223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Bryn Mawr Ocean Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (904) 471-3353
CGID9476

Bryn Mawr Ocean Resort

Camp Information
Sites
247
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$82



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   9   8   7   9   8   8   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$82
A very pricey campground, and I expected much more for the price. We stayed in an "owner" site on the row closest to the ocean, but no view was possible. The site was not improved, and the concrete pad was old and cracked. There was a long wooden walkway to the beach for access. The park itself is old with mostly permanent residents. The majority of the permanent sites are in just fair condition. For the price I wouldn't stay here again. There are several parks I can go to in the area and not have an ocean view for a lot less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$70
This park was a big disappointment. The driveway to enter the park is not suited for RV's or 5th wheels as it curves and only allows two rigs to be parked while checking in. This blocks the entire driveway so if you are trying to drive in, you can't. Within the park roads are very narrow with very large holes, not just pot holes, but holes the width of the road. They are only sand roads so when it rains, gullies all over the place. The majority of the park is permanent park models. The only nice part is the access to the beach. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$79
If you are looking for DIRECT access to the beach this is the spot. Much work is being done on the facility. Last year a new beach pool and hot tub with shower and bath house....they are fabulous. They are working on the roads this year and my understanding is they will have the RV roads re-done by this time next year. The ocean front sites and several near the ocean are big enough for the biggest rigs...mine is 45'. If you have a big rig, spring for the extra fee and book an ocean front or beachside site. The comments about "tight" spots are from folks who are trying to get big rigs in sites down the side streets which are tight but navigable if you can handle your equipment. The staff is friendly, the maintenance crews are constantly working on the campground and it shows. Some of the ocean front sites have been purchased by new owners and they are investing in fixing them up. If you can get it, book ocean front site #230, it is BEAUTIFUL with new concrete, new gazebo and fresh landscaping and palms. One of the few that gives you some privacy. I met the owner and it is available to rent from April 15 thru December 15. The owner is on the site the other times. Also, site 219, 222, 223, 224, 225 are nice and easy to get into. (231-233) have a new owner who is investing in the sites this year and they are easy in and out sites. Sites 209,195, 250, 249 are large pull-through sites though not on the ocean they are nice and easy to get into. Overall, it has a nice "neighborhood" feel to it and the owners who winter there are nice folks. Once the roads are fixed I would rate this place a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$75
The park sites are small and being a beach property there is little shade and grass. We thought we had paid too much until we walked out on the beach and watched the sun rise and then it was worth the cost. Our site was large with picnic table and covered patio. Park was clean and well managed. Much of this park had permanent people and the sites sold for $100,000 up to $200,000. Obviously you are paying for the beach access and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$75
Ocean front sites can not see the ocean but can hear it. Several very good beach access walkways with locking gates. Place is pretty secure with gate access to the park. Showers, restrooms, pool, etc were new and/or very clean. Roads were sand gravel but concrete pads and patios for campsite. WIFI was not usable unless you went to the office, do not expect it to work at your site. Cable was snowy and very weak. Desk people were very nice. Most of the park is filled with permanent park models. Some larger rigs had close corners to negotiate. I will probably try a park across the street from the beach next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$73
This was our first visit to Bryn Mawr. We enjoyed it. We stayed in site 222, which is one of the ocean front sites. We had a very nice wide site, and an elevated deck with roof that enabled us to sit outside even on the drizzly days. Our teenage boys came back from the shower house and commented that they were clean and nice tiled showers. The heated pool in the middle of the resort was open and had a very large hot tub. The huge pool and tennis courts in the front of the resort were closed right now for refurbishing. Since it was winter, definitely not a problem. The open pool was more than sufficient. The beach here is very beautiful - wide with soft white sand. The office staff was pleasant and helpful with questions. I could not get Wi-Fi on my iPad at the site (went to office), but my son said he got it the whole trip at the site. There are quite a few park models, but very neat. I was glad we had an ocean site, more roomy for our 40' fifth wheel. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$65
Clean and well maintained. Very small and short campsites. Could not open Toyhauler bay. No room. Had to park truck sideways to be out of the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$65
Nice beachfront park. Spaces vary in size & amenities. Some have elevated covered decks. Adult pool & family pool. Great beach! Nicest beachfront park in St. Augustine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$75
