared so you may need extra cord to reach. The hiking trails are great, waterfalls are beautiful and facilities are clean. The employees are friendly and helpful and garbage cans are very convenient to all sites. Great experience, we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
We spent five days at this campground. We really enjoyed our stay. We pull a 36 foot travel trailer and had no problem in the campground. The hosts were really nice and friendly. We saw them throughout the campground constantly. The bath house was always clean. The showers had plenty of hot water. We did notice low water pressure at times, not at the bath house, but nothing that caused any problems. We enjoyed this campground so much, we are already making plans to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
This park is a bargan for 18 dollars a night. There is a swim beach, hiking and rock climbing on the gorge floor. They only give out 10 gorge floor passes per hour and 100 total per day so get to the visitor center early. The only issue was the pull through sites, you share a power box, one box for each two sites. There is one 50 amp and 30 amp plug in each. I had to borrow a 50 to 30 amp adaptor to get electric. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
We would have gladly given this beautiful campground a 10 if it were not for 3 reasons (warnings to future campers): first, there are NO street lights. Second, the bathrooms ran out of toilet paper several times while we were there. Lastly, and most importantly, the power boxes are almost impossible to use! BE AWARE, you should bring with you LONG 30 AMP power extension cable! Also, be prepared to share a power box with the site next to you! The situation with the power boxes should be embarrassing considering this campground is operated by Georgia Power!! On a positive note: the showers are great and most of the sites are very large and private. We will return, but will bring with use a LONG extension cord/cable! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Had a huge site but the utilities are up front, so the back half of site was unused. It was like having your own backyard. Washer and dryer was very inexpensive. The water pressure was very good and the bathhouse well kept. Antenna was not much use, but my dish could see out fine. I did have to move it around alot to find a place between the trees. The interpretive center is really nice and a must see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
We camped here 2 nights. Loved the park, everything was clean and well kept. Easy walk to see the gorge which is a must see. Would have rated it higher except the campground hostess was not very friendly. Came by even before we were set up and said "keep your dog on a leash and walk it in the woods and clean up after it." She acted like I had never camped before and didn't know dog etiquette. Really turned me off. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Great park except very narrow winding roads for big rigs. We total 62' with our towed trailer and had difficulty maneuvering the road to our site. 6 Pull thrus relatively level on side of hill. Roomy sites. Rustic. Great location - historic area. Gorge is awesome. Very helpful, friendly staff. FREE laundry. Good antenna reception and excellent water pressure. Secure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
This is a great family campground. The bathrooms were kept fairly clean. The hiking trails are great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Tallulah Falls is a great place to stay. The part attendants are extremely helpful and very friendly. Pull through sites are nice and back-in sites are easy to get into. Easy hike from the campground to the falls and nature center. No sewer hook ups like all parks in GA and the dump station is at the front of the campground. However, it is easy to get to and the bathroom and showers are very clean in case you do not want to use the RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Except for the 5 pull-through sites, the water and electric are FAR from the center of each site. I had to use my standard 15-foot electric cord plus another 15-footer to reach the electric box. I needed a long water hose also. Site was not level, but was able to get level using blocks. Once set up however, this park has lots to offer. We have been to nearly 20 GA state parks, and we were busier here than anywhere else. We hiked (the trail is not difficult unless you decide to take stairs down to suspension bridge). The interpretive center is excellent, as are the views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$24
This park was okay, although not outstanding. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which was nice. The sites are really quite small and packed together, offering little privacy. Fortunately, the park was only half full when we were there. Traffic noise is a problem. There is hiking out of the park and a small swimming beach that one walks to. Biking is tough here because the trails are rough and the climb up from the highway is steep. Inger's in nearby Clayton is a great place for lunch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$16
If it was not for the view of the gorge I would have given this a 1. I arrived on a Sunday afternoon, the park manager was hospitable. The first thing I noticed is that the park is RIGHT next to the roadway. Road noise is horrible at any time of day. I could see 441 from the site...almost every site. The next thing is the staff driving around on an ATV...doing what? I have no idea but it was annoying and unecessary. There are no trees, the other review must have been there and the next day they cut everything down. I heard that a beetle invaded the trees so they needed to destory most of them. The bathrooms were nasty and oh by the way...if you like sleeping next to huge power lines then camp here. Your view will be of the roadway, power lines or another rig RIGHT next to you. Sites are cramped big time. The walk to the gorge was nice except all the car noise is ever present since you are right near a huge bridge. The other parts of the trail may be quieter but I am uncertain. The gorge looked like it would have been an awesome spectacle before Georgia Power put these huge cables across it from all angles. For those who don't know, GP owned this land and leased it to GA park service. It is the newest park. The layout of this campground was so ridiculous that I turned around and left after 20 minutes and went to a real campsite in South Carolina. The best thing I can say about this campsite (and I feel bad because I know they're trying) is the price. A whole week for $80 with elec and water hookup. Needless to say though, for us it was not worth it. My suggestion is that they move this whole campsite to a place that could even be considered remotely "camping," and not a roadside stopoff. There seems to be plenty of land they could have done this. The day use area is far more quiet (away from the road). Stay in another campground and just visit this park for a few hours. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$16
A very nice park. With a lot of spectacular views and areas to hike. Also had a beach on the lake for swimming. Was crowded on the weekend but cleared out a little during the week. The sites were a little cramped and close together. The restrooms were adequate. The only real downside was the highway was close by and the sounds from it were very noticeable in the morning. Other than that a very nice place to check out. Nearby to a lot of other places to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com