220584 User submitted reviews online!!
George L. Smith State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (478) 763-2759
CGID946

George L. Smith State Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   10   8   9   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$23
We found camping heaven at George L. Smith State Park. Most of the wonderful sites were within feet of the lake. The sites were level and on compacted sandy soil. All facilities - hiking, boating, bathrooms, showers, laundry - were well maintained. The hosts were out every day taking care of the campground. There was ice and wood for sale, and a variety of boats to rent. The cypress trees growing in the lake and the bird population were extraordinary. This is a gem, and we plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
I am a big fan of Georgia state parks and have stayed at many of them. This park is a bit below the average for Georgia. I recommend arriving via route 23 (west entrance) rather than route 80 as I did. Signs to registration from the route 80 entrance are non-existent, and once registration is found you will find no RV compatible parking or a way to get turned around (needed if arriving via route 80) to get back to the campsites. The roads in the park are narrow and not suited to letting two RVs pass each other. The sites are level and almost all are shaded, but are muddy after rain and need a fresh layer of gravel. No cell phone signal at all (Sprint network) but Wi-Fi is available at the registration building. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
We stayed three nights to rest up. It's not fancy, but was peaceful and quiet. The one dryer was broken. The bathrooms and showers were buggy and covered in pollen. I don't see how they could have been any other way as this is the middle of the woods in the spring. Regardless, we love this campground, have stayed here before and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
State parks have it all over private campgrounds and Georgia stands out above most states we have visited. Clean, quiet, beautiful, well organized and maintained. Will return for sure - hated to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
This is a nice park and about 30 minutes from even more beautiful Magnolia Springs State Park. Very secluded and quiet. Great sites and a neat grist mill. The nearby city, Twin City, is sort of a dump. There is, however, a small grocery store there. No cell service within 20 miles of this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
This is a tiny little park in the middle of nowhere, but it is very pretty. The campsites are along a beautiful lake filled with huge cypress trees. The park is spotless and there was firewood cut and free for the taking. They have an old, working grist mill to see and canoes to rent. We were only passing through on our way home and stayed one night, but we would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Park was very nice and clean. We had site 13, that was located right on the water. It was very shady which was nice on this warm weekend. The Ranger staff was friendly and helpful. The CG host was a WWII veteran that we enjoyed talking with. They were constantly cleaning the park. The had added a new 2.7 mile trail that we enjoyed hiking. We also took a two hour, four mile canoe trip that was both fun and a work out. We will definitely return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Great park for enjoying nature at its finest. Huge cypress trees on a scenic lake, big sites spaced far apart, immaculate park and facilities, friendly campground hosts and staff - what's not to love? I really enjoyed my time here and wish I had more than 2 days to spend. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Park was clean and well kept. The Camp Host was very helpful. The site was next to water and the fish were biting. Will be visiting this campground many times. This is a great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
Georgia state parks are some of our favorite campgrounds. This one is really nice. Most sites back up to the lake and have nice level gravel parking sites and patio areas. Very peaceful, kids can ride their bikes on the paved access roads without the worry of being run over. Shower house was nice and clean and close to all sites. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, unusual for state employees. Boat and canoe rentals are available. Great for long weekend getaways or a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
This state park and campground is typical of the Georgia State Park system and is one of our favorites. The sites are spacious and many have great privacy. The campground host invited us to choose our own site after we checked in at the office. A wonderful bottomland lake with many cypress trees is the feature of the park, and it is a great place for canoeing and birdwatching. It's one of those special places to "get away from it all", because there is not a lot to do in the area. The campsites were level and clean, many suitable for large rigs. It's a great stopover on the way to the Georgia coast, but is also well suited for a longer stay if you are a nature lover. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
I was pleasantly surprised at the CG. I agree with the other poster, this is the way a CG should be. Truly an awesome place I will return to often. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$18
This is one of the very best state parks I have every been to. The staff was very nice and helpful. This is a model for all parks to try for. Cleanliness and overall appearence, staff and host was very good. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com