Huge park, lots of permanent residents with tiny cottages and a pad, RV sites very close to the beach. Nice pavilion for every site. The beach!!!! Incredibly close and small sites. The RV and the pavilion left about 5 feet on either side. That's close! When you arrive you have to drop your toad. We couldn't because the lady has a broken foot so I showed off my skill and put our 55 foot rig through the park to the beach. Very very narrow. She says I passed my driving test. The beach is right there! We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$55
Worst place for Big Rigs .Most places are permanent and they build there patio's with covers right next to the narrow streets. Some streets are the smallest I have ever seen. The layout must have been done for the old "Lucy" show 50 years ago. The few beach sites are the nicest but you don't see the beach as they have large sand dunes between you and the beach. Great staff but the park is not for us over 40 crowd - 40 foot that is. Will never go back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$76
What a great place!!!! New heated beach-side pool and hot tub. Wonderful NEW bathhouse and they have done a lot of work on the interior roads. While we where there for over a month, there where at least 15 new decks built on sites and they are a great addition. I have a 45 foot coach with 4 slides and had no problem getting into the beach-front sites. This place just keeps getting better and better each year, and of course the direct access to the beach is THE big attraction. Very pet friendly, the staff is courteous and very helpful. The only warning would be for other big rig owners....some of the interior sites back from the ocean are a bit tight so stick with the beach front pads or the pull-throughs. Sites 222, 223, 224, 230, are great to get into because you turn up a road and back straight in. Many of the owners of the sites are doing upgrades to them and making them more like a "resort" style. I've already booked for 3 months next year. It is close to St. Augustine (old town) and there are literally dozens of great restaurants within biking distance. Pets are welcome on the beach. We drove our bikes each day for miles down the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$80
Beautiful location. We got there during tropical storm Debby and the roads were standing in water but not impassable. There are new showers that are very nice and clean. Beach is very wide and less crowded than areas above and below. Highly recommend it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$63
We stayed here 30 years ago in a small fold down and now are in a 43' DP. The roads are tight turned and the sites require some back and forth to get into. But the worst was that after paying $126 for two nites, we had to clean up the dog shit from the site. The dog hair, in clumps from a brushing and in the hedge, we left. We will NEVER stay here again. Evidently, they don't check the sites after they are vacated. That's not how you operate a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$68
This is our 8th year visiting this park and I just don't understand some of the reviews. It is not a park you want to "blindly" pick a site if you have a big rig, mine is 45 feet, but there are plenty of sites that do work. The pull through sites near the beach or any of the beachfront sites are not difficult to get into. The interior sites would be very difficult for a big rig to maneuver. The BIG attraction here is simply the beach! Nothing fancy and few frills but the "main" interior roads to get to the beachfront sites are easy to get thru. My truck conversion which doesn't have the turning radius of class A's, was no problem. I stayed in site 219 which was a breeze: easy in and out. The folks are friendly, you can take your dog to the beach, drive a bike on the beach and even take your car on the beach. It is close to everything. Take the time to talk to the folks who work here when booking and avoid the interior sites close to the front. Sites 249, 250 are great pull through sites and the ocean front, back in sites: 223, 224, 232, 235, 237 allow you to make a turn and back straight in. If you are looking for an oceanfront campground you won't be disappointed. They are doing a lot of work on the campground right now with new gazebos on the sites, new fencing, bathroom renovations, a new pool close to the beach with a hot tub and new showers, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$70
Although sites are close together, short timers should ask for one of their beachfront sites. They are great. You can see and hear the ocean from your site. For dog owners, this is a great beach area. Dogs are welcome on lease. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$65
After checking in we proceeded to the site. The roads were really small and the turns were fairly tight. We we arrived at the site, it was occupied. So we navigated back to the office. The individual sites are individually owned, and the owner of the site we had been given decided to stay and didn't tell the management. So the management scrambled to find us another site. After about 45 minutes they gave us another one. We drove to the site only to find this owner washing black tank materials off of the pad. She indicated that she pulled out before she had finished dumping so that we could have the spot. The site stunk like, well you can imagine. So back to the office we went. The staff was gracious and apologized for all of the hassles we had. The manager met with us and offered us an overflow site for one night at no charge. Since it was spring break and nothing else was available we took him up on it. The next day we moved into an "ocean side" site. You can't see the ocean but access to the beach is fairly easy. This is a typical full time RV park. We won't go back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$56
We stayed here last year and thought it was OK. This year the place was packed and no fun to be at. There is very little space between RVs and it is VERY difficult to back into a site. The restroom had 2 toilets and one was clogged. The showers are terrible. There was NO hot water and the water pressure was very low. The good thing about this place is that it is pet friendly. Dogs are even allowed on the beach and beach is very wide and very nice. We will not return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2011
$56
Poor layout, trashy, unpaved roads, floods when it rains, no grass or landscaping to speak of, nasty looking in general. Sites too close together, no room to turn a big rig. Very run down. Nice entrance to fool the eye when you arrive. Don't waste your money! Only good thing is the beach. It is much cleaner and more attractive than the park. How they can refer to this place as a resort is beyond me! Very overpriced. Will never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$68
This is our 8th year visiting this park and I just don't understand some of the reviews. It is not a park you want to "blindly" pick a site if you have a big rig, mine is 45 feet, but there are plenty of sites that do work. The pull through sites near the beach or any of the beachfront sites are not difficult to get into. The interior sites would be very difficult for a big rig to manuever. The BIG attraction here is simply the beach! Nothing fancy and few frills but the "main" interior roads to get to the beachfront sites are easy to get thru. My truck conversion which doesn't have the turning radius of class A's, was no problem. I stayed in site 219 which was a breeze: easy in and out. The folks are friendly, you can take your dog to the beach, drive a bike on the beach and even take your car on the beach. It is close to everything. Take the time to talk to the folks who work here when booking and avoid the interior sites close to the front. Sites 249, 250 are great pull through sites and the ocean front, back in sites: 223, 224, 232, 235, 237 allow you to make a turn and back straight in. If you are looking for an oceanfront campground, you won't be disappointed. They are doing a lot of work on the campground right now with new gazebos on the sites, new fencing, bathroom renovations, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2010
$63
Had we known that at least 80% of this park is made up of owner park models we would have stayed some place else. The roads are not paved and the turns are tight especially for a big rig. The covered deck was nice but not well maintained. Quiet hours are 10 pm to 8 a.m. We had purchased for $10 the right to wash our rig. We didn't even start until 8:30. At 9:00 a man came charging down like Custer and the 7th Calvary and told us we had to turn the water off now as we could not wash rigs in the park. I told him we had the pass to wash it this day and it was on the dashboard as we were told to do. Well, you are using the water for the neighbor next door he said next. No I replied, that water is marked DO NO USE and we used the one facing our rig and that this spot had hookups on either side and we were told we could use either one. Oh he replied! Did he or the management apologize? NO! We would never stay here again as it was too much money even though the ocean was not very far. It was a walk up hill to the pool and we don't have bikes and they do not provide a parking area up there for the people parked down near the beach. It would have been nice had they explained about the garbage pickup and where you put it at 10:30. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Great time had by family. Right on the beach, rented a permanent unit and it was just great. Clean and quiet. Loved it. Great way to spend a family vacation. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$69
A bit overpriced but the campground was full so I guess they can charge what they want. Sites are very close together. Back-ins take skill and patience. Pull through sites available. Each site has a large deck and cover for eating and socializing. The staff was very friendly. The "ocean front" sites are blocked by sand dunes and not worth the extra money. Don't be caught on the beach with a beer or a pet! Huge fines. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$68
If your looking for location, then this is it and you pay for it. Very narrow streets and cramped.staff not very friendly and one in particular very rude. Had a snake problem and reported it. Noticed it was still around when we left. Not much in country store. As you leave the road is narrow and only one spot to hook up the toad. If another motorhome comes around the curve you have to wait and block the road out. If you try and go out the gate to hook up, Mr Rude will get in your face and his little authority comes with no common sense in moving traffic. Stayed here before, but not again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$53
The greatest asset about this resort was the closeness to the beach. For the price, I would have thought it to be much nicer. Roads are not paved, decks and units outside are a bit shabby looking. Very nice pool and rec area, but too cool to use it so can't rate. These are owner-owned lots, and our deck was neglected as were most 'for rent' sites. The chairs were so filthy looking (moldy), I wouldn't even put my feet on them. If you live in a nice home, I guess you want nice surroundings: however the parking areas for units in this resort leave a lot of room for cleaning up, tidying, and looking fresher. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$60
Bryn Mawr has been around since I was a child (56 now). The grounds are kept up as well as possible considering you are on the beach. The interior roads are not paved, and yes the sites are tight in some areas. It is a family atmosphere, and is close to St. Augustine proper. However, you have a walkway over the sand dunes that have turtles, rabbits, birds, and you are on the Atlantic Ocean. This is why you stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$65
Other then saying, stay right on the beach, I did not like this place. Roads are very, very tight for a big rig. Backing into the site is a challenge also. Mostly park models and seasonality looked like. The locked gates to get on the beach are a joke. Hard to tell the last time they worked. I'll look else where next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$55
Location: it's on the beach. Cost: it's on the beach, folks. Roads: a little rough and narrow, but there is no need for those awful speed bumps. There is daily trash pick up at curb. Constant unobtrusive maintenance; no leaf blowers. Everything works. Permanent and seasonal sites are well kept. Quiet and peaceful, feels safe. We stayed 4 days and would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$65
If it is the beach access you are looking for, then this is the place. The ocean is right in your back yard. Although they keep the park clean, the roads are rough and narrow. There are a lot of permanent sites. The staff was efficient but not overly friendly. One thing I did not like is that during business hours the staff is around the park but once the office is closed everyone seems to go home. We had neighbors making noise until 4 in the morning. It started at 10:00 so had they at least monitored once after quiet hours they would have known of this problem. But there is no one that I could ever see after 6 pm. Also, if you are at the back of the park, you can forget about the Wi-Fi. It doesn't work there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
I am not sure about the rate, but I'm guessing in that ballpark. Although we were in a back in next to the beach, you could not see the ocean and beach because of a large sand dune. However, we were minutes from the gate to the beach which was very nice. Most of this campground is made up of park models, but the area next to the beach seems to be reserved for non-permanent visitors. Tight spaces, but park was clean and maintained. We stayed here to visit old St. Augustine, which was about 1/2 hour away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$56
Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the friendly staff, who were knowledgeable about area. Well maintained and quiet. Very large swimming pool with other forms of enjoyment available. Kind of tight for a 40' motorhome, but all was well. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
Staff was courteous and professional. Quick check-in. Park staff very active keeping park picked-up. This is a time-share type park and the spots are interspersed between park models. Somewhat narrow sites. There is more than enough room to get your slides out. Multiple beach access that are very well maintained. The pool was gigantic. I enjoyed staying there but did not think the spot justified the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$63
Overcrowded. Narrow sites. No assistance in finding or getting into site. Security presence rare. Others walking through site frequently. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$65
I must admit I was concerned at first about going to this resort based on the prior recent reviews. Bryn Mawr was recommended by a good friend. My expectations were exceeded. We went to this location to be on the beach and close to the St. Augustine attractions. This resort met and exceeded all expectations. You must get a beach front site, as I agree the interior sites are a little tight. Our beach front site we could see the ocean from our camper! We were on site 234. The staff was great and the camp grounds felt like a little beach front community. The resort is very family friendly and pet friendly. We were surprised to see that dogs were allowed on the beach! This means that our dog will come with us on the next trip! The staff was top notch! Location is the best. Close enough to St. Augustine to do the tours and fun stuff but far enough away where there as not issues with traffic! We will be back to this park again! It was great! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$72
The location is great but the park is really high density. The interior roads are sand, rough and VERY narrow. Navigation is tight and most sites are very difficult to get into. The dust from the unpaved roads get all over your vehicles. The park has sold sites and most now have park models on them. Only a few RV sites in the main area. The beach front site are all RV sites but a view of the ocean is difficult from most sites because of the sand dunes. The KOA park down the street looked a whole lot better as we drove through for a look and there are several other parks in the area that we will try before going back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2008
$55
We stayed one night, and moved over to another park to save over $20.00 a night. Their winter rates are a bit too high, since even in Florida, it is too cold to walk or swim in the Ocean. We believe their park would stay full year round if their rates weren't so high in the off season. If we did stay here again, in order to get full benefit, we'd go back in warmer weather. We stayed in another nice park (in St. Augustine) for $32.00 a night. If you're in St Augustine to go to the beach, this is a good park, but if you're here to tour St. Augustine, there are a couple of other parks that are as nice for less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2008
$55
Like any other park, this has its "pros" and "cons". For us, there were more of the latter (hence the low rating). The only pros this park has to offer are that it is on the ocean, employs a courteous staff, has concrete pads and some sites with a nice, spacious deck and landscaping. Unfortunately, there are many cons. This is an old park. As a result, narrow dirt roads characterized by tight, difficult turns wind their way between very narrow sites. The water pressure is very low (not terrible, just very low), and the electric current is not steady (we experienced several spikes and dips in the voltage; both of which can wreck havoc with an RV's components). If your desire to be by the water is greater than your desire to drive down wide streets with wide turns to get to a wide site with decent water pressure and a stable electric supply, this is the park for you. If not, avoid this park (as we will in the future). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$63
The only reason this park got a 9 not a 10 is that the condition of the roads is a little rough in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$75
If you want to stay on the beach itself, this is the place to stay in St. Augustine. You are camping on concrete in a parking lot but the beach is worth it. Staff is friendly and helpful. Lots of full-timers here. We enjoyed our stay and will return. Park was clean and so were the bathrooms. Not too far from St. Augustine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$55
I hate to speak badly of this campground because the staff there was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the place really needs some work and the majority of sites are permanent residence of the park. It is on the beach which means absolutely no shade at all! The ocean is not visible from the park, you have to go through the dunes. It is very secure with gates from A1A to the beaches, but I would personally skip this park and head for greener pastures. Sorry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$68
If you are wanting a campsite on the ocean this is the place for you. All of the sites are a bit close, but not as bad as some I have seen in the past. Just a short walk over the dunes and you are on the beach. Staff was wonderful and very helpful. The only area that could use some improvement is the WiFi. It is only in the office. Park was very quite in the evenings and is a place that we will be visiting again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$80
This park sits directly on a beautiful beach, is extremely dog friendly, quiet at night, convenient to everything and has a huge swimming pool. The staff is very helpful and the park well maintained. The only two items that could be improved would be if WiFi access was available and updated showers. We've already made reservations to return here next summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$90
We have stayed in two ocean front campsites on this trip. This one and Red Coconut in Fort Myers Beach. Both offered different things, but were great. This campground offers good size sites, covered wooden porches/cabanas with each site. A nice touch. The pool is large and clean. CG needs a campground store, but there is a gas station up the street. Bathrooms were relatively clean, however, could use a bit of freshening up. Not sure beach front sites are all that important as the dunes are in the way. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$75
Thirty years ago, I remember this being a well-kept, great campground on the beach. Times have changed. This is probably the rattiest campground I’ve ever stayed in. My site was half-way between the beach and pool- not very far from the dunes, but almost every site-line to the ocean is completely blocked with all the ‘park models’. Way too many… for me, park models in a campground wholly spoil the experience. Our site bordered the north edge- it appeared to be a condo or apartment complex on the opposite side of a foliage covered fence- extremely noisy tenets, with lots of all-hours partying. Quiet time was observed, for the most part, within Bryn Mawr. We only stayed five nights- but a garbage truck for this neighboring complex was maneuvering and grabbing dumpsters at least a half-dozen times during that time. There was a fair amount of rain, but not excessive by Florida (June/July) standards. Still, the retention pond at the end of our road completely overflowed, the corner was about 6-8 inches deep with foul smelling water. There were many deep pools of foamy, polluted, flood water through-out the campground. Get the impression from the staff they couldn’t care less if you stayed there. When we arrived, the concrete pad at our site was covered with road dirt and sand, and the crab grass was totally overgrown and coming up through all the cracks and edging. Obviously, ‘ocean front’ is the only reason they’re still leasing out slots- but with car access onto the beach, we’ll be staying somewhere else and simply drive down. It’s almost more convenient that way. Pool was warm and salty. Ratty and un-kept playground. A real disappointment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$60
Beach is FABULOUS for toddlers and children. BEWARE of COPPERHEAD SNAKES near the Beach Front Sites. They like to "sun" on the pads and will crawl back into the vegetation on the dunes. This was ONE incident. The other campers had NOT seen any snakes, but Camp Management is aware. This is NOT pointed out in the literature. (Disney's Ft. Wilderness has a Section on reptiles). Overall a great place. Used as a stop over from NC to Ft. Wilderness: BOTH WAYS. If time had not been a factor, would have spent a few more days here. Weather and beach was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$60
If you love the beach, this is the place to come. We paid for a premium site right on the beach and our travel trailer was almost parked in the sand. We have two English Bulldogs and the beach was very pet friendly. Out pups were able to hang out with us in the sand all day. It rained one day, but the kids were able to occupy themselves in the game room and at the activity center. The sites were a little tight and basically a parking lot of RV's, but we spent most of our time on the beach and in comparison to what you would normally pay for a hotel on the beach, it was well worth it. We did spend one day at the pool onsite. It was a salt-water pool, which I wasn't a huge fan of, but it was quiet and relaxing. The other campers were all friendly and it was definitely a family fun place. The only negative was that we got a site right next to beach entrance so there was a bit of regular traffic. That didn't bother us that much, however at night when a few evening beach walkers that obviously had a few too many, were a little loud and obnoxious walking back into their site. We would definitely go back to this site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$61
We stayed here for 3 days with friends and loved it. It was our first trip in our new RV. You can't get any closer to the beach than this campground. There are a lot of permanent trailers, but the sites are big, and most of them have gazebos. Our friends have stayed here 4 times and love it. The pool was clean, and the kids had a great time going from the beach to the pool. We definitely will be going back here soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$73
We spent a week here with a beach front site and enjoyed every minute of it. This is a beach RV park with roads in need of repair. We were within a minute walk of the beach. Since this was during Daytona bike week, the rates were higher. RV park is located within reasonable driving distance to downtown St. Augustine. Very large swimming pool but too cold to use during this time. It was a cool, windy week. Too cold for swimming. I would stay here again during warmer weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$60
Great place. Stayed there for 2 days in January, 2008 and 3 days in February. Planning on staying in the fall again. Had a back site in January and an ocean front site in February. The view, the stars, the sunset and sunrise, all worth the price. Roads need some repair, and that is why the 9 and not a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$69
This was the 5th year we camped at Bryn Mawr and we still love it. We camped in an ocean front site #224 and it was wonderful. Location to old St. Augustine is good, close to churches and restaurants. You can walk and ride for miles on the beach and the area is very pet friendly. Some say the sites are tight but we did not find that at all: very easy to maneuver. There are a lot of park models on the west side of the park and many motorhome sites closer to the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$57
After reading some other reviews i almost didn't go. That would have been a mistake. The roads were sand and space was a little tight. The staff was excellent and the park was very clean and quiet. I will go back every time I go to St. Augustine. If you are in a big rig it might be difficult if you do not have a lot of experience. I have a 35 foot motorhome towing a motorcycle trailer and had no problems getting in the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$57
Location, location, location. Great sun rises and beach access if you get a site on the beach front. No shade, so would be very hot during the summer months. Mostly owner sites, park models, and full timers. Tight squeeze for large rigs, but easy access to all types creature comforts in the St. Augustine area. $5 for 30 minutes of internet service at the office is a bit silly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$58
This is not the park to go to if you are looking for a rustic experience. The sites are fairly small and most are paved. All have sewer and water and electricity. It is the park to go to if you want to be near the beach. The park is located on the beach side of the highway and you can walk right onto the beach from the campground. The beach is wide and very nice. The biggest negative I found was the constant extra charges the campground imposes. It is $5 a person a day for over two to a site. It is $2 a day for your dog. These extras can mount up. There is no weekly rate, but they do have some discounted monthly rates. Bath houses were clean and do not receive a lot of use. All of the sites are privately owned and many have park models on them. A number of the RV sites, including ours, had a nice covered deck so you did not even have to put out your awning. The staff was friendly and knowledgable about the area. I would camp here again-- so long as there were just two in the motorhome We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$57
The main draw of this campground is the location. Right on a beautiful stretch of wide beach. The night before we arrived, there was a heavy rain in the area. There were large potholes throughout the streets. But in their favor, the next day they did have a grader out spreading more sand and leveling out the roads. It appears to be an ongoing challenge because of the sand/dirt roads. With our 39' motor home, we found the roads challenging but navigable. I would give this park a higher rating were it not for our water pressure, which was just a trickle. We barely got 20 pounds of pressure registered on our gauge. We even tried removing our regulator altogether to see if it would improve. Showers were a real challenge, so was doing the dishes, and flushing our black tank simply wasn't possible. We did ask the office if they could check the water at our site, and the guy they sent out basically looked at it, shrugged, and told me the park was "full". We stayed for 3 days and would have stayed longer if the water situation could have been improved, but as it was the park was full. I can't imagine that the water is that bad normally with so many permanent residents, but maybe they're used to it. We also liked the little tiki deck areas they had next to the sites. They were nice and gave shade, but weren't so large that we had trouble fitting into the site, as in some parks. When we made the reservation we were asked how big our rig was and they actually placed us somewhere according to where we'd fit, which many parks do not. Also the pool is very large and looked clean, but was right next to A1A so you'd have a poor view w/highway noise. We would probably not stay here again, only because of the water pressure problem, and the campground didn't seem very interested in solving the problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$50
We found this place in 2006. We liked it and decided to come back for a month in 2007. The roads are narrow and made of sand. The campground pads are individually owned. Some people live on them and other owners rent them out to people. 3/4 of the pads have a park model on them. These park models are for rent. There are not many activities or much of a clubhouse. With that said there are not many ocean front campgrounds and there is a lot to do in St. Augustine. What else do you need. I will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$56
The main feature of this part is location! location!! location!!! Right on the beach. All lots are owned by individuals. Some Park models and many permanent RV's. Interior roads are a bit narrow, but I was able to maneuver our 36' motorhome OK. No activities, but we were not looking for any. Our only complaint of any significance was that too many residents believed the "dog waste" rules did not apply to them. So there was way too much dog waste; not fun when you are returning from the beach in flip flops. No WiFi. So while I don't like the dog situation, we will stay here again next year because of the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$60
Bryn Mawr is one of those unique situations where a loop hole in a local zoning law allows a trailer park to be built next to the ocean. Probably eighty percent of the campground consists of permanent park-model trailers. Only the sites closest to the beach and a few other's scattered throughout the campground are available to traveling campers. That being said, maintenance and overall grounds keeping are a lacking a little. The big draw here is, of course, you can camp on the beach, with full hookups, and cable. Not to shabby. Roads within the campground are sand or dirt, but the sites were level and paved, and many feature picnic shelters or decks, which is nice, because there is no shade anywhere. Regarding the staff: We stayed here 4 years ago, and the special of the day was indifference. This time though, everyone was courteous and cordial, a definite improvement. Pool was huge and largely empty of other people during our visit. If you want to camp oceanfront in St. Augustine, this campground is the one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$40
Great Family Resort. Will be going again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$47
Had a great site #127 with a covered deck. However, there was trash & lots of cigarette butts everywhere. I picked up a bag of trash since I could not stand looking at it. The picnic table was very dirty. I reported the trash and table two days in a row,they promised it would be taken care of immediately however, it never was cleaned up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$40
At one time this was probably an excellent campground but has been taken over by permanent sites. Staff was efficient, but you got the feeling they could care less if you stayed here or not. Roads to most of the campsites goes through the permanent area and are very narrow. Would suggest you don't bother stopping here since there are better campgrounds just up the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$40
The park models have taken over this cg. It has turned into a retirement home for residents and employees who do not enjoy families. The staff and store were a joke. Would give me a discount for cash. Nice and close to the beach. Pool not opened til 12:45 on Saturday. "Pres of association very disgruntled and full of angry hostility. This used to be a family oriented cg. To me, I don't think this cg will be around much longer. The nicest retirement park around. Don't waste your time or money. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$45
We called several days ahead to reserve for 3 nights. The young lady who took the information by phone recommended I make the reservations for the max nights to be assured a site. I asked if we had to leave a day early would that be a problem? She said no. A major east coast storm was brewing, we needed to leave a day early - policy was no refunds. Upon relaying the conversation of reserving the site, they did finally relent and credited our VISA. The majority of sites were permanents. Very hard to get through the campground - too many objects sticking out along the road. Sites were extremely tight and short. We spent a lot of time getting our fifth wheel situated and barely had room for the pick up beside it. I would never go back. By the way the campers we met were friendly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2000
$32
The staff knew nothing about motor homes and twice tried to put my 40' in a spot a 30' might fit. Roads and parking areas surrounded by large timbers resulting in damage to motor home while trying to maneuver into very tight areas. Would suggest anyone entering park walk to their site before driving in. Great ocean front location We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$32
The park is located on the Atlantic Ocean. There are 190 lots for camping and the rest are for park model which are also rented. The park has different rates for ocean front, ocean side, and ocean view. The park has one of the largest pools on the island. It also has tennis courts, shuffle board, and a basketball court. For the kids, the video games are plentiful for entertainment. We go to this park many times during the year for our mini-vacations and for longer periods of time in the summer. The ancient city of St. Augustine and the Outlet Malls on 95 provide plenty of entertainment for the whole family. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